HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Comebackpackers

Hostel | Adalbertstrasse 97, Berlin, Germany 10999

91.0% Overall Rating

210 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Louis Mark thinks…

"Easy place to talk and meet people. Coffee and tea provided. Beer and other drinks available. The location was great."

Read all Comebackpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only. Please note that if you do not show up 2 hours after your stated arrival time we will give the bed to someone else. Please note that we do not accept any bookings for 6 or more people, even if you can process the booking on the website. Any such bookings will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the 10% prepayment. we do not host groups witch are larger than 6 people. We have the right to cancel groups witch are larger. The fee from Hostelbookers is may not refundable!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
23.88 USD

Hostel 80.9% 360 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
16.10 USD

Hostel 70.9% 458 reviews
The Cat's Pajamas Hostel
22.55 USD

Hostel 91.8% 289 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.92 USD

Hostel 73.9% 274 reviews
Violet am Alexanderplatz
23.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Singer109 Apartment - Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel 89.3% 348 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
39.79 USD

Hostel 78.6% 80 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
23.88 USD

Hostel 81.0% 583 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

210 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Comebackpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 197 of 214 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Moss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff stood out as very friendly and chilled out - let us stay in the room after we had checked out for several hours and allowed us to use a locker after we had checked out too Area might appear a bit shifty at first but is actually safe and very cheap for good quality food etc. Location is right next to a U-Bahn station Great friendly atmosphere Terrace and free-to-use barbeque Did our washing and drying for us for €5 a load Has self catering facilities (oven, grill etc)

Disliked: 16-bed dorm was very hot and only had two rather feeble fans for cooling Shower curtains allowed for a lot of voyeurism

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room and rooftop make it a really great place to meet other travels. Always a good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, the staff were really friendly and down to earth. The terrace was a real highlight and the common area was good to chill in. I loved the lists of facts they had stuck up in the toilets and I thought the showering area was good.

Disliked: The kitchen was pretty dated and dirty, the fridge was always too full and I noticed there was no system in place to get rid of food that had been left behind by previous travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcela Almeida

Alone

Events / festivals

11 July 2012 Marcela would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! Definitely best one I've stayed in.. great location (near many nice and cheap places to eat, near the center, even walking distance if you're up for it, but right next to a metro stop if you prefer), staff is very helpful and friendly, nice common room and accommodations.. overall just great value for the money! Definitely coming back :)

Disliked: Marcela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Leizear

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: After backpacking for 6 weeks across Europe, I think this was my absolute favorite hostel. The large common room encourages guests to constantly interact and I honestly have never met more amazing travelers than I did here at this hostel. The location is fantastic, the beds are decently comfortable, and the showers and bathrooms are always clean. The people you meet here will totally make your trip -- don't consider anywhere else!

Disliked: The only issue I had was that the hostel made people move rooms in the middle of their trip if a large group arrived together. It wasn't a big deal, but there must be a way that this doesn't have to happen. In the big scheme of things this didn't matter at all, but something to work on!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and nice common area

Disliked: No possibility to buy a breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting part of Berlin

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really lovely and helpful. The location is super convinient.It's on 2 train lines and there are heaps of bars near by. Everyone staying here was really friendly. The common room made it easy to meet other travellers. Rooftop is really nice, there's good kitchen and lots of tables and couches. Much easier to meet people compared to other hostels I've stayed in and when backpacking it's often the people that make a city.

Disliked: it was a bit hard to find the first time. it's right next to the station but the numbers work weirdly and it's just a small door among lots of resturants. The showers weren't great. There is no where to put your shampoo ect. but that's pretty easy to get over.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice. The atmosphere is really good as well. They have a great common area and a nice bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmad Syahir Mohd Soffi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Ahmad Syahir would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed at, hands down. Originally was planning on staying for a week, but circumstances led me to stay for two instead! Very friendly atmosphere: by day 2 I was friends with almost everyone in the place. Large balcony was haven for making friends and hanging out. Located near a large number of bars in the area and food places, and not too far off from major clubs in Berlin. Taxis frequent the area if u can't be bothered walking to your nightlife destinations. Staff were great - Matze definitely the friendliest and nicest guy tending any hostel I've been to. A great testament of how great the place was: people who've moved on to other hostels still came back to hang out at Comebackpackers!

Disliked: There were a few hiccups with bookings on the week I left, when a number of us had to switch rooms, some multiple times. Also, showers had tiny curtains that didn't really close fully - not an issue for me, since guys and girls have separate shower rooms with closeable doors, but my shy-er mates werent fans of the minimal privacy once inside

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comebackpackers was great. Had a really cool vibe to it. The outside rooftop bar and chillin area is pretty cool, as is the rest of the common room. Was there for the Euro cup and they set up a projector to watch the game on, and they also had a friend over selling some bomb ass pizzas. Matze the large German giant is probably the friendliest and most helpful staff member I've ever met at a hostel, give him a raise Comebackpackers!!

Disliked: Nothing! Although the first room I stayed in (Quac) had a pretty gnarly musky scent in it..I think something crawled in there and died. When it was brought up though the staff offered to move me to a different room, and they're taking care of what is hopefully not a dead baby in the wall.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the best part of town and felt more like a commune than a hostel. Don't come here if you don't want a lively artsy place to stay.meant for the young solo traveler.

Disliked: Not very cleen and some doubts as to safety.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near train station and lots of cheap good restaurants near by. Kitchen is good in a nice communal friendly area.

Disliked: The hostel allowed a large group to book in which took over the hostel as their own house. The security was a bit too relaxed as the door to the dorm did not close and there were random ppl visiting often. Some visitor even brought his dog which roamed the hostel for the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Freeman

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was especially nice, helpfull, charming and even cute!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Möller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The commonroom and the roofterrace! Friendly staff and I really liked the location in kreuzberg - near kottbusser tor station and from there its so Easy go all around the city and the area itself is cozy, Warm and exciting.

Disliked: We booked a dorm with 8 beds but there were 10 beds..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Bujarska

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace was beautiful and a great place to hang out. The staff was super helpful with tips for the city and the bathrooms had great reading material posted on the wall. The decorations were unique and original.

Disliked: Breakfast was not included in the price. The mattresses were a little too soft and old. Everything else was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the atmosphere, funky and eclectic, with a sense of humor. i liked the roof garden rea...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace was spectacular..being able to relax after a long day of traveling but stil participate so much with the city was perfect.

Disliked: Since I was in a 16 person room, it was a bit less privacy, but you can avoid the bigger rooms by booking in advance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff. Very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing significant.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hai Chieh Jao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Hai Chieh would recommend this property

Liked: next to U-Bahn station, close to supermarket, has kitchen that can make own meal

Disliked: Hai Chieh left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very relaxed atmostphere with extreamy helpful staff. it was easy to meet fellow travellers in the common area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krissy Moore

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2012 Krissy would recommend this property

Liked: * Very nice welcoming staff * Good common area (lounge, kitchen, outdoor verandah) * Convenient location next to train station in Kreuzberg district - also near good restaurants/interesting streets for walking around

Disliked: *Just a warning - bunks are very low! So if you're tall, try to get a top bunk. * Hostel is on 12th floor over very busy street intersection - bring earplugs to help sleep at night. * There is a mistake on the HOSTELBOOKERS.COM website - directions say "From Schönefeld airport (ca. 25 min) Take the S9 train towards Westkreuz, the get off at S-Bahn station Warschauer. Change line to the U1 towards Uhlandstrasse and get off the train at Kottbusser Tor." BUT you have to go to OESTKREUZ, not Westkreuz!!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place just works as a venue for meeting fellow travellers. Location is sweet. If you like gritty cities, Kreuzberg is where you want to be, nightlife is good, just go wandering at random. Accidently missing your train because the bar never closes is always a positive. Staff are excellent.

Disliked: The showers could use some renovation. Its no biggy really, but I imagine the shy, retiring types might feel uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chavis Butler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Chavis would recommend this property

Liked: central location, super friendly and knowledgable staff. Matthias was very helpful as well as every one else. They helped me with anything I needed. Thanks ya'll.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Guevara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 April 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, the place is really well planned for a traveler, nice atmosphere, kitchen has everything you need to cook and the messages everywhere are really funny also ambientation!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels