HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Citystay Mitte

Hostel | Rosenstraße 16, direct at Hackescher Markt, Berlin, Germany 10178

87.5% Overall Rating

1123 out of 1204 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/09/2014)

Ian Hunter thinks…

"With the exception of the teenagers running up and down the hallways, it was quiet and comfortable. You need bigger pillows! Cool vibe in the main foyer."

Read all Citystay Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.96
  • Linen USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups bigger than 10 please contact HB directly, if a booking is made for more than 10 people then the booking will be cancelled with no refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
12.52 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1096 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
24.04 USD

Hostel 93.9% 812 reviews
Hostel Aloha
13.79 USD

Hostel 86.9% 730 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
40.96 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
Circus Hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 93.4% 174 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
18.60 USD

Hostel 84.9% 337 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
14.33 USD

Hostel 91.1% 377 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
20.24 USD

Hostel 88.6% 592 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

1123 out of 1204 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Citystay Mitte'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 798 of 912 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Hunter

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: With the exception of the teenagers running up and down the hallways, it was quiet and comfortable. You need bigger pillows! Cool vibe in the main foyer.

Disliked: Very slow internet.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Mónica Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014

Liked: The rooms are awesome, super spacious, with high ceilings and lovely floors.

Disliked: They don't take credir or debit cards (really?, in this day and age). Not only that but they will tell you nobody else in Berlin does. Ironically, everyone else took cards. The lockers are small and the doors very thin, so you will only be able to store the important documents, not your suitcase. These lockers don't seem sturdy and they seem to know they are not very safe, since they remind you that they cannot be responsible for stuff stolen from them. The showers were dirty and the lights would go off from time to time. You need to keep pressing the button to get hot water. The girl at reception was not helpful at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victor Fonseca

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, my stay at the hostel was very good. You got lockers in the room (but you need a padlock which can be found at the reception for a €10 deposit), individual lights and enough plugs (I stayed on a room for 4 people). Excellent location, walking distance for most sights and also very close to Alexandersplatz train and metro station. At the reception you have a bar that is very good if you want to chill out and meet other guests.

Disliked: Wifi just worked at the bar and reception and was quite bad connection.Breakfast could be better, with more types of bread, decent juices and maybe a coffee machine instead of just normal coffee (all you can eat for just 5.5 euros). Toilets could be cleaner but it was ok. More showers are needed when the hostel is busy.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

fredney souza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 fredney would recommend this property

Liked: is good

Disliked: fredney left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and close to the train station which was handy. Cool to have a bar in the hostel and nice place to chill out. Cocktails were really good!! Room was nice and clean.

Disliked: Showers were really annoying, the water turned off every 15 seconds and light turned off all the time too.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meriel Willatt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Meriel would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi is always good to have, there is plenty of information available (such as leaflets, promotional staff etc.) about tours, guides and pub-/bar-crawls and the staff were very helpful. They also printed my, and my friends', boarding passes which we were very grateful for! Also, many bathrooms and showers on each floor, meaning you don't have to wait and all your friends can get ready at the same time!

Disliked: The positioning is great and really central, but actually in Berlin you could probably stay further out for a better atmosphere and surroundings!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Hamaliuk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff were awesome, the drinks were super cheap and it was always easy to meet people. It's located in the best area too.

Disliked: My only complaint would be that the WiFi only worked on the main floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location - very close to many major sights, the U-Bahn station, and was a safe area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sara cabral

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 sara would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good. The bedrooms are nice. We stay in a double room an in a 6 bed dorm and both of them were good.

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

António Lima

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 António would recommend this property

Liked: Big room with big windows and good light, good environment and very well located

Disliked: No internet in the rooms and we ha to pay extra for the sheets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Lima

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything!

Disliked: I think the breakfast was a little bit poor, not many options.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, many bathrooms, clothes washing service, free towel hire

Disliked: Wifi was down a lot, no aircon, no kitchen to cook your own meals

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Expensive breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Dillistone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: My room was very spacious and colourful. I was lucky with my roommates, and the rest of the people staying at the hostel seemed nice too. Quite a lot of young people and students. The staff was great. Very friendly and always available. They spoke so many languages - it was very impressive! The area is safe and it's so central. Near the main metro station of Berlin, so that was useful. The hostel offers cheap tours and pub crawls, which are great ways of meeting people.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a proper kitchen, but the staff was very helpful in providing me with a pan and hot water so I could cater to my dietary requirements! Also, I didn't realize linen would automatically be debited after processing the order.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Hastie

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all really friendly and helpful, we were able to use the courtyard and bring in our own drinks, the rooms were all clean and there were lockers with padlocks that you could rent to keep valuables secure.

Disliked: The wifi signal is not good, it is non-existent upstairs and difficult to connect to downstairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Valentine Ketchum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmousphere in the bar and really friendly staff. They made what was defintely one of the best mojitos ive ever had. So relaxed and amazing location, will definitely return !

Disliked: There's no kitchen facilities except a kettle and microwave which is annoying for the budget traveller. No complaints otherwise

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristi Urry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: I could only stay here once night because I booked quite last minute, but I wish I could have stayed longer! Such a great location (can't stress that one enough), good common area + bar, fairly quiet rooms, good showers, comfy beds.

Disliked: There were some groups of families staying and the children were very noisy at times, especially the courtyard where I could hear them shouting in the morning from my room (but maybe that's my own fault for being hungover and sleeping for too long). My padlock was too small to properly secure a locker in the dorm room, but you can borrow one form the desk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and helpful staff!

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good, and its very secure.

Disliked: I found the staff to be very touch and go, there is a kitchen but the guests can't use it, and there is a lot of groups staying so it can be hard for a solo traveller to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsea Sweeney

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Location, happy hour, friendly desk staff, free prezels.

Disliked: Didn't like having to pay for sheets - they should be included in the price of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Aires

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very nice and welcoming. Really central

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Witold Zbirohowski-Ko?cia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Witold would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff were exceptionally friendly and very eager to help. Perfect accomodation, atmosphere, soft, warm bedsheets. The food served in the bar was both tasty and healthy. All in all, the hostel was very much to our satisfaction.

Disliked: Witold left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina Pinto da Silveira

Alone

Business / conference

24 May 2014 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: It is an awesome hostel! The location is perfect, the atmosphere is really nice, the staff is very helpful, and the rooms are really clean and cozy. There are many showers and toilets in each floor. I definitely recommend!!

Disliked: I have absolutely no dislikes about the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Berridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, good common area, fantastic location (Alexanderplatz is an excellent transport hub as it has loads of buses, S-Bahn routes and U-Bahn routes going all over the city). The bar is open 23 hours a day so always time for a beer, and there is a pub crawl every night which has a pick point at the Hostel. Definitely a great choice, I can't see any other Hostel in Berlin being better!

Disliked: Pretty pedantic but the only negative point I can think of is that the water in the shower automatically shuts off after about 15 seconds, so you have to keep pressing the button whilst showering. I suppose there's not much that can be done to fix this though other than refitting all the plumbing in the showers!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels