HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Citystay Mitte

Hostel | Rosenstraße 16, direct at Hackescher Markt, Berlin, Germany 10178

92.7% Overall Rating

1115 out of 1194 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Emily Dillistone thinks…

"My room was very spacious and colourful. I was lucky with my roommates, and the rest of the people staying at the hostel seemed nice too. Quite a lot of young people and students. The staff was…"

Read all Citystay Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Linen USD 3.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups bigger than 10 please contact HB directly, if a booking is made for more than 10 people then the booking will be cancelled with no refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
15.79 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1083 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
25.21 USD

Hostel 95.1% 805 reviews
Hostel Aloha
19.90 USD

Hostel 86.2% 726 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
42.96 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
Circus Hostel
34.68 USD

Hostel 94.2% 169 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
19.50 USD

Hostel 88.8% 331 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
23.03 USD

Hostel 92.2% 371 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
23.88 USD

Hostel 81.0% 583 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

1115 out of 1194 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Citystay Mitte'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 789 of 901 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

António Lima

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 António would recommend this property

Liked: Big room with big windows and good light, good environment and very well located

Disliked: No internet in the rooms and we ha to pay extra for the sheets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Lima

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything!

Disliked: I think the breakfast was a little bit poor, not many options.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, many bathrooms, clothes washing service, free towel hire

Disliked: Wifi was down a lot, no aircon, no kitchen to cook your own meals

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Expensive breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Dillistone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: My room was very spacious and colourful. I was lucky with my roommates, and the rest of the people staying at the hostel seemed nice too. Quite a lot of young people and students. The staff was great. Very friendly and always available. They spoke so many languages - it was very impressive! The area is safe and it's so central. Near the main metro station of Berlin, so that was useful. The hostel offers cheap tours and pub crawls, which are great ways of meeting people.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a proper kitchen, but the staff was very helpful in providing me with a pan and hot water so I could cater to my dietary requirements! Also, I didn't realize linen would automatically be debited after processing the order.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Hastie

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all really friendly and helpful, we were able to use the courtyard and bring in our own drinks, the rooms were all clean and there were lockers with padlocks that you could rent to keep valuables secure.

Disliked: The wifi signal is not good, it is non-existent upstairs and difficult to connect to downstairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Valentine Ketchum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmousphere in the bar and really friendly staff. They made what was defintely one of the best mojitos ive ever had. So relaxed and amazing location, will definitely return !

Disliked: There's no kitchen facilities except a kettle and microwave which is annoying for the budget traveller. No complaints otherwise

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristi Urry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: I could only stay here once night because I booked quite last minute, but I wish I could have stayed longer! Such a great location (can't stress that one enough), good common area + bar, fairly quiet rooms, good showers, comfy beds.

Disliked: There were some groups of families staying and the children were very noisy at times, especially the courtyard where I could hear them shouting in the morning from my room (but maybe that's my own fault for being hungover and sleeping for too long). My padlock was too small to properly secure a locker in the dorm room, but you can borrow one form the desk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and helpful staff!

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good, and its very secure.

Disliked: I found the staff to be very touch and go, there is a kitchen but the guests can't use it, and there is a lot of groups staying so it can be hard for a solo traveller to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsea Sweeney

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Location, happy hour, friendly desk staff, free prezels.

Disliked: Didn't like having to pay for sheets - they should be included in the price of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Aires

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very nice and welcoming. Really central

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Witold Zbirohowski-Ko?cia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Witold would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff were exceptionally friendly and very eager to help. Perfect accomodation, atmosphere, soft, warm bedsheets. The food served in the bar was both tasty and healthy. All in all, the hostel was very much to our satisfaction.

Disliked: Witold left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina Pinto da Silveira

Alone

Business / conference

24 May 2014 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: It is an awesome hostel! The location is perfect, the atmosphere is really nice, the staff is very helpful, and the rooms are really clean and cozy. There are many showers and toilets in each floor. I definitely recommend!!

Disliked: I have absolutely no dislikes about the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Berridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, good common area, fantastic location (Alexanderplatz is an excellent transport hub as it has loads of buses, S-Bahn routes and U-Bahn routes going all over the city). The bar is open 23 hours a day so always time for a beer, and there is a pub crawl every night which has a pick point at the Hostel. Definitely a great choice, I can't see any other Hostel in Berlin being better!

Disliked: Pretty pedantic but the only negative point I can think of is that the water in the shower automatically shuts off after about 15 seconds, so you have to keep pressing the button whilst showering. I suppose there's not much that can be done to fix this though other than refitting all the plumbing in the showers!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei-Ju Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Wei-Ju would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, nice and cozy room

Disliked: Wifi didn't work so well even in the lobby

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and Alexander Platz. The rooms were nice and big - they didn't try to cram too many bunks in each room.

Disliked: The washing machine was broken! Not their fault really but I got lost trying to find somewhere to do my laundry...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Location really close to the TV tower, and easy walking distance to many of Berlins attractions and public transport.

Disliked: I have no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alice dean

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 April 2014 alice would recommend this property

Liked: Such a warm and friendly atmosphere. Great clean rooms. gorgeous court yard area where you can relax and have a beer, even drink your own alcohol there.

Disliked: alice left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

fulin Li

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 fulin would recommend this property

Liked: 地理位置好,去各个景点都方便,员工NICE,安全

Disliked: fulin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. It was quieter at nights than I expected from reading the comments.

Disliked: When we arrived they added extra charges to the price that they never told us about. This was about 10% of the total price which was annoying. They said they had emailed me a week after booking to tell me about the extra charges, but I never received any emails. Regardless, I had assumed that the price advertised was what I would pay. I thought this was really sneaky as we had no option but to pay the extra money.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff. Got a very nice recommendation to visit Tempelhoff during sunset. Facilities are good and the location is superb!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff encountered all very friendly and very willing to help. Location is great - central and very easy to reach from schoenefeld airport - just one train to get. Free wifi available.

Disliked: When booked the hostel online was quoted a price to be paid on arrival. When arrived at hostel had two extra things added onto the price - a city tax and 2.5 euros for sheets. I understand the city tax is not to do with the hostel but the price of sheets should be included in the price quoted for the hostel - should not have to pay extra. Had to pay extra for breakfast. Individual light over bed really useful idea but it didn't work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amy Batheja

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a pretty good location, about a 15-20 minute walk of the main tourist sites. I appreciated that they let you leave a deposit for things like towels, instead of charging for their use. Sufficient number of toilets, sinks and showers. Staff was friendly and willing to help.

Disliked: We stayed in a private room with double bed. The room was just large enough to fit the bed, without even having access to the other side of the bed, so one person had to crawl over the other. Quite crowded and not the kind of space you want to spend any time in. For almost 70 USD, it seemed overpriced. Bed sheets cost an extra 2.50 Euros per person. It is a very large complex, quite institutional, with no common space (that I saw) except for the reception/breakfast area which is fairly small and doesn't have a lot of character. People are very loud in the hallways, especially since the halls are very institutional and sounds echo/reverberate.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels