HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Citystay Mitte

Hostel | Rosenstraße 16, direct at Hackescher Markt, Berlin, Germany 10178

88.7% Overall Rating

1095 out of 1173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

alice dean thinks…

"Such a warm and friendly atmosphere. Great clean rooms. gorgeous court yard area where you can relax and have a beer, even drink your own alcohol there."

Read all Citystay Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.63
  • Linen USD 3.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups bigger than 10 please contact HB directly, if a booking is made for more than 10 people then the booking will be cancelled with no refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
10.92 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1046 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
20.73 USD

Hostel 92.8% 797 reviews
Hostel Aloha
11.06 USD

Hostel 87.2% 717 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
41.30 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Circus Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
20.32 USD

Hostel 86.6% 320 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 89.8% 351 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
21.42 USD

Hostel 88.3% 531 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

1095 out of 1173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Citystay Mitte'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 770 of 881 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alice dean

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 April 2014 alice would recommend this property

Liked: Such a warm and friendly atmosphere. Great clean rooms. gorgeous court yard area where you can relax and have a beer, even drink your own alcohol there.

Disliked: alice left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

fulin Li

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 fulin would recommend this property

Liked: 地理位置好,去各个景点都方便,员工NICE,安全

Disliked: fulin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. It was quieter at nights than I expected from reading the comments.

Disliked: When we arrived they added extra charges to the price that they never told us about. This was about 10% of the total price which was annoying. They said they had emailed me a week after booking to tell me about the extra charges, but I never received any emails. Regardless, I had assumed that the price advertised was what I would pay. I thought this was really sneaky as we had no option but to pay the extra money.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff. Got a very nice recommendation to visit Tempelhoff during sunset. Facilities are good and the location is superb!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff encountered all very friendly and very willing to help. Location is great - central and very easy to reach from schoenefeld airport - just one train to get. Free wifi available.

Disliked: When booked the hostel online was quoted a price to be paid on arrival. When arrived at hostel had two extra things added onto the price - a city tax and 2.5 euros for sheets. I understand the city tax is not to do with the hostel but the price of sheets should be included in the price quoted for the hostel - should not have to pay extra. Had to pay extra for breakfast. Individual light over bed really useful idea but it didn't work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amy Batheja

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a pretty good location, about a 15-20 minute walk of the main tourist sites. I appreciated that they let you leave a deposit for things like towels, instead of charging for their use. Sufficient number of toilets, sinks and showers. Staff was friendly and willing to help.

Disliked: We stayed in a private room with double bed. The room was just large enough to fit the bed, without even having access to the other side of the bed, so one person had to crawl over the other. Quite crowded and not the kind of space you want to spend any time in. For almost 70 USD, it seemed overpriced. Bed sheets cost an extra 2.50 Euros per person. It is a very large complex, quite institutional, with no common space (that I saw) except for the reception/breakfast area which is fairly small and doesn't have a lot of character. People are very loud in the hallways, especially since the halls are very institutional and sounds echo/reverberate.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close location.

Disliked: bad wifi. paper thin walls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean. Cosy!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth King

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location! Great value for money

Disliked: Dryer was broken so could not wash - but this is not a big deal. Hostel was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really great. Location's perfect, not too expensive, clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - within walking distance from important sights (right next to Museum Island, Cathedral, 20 min walk to Brandenburg Gate...etc), metro, restaurants and bars. Has a bar that is open 24hrs downstairs where you can order coffee or drinks at really good prices. Nice atmosphere all day, but especially in the evening during happy hour when many travellers return to relax and socialize. Breakfast looked decent, though I didn't try it, but its extra $. Helpful, friendly staff. Definitely recommend, especially if passing through for only a couple days and want to take advantage of your time.

Disliked: It's huge! With many rooms on each floor. There are about 5 toilets, 3 showers and 2 rooms with sinks on the floor. We were there in December, so it wasn't that full, but I can imagine this might be a problem during the busy season. Also, it can be noisy when people come back late at night and are going back and forth between the room and bathrooms down the hall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FABIO ZHUANG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 FABIO would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in this hostel for 3 nights, it was the best one I have until now in Europe, clean toilets n bathrooms, the room was big n clean with stylish decoration, very good price, and friendly staffs, definitely i will stay again in the future!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ralph Body

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and there was plenty of space in the room.

Disliked: There was nowhere for me to fill up my water bottle. They don't have a guest kitchen and the basins in the bathrooms were too small for me to fit the bottle under the tap. Some of us are budget travellers and don't share the German's enthusiasm for bottled water.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay at the citystay hostel! Next to the great atmosphere and clean nicely decorated rooms the staff was inceabably helpful and welcoming! Hard to find a hostel which is more central, its literally right at the Alexanderplaza. Definitely recommend it to anybody who is looking for a homy stay in that awesome capital :-)

Disliked: That i could not stay any longer :-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's nice with a electronic card instead of keys

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean & rooms were well looked after & the washing facilities were very clean as well.

Disliked: There were no nightly events as part of the hostel & do there wasn't much of a sense of building friendships & community which is why I choose to stay in hostels.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The neighboors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fabio Vicente Cascaes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. The laundry service has good price. Bar service

Disliked: No comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PATRICK ARTHUR

Alone

City break

05 October 2013 PATRICK would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very clean

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good showers

Disliked: Few toilet facilities that were not kept particularly clean, beds not particularly comfortable, rooms lacking in character.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Claire Barton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, nice lobby and seated area, great location and lockers available in the rooms for valuables (bring your own padlock)

Disliked: Showers weren't overly clean but were powerful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Feels like a hotel. Big rooms. Enough badrooms, toilet,...

Disliked: No kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Azevedo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice, large, with A/C and they are always clean. The staff is nice and helpful. The hostel bar is a good place to make new friends.

Disliked: The internet does not work in the rooms, only in the common area.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels