HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Citystay Mitte

Hostel | Rosenstraße 16, direct at Hackescher Markt, Berlin, Germany 10178

90.4% Overall Rating

1109 out of 1188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Emily Dillistone thinks…

"My room was very spacious and colourful. I was lucky with my roommates, and the rest of the people staying at the hostel seemed nice too. Quite a lot of young people and students. The staff was…"

Read all Citystay Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.39
  • Linen USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups bigger than 10 please contact HB directly, if a booking is made for more than 10 people then the booking will be cancelled with no refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
25.38 USD

Hostel 90.7% 1070 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
34.91 USD

Hostel 95.1% 805 reviews
Hostel Aloha
14.64 USD

Hostel 86.2% 726 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
43.48 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
Circus Hostel
35.10 USD

Hostel 94.9% 165 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
25.38 USD

Hostel 89.3% 327 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
22.06 USD

Hostel 92.0% 368 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
36.26 USD

Hostel 78.3% 571 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

1109 out of 1188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Citystay Mitte'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 785 of 897 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location 1 min walk from Alexander platz and 2 min walk from Museum island.

Disliked: Showers not amazingly clean especially after about 7pm. Some staff not over friendly, especially at check in time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: CityStay Mitte was an average hostel. The location was decent - close to the museums and Berliner dom, but futher from Tiergarten. The showers were really annoying. The water would turn off literally every 5 seconds - I counted. The breakfast selection in the morning was good. It's an average hostel, nothing too special.

Disliked: The water in the shower turned off really often. Also, the main door to the rooms seemed to have a broken lock - it was always open.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff.. we've booked 2 nights, but they allow us to cancel the next night and we've just stayed 1 night, usually we have to tell 2 days in advance.. the atmosphere is good..very new and clean..

Disliked: No breakfast included..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Location Location. Amazing location good bar

Disliked: The courtyard was shut at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TSAI HUNG HUEI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 TSAI would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Bathroom is too remote

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, the bar (especially happy hour!!) and the staff were very helpful

Disliked: Hidden charges for bed sheets (€2.50) per bed. The walls are paper thin so you can hear EVERYTHING!!! So if you value your sleep do not stay here. Otherwise its well worth it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

grant shulman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 grant would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, comfortable beds and clean sheets. Bathrooms kind of sucked but was only there for a day.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It's a bit like a hotel, but still cool.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ruby Le Galle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: In a very good area, could walk easily to everything. Very large dorm rooms, lots of bathrooms and showers around. Good security as you needed keycard to enter the corridoors. Downstains area was good with lots of seats and a bar, good atmopshere.

Disliked: Shower turns off whilst using it alot and the light goes off whilst you are showering. Expensive internet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cecilia Nyman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location and cosy atmosphere. Me and my girlfriends wants to come back as soon as possible!

Disliked: We had a little problem with getting our clean sheats but it solved quite quickly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011

Liked: great showers, central location versus Wombat's or The Generator

Disliked: Small sinks, not very tight-knit community, no kitchen, Internet is expensive at 3 euros/hr

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In general

Disliked: The price of the meals and extra services

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security of the rooms and the location was good. There is a good bar also within the complex and a nice outside section. The drinks in the bar are also reasonably priced.

Disliked: There is no kitchen so this may put some people off. Also check your change when you are at the bar as one female member of staff with blonde hair and a moustache tried to rip me off by ten euros. She did not apologise or say anything when I questioned it, so I presume she knew what she was doing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karen Ákadóttir

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, clean and a nice place to be. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The toilets and showers were often very dirty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice modern hostel, rooms were large with high ceilings and large windows. Free wireless internet was great. In a good location and close to transport.

Disliked: Showers were far away and push button so a bit annoying. Breakfast wasn't included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chee Seong Chang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Chee Seong would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs, the place, location, facilities, atmosphere. If you're not looking for a royal palace to stay, this is it. Its not a palaca but its GREAT

Disliked: NOTHING

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: got what you expected. good location. berlin is worth a look

Disliked: creaky bunkbeds, i little to big for my liking (over 150+ people)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joost van Dijkhuizen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Joost would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. The people.

Disliked: Noise at night. The garden closed around 10:00PM I think, but several times there were people talking loudly after. Once at 4:30AM I woke from the noise.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good - near to a metro station and right in the heart of East Berlin. It was also near to facilities like food shops/cash point. Hostel was clean, staff were helpful and we were able to store our luggage on the day of departure for as long as possible.

Disliked: The main problem with this hostel was when it came to the extras it offered which were not good value for money. Computers were old and expensive to access ( wifi was however free). The drinks seemed a bit pricey as did the pizza the hostel offered. The laundry was also pricey. The motion activated lights in the bathrooms were also a little annoying at times.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Megan Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Very social hostel - great to meet ppl. Large spacious rooms with ensuite. Big beer garden and good drink specials at happy hour. Great location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The greatest aspect of the hostel is its location. At the place it is and for the price they charge, its absolutely value for the property.

Disliked: None.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

UGURCAN SEN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 UGURCAN would recommend this property

Liked: really good location, cheap prices

Disliked: toilets were not clean enough

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 July 2011

Liked: Very good location. Most of the staff were very helpful

Disliked: The booking details in their computer was different from what I booked for.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was okie

Disliked: linens had to be paid aside from the cost of accom. not as 'value' as it seems.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels