HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Citystay Mitte Berlin Hostel

Rosenstrasse 16, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 73%

Location 94%

Safety 82%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.18USD
  • Linen 2.81USD

Important Information

For groups bigger than 10 please contact HB directly, if a booking is made for more than 10 people then the booking will be cancelled with no refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 73%

Location 94%

Safety 82%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

Showing 51-60 of 73 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to train station and Alexander Platz. The rooms were nice and big - they didn't try to cram too many bunks in each room.

Disliked: The washing machine was broken! Not their fault really but I got lost trying to find somewhere to do my laundry...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Such a warm and friendly atmosphere. Great clean rooms. gorgeous court yard area where you can relax and have a beer, even drink your own alcohol there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing Location really close to the TV tower, and easy walking distance to many of Berlins attractions and public transport.

Disliked: I have no dislikes

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 地理位置好,去各个景点都方便,员工NICE,安全

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good location. It was quieter at nights than I expected from reading the comments.

Disliked: When we arrived they added extra charges to the price that they never told us about. This was about 10% of the total price which was annoying. They said they had emailed me a week after booking to tell me about the extra charges, but I never received any emails. Regardless, I had assumed that the price advertised was what I would pay. I thought this was really sneaky as we had no option but to pay the extra money.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Catriona, thanks for your voting. You paid the amount you where supposed to pay, when you booked. The city of Berlin invented a citytax this year. this is 5%. We have to take this tax by law, we are not happy with this situation either but we cannot do anything about it. You also paid a deposit of 4,00€ for the keycards, which you received back at the check out. Sorry for the miscommunication and thanks for the voting. Martin

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Staff encountered all very friendly and very willing to help. Location is great - central and very easy to reach from schoenefeld airport - just one train to get. Free wifi available.

Disliked: When booked the hostel online was quoted a price to be paid on arrival. When arrived at hostel had two extra things added onto the price - a city tax and 2.5 euros for sheets. I understand the city tax is not to do with the hostel but the price of sheets should be included in the price quoted for the hostel - should not have to pay extra. Had to pay extra for breakfast. Individual light over bed really useful idea but it didn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff. Got a very nice recommendation to visit Tempelhoff during sunset. Facilities are good and the location is superb!!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in a pretty good location, about a 15-20 minute walk of the main tourist sites. I appreciated that they let you leave a deposit for things like towels, instead of charging for their use. Sufficient number of toilets, sinks and showers. Staff was friendly and willing to help.

Disliked: We stayed in a private room with double bed. The room was just large enough to fit the bed, without even having access to the other side of the bed, so one person had to crawl over the other. Quite crowded and not the kind of space you want to spend any time in. For almost 70 USD, it seemed overpriced. Bed sheets cost an extra 2.50 Euros per person. It is a very large complex, quite institutional, with no common space (that I saw) except for the reception/breakfast area which is fairly small and doesn't have a lot of character. People are very loud in the hallways, especially since the halls are very institutional and sounds echo/reverberate.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: close location.

Disliked: bad wifi. paper thin walls.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere is really great. Location's perfect, not too expensive, clean rooms and bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability