HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.1% Overall Rating

946 out of 960 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

Takashi Iwai thinks…

"I stayed in a 4-bed mixed room and it was so spacious. The shower room and the toilet were shared, so I did not have to wake up due to the noise of other peole taking a shower. The hostel itsel is…"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.56
  • Linen USD 4.97
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
18.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 9 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
20.11 USD

Hostel 91.7% 18 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
55.26 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.1% 20 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
20.31 USD

Hostel 83.1% 447 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.40 USD

Hostel 75.3% 262 reviews
Hotel-Transit
29.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.05 USD

Hostel 81.3% 284 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
18.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

946 out of 960 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 787 of 936 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Takashi Iwai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Takashi would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4-bed mixed room and it was so spacious. The shower room and the toilet were shared, so I did not have to wake up due to the noise of other peole taking a shower. The hostel itsel is located very close to the U Bahn station, but it was a little bit far from the most touristy places.

Disliked: Wifi was very weak and I was so frustrated with it. I even had to use international data roaming. This is a really big drawback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located, great style. I will stay there again!!!

Disliked: a bit pricey...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good beds for a hostel. Close to subway and nice and clean.

Disliked: Had to rent sheets which wasn't in the information so I had my own which I wasn't allowed to use. Not a big problem in itself, just really annoying that it wasn't stated in the information. I could've used my space better than bring along a sleeping bag if I had known.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, knowledgable and multilingual staff, clean, comfortable rooms, good location and nice bar area - would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and clean, great location. Just a really nice experience - more like a hotel but as sociable as a hostel.

Disliked: The shower wasn't very warm!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good beads, lots of space chilled put atmosphere and friendly and lovely staff. Beds just AMAZING!!!!!!! Location close to U and its in Kreuzberg.

Disliked: May be free tea and coffee all the time ;)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds where good and large. I am a big man, but I had no problem sleeping good.

Disliked: The codes at the door where to long to remember (people often forgot either the code or the note with the code, and someone needed to open all the time). There where only 4 lockers at the room, but 5 beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its perfect location. And the rooms. Friendly staff.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, close to underground station

Disliked: nothing really

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and very keen to get guests socialising with one another and seeing all of the best bits of Berlin. They give alternative suggestions away from the main tourist traps. The room was fantastic and ideal for my stay.

Disliked: There is a lot of smoking taking place directly outside the front door and thie emanates throughout the rest of the building. Also, the breakfast 'room' was outside of the main hostel - albeit a 30 second walk - it was also a bit expensive for the type of spread put on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jo francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 September 2013 jo would recommend this property

Liked: amazing building - a hostel in a palace-like place, you can even have afternoon tea in the library! Stayed in a great single room which felt luxurious for a hostel, bathrooms spotless.

Disliked: no self-catering kitchen, though this was clearly mentioned in the hostel description so you know what you're getting

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, very clean and modern!

Disliked: Having a room on the third floor meant 6 sets of stairs to climb!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel breakfast.. Friendly staff. No bunks :-)

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was extremely comfortable- high ceilings, big windows, comfortable non-bunk beds... The entire place was super clean, the staff was kind and the location is good.

Disliked: no kitchen...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael James-Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I've ever stayed in, The staff are extremely helpful, and all passionate, we had been in berlin previously, and knew our way around, but were offered a detailed explanation of where we were, and how to get around, plus some awesome tips of what to do, wish we were able to stay there longer.

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe a hotter shower water, but not too bad at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very tourist friendly....excellent service

Disliked: it is a bit far away and no elevators :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Rostgaard Andersen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Christian Rostgaard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Nice big domes. Good free internet all over the hostel.

Disliked: Christian Rostgaard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to the metro station. Our room was very clean. Staff was very helpful (all of them). The day we arrived we were welcomed with a coffee and someone told us everything we had to know about visiting Berlin for about 30 minutes. They offer laundry service for 5 euros and it was nice not to wait for our laundry. There's a nice atmosphere at the hotel's bar, it's a good place to meet people from everywhere. But rooms are very quiet so you can sleep very well.

Disliked: We would've like to have a kitchen. Showers have glass doors and there's 3 showers in the same bathroom so you don't have much privacy when you take your shower. Also, floors are always wet in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Relja Tancev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Relja would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean and well managed place.

Disliked: Hot water ran out in showers once.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

terry major

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 terry would recommend this property

Liked: Well informed helpful staff.Quiet.

Disliked: Doors close noisily

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

4929405781390027 Black

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 4929405781390027 would recommend this property

Liked: The private room is really nice!

Disliked: Not the best for socialising and not a very good location. Bathrooms could be improved

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the character of the place. They do your laundry for you for E5.50! Location was great, staff are friendly

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, close to the U-Bahn so easy enough to get into central Berlin, VERY clean bathrooms, no bunk beds, very friendly staff who give a lot of advice about what to do in Berlin

Disliked: Noisy in the rooms - you can here all the noise coming from the other rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nik Ahmad Rusydan Nik Hafizi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Nik Ahmad Rusydan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bed linen is not provided for free

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ignacio Skare

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Juan Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Wi-Fi signal everywhere, nice bar with drinks and coffes. You have to book the breakfast it's awesomee! the best one i ever had in a hostel

Disliked: maybe is not the best hostel to party and meet people, if you are travelling alone. The location is good but surroundings are really dark and scary at night.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels