HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.93USD
  • Linen 4.11USD
  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 81-30 of 30 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very atmospheric place, feels like an old mansion classic stay.

Disliked: Just abit south of the city, but still not far from the city centre ie Brandenburg Gate. The staff wasn't particularly friendly with a straight face.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was. I'm sorry if the staff did not wow you. Because this is acctually our secret. Everybody loves its work here and we all love our guests. I hope we get a chance to show you that! Have a great christmas time!!!!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The place is safe and secure.

Disliked: I found the actual hostel to be sort of creepy because when you enter you just walked up a large staircase without seeing reception or the common room. I would always find myself alone in dark deserted hallways, with the automatic lights coming on and off, the water and soap and showers were all automatic and there was never anyone in the common room downstairs. You can go for days here and never speak to another person.


The property's response is

Hey. thank you for taking your tine and give us a review. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your stay as possible. I have to admit that November is the worst month in our business. The occupancy in every Hostel and even Hotel is very low. That's the reason you felt so alone. But there is always somebody at reception, glad to have a chat!!!! We took your complain about hte dark stairways seriously and orderes already brighter bulbs. Next time you gonna be delighted! Merry x-mas!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Conveniently located, great style. I will stay there again!!!

Disliked: a bit pricey...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing! Loved this place! It has great character and atmosphere. The staff are super helpful and the room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Really easy to get around from as well as really close to an underground station.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thank you so much for your nice words. work makes straight aways even more fun! I really hope you had a great time in this great city and our humble hostel :) our doors are always open and we love to have you back one day.take care and all the best from the full grand hostel team!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like that the rooms were really big and that it was really value for money to think that this is the best hostel in Europe. Also, the staffs were really very nice and welcoming.

Disliked: Just that it doesn't have an elevator but I guess it's understandable since it's already a historical building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Oh ja you have no idea how hard we tried to get the permission for a lift. Did you see the housekeeping climbing up these stairs 30 times a day with full buckets of linen? :) But this bl... german law for listed buildings is so strict. No chance. I'm sorry for you. Our lovely guys at reception are helping a lot with luggage. So next time you ask them and they will carry it up for you, promised! Otherwise: I'm walking, yes indeed.....

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean, friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Thank you! Hope you guys had a great time in Berlin. Next time we show you more hidden jewels in our area so you get to know the location more. :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fabulous welcome from helpful friendly staff & elegant relaxing sitting areas- free internet-bar!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I like that! Thank you so much your feedback. Higly much appreciated :) We hope to have you backone day! Take care.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Really friendly staff, felt immediately welcomed by staff who were always ready to give us advice and help us settle in. Very clean and great building. Great bar and friendly travellers. Nice having inidividual beds rather than bunk beds and bathrooms were clean and hot showers.

Disliked: Our room was cold - come November the heat should have been on!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you! It's nice to hear you had a good time. Except the cold! That should not be! We have the heating on since beginning of October. We are in Berlin with the frezzing russion winds. I personally checked your room and the heating is working. Did you switch it on or let reception know? If not. Please, please do so in future. There is nothing as bad as a problem for guestes we could have easily solved if we just would have known. We would appreciate that very very much! Thank you!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's really a nice hostel in a stylish building. Staff friendly, wise & helpful. Rooms & bathrooms clean & tidy. Nice bar but far away from room area which is quiet for sleeping. I enjoyed everything here!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey! Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad we made you happy. That's all we are seeking for!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Grand Hostel is in an exellent location for travelling around Berlin with the train stop being literally 5 minutes walk along the road. The people working there are really helpful and friendly and give you sound advice regarding the things to do and see and how to get there! All in all the Hostel is clean and welcoming and you feel safe there! The food at the "Grandwich" is preety nice too.

Disliked: The ease of travel comes at a price the trains can be a little noisy in the early hours if you have a front facing room and they are very regular. Icannot see that this would be a problem if you were not in the front rooms though!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are very happy that you had a good time here. The trains can be a bit annoying but we offer ear plugs for all the light sleepers and we also can move people to the rooms facing the courtyard. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you the very best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

Check Availability