We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.96
  • Linen USD 4.32
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
24.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.9% 14 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
13.99 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.96 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.11 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.96 USD

Hostel 79.3% 365 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
3.53 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 85.0% 624 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Malone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very clean - almost borders on a hotel experience.

Disliked: I little removed from the centre of the city - but it is not really that far seeing it is still walking distance, and there is a train station about 100m away.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Bicknell

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 January 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, very convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Donohoo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old bishop's palace and is very beautiful. The staff are friendly, always there to help you - and go beyond what is needed to what is wanted! From the welcome cup of coffee to the potplants, lounge chair, desk and desk chair in the room (single) and even a lolly pop and bottled water, everything was very impressive! It is right near a U-Bahn and not too far from places of interest. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in, and is better than many cheap hotels.

Disliked: The shower was a bit wierd - it was only glass, with clothes kept outside, so if there were other people in the room it would be hard to have privacy. Thankfully both times I showered I was the only one in the room so no problem!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juliet Odom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds, wifi worked in the room and was free. The hostel is situated in a really nice building and has a lot of character. The staff (especially bar staff) were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bar ran out of chardonnay (may have been my fault for drinking too much). The breakfast was great but would have been nice to have the option to pay a cheaper price and just have a small breakfast instead of all you can eat.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ming Tung Ho

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Ming Tung would recommend this property

Liked: - it definitely reached hotel standard - very nice and helpful staff ( plus a free welcome drink to greet you - sweet! ) - comfortable single bed which allows you to sleep tight - excellent shower room with hair dryer, absolutely clean! - good location, take a 10 mins walk to have good food :) - free luggage storage

Disliked: - opps. i dislike this column because i really "LIKE" grand hostel berlin :P

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

QING YAO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 QING would recommend this property

Liked: It is a historical buiding which was built in 1877. The rooms are very spacious

Disliked: the night we stayed the wifi was broken down, so we could not get any access to the Internet. But the guy at the reception was really helpful, he let me use the staff computer to check in online.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Whitton

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome rooms, the best and most helpful staff i've ever met (thank you Jerome, he showed us everything there is to know about the city), and it's in such a great location. Great value for money.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Ormson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: it was beautifully decorated and very clean

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Wright

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and accommodating. Staff friendly and the welcoming glass of champagne certainly a treat! Transport connections all very close and plenty of good and cheap places to get breakfast, lunch and dinner all within walking distance.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit strange but may be the custom.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Bezzina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: the Hostel building is very nice, its a restored old Town house. The rooms are big, and the beds are comfy. The stuff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The only think that I didn't like was that there was no kitchen facilities not even a fridge to keep your drinks cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. More like a hotel, the services provided are excellent and the staff are friendly, happy and helpful. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were comfortable (no bunks!!) and the all you can eat breakfast was a welcomed hangover cure. The hostel is well positioned for the underground and there are plenty of takeaways/restaurants nearby. I would recommend anyone to stay here and would probably go as far as saying its the best hostel I've come across yet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Complimentary fizz on NYE was a nice touch, too.

Disliked: The expense - at 150 euros for NYE, the room was at least as expensive as a hotel and very expensive for Berlin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok! Nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dhalgren Attwell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2012 Dhalgren would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, HUGE rooms, amazingly comfy beds and awesome location.

Disliked: Dhalgren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming when we got to the hostel, and sat us down and gave us all the info on Berlin. The breakfast was good value for money. Very clean & secure.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dianne opthoog

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Dianne would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was recommended to us and they certainly didn't let us down. It is like home. The staff are really friendly and willing to solve any problems we had. The room was amazing. The bar atmosphere was warm and the staff put on a great breakfast and provided a fanatastic Christmas dinner for all staying on Christmas Day. We can find no faults<

Disliked: Dianne left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Hew

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at quite a few in my time. A) The staff was friendly. I arrived in the night and was greeted with a cup of coffee and the person at the front desk, Christian, sat me down and took the time to explain stuff to me as well as point out interesting places to visit, based on my goals for the trip. The bartender, Mark, was a blast to hang out with, especially during happy hour. B) The atmosphere was awesome - There is a bar and a happy hour and that really helps in getting to meet people, especially if you are a single traveller like I was. The other travellers I met were friendly too. C) It really is the CLEANEST hostel I have ever stayed in. The bathrooom was spotless. It is actually cleaner than many HOTELS I have ever stayed in as well. The beds are indeed separate beds so if you are a light sleeper, no having to deal to with the comings and goings into bed of a fellow roommate. D) The breakfast was very good - many different things - and it only cost a little over 6 Euros. They also have this deal where you can get an all-day metropass for cheaper than it costs if you went to buy it yourself. E) Value for money can't be beat in my mind. I mean I paid 10.50Eur per night for what I consider the best hostel ever!

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like a 4 star hotel!!!! Really great value, professional, helpful, polite staff! If you go to Berlin, there's no place better!!!!

Disliked: Nothin!!!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Lillico

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was immaculate, had lots of ledges for personal items and a number of hooks to hang items. There was also an actual shower curtain and bathtub!!!!! No short of miraculous for a hostel. The beds are super comfy ( not bunks) and "gave birth" to my best sleep over 9 weeks of Euro-travelling second place only to a king size bed in a marriott hotel in Istanbul. Staff was freindly and the pay breakfast option offered by hostel was ridiculous- in a good way. Christmas markets tour with Ben was lots of fun. Thanks Much Grand hostel Berlin. I will one day return hopefully in summer when I wont practically feeze my nuts off. REMEMBER WINTER CLOTHES WHEN TRAVELLING TO BERLIN IN WINTER!!!

Disliked: Wanted to visit it in the summer.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniele Lucas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you, very much.... i loved this hostel

Disliked: Maybe the distance, but its not a problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and helpful staff, cheap bar, good music, good atmosphere, comfy bed, warm (it was freezing when I was in Berlin), close to U-bahn but also walking distance to the city centre and the cool bars of Mehringdamm

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to public transports, excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and good atmosphere

Disliked: there's nothing to complain about!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Huvenne

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest staff ever !! so professional,curtious & kind !!! The hostel is spotless,the bathrooms crystal clean showers hot beds sooooo comfortable.... 10 ++++

Disliked: The beer on tap is not cold enough.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels