We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.4% Overall Rating

951 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location was good, rooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel. The 5.5euro travel pass you can buy for the day is a great way of getting round the city cheaply. You can have it until 6am the following morning."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.84
  • Linen USD 4.55
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.60 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
19.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
10.63 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.6% 616 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

951 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 792 of 941 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. More like a hotel, the services provided are excellent and the staff are friendly, happy and helpful. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were comfortable (no bunks!!) and the all you can eat breakfast was a welcomed hangover cure. The hostel is well positioned for the underground and there are plenty of takeaways/restaurants nearby. I would recommend anyone to stay here and would probably go as far as saying its the best hostel I've come across yet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Complimentary fizz on NYE was a nice touch, too.

Disliked: The expense - at 150 euros for NYE, the room was at least as expensive as a hotel and very expensive for Berlin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok! Nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dhalgren Attwell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2012 Dhalgren would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, HUGE rooms, amazingly comfy beds and awesome location.

Disliked: Dhalgren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming when we got to the hostel, and sat us down and gave us all the info on Berlin. The breakfast was good value for money. Very clean & secure.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dianne opthoog

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Dianne would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was recommended to us and they certainly didn't let us down. It is like home. The staff are really friendly and willing to solve any problems we had. The room was amazing. The bar atmosphere was warm and the staff put on a great breakfast and provided a fanatastic Christmas dinner for all staying on Christmas Day. We can find no faults<

Disliked: Dianne left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Hew

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at quite a few in my time. A) The staff was friendly. I arrived in the night and was greeted with a cup of coffee and the person at the front desk, Christian, sat me down and took the time to explain stuff to me as well as point out interesting places to visit, based on my goals for the trip. The bartender, Mark, was a blast to hang out with, especially during happy hour. B) The atmosphere was awesome - There is a bar and a happy hour and that really helps in getting to meet people, especially if you are a single traveller like I was. The other travellers I met were friendly too. C) It really is the CLEANEST hostel I have ever stayed in. The bathrooom was spotless. It is actually cleaner than many HOTELS I have ever stayed in as well. The beds are indeed separate beds so if you are a light sleeper, no having to deal to with the comings and goings into bed of a fellow roommate. D) The breakfast was very good - many different things - and it only cost a little over 6 Euros. They also have this deal where you can get an all-day metropass for cheaper than it costs if you went to buy it yourself. E) Value for money can't be beat in my mind. I mean I paid 10.50Eur per night for what I consider the best hostel ever!

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like a 4 star hotel!!!! Really great value, professional, helpful, polite staff! If you go to Berlin, there's no place better!!!!

Disliked: Nothin!!!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Lillico

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was immaculate, had lots of ledges for personal items and a number of hooks to hang items. There was also an actual shower curtain and bathtub!!!!! No short of miraculous for a hostel. The beds are super comfy ( not bunks) and "gave birth" to my best sleep over 9 weeks of Euro-travelling second place only to a king size bed in a marriott hotel in Istanbul. Staff was freindly and the pay breakfast option offered by hostel was ridiculous- in a good way. Christmas markets tour with Ben was lots of fun. Thanks Much Grand hostel Berlin. I will one day return hopefully in summer when I wont practically feeze my nuts off. REMEMBER WINTER CLOTHES WHEN TRAVELLING TO BERLIN IN WINTER!!!

Disliked: Wanted to visit it in the summer.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniele Lucas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you, very much.... i loved this hostel

Disliked: Maybe the distance, but its not a problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and helpful staff, cheap bar, good music, good atmosphere, comfy bed, warm (it was freezing when I was in Berlin), close to U-bahn but also walking distance to the city centre and the cool bars of Mehringdamm

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to public transports, excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and good atmosphere

Disliked: there's nothing to complain about!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Huvenne

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest staff ever !! so professional,curtious & kind !!! The hostel is spotless,the bathrooms crystal clean showers hot beds sooooo comfortable.... 10 ++++

Disliked: The beer on tap is not cold enough.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freat place and nice too it can be more like hotel than hostel and all the staff is so warm i really like

Disliked: its a little far but ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elleno noviello

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 December 2011 elleno would recommend this property

Liked: shower and wc

Disliked: bar room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Dennerley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It was super clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything. The rooms were great, NO BUNK BEDS!!!!! it was good to have a bar where we were able to meet other travellers. The bar tour is so much fun and well worth it.

Disliked: The city tours weren't every day so i missed doing one, but the staff still explain where you can go to see all the sights.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Ingley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, right in the heart of the city! Very easy to find right off the metro. Directions on the website were spot on. I enjoyed the friendly staff, they welcome you with coffee or water and sit you down to show you where to go in the city. They were very helpful. The rooms were the cleanest I have ever seen in a hostel. Even the shared bathrooms were clean, which is rare. The bar is also great before going out 2.00 beers and 1.50 jager shots!! Can't beat that. Overall the hostel is at a perfect location, very clean, and has an excellent friendly staff! I recommend to all travelers.

Disliked: The wifi sometimes cuts out.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Fictorie

Alone

City break

27 November 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Good bed (better then my own!), very, very friendly staff, everything was clean, good showers.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ya Wen Nien

Alone

City break

25 November 2011 Ya Wen would recommend this property

Liked: The organization of the hostel is pretty good, I feel very welcome and comfortable there!

Disliked: I think there's no kitchen?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge rooms, beautiful original features, lovely breakfast, friendly helpful staff, lots of coffee on arrival

Disliked: No privacy to get changed in the showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas GAUTIER

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 November 2011 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Very chearfull team and great place near a subway station. Very nice breakfast

Disliked: a bit noisy and no privacy in the showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to two diferent train lines, close to good cafes and food and it is walking distance to Potsdammer Platz

Disliked: nothing it really was perfect for our needs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were SO spacious and clean. The place itself seemed like a fancy hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful the entire time. They were happy and wanted to answer any questions we had, and make sure we were comfortable. They have a bar that serves cheap beer and delicious food.

Disliked: Just the steps to walk up to our room, but only because I'm lazy.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels