HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
- DFB Football Cup in May 2017
- Fashion Week in July 2017
- Berlin Marathon in September 2017
- New Year's Eve
- Athletics Championship in August 2018 ( for 2017: 07th, 08th, 09th, 10th, 11th August)

To confirm your reservation for the mention dates above we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation. All bookings made are non-refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.95 Euro per person for the entire stay.
Bed linen 3.95 € for the entire stay
Breakfast 6,60 €
Towel 2,20

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 81-90 of 306 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Very good beds for a hostel. Close to subway and nice and clean.

Disliked: Had to rent sheets which wasn't in the information so I had my own which I wasn't allowed to use. Not a big problem in itself, just really annoying that it wasn't stated in the information. I could've used my space better than bring along a sleeping bag if I had known.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Brilliant facilities. All round one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thank you so much for your nice words. Our doors are always open for you. Have a great christmas time and all the best for your 2013!!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Everyone here was super friendly, and helped you interact with other travellers if you were solo. The bar was small and friendly,and the staff interacted with you and were just awesome. Especially Morgan and Beanca. The cleanliness of the hostel was superb, and also was super safe. It was easy to get to, and close to lots of nice places to eat!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thank you so much for taking your time and give us such a great review. A special hello from Bea. We hope to have you back one day - maybe to show you Berlin in summer. Have a great christmas and all the best for 2013!!!!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The location, clean rooms

Disliked: The lock-system is to complicated. I would prefer having a regular key or card instead of code to open doors. That the price didn't include towels and bedclothes. Bedrooms not so confortable, water was to cold.


The property's response is

Hello. Thank you for your comment. Every critic is always welcome. Just like this we can improve our service. That the beds are not comfi is the first time we hear. Usually thats something our guests rate as extremly good if you go through the other reviews.
With keys or cards its been always a big trouble with loosing it and taking a deposit for it bothers the guest most of the time. Most of our guests think the code system is very handy and safe. Anyway have a great christmas!!!!!!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very atmospheric place, feels like an old mansion classic stay.

Disliked: Just abit south of the city, but still not far from the city centre ie Brandenburg Gate. The staff wasn't particularly friendly with a straight face.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was. I'm sorry if the staff did not wow you. Because this is acctually our secret. Everybody loves its work here and we all love our guests. I hope we get a chance to show you that! Have a great christmas time!!!!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The place is safe and secure.

Disliked: I found the actual hostel to be sort of creepy because when you enter you just walked up a large staircase without seeing reception or the common room. I would always find myself alone in dark deserted hallways, with the automatic lights coming on and off, the water and soap and showers were all automatic and there was never anyone in the common room downstairs. You can go for days here and never speak to another person.


The property's response is

Hey. thank you for taking your tine and give us a review. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your stay as possible. I have to admit that November is the worst month in our business. The occupancy in every Hostel and even Hotel is very low. That's the reason you felt so alone. But there is always somebody at reception, glad to have a chat!!!! We took your complain about hte dark stairways seriously and orderes already brighter bulbs. Next time you gonna be delighted! Merry x-mas!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Conveniently located, great style. I will stay there again!!!

Disliked: a bit pricey...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing! Loved this place! It has great character and atmosphere. The staff are super helpful and the room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Really easy to get around from as well as really close to an underground station.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, thank you so much for your nice words. work makes straight aways even more fun! I really hope you had a great time in this great city and our humble hostel :) our doors are always open and we love to have you back one day.take care and all the best from the full grand hostel team!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like that the rooms were really big and that it was really value for money to think that this is the best hostel in Europe. Also, the staffs were really very nice and welcoming.

Disliked: Just that it doesn't have an elevator but I guess it's understandable since it's already a historical building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Oh ja you have no idea how hard we tried to get the permission for a lift. Did you see the housekeeping climbing up these stairs 30 times a day with full buckets of linen? :) But this bl... german law for listed buildings is so strict. No chance. I'm sorry for you. Our lovely guys at reception are helping a lot with luggage. So next time you ask them and they will carry it up for you, promised! Otherwise: I'm walking, yes indeed.....

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean, friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Thank you! Hope you guys had a great time in Berlin. Next time we show you more hidden jewels in our area so you get to know the location more. :)

Check Availability