HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin

Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 85%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.74USD
  • Linen 4.59USD
  • Towel 2.38USD

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.20 €
towel 2.00 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 85%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 81-56 of 56 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like that the rooms were really big and that it was really value for money to think that this is the best hostel in Europe. Also, the staffs were really very nice and welcoming.

Disliked: Just that it doesn't have an elevator but I guess it's understandable since it's already a historical building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Oh ja you have no idea how hard we tried to get the permission for a lift. Did you see the housekeeping climbing up these stairs 30 times a day with full buckets of linen? :) But this bl... german law for listed buildings is so strict. No chance. I'm sorry for you. Our lovely guys at reception are helping a lot with luggage. So next time you ask them and they will carry it up for you, promised! Otherwise: I'm walking, yes indeed.....

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean, friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Thank you! Hope you guys had a great time in Berlin. Next time we show you more hidden jewels in our area so you get to know the location more. :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fabulous welcome from helpful friendly staff & elegant relaxing sitting areas- free internet-bar!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I like that! Thank you so much your feedback. Higly much appreciated :) We hope to have you backone day! Take care.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Really friendly staff, felt immediately welcomed by staff who were always ready to give us advice and help us settle in. Very clean and great building. Great bar and friendly travellers. Nice having inidividual beds rather than bunk beds and bathrooms were clean and hot showers.

Disliked: Our room was cold - come November the heat should have been on!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you! It's nice to hear you had a good time. Except the cold! That should not be! We have the heating on since beginning of October. We are in Berlin with the frezzing russion winds. I personally checked your room and the heating is working. Did you switch it on or let reception know? If not. Please, please do so in future. There is nothing as bad as a problem for guestes we could have easily solved if we just would have known. We would appreciate that very very much! Thank you!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's really a nice hostel in a stylish building. Staff friendly, wise & helpful. Rooms & bathrooms clean & tidy. Nice bar but far away from room area which is quiet for sleeping. I enjoyed everything here!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey! Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad we made you happy. That's all we are seeking for!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Grand Hostel is in an exellent location for travelling around Berlin with the train stop being literally 5 minutes walk along the road. The people working there are really helpful and friendly and give you sound advice regarding the things to do and see and how to get there! All in all the Hostel is clean and welcoming and you feel safe there! The food at the "Grandwich" is preety nice too.

Disliked: The ease of travel comes at a price the trains can be a little noisy in the early hours if you have a front facing room and they are very regular. Icannot see that this would be a problem if you were not in the front rooms though!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are very happy that you had a good time here. The trains can be a bit annoying but we offer ear plugs for all the light sleepers and we also can move people to the rooms facing the courtyard. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you the very best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lovely, beautiful hostel with excellent beds, excellent sheets. no bunks. friendly staff and guests.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were brilliant - in particular Christian & Ben - they were extremely helpful and friendly and made you feel at home. The decor was pretty cool although a little bit too grand in the bar area - you felt there was no real place to relax. It was very clean.

Disliked: Essentially this was a cross between a hotel & a hostel with the negatives of both and the benefits of neither. In a hotel you would at least get free coffee making facilities and your own bathroom and in a hostel you would not normally have to keep paying for everything as an extra.* The location wasn't great. It was at least a 30min walk to the Brandenburg gate.* nothing beyond the bed and the room was included. You needed to pay for everything! The linen, towels, to print boarding passes, any food and unless you brought your own tea or coffee you had to pay for that as well, laundry was over €5 per load.* our room was close to the bar & Reception so it was noisy from the bar at night and noisy from people checking in and out in the morning (from 6am onwards).* the showers were unisex but there was no where to change at all except in the main area where everyone could see - automatic showers meant you couldn't change in the cubicle.* the bar and restaurant were no cheaper than anywhere else in Berlin and you didn't get any type of discount for staying at the hostel* it left us with the feeling this was a place designed to extract money from your pockets


The property's response is

I'm very sorry that we could not meet your expectations!You are right.The room you stayed in is the closest to the common areas.I'm sure reception could help you when complained.By the way there is a private bathroom right in front of your room. Extra costs: We try to keep the cost for our guest as low as possible.So everybody can decide with which extras they want to accomplish themselfs.We think thats preety fair and very common in Germany.I still hope you enjoyed your party time in Berlin!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff, in particular christiano could not have been more helpful! upon arrival gave very good information and actually made the guests feel welcome. Not the standard here's your key and give me money! Very helpful with anything regarding berlin or travel and never felt like i was bothering them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to welcome you soon again :o)
All the best your Grand Hostel Team

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms had loads of character and for a hostel they are amazing. Location is good once you get to grips with using u bahn to places. The property is listed which means facilities like lifts and soundproofing must be hard to implement Im guessing.

Disliked: Due to the fact its big and old, its really echoey and loud. We stayed downstairs for 1 night next to common areas and i didn't get any sleep at all. We moved to top floor after that which was far better. Not sure if we were just unlucky but it seems to attract a young American clientele which seem to have one volume level of V loud, and insisted on holding drunken conversations on the landing just outside your door. It was a constant. The best rooms will be the most expensive ones away from the landing and stairs as if you get a giggle of young girls in heels returning from a night / morning out, you're definitely going to get woke up! The staff need to get a bit tougher on this i think.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very sorry for the trouble caused to you...our mission is that every guest gets a good night sleep in our Hostel and enjoys their stay. As you have mentioned our building is historic and the soundproof is very hard to implement. Never less our staff is 24 hours there to make sure that the noise is being kept down after 10pm. We will take your comments on board and will be a bit tougher. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

Check Availability