HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.8% Overall Rating

949 out of 963 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2014)

"Super Staff, tolle Zimmer. Alles sauber und ordentlich. Man wird herzlich begrüßt, kriegt Tipps rund um Berlin und fühlt sich gleich wie zu Hause."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.14
  • Linen USD 4.73
  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
23.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
22.51 USD

Hostel 84.3% 47 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
15.17 USD

Hostel 85.7% 459 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
19.72 USD

Hostel 71.9% 269 reviews
Hotel-Transit
27.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.79 USD

Hostel 82.2% 319 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
16.55 USD

Hostel 78.1% 962 reviews
Potsdamer Hof Berlin am Potsdamer Platz
39.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

949 out of 963 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 790 of 939 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thorpe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arrival was greated by friendly staff member, offered a drink and given a run down on all the things to see/do in berlin. Rooms were spacious and clean. All staff were attentive and friendly, especially Ben who makes a killer focaccia and took us on a great bar tour! Whilst breakfast seems a touch dear, it is near the best I have come across so far in my travels. Thanks for a great stay. Will be back again for sure!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing beds, staff and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inácio Sampaio Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Inácio would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to! Nice atmosphere, good location – just a few steps from the U-Bahn station – large and clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. And the staff has been really friendly and helpful, specially Mei and Ben.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Farrell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012

Liked: Everything; it was the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. There was a wonderful all you can eat breakfast with eggs and bacon; helpful staff; large, clean, and comfy rooms. This hostel is a hotel.

Disliked: Justin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the most hotel like of hostels... So clean, so comfortable!!! Everything is great. Location to metro... Kebabs... Alls good. The staff are very knowledgable and super friendly.

Disliked: I would say it could be difficult for single travellers to meet others?! But only slightly... Still the best hostel I've stayed at.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Challoner

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The Grand Hostal is warm, friendly and exceptional value for money. It was better than some 3 & 4* hotels I have stayed in, in other parts of Europe. I would highly recommend and will return again in other visits to Berlin in the future.

Disliked: Nothing particuarly, although the building does allow noise to travel quite easily, however the staff do deal with any issues very discreetly.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere and really friendly staff! We were greeted with a complimentary cup of tea and shown a map of Berlin, told how to get to attractions and told of the hostels activities including bike tours and happy hour. Spacious rooms, felt more like a hotel, even had a chocolate on the pillow! Great buffet breakfast available for a small price. Close to Checkpoint Charlie etc. Very Comfortable and welcoming environment. Would highly recommend staying at this beautiful building

Disliked: No where dry to put clothes while showering but good hot water and pressure

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Moss

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Its commitment to good service

Disliked: showers were not hot enough and its popularity made it imposible to stay there for the duration of my trip

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was reallly nice, bright and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was handy for the centre of Berlin.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wendy Allan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful staff I've come across. Sit down with you upon arrival, with a city map, and explain where all areas of interest are located through out the city. Discount daily metro tickets available from reception.

Disliked: It's all very nice... but too nice! It felt like a hotel more than a hostel. If you were traveling alone it might be difficult to meet people. No kitchen facilities is annoying. The only breakfast option available is an expensive buffet (but nobody said anything when we ate our own cereal + yogurt, for a tip!)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: The Grand Hostel really is a Grand hostel way and by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! And I do believe its better than most hotels! As soon as I arrived I was filling out a form and was given a free beer to make form filling much more entertaining and once the forms were filled the dude at reception sat down with me with a map and in detail pointed out all the main attractions and which areas have what to offer aswell as MUSTAFAS!!!! The best Doner on the planet! And also the breakfast they put on was first class! something I would expect to see at a top notch restaurant! But if you are in Berlin STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! :)

Disliked: The bar crawl I found was horrible.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Getting older, I haven't stayed in hostels in about 6 years, but when I saw the low prices for this one in Berlin, I took it. Beautiful hostel, probably the nicest I have stayed in. Very charming, well-planned and tidy. Everything was impeccably clean at all times, which is hard to do in a hostel where many people are using the same showers and bathrooms. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor things: internet didn't work at two of the three computers in the lounge. On my first night there, was woken up by a loud hostel residents in, I believe, the room above. This is not really the hostel's fault, though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Malone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very clean - almost borders on a hotel experience.

Disliked: I little removed from the centre of the city - but it is not really that far seeing it is still walking distance, and there is a train station about 100m away.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Bicknell

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 January 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, very convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Donohoo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old bishop's palace and is very beautiful. The staff are friendly, always there to help you - and go beyond what is needed to what is wanted! From the welcome cup of coffee to the potplants, lounge chair, desk and desk chair in the room (single) and even a lolly pop and bottled water, everything was very impressive! It is right near a U-Bahn and not too far from places of interest. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in, and is better than many cheap hotels.

Disliked: The shower was a bit wierd - it was only glass, with clothes kept outside, so if there were other people in the room it would be hard to have privacy. Thankfully both times I showered I was the only one in the room so no problem!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juliet Odom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds, wifi worked in the room and was free. The hostel is situated in a really nice building and has a lot of character. The staff (especially bar staff) were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bar ran out of chardonnay (may have been my fault for drinking too much). The breakfast was great but would have been nice to have the option to pay a cheaper price and just have a small breakfast instead of all you can eat.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ming Tung Ho

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Ming Tung would recommend this property

Liked: - it definitely reached hotel standard - very nice and helpful staff ( plus a free welcome drink to greet you - sweet! ) - comfortable single bed which allows you to sleep tight - excellent shower room with hair dryer, absolutely clean! - good location, take a 10 mins walk to have good food :) - free luggage storage

Disliked: - opps. i dislike this column because i really "LIKE" grand hostel berlin :P

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

QING YAO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 QING would recommend this property

Liked: It is a historical buiding which was built in 1877. The rooms are very spacious

Disliked: the night we stayed the wifi was broken down, so we could not get any access to the Internet. But the guy at the reception was really helpful, he let me use the staff computer to check in online.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Whitton

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome rooms, the best and most helpful staff i've ever met (thank you Jerome, he showed us everything there is to know about the city), and it's in such a great location. Great value for money.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Ormson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: it was beautifully decorated and very clean

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Wright

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and accommodating. Staff friendly and the welcoming glass of champagne certainly a treat! Transport connections all very close and plenty of good and cheap places to get breakfast, lunch and dinner all within walking distance.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit strange but may be the custom.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Bezzina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: the Hostel building is very nice, its a restored old Town house. The rooms are big, and the beds are comfy. The stuff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The only think that I didn't like was that there was no kitchen facilities not even a fridge to keep your drinks cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. More like a hotel, the services provided are excellent and the staff are friendly, happy and helpful. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were comfortable (no bunks!!) and the all you can eat breakfast was a welcomed hangover cure. The hostel is well positioned for the underground and there are plenty of takeaways/restaurants nearby. I would recommend anyone to stay here and would probably go as far as saying its the best hostel I've come across yet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Complimentary fizz on NYE was a nice touch, too.

Disliked: The expense - at 150 euros for NYE, the room was at least as expensive as a hotel and very expensive for Berlin.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels