HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.02USD
  • Linen 4.16USD
  • Towel 2.16USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 71-80 of 304 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: In the heart of Berlin, you can go to any place of interest via local traffic within a few minutes (ask the waiter for tickets, they're selling the cheap ones!) Cosy place to stay, welcome-drinks, loveley give-and-take-library, people from all over the world you want to make friends with.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Large and clean rooms, no bunk beds. We had a perfect stay there.

Disliked: everything was nice

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great atmosphere for the traveller looking for a laid back but social place. All beds separate and no bunks.

Disliked: not much... Breakfast not included and taking the luggage to 3rd floor up the stairs can be somewhat taxing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had a cool stay at the hostel....nice stuff, friendly, cool atmosphere....definetely a cool hostel!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: They invited us to a free welcome drink first. The staff was superb. They explained everything whilst drinking a cup of coffee with us. Very nice breakfast and food in the hostel restaurant Grand Ma`s. The rooms are spacious and very clean. No bunk beds so we had a good and relaxed sleep. In the bar we very invited for "Glühwein" and had a very good time with all the other travellers around. The location is very good, cause there are 2 main tube lines and the S-train station is closed. Not more than 3 minutes to go by S-train to the city center. We had a perfect time in the Hostel and would recommend it to everybody.

Disliked: Nothing to complain at all

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Felt great to not be sleeping on bunk beds for a change. They had their own bar which made meeting people really easy. Good location right next to U and S trains. Also really easy to walk everywhere. Super helpful staff, WiFi worked all over. Clean bathrooms. Good value

Disliked: didnt have any problems with this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was pretty nice. Was so clean and with the proper beds it seemed like a hostel. Location was good too. There's a bar and restaurant. Can't say anything bad about it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place is amazing. Highly recommend staying there for anyone travelling to Berlin. The place has more of a hotel feel to it but with the atmosphere and friendliness that a hostel can have. The staff are amazing, they are all super friendly and have great advice for places to visit.

Disliked: Its not super central, but the cool thing is that its right beside a metro stop which can take you anywhere you want in a matter of minutes.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Very good beds for a hostel. Close to subway and nice and clean.

Disliked: Had to rent sheets which wasn't in the information so I had my own which I wasn't allowed to use. Not a big problem in itself, just really annoying that it wasn't stated in the information. I could've used my space better than bring along a sleeping bag if I had known.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Brilliant facilities. All round one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thank you so much for your nice words. Our doors are always open for you. Have a great christmas time and all the best for your 2013!!!!

Check Availability