We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.7% Overall Rating

959 out of 974 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.86
  • Linen USD 4.26
  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.35 USD

Hostel 81.8% 54 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.79 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.84 USD

Hostel 69.9% 275 reviews
Hotel-Transit
23.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.79 USD

Hostel 80.2% 361 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.63 USD

Hostel 74.2% 977 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
16.61 USD

Hostel 84.7% 622 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

959 out of 974 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 799 of 950 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers for men on the floor I was on. Water was barely warm.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavla Vacková

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Pavla would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed the time in Grand Hostel Berlin. Great location, helpful staff, very clean bathrooms, amazing rooms and quiet atmosphere in the bedrooms area. No complains at all.

Disliked: Pavla left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the hostel was located in a beautiful old building but with very modern and clean rooms and facilities. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place.

Disliked: Nothing. The surrounding area wasn't amazing but the hostel was very close to the U-Bahn so very easy to get around the city.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Breakfast!!!

Disliked: Location?

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TingYu Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 TingYu would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel in every aspect - good location, very clean, friendly staff, comfortable bed, shower water is hot.

Disliked: nope

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, amazing staff, good location, tasty breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Mercer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant, we arrive from the night train early morning, they let us in and were very accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious. Overall good stay!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jing Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended, both location and staff. Very clean! Its hard to forgot one staff's name: 'Wu Feng'五峰 who can speak chinese well :) Thanks all !

Disliked: NO

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miguel Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked the most was the treatment I received by the staff. When I arrived I was offered a complementary drink, which given the negative temperatures at the time felt really good. Then the person that received me took the initiative to pickup a big map and show me what things I could find near by the hostel. Having showed me that, he helped me to plan an itinerary for my visit to Berlin. All this without me even asking for it. Super!

Disliked: The only not so nice thing was not having an elevator. If you stay in the 3rd floor like I didd prepare yourself for quite an effort to go up the stairs.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thorpe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arrival was greated by friendly staff member, offered a drink and given a run down on all the things to see/do in berlin. Rooms were spacious and clean. All staff were attentive and friendly, especially Ben who makes a killer focaccia and took us on a great bar tour! Whilst breakfast seems a touch dear, it is near the best I have come across so far in my travels. Thanks for a great stay. Will be back again for sure!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing beds, staff and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inácio Sampaio Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Inácio would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to! Nice atmosphere, good location – just a few steps from the U-Bahn station – large and clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. And the staff has been really friendly and helpful, specially Mei and Ben.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Farrell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012

Liked: Everything; it was the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. There was a wonderful all you can eat breakfast with eggs and bacon; helpful staff; large, clean, and comfy rooms. This hostel is a hotel.

Disliked: Justin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the most hotel like of hostels... So clean, so comfortable!!! Everything is great. Location to metro... Kebabs... Alls good. The staff are very knowledgable and super friendly.

Disliked: I would say it could be difficult for single travellers to meet others?! But only slightly... Still the best hostel I've stayed at.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Challoner

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The Grand Hostal is warm, friendly and exceptional value for money. It was better than some 3 & 4* hotels I have stayed in, in other parts of Europe. I would highly recommend and will return again in other visits to Berlin in the future.

Disliked: Nothing particuarly, although the building does allow noise to travel quite easily, however the staff do deal with any issues very discreetly.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere and really friendly staff! We were greeted with a complimentary cup of tea and shown a map of Berlin, told how to get to attractions and told of the hostels activities including bike tours and happy hour. Spacious rooms, felt more like a hotel, even had a chocolate on the pillow! Great buffet breakfast available for a small price. Close to Checkpoint Charlie etc. Very Comfortable and welcoming environment. Would highly recommend staying at this beautiful building

Disliked: No where dry to put clothes while showering but good hot water and pressure

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Moss

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Its commitment to good service

Disliked: showers were not hot enough and its popularity made it imposible to stay there for the duration of my trip

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was reallly nice, bright and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was handy for the centre of Berlin.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wendy Allan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful staff I've come across. Sit down with you upon arrival, with a city map, and explain where all areas of interest are located through out the city. Discount daily metro tickets available from reception.

Disliked: It's all very nice... but too nice! It felt like a hotel more than a hostel. If you were traveling alone it might be difficult to meet people. No kitchen facilities is annoying. The only breakfast option available is an expensive buffet (but nobody said anything when we ate our own cereal + yogurt, for a tip!)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: The Grand Hostel really is a Grand hostel way and by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! And I do believe its better than most hotels! As soon as I arrived I was filling out a form and was given a free beer to make form filling much more entertaining and once the forms were filled the dude at reception sat down with me with a map and in detail pointed out all the main attractions and which areas have what to offer aswell as MUSTAFAS!!!! The best Doner on the planet! And also the breakfast they put on was first class! something I would expect to see at a top notch restaurant! But if you are in Berlin STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! :)

Disliked: The bar crawl I found was horrible.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Getting older, I haven't stayed in hostels in about 6 years, but when I saw the low prices for this one in Berlin, I took it. Beautiful hostel, probably the nicest I have stayed in. Very charming, well-planned and tidy. Everything was impeccably clean at all times, which is hard to do in a hostel where many people are using the same showers and bathrooms. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor things: internet didn't work at two of the three computers in the lounge. On my first night there, was woken up by a loud hostel residents in, I believe, the room above. This is not really the hostel's fault, though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Malone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very clean - almost borders on a hotel experience.

Disliked: I little removed from the centre of the city - but it is not really that far seeing it is still walking distance, and there is a train station about 100m away.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Bicknell

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 January 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, very convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Donohoo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old bishop's palace and is very beautiful. The staff are friendly, always there to help you - and go beyond what is needed to what is wanted! From the welcome cup of coffee to the potplants, lounge chair, desk and desk chair in the room (single) and even a lolly pop and bottled water, everything was very impressive! It is right near a U-Bahn and not too far from places of interest. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in, and is better than many cheap hotels.

Disliked: The shower was a bit wierd - it was only glass, with clothes kept outside, so if there were other people in the room it would be hard to have privacy. Thankfully both times I showered I was the only one in the room so no problem!

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels