HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.1% Overall Rating

946 out of 960 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

Takashi Iwai thinks…

"I stayed in a 4-bed mixed room and it was so spacious. The shower room and the toilet were shared, so I did not have to wake up due to the noise of other peole taking a shower. The hostel itsel is…"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.58
  • Linen USD 4.98
  • Towel USD 2.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
18.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 9 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
17.04 USD

Hostel 91.7% 18 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
55.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.1% 20 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
20.33 USD

Hostel 83.1% 447 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.43 USD

Hostel 75.3% 262 reviews
Hotel-Transit
29.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.07 USD

Hostel 81.3% 284 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
18.88 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

946 out of 960 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 787 of 936 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcos Dollerer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: Big comfortable beds and rooms.

Disliked: The shower rooms was terrible. Privacy zero.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Staff were helpful in providing a map and ideas for sightseeing. Free drink on arrival. Comfortable beds and lockers in rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niall Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff

Disliked: Very echoey building - can hear every door close, footstep or stair taken.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Endlein

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

25 March 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: Although the old building is charming, it can be very noisy: walls are paper-thinn, and the slamming of heavy doors and footsteps can be heared on every floor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Chan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Wai would recommend this property

Liked: this was a great experience!! never think that a hostel can be such a nice place to stay with as perfect as staying in hotel. just a 2-min walk and you will reach the stations as well as gorgeous food stores. and it's located just a 25-min travel time to the central station. how conveient it was!!

Disliked: nope

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Rooms were big, clean and modern and the staff are very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Ummenhofer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything !! ^^

Disliked: Nothing !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were beautiful! I would recommend this hostel to anyone, I can't believe how nice it was, especially for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Edgar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Where do you start! How about a big smiling face and a welcome drink. Right from the off, the staff are asking "what can we do for you" The hostel is spotlessly clean and really is better than a lot of recommended hotels I've stayed in. Piping hot good quality showers and comfy individual beds. If you walk from the Grand Hostel you'll get to either the main station or the TV tower in 45 mins, everything else of note is closer. Generally a pleasurable place to stay.

Disliked: If I had to be honest and picky it would be breakfast. If you sit and eat from 8am til midday it's great. If you only want a bowl of cornflakes, then €6.50 is expensive but the choice is yours.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Washer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming staff, free coffee on arrival and everyone so keen to help you as much as they can. Also nice classy bar space with happy hour tap beer every night was great at the end of a busy day. Very close to some good sights and close to u-bahn and s-bahn. Safe with key code access.

Disliked: Lack of an in room fridge or any cooking facilities was frustrating but it was reasonably easy to eat out cheaply in the local area. Wifi was slow and not awesome reception in our room on first floor. Three comPuters with Internet access didnt work at all well and had no USB access so couldn't upload photos etc. Also had no Microsoft office programmes so couldn't use for anything more than browsing (we are both applying for jobs while traveling and need word/acrobat etc. there are Internet cafes nearby though

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reine Gammoh

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

10 March 2012 Reine would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really helpful staff, good location.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms even for those with private rooms, but they're clean and not far from the rooms, so it's okay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Rockall

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 March 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Has to be one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Everything was excellent. Friendly staff, spotlessly clean, good atmosphere, a good breakfast for €6,50

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers for men on the floor I was on. Water was barely warm.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavla Vacková

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Pavla would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed the time in Grand Hostel Berlin. Great location, helpful staff, very clean bathrooms, amazing rooms and quiet atmosphere in the bedrooms area. No complains at all.

Disliked: Pavla left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the hostel was located in a beautiful old building but with very modern and clean rooms and facilities. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place.

Disliked: Nothing. The surrounding area wasn't amazing but the hostel was very close to the U-Bahn so very easy to get around the city.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Breakfast!!!

Disliked: Location?

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TingYu Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 TingYu would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel in every aspect - good location, very clean, friendly staff, comfortable bed, shower water is hot.

Disliked: nope

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, amazing staff, good location, tasty breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Mercer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant, we arrive from the night train early morning, they let us in and were very accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious. Overall good stay!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jing Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended, both location and staff. Very clean! Its hard to forgot one staff's name: 'Wu Feng'五峰 who can speak chinese well :) Thanks all !

Disliked: NO

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miguel Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked the most was the treatment I received by the staff. When I arrived I was offered a complementary drink, which given the negative temperatures at the time felt really good. Then the person that received me took the initiative to pickup a big map and show me what things I could find near by the hostel. Having showed me that, he helped me to plan an itinerary for my visit to Berlin. All this without me even asking for it. Super!

Disliked: The only not so nice thing was not having an elevator. If you stay in the 3rd floor like I didd prepare yourself for quite an effort to go up the stairs.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thorpe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arrival was greated by friendly staff member, offered a drink and given a run down on all the things to see/do in berlin. Rooms were spacious and clean. All staff were attentive and friendly, especially Ben who makes a killer focaccia and took us on a great bar tour! Whilst breakfast seems a touch dear, it is near the best I have come across so far in my travels. Thanks for a great stay. Will be back again for sure!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing beds, staff and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inácio Sampaio Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Inácio would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to! Nice atmosphere, good location – just a few steps from the U-Bahn station – large and clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. And the staff has been really friendly and helpful, specially Mei and Ben.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels