We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.00
  • Linen USD 4.35
  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
17.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.08 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
13.04 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.25 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
11.86 USD

Hostel 80.7% 364 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.86 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.55 USD

Hostel 84.7% 623 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dandan Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Dandan would recommend this property

Liked: I like the big rooms, the cleaness, the staff, etc.

Disliked: Dandan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Hohn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Amazing atmosphere.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean and modern showers + bathrooms, safe and secure, great atmosphere! :)

Disliked: No elevator I suppose, but there are only three floors so it was a minor discomfort.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, awesome location, great facilities and the nicest and most comfortable hostel rooms I've every stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Mayne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I begin? The staff were the most helpful staff I've ever encountered while travelling, giving us advice on where to go, what to do, all that stuff etc, and were just generally absolutely lovely. The room we stayed in was brilliant, it was extremely spacious, had enough plug sockets etc, though it could get tiring climbing to the third floor (there is no lift because the building is protected). It felt safe, the price was VERY generous and the location was fantastic, literally opposite an U-Bahn station and just a few minutes walk from an area of Kreuzberg packed with restaurants and nightlife. The bar was also very good, always had people in so it never felt dead and was a good place to meet people. I would highly recommend this hostel to anybody.

Disliked: It could have done with perhaps a kitchen, but I'm really struggling to find anything that was significantly easy to dislike about this hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunkbeds! The single beds were very comfortable. Very clean bathrooms. Great staff - very friendly and full of informtion. Greeted with a free drink, maps, and someone to explain where everything of importance was! Lovely decor.

Disliked: Not much - a bathmat in the bathroom wouldn't have gone astray. The bath/shower combo made the floor really slippery.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Pan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very comfortable (no bunk beds, just single beds) and super clean. Huge windows in room to let in natural light. Loved the property. Apparently it's an old historical monument!

Disliked: One bathroom per room of 6 made it a little difficult to coordinate. Toilets + shower are in the same bathroom. Also, difficult to meet other travellers. The common room area is more of a bar

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, great rooms and very clean bathrooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sangeen Qazi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Sangeen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Comfortable hostal. Small & Cozy common area / bar. Free wifi. 24 hours reception & service. No bunk-beds!! Single beds for everyone each with own bed-side ligth. Quiet and non-crowded environment. Very friendly and helpful staff. We checked in late at night and were offered hot & cold beverages of our choice. They helped us plan our trip for the day. I am glad we chose this hostel for our stay in Berlin.

Disliked: No complementry breakfast included !! Stairs !! .. You are screwed if you have room on the top floor. If you prefer a crowded hostal with a huge common area, This hostel might not be for you. We on the other-hand were glad to have a good-night sleep after lots of traveling.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kazusa Edamura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Kazusa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and new. Not bank beds. Individual lockers. The reception is really helpful (Christian is amazing).

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a bit pricy, but it was more like staying in a hotel with friendly staff, rather than a hostel.

Disliked: It was hard to work out where to go by train to get to the hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rogers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Simplicity, Layout, Authenticity. It is my 2nd visit to this Hotel and I love it just as much as the city of Berlin!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Hazard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms, location is good right next to the train station, bar was good

Disliked: No lift but wasn't really a major issue

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Flavia Moriyama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Flavia would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close from subway, clean, nice staff, huge 6 bed dorm and safe.

Disliked: In case you choose 6 beds dorms, be prepared for the stairs. Do not recommend heavy luggage.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Pozzo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: By far the most hospitable and welcoming staff we have come across on our travels. We arrived at the hostel much earlier than expected. The staff offered that we take a shower and to hold our luggage. Whilst we showered the staff organized our room, and were able to check in 3 hours early. Throughout our time at the grand hostel Berlin, the staff were more than happy to help us with directions. Every member we came across was equally friendly and happy to help us. We were sad to leave and excited to go back

Disliked: The building is very old and charming; the downside however being that there is no lift, and we were on the top floor. The staff members however helped us carry our baggage.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Atmosphäre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many activities and great staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little small for the price.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristian Høeg

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: The sweet yet effective and always very courteous attitude of especially the female staff

Disliked: Nothing, I was completely satisfied

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, easy to get to - great directions from main train station.

Disliked: Lacking kitchen facilities.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice n friendly..the locationwas really nice n it was easy to get around to the main tourist sites. This hostel was extremely clean

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Soh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were great and it was super duper clean! Bed mattress are very good and comfortable too!

Disliked: hmmm there is no kitchen

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alasdair Howe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Alasdair would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place was very nice indeed. The rooms were spacious and clean, whilst the common rooms were really nice.

Disliked: Not much! The bathroom was lacking a few features that I would have liked to see, like a hand towel and shampoo, but those are minor problems.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome we received

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay in a beautiful old building, with re-furbed lovely clean rooms and common areas

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels