HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.4% Overall Rating

951 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location was good, rooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel. The 5.5euro travel pass you can buy for the day is a great way of getting round the city cheaply. You can have it until 6am the following morning."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.84
  • Linen USD 4.55
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.60 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
15.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
15.28 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
17.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
11.95 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
15.94 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.6% 616 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

951 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 792 of 941 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a bit pricy, but it was more like staying in a hotel with friendly staff, rather than a hostel.

Disliked: It was hard to work out where to go by train to get to the hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rogers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Simplicity, Layout, Authenticity. It is my 2nd visit to this Hotel and I love it just as much as the city of Berlin!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Hazard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms, location is good right next to the train station, bar was good

Disliked: No lift but wasn't really a major issue

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Flavia Moriyama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Flavia would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close from subway, clean, nice staff, huge 6 bed dorm and safe.

Disliked: In case you choose 6 beds dorms, be prepared for the stairs. Do not recommend heavy luggage.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Pozzo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: By far the most hospitable and welcoming staff we have come across on our travels. We arrived at the hostel much earlier than expected. The staff offered that we take a shower and to hold our luggage. Whilst we showered the staff organized our room, and were able to check in 3 hours early. Throughout our time at the grand hostel Berlin, the staff were more than happy to help us with directions. Every member we came across was equally friendly and happy to help us. We were sad to leave and excited to go back

Disliked: The building is very old and charming; the downside however being that there is no lift, and we were on the top floor. The staff members however helped us carry our baggage.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Atmosphäre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many activities and great staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little small for the price.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristian Høeg

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: The sweet yet effective and always very courteous attitude of especially the female staff

Disliked: Nothing, I was completely satisfied

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, easy to get to - great directions from main train station.

Disliked: Lacking kitchen facilities.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice n friendly..the locationwas really nice n it was easy to get around to the main tourist sites. This hostel was extremely clean

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Soh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were great and it was super duper clean! Bed mattress are very good and comfortable too!

Disliked: hmmm there is no kitchen

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alasdair Howe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Alasdair would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the place was very nice indeed. The rooms were spacious and clean, whilst the common rooms were really nice.

Disliked: Not much! The bathroom was lacking a few features that I would have liked to see, like a hand towel and shampoo, but those are minor problems.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome we received

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay in a beautiful old building, with re-furbed lovely clean rooms and common areas

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Wei would recommend this property

Liked: definitely one of the best hostels! doubt will anyone think it's not a good idea to choose here!

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, well-kept, beautiful building.

Disliked: Over-eager cleaning staff threw out my 5E toothbrush and toothpaste while cleaning! Staff got me some leftover toothpaste, but had to go out and buy new brush. Poorly-mounted wardrobe (mounted into the dry wall, not a stud) fell on me, got scratched up, sprained fingers.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. They would find a route if you wanted to visit somewhere. Large bedroom and comfy beds. You could walk to the centre of berlin in half an hour. Good breakfast next door reasonably priced. Old building was sympathetically modernised. Nice and warm. Bar area great and happy hour good too.

Disliked: Doors slamming at night was disturbing even with ear plugs. If some sort of cushion could be put on the room doors it would make a great improvement.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely private room. great location next to two ubahn stops.

Disliked: no problems.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the city and the sights.

Disliked: no lift but that is due to the age of the building

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perfect! The best hostel I've ever stayed. Actually, this hostel is more like a hotel in a cheap price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Plaven

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 May 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in hands down!!! Right off the metro (easy to find), we were greeted with a welcome drink, the staff was amazingly nice, rooms looked more like a hotel than a hostel. LOVED IT!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The team were always so friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and find our way about the city (it was our first trip to Berlin). Rooms were clean and comfortable and the communal areas also well looked after.

Disliked: We did get the impression that breakfast was served every day but tin fact you could only get brunch at the weekend (nothing offered Mon-Fri unless you were with a large group) and it was also at a higher cost. Alternative options would have been good. Also, prices went up at the weekend (which is not unusual and included in our quote) but whilst ours went up 2euro (for a private room with bath) our friends were charged an extra 5euro (for a private room with NO bath). This did not make sense!!! More clarity in charges would be better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Hopkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were good and rooms were spacious

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels