HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.71USD
  • Linen 4.56USD
  • Towel 2.37USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

Showing 51-41 of 41 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: amazing facility and quality!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. You get to sleep on a real bed, not those usual hostel bunk beds, where you feel the bed shake for every move your "bunk bed mate" does. Although there aren't many toilets and showers, I honestly never had to wait to use any of them, and they were always clean. Breakfast is not included, but for a fair price you get a very decent selection of food.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

A good sleep in a Hostel... Yes that's worth of something, I agree. Thank you for the precise comment. We defenitely had never a complain of a lack of bath facilities and our Houskeeping is doing a really great job. Thank you Angelika ( housekeeping manager) for that! You girls are doing a relly great job!!!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great friendly staff..had a great time hanging out with all of them..chill bar/lounge area to hang out in and meet people..walking distance to some good sightseeing and the showers were hot :)

Disliked: nothing..i had a great stay

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it is a great hostel! the staff was friendly and helpful, the room is clean and nice, the hostel resturant is good and the location is good.

Disliked: the only thing... no t.v, althogh it didnt bother us at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the great review. Really thank you! I'm glad you had a good time. Concerning the T.V. That's really the first time I hear that. Isn't one point of staying in a Hostel to socialize with other travelers and not staying in the room and watch Tele? I tell you something. I have no T.V. at home and you have no idea what crazy, funny, relaxing and social ideas you make up to spend your time without input from outside. Creativity is born by being bord, as we would liturally say in Germay:)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome room! We had a 5 bedroom private room and it was one of the best hostel rooms I have every stayed in - the biggest plus is that they were not bunkbeds! They were extremely comfortable and I was able to get a good nights sleep. The facilities were also very clean and kept up with. Also, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly at check-in all the way through check out with any questions about the area and things to do!

Disliked: The location was a little far from the city center - but it was located near the S-Bahn, so it was easy to get there with the train.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey. Thank you very much for such a great review. I'm glad you had a good stay. For the location I apologies not giving you a better overview of the stucture of Berlin. There is not just one city center in Berlin. The city does not have one down town where everything is happening. We are spoiled with lots of smaller downtowns. Each area called Kiez in German has it's own center. Ours is just around the corner with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops ... Reception should have show you that. Sorry!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Sehr freundlicher Empfang, mit Welcome Drink. Im Zimmer war viel Platz, es gab Tisch und Stühle.

Disliked: Zugang mit langer Codenummer gefällt mir nicht so, hat aber einwandfrei funktioniert.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Vielen lieben Dank für deine Bewertung. Es freut mich, dass du einen schönen Aufenthalt hattest. Das Codesystem erfreut sich eigentlich großer Beliebtheit. Sehr sicher, immer dabei und keine lästigen Schlüssel oder Karten die man verlieren kann. Was will man mehr?

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: helpful staff, good location, clean and warm environment

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great comment. I'm glad you felt home far from home. That's what we always try to create.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was very familiar place. Really nice looking. The staffs were all time prepared to help you. The beds were really comfortable and it was very clean there.

Disliked: Wifi didnt work in room and i would love to have breakfest included.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thank you for your comment. I'm sorry for the Wifi. We had a problem with the router on the 3rd floor but it's solved now. Next time you come to Berlin and the Grand Hostel you can surf even under the shower. We decided not to include the breakfast to keep the rates as low as possible to make a stay in our house effortable for every traveller.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The stuff is really cool....the atmosphere and the building is really great.....they offer lots of stuff to do.....one of the best hostels i have stayed :-)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers!!!!!!!! We had a really good time with you.Our doors are always open for you!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Everything! The best hostel ever!!! The place is great, clean, well located (20 minutes walking to Potsdamer platz) and the staff´s people is so nice and kind. They work to make you feel nice and the environment created is so gratefull.I absolutely recommend to stay in Grand Hostel Berlin.

Disliked: - - -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Oh lovely! We all do our best to make you comfortable and happy. Guests like you make our work so enjoyable!

Check Availability