HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.87USD
  • Linen 4.07USD
  • Towel 2.11USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 51-60 of 304 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice rooms with comfy beds for a low price. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always willing to chat.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: has a great common area and bar for meeting people, the staff are really nice and helpful, they showed me on a map places to go in berlin depending on what i was interested in doing and not every hostel does that, it was generally very clean, my bed was comfortable, breakfast was good

Disliked: i didn't like that they charged you extra for linen and didn't just include that in the price and charge you again if you have to change rooms, the hostel is not incredibly centrally located but is close to the u and s-bahns and is in a trendy area with lots of inexpensive restaurants and things to do at night

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great comfortable beds. They were not bunk beds like at most hostels, they were single beds with the most comfortable mattress I have slept on in a hostel. All the facilities were very clean. There was a bar downstairs, friendly atmosphere, travelers hanging out in the evenings. The hostel is not extremely central, but it is right next to the metro stop, and the distances are so large in Berlin that you'll probalby be taking the metro anyway, so it doesn't make a difference. Location in terms of proximity to metro stop is great.

Disliked: No kitchens for budget cooking/eating. One of the other people staying in my room had his laptop stolen from the room while I was there (he had left it in his suitcase which was not locked up). They do have closets which you can secure with a padlock so I would definitely advise bringing or renting one and making sure all of your belongings are locked up safely while you're out of the room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very friendly and hepful staff, decent location (a minute's walk from the U-Bahn), cheap and cheerful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Grand Hostel is most definitely the best Hostel i've ever stayed. So friendly, clean and the staff is superb. Very closed to the main public transpo lines. The easter brunch in the restaurant was extremely yummy... like in a 4* hotel. I will definitely recommend this property to everyone I know.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Ha you enjoyed our easter brunch and liked it? Thank you! We really wanted to treat you guys, our guests with something special. And eastern is a special event for us. It's been really nice to be there with you for this.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: amazing facility and quality!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. You get to sleep on a real bed, not those usual hostel bunk beds, where you feel the bed shake for every move your "bunk bed mate" does. Although there aren't many toilets and showers, I honestly never had to wait to use any of them, and they were always clean. Breakfast is not included, but for a fair price you get a very decent selection of food.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

A good sleep in a Hostel... Yes that's worth of something, I agree. Thank you for the precise comment. We defenitely had never a complain of a lack of bath facilities and our Houskeeping is doing a really great job. Thank you Angelika ( housekeeping manager) for that! You girls are doing a relly great job!!!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great friendly staff..had a great time hanging out with all of them..chill bar/lounge area to hang out in and meet people..walking distance to some good sightseeing and the showers were hot :)

Disliked: nothing..i had a great stay

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it is a great hostel! the staff was friendly and helpful, the room is clean and nice, the hostel resturant is good and the location is good.

Disliked: the only thing... no t.v, althogh it didnt bother us at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the great review. Really thank you! I'm glad you had a good time. Concerning the T.V. That's really the first time I hear that. Isn't one point of staying in a Hostel to socialize with other travelers and not staying in the room and watch Tele? I tell you something. I have no T.V. at home and you have no idea what crazy, funny, relaxing and social ideas you make up to spend your time without input from outside. Creativity is born by being bord, as we would liturally say in Germay:)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome room! We had a 5 bedroom private room and it was one of the best hostel rooms I have every stayed in - the biggest plus is that they were not bunkbeds! They were extremely comfortable and I was able to get a good nights sleep. The facilities were also very clean and kept up with. Also, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly at check-in all the way through check out with any questions about the area and things to do!

Disliked: The location was a little far from the city center - but it was located near the S-Bahn, so it was easy to get there with the train.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey. Thank you very much for such a great review. I'm glad you had a good stay. For the location I apologies not giving you a better overview of the stucture of Berlin. There is not just one city center in Berlin. The city does not have one down town where everything is happening. We are spoiled with lots of smaller downtowns. Each area called Kiez in German has it's own center. Ours is just around the corner with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops ... Reception should have show you that. Sorry!

Check Availability