We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.4% Overall Rating

951 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location was good, rooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel. The 5.5euro travel pass you can buy for the day is a great way of getting round the city cheaply. You can have it until 6am the following morning."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.84
  • Linen USD 4.55
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.60 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
15.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
13.24 USD

Hostel 83.7% 51 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
23.38 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
10.63 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
15.94 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.6% 616 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

951 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 792 of 941 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Fletcher

Alone

City break

05 September 2012 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything was excellent. Spotlessly clean, great location, super safe, lovely decor and mod cons and the friendliest, most helpful staff ever (and the barman is gorgeous, ladies!) Have recommended to everyone already and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike - but if I had to pick a minor thing; there are lots of stairs if you're on the top floor but it's good exercise!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptional

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this place was absolutely amazing. The staff is what makes this place. Jerome at the front desk answered every question we had. The owner was so hospitable when we were at the bar. But the standout for me is Morgan the bartender. He deserves at least an all expenses paid trip to Oktoberfest. He was so welcoming. Really felt like you were hanging with your friends here. The room was more than spacious. I will definitely make a return visit if I come to Berlin again.

Disliked: Nothing really. Lack of an elevator maybe would be my only criticism. But this should not stop you coming here.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Dubinsky

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful and located in a very convenient place for tourists.

Disliked: Nothing particular to dislike.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, comfy, simple but stylish, and very secure, good night's sleep...but the bar is very welcoming too! Super friendly and helpful staff, good location. Had a great stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great hostel! Close to the subway station and walking distance to the restaurants in Kreuzberg. There are individual beds with hotel standard duvets and pillows and the best lockers I have encountered. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. And it's cheap! This really is one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing really. If anything it would have been nice to be on the next stop to not have to switch trains when going into the center but that was a very small problem.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunkbeds. Right next to a U-Bahn station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staffs are helpful to provide recommendation on attractions and information of directions. They are just like friends sharing their personal experience about Berlin. The hostel is in a unique setting inside a heritage. It's small to make one feel like home.

Disliked: I stay on the ground floor where there's only one mixed shower room. The doors of the shower compartment are semi-transparent that one can see through the glass. There's embarrassing situation that guys can bump into the shower room while some ladies are taking shower. Or a lady came out from the shower compartment and found that a guy is naked......

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was nicely renovated

Disliked: The location wasn't ideal - transfers required to get into the city center

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Subway nearby e some places of interest in a walking distance. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: There no lift in the hostel, but to me it was not a problem.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and clean hostel in a magnificent old building. The bathrooms are super clean. I even had a room with a balcony. I LOVED the bar downstairs. Everyone hung out there and met great folks, which was cool since I was traveling alone. The staff was friendly and great. BERLIN ROCKS! Take the tours and go out in Kreutzberg a lot. You won´t regret it!!

Disliked: Free breakfast would have been nice, but German bakeries are fantastic and fill the gap pretty well.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: Staffs are quite helpful and the bar is pretty nice.

Disliked: I stayed there for almost a week, it seems that they don't really clean the floor in the room. (They cleaned very roughly, the same dirty things beside my bed was there since I checked in.) The door lock system they use didn't work well, I was locked outside the floor door for more than 5 times, once I tried the code for more than 30 times until someone came to use the door, it was really really annoying. (And this happened to ALL my roommate.) It was very noisy outside the windows of my room, we couldn't fall asleep easily. Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this hostel.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area downstairs was really nice. And the beds were comfortable. Felt like I had a ton of space.

Disliked: The common showers were a little weirdly set up.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, next to subway and many place to eat nearby

Disliked: Maybe too big, didn't get that usual hostel atmosphere

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Hewitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and so helpful. They sat with us when we arrived and showed us all the best places to go. The in house bar is perfect for meeting people and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Disliked: Cara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dandan Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Dandan would recommend this property

Liked: I like the big rooms, the cleaness, the staff, etc.

Disliked: Dandan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Hohn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Amazing atmosphere.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean and modern showers + bathrooms, safe and secure, great atmosphere! :)

Disliked: No elevator I suppose, but there are only three floors so it was a minor discomfort.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, awesome location, great facilities and the nicest and most comfortable hostel rooms I've every stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Mayne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I begin? The staff were the most helpful staff I've ever encountered while travelling, giving us advice on where to go, what to do, all that stuff etc, and were just generally absolutely lovely. The room we stayed in was brilliant, it was extremely spacious, had enough plug sockets etc, though it could get tiring climbing to the third floor (there is no lift because the building is protected). It felt safe, the price was VERY generous and the location was fantastic, literally opposite an U-Bahn station and just a few minutes walk from an area of Kreuzberg packed with restaurants and nightlife. The bar was also very good, always had people in so it never felt dead and was a good place to meet people. I would highly recommend this hostel to anybody.

Disliked: It could have done with perhaps a kitchen, but I'm really struggling to find anything that was significantly easy to dislike about this hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunkbeds! The single beds were very comfortable. Very clean bathrooms. Great staff - very friendly and full of informtion. Greeted with a free drink, maps, and someone to explain where everything of importance was! Lovely decor.

Disliked: Not much - a bathmat in the bathroom wouldn't have gone astray. The bath/shower combo made the floor really slippery.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Pan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very comfortable (no bunk beds, just single beds) and super clean. Huge windows in room to let in natural light. Loved the property. Apparently it's an old historical monument!

Disliked: One bathroom per room of 6 made it a little difficult to coordinate. Toilets + shower are in the same bathroom. Also, difficult to meet other travellers. The common room area is more of a bar

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, great rooms and very clean bathrooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sangeen Qazi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Sangeen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Comfortable hostal. Small & Cozy common area / bar. Free wifi. 24 hours reception & service. No bunk-beds!! Single beds for everyone each with own bed-side ligth. Quiet and non-crowded environment. Very friendly and helpful staff. We checked in late at night and were offered hot & cold beverages of our choice. They helped us plan our trip for the day. I am glad we chose this hostel for our stay in Berlin.

Disliked: No complementry breakfast included !! Stairs !! .. You are screwed if you have room on the top floor. If you prefer a crowded hostal with a huge common area, This hostel might not be for you. We on the other-hand were glad to have a good-night sleep after lots of traveling.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kazusa Edamura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Kazusa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and new. Not bank beds. Individual lockers. The reception is really helpful (Christian is amazing).

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels