We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.94
  • Linen USD 4.31
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.9% 14 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
13.95 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.92 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.05 USD

Hostel 69.5% 277 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.92 USD

Hostel 78.5% 366 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.75 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.42 USD

Hostel 85.0% 624 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was really helping and cooperative. made me relaxed and guided me evrything.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Train

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful. Great location. Clean. Lots of services offered. Best of all, great friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: I hired a bike from them that was unisex and made for a much taller person, I think. The seat didn't lower and my feet hung 20cm off the ground. I was bruised in a sensitive place after my day of riding.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephan Berger

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2012 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to a subway station.

Disliked: The noise, as couple of times mention from other travellers.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Without a doubt, the best hostel I've ever been! Very helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms, good location,...

Disliked: The internet on the computers is quite slow.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlie Mead

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Carlie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful with directions & the bar tour run by Ben was one fof the highlights of my trip. The building is beauiful and the rooms are massive with single beds and you also get a wardrobe each so lots of space.

Disliked: Carlie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff gorgeous old house

Disliked: its really badly soundproofed and the showers have mouldy corners

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and it was similar to staying i a hotel apart from not having a bathroom attached to the room. The service was good and all the stafff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Dent

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Fantastic helpful staff and a very comfortable stay all round.

Disliked: Bar was a little quieter than other hostels.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building looks good. My room had high seeling. The smoke alarms were visible. It was posible to by cofee and food. It had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: a map that shows how to get ther from Möckenbrücke, the nearest U bahn.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katja Karthe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: very nice building, more than just business nice staff, really helpful and patient, quiet, nice location, nice atmosphere, a lot of books

Disliked: Bathroom had a bit problem with water on the ground to drain off.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Fletcher

Alone

City break

05 September 2012 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything was excellent. Spotlessly clean, great location, super safe, lovely decor and mod cons and the friendliest, most helpful staff ever (and the barman is gorgeous, ladies!) Have recommended to everyone already and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike - but if I had to pick a minor thing; there are lots of stairs if you're on the top floor but it's good exercise!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptional

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this place was absolutely amazing. The staff is what makes this place. Jerome at the front desk answered every question we had. The owner was so hospitable when we were at the bar. But the standout for me is Morgan the bartender. He deserves at least an all expenses paid trip to Oktoberfest. He was so welcoming. Really felt like you were hanging with your friends here. The room was more than spacious. I will definitely make a return visit if I come to Berlin again.

Disliked: Nothing really. Lack of an elevator maybe would be my only criticism. But this should not stop you coming here.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Dubinsky

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful and located in a very convenient place for tourists.

Disliked: Nothing particular to dislike.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, comfy, simple but stylish, and very secure, good night's sleep...but the bar is very welcoming too! Super friendly and helpful staff, good location. Had a great stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great hostel! Close to the subway station and walking distance to the restaurants in Kreuzberg. There are individual beds with hotel standard duvets and pillows and the best lockers I have encountered. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. And it's cheap! This really is one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing really. If anything it would have been nice to be on the next stop to not have to switch trains when going into the center but that was a very small problem.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunkbeds. Right next to a U-Bahn station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staffs are helpful to provide recommendation on attractions and information of directions. They are just like friends sharing their personal experience about Berlin. The hostel is in a unique setting inside a heritage. It's small to make one feel like home.

Disliked: I stay on the ground floor where there's only one mixed shower room. The doors of the shower compartment are semi-transparent that one can see through the glass. There's embarrassing situation that guys can bump into the shower room while some ladies are taking shower. Or a lady came out from the shower compartment and found that a guy is naked......

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was nicely renovated

Disliked: The location wasn't ideal - transfers required to get into the city center

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Subway nearby e some places of interest in a walking distance. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: There no lift in the hostel, but to me it was not a problem.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and clean hostel in a magnificent old building. The bathrooms are super clean. I even had a room with a balcony. I LOVED the bar downstairs. Everyone hung out there and met great folks, which was cool since I was traveling alone. The staff was friendly and great. BERLIN ROCKS! Take the tours and go out in Kreutzberg a lot. You won´t regret it!!

Disliked: Free breakfast would have been nice, but German bakeries are fantastic and fill the gap pretty well.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: Staffs are quite helpful and the bar is pretty nice.

Disliked: I stayed there for almost a week, it seems that they don't really clean the floor in the room. (They cleaned very roughly, the same dirty things beside my bed was there since I checked in.) The door lock system they use didn't work well, I was locked outside the floor door for more than 5 times, once I tried the code for more than 30 times until someone came to use the door, it was really really annoying. (And this happened to ALL my roommate.) It was very noisy outside the windows of my room, we couldn't fall asleep easily. Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this hostel.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area downstairs was really nice. And the beds were comfortable. Felt like I had a ton of space.

Disliked: The common showers were a little weirdly set up.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, next to subway and many place to eat nearby

Disliked: Maybe too big, didn't get that usual hostel atmosphere

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Hewitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and so helpful. They sat with us when we arrived and showed us all the best places to go. The in house bar is perfect for meeting people and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Disliked: Cara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels