We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.4% Overall Rating

951 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location was good, rooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel. The 5.5euro travel pass you can buy for the day is a great way of getting round the city cheaply. You can have it until 6am the following morning."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.84
  • Linen USD 4.55
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.60 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
19.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
10.63 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.6% 616 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

951 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 792 of 941 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mahesh viswanathan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 mahesh would recommend this property

Liked: lovely, beautiful hostel with excellent beds, excellent sheets. no bunks. friendly staff and guests.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

damien abram

Alone

City break

26 October 2012 damien would recommend this property

Liked: clean and tidy, cheap and central

Disliked: the chinese guy who woke at 6am and packed his bag for 3 hours

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lindquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, in particular christiano could not have been more helpful! upon arrival gave very good information and actually made the guests feel welcome. Not the standard here's your key and give me money! Very helpful with anything regarding berlin or travel and never felt like i was bothering them.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Bailey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms had loads of character and for a hostel they are amazing. Location is good once you get to grips with using u bahn to places. The property is listed which means facilities like lifts and soundproofing must be hard to implement Im guessing.

Disliked: Due to the fact its big and old, its really echoey and loud. We stayed downstairs for 1 night next to common areas and i didn't get any sleep at all. We moved to top floor after that which was far better. Not sure if we were just unlucky but it seems to attract a young American clientele which seem to have one volume level of V loud, and insisted on holding drunken conversations on the landing just outside your door. It was a constant. The best rooms will be the most expensive ones away from the landing and stairs as if you get a giggle of young girls in heels returning from a night / morning out, you're definitely going to get woke up! The staff need to get a bit tougher on this i think.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joellyn Mendelson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Joellyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the most welcoming and informative. The hostel is a beautiful building that is lovingly maintained and updated. Our room was elegant - who expects that in a hostel? We were very impressed and would love to stay here again one day.

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities for guests. However, there is a sandwich shop next door that serves breakfast and lunch, and is associated with the hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxine Worden

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Maxine would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing at all!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming, clean, location, people, everything...

Disliked: No breaffast included in the price (even without this place is value for money). On the other hand 20 metres next door there's a very good cafe!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of my favourite places that I have ever stayed. It is in a grand old building which has been beautifully redone. The location is excellent, close to restaurants and cafes and also within walking distance of many of the attractions. It is also only 100m from a metro station. I stayed in a double room with a private bathroom. The room was excellent. Keypad locks on the door. Dark and quiet for sleeping despite the bar just down the hall. The bathroom was perfect. There entry room, bar and salon were remarkable. Having said all that the best thing about Grand Hostel Berlin was the staff. They were excellent and went above and beyond. In particular the guy who works in the morning, nothing is too much for him.

Disliked: Nothing at all

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The charm of the old building and the overall cleanliness

Disliked: Probably because its an old building the room was a little cold and humid. Also the duvet and the pillows were a bit too, could I say puffy=big but you got used to the neck pain.And that is only a matter of what you prefer and what you are used to.But the bed was nice and comfortable.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO SAMORINI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are so great you feel like in a hotel. Great staff, always very helpfull.

Disliked: You cant use the computers for free.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Achilles

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 September 2012 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great saty here. Rooms are super clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Sabine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FERNANDO TEODORO VILA ROJAS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 FERNANDO TEODORO would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very kind and the place is nice.Great place to stay

Disliked: Maybe in the future they can include a kitchen

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was absolutely grand I every way, better than a hotel. Immaculate rooms, bathrooms. Extremely well done up lounge, to sit n relax. Really helpful staff. Would always come here and stay..couldn't have been more perfect in any other way.

Disliked: Noting at all

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice Denley

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and lovely vibe. Felt secure and safe! Our room had comfortable beds and was very quiet. Probably one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was really helping and cooperative. made me relaxed and guided me evrything.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Train

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful. Great location. Clean. Lots of services offered. Best of all, great friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: I hired a bike from them that was unisex and made for a much taller person, I think. The seat didn't lower and my feet hung 20cm off the ground. I was bruised in a sensitive place after my day of riding.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephan Berger

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2012 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to a subway station.

Disliked: The noise, as couple of times mention from other travellers.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Without a doubt, the best hostel I've ever been! Very helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms, good location,...

Disliked: The internet on the computers is quite slow.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlie Mead

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Carlie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful with directions & the bar tour run by Ben was one fof the highlights of my trip. The building is beauiful and the rooms are massive with single beds and you also get a wardrobe each so lots of space.

Disliked: Carlie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff gorgeous old house

Disliked: its really badly soundproofed and the showers have mouldy corners

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and it was similar to staying i a hotel apart from not having a bathroom attached to the room. The service was good and all the stafff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Dent

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Fantastic helpful staff and a very comfortable stay all round.

Disliked: Bar was a little quieter than other hostels.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building looks good. My room had high seeling. The smoke alarms were visible. It was posible to by cofee and food. It had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: a map that shows how to get ther from Möckenbrücke, the nearest U bahn.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katja Karthe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: very nice building, more than just business nice staff, really helpful and patient, quiet, nice location, nice atmosphere, a lot of books

Disliked: Bathroom had a bit problem with water on the ground to drain off.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels