HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.06USD
  • Linen 4.18USD
  • Towel 2.17USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 281-290 of 304 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanest hostel I've ever seen. There are no bunk beds, all nice singles so you get a really comfortable night's sleep. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the showers were the best! They had great water pressure and temperature control yay! Just a really nice hostel where you felt taken care of.

Disliked: Breakfast was a reat buffet with heaps but it was still a really expensive option, it would be nice to have a cheaper option for those of us who just want cereal but don't want to pay the whole fee for just that. That's only a small thing though and didn't impact on my stay at all :)

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: nice hostel!

Disliked: expensive breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the bar was a great place to meet people. The rooms were really big and spacious. The hostel had lots of activities and never felt too big.

Disliked: Not too much!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free internet, great breakfast, the receptionist Christian was very helpful and friendly, the hostel has a lot of public transport near it.

Disliked: I paid for the hostels transport pass for one day (for 5.90 euro) and returned it the next morning when I checked out, I was charged twice for this because I did not return it before 8am however I was not informed I had to do this and was not happy at all.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just the best hostel I've ever been, besides it's one of the cheapest. Clean, good location and really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmospere is amazing. Insider tips from super-friendly staff. Greatest Hostel EVER! Try the bike tour; it is a really great way to get to know both the city and other people.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. I got a great bike from their daily rental at the last minute.

Disliked: Their 48 hour cancellation policy. Many backpackers' plans can change up until the day before. This was the longest I've heard of. Most hostels I've been to have a 24 hour, if any, cancellation policy. They said they were gonna charge me because i tried to cancel within 48 hours. So I decided to stay for just 1 night. I figured I already paid for it, so why not?

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It´s really clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. It only takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre by metro and it is easy to find.

Disliked: Everything was fine. You just have to remember (if you stay in a 6 bed dorm like I did), that people will be rolling in at all hours (as Berlin has a raging night life), and it might be a good idea to take ear plugs if you´re a light sleeper (although they´re available in reception if you shoul

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was definitely the best hostel I´ve ever been to. Staff is very kind and helpful and location is perfect for exploring the city. I especially liked breakfast which is for sure value for money and we also enjoyed having some drinks at the hostel bar. I would definitely recommend this hostel to other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing to say here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the best hostel I've ever stayed so far. the staff is awesome. everybody is really friendly and helpful. on the day of my check-in, they gave me a map of Berlin and told me where major tourist attractions, supermarkets, nice bars, good restaurants are. they also offer city cycling tour, bar crawling etc. I joined the bar crawling and met nice people. they have a bar and there you can meet other guests too. each person get her/his own bed and room was spacious. everything was clean. location isn't bad at all. if I go back to Berlin, I'd definitely stay at this hostel.

Disliked: wi-fi connection was weak and kept logging out. so I had to log in often. that was a little annoying. it can be a little noisy at night since they have a terrace at bar downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability