HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.74USD
  • Linen 4.58USD
  • Towel 2.38USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

Showing 281-40 of 40 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. I got a great bike from their daily rental at the last minute.

Disliked: Their 48 hour cancellation policy. Many backpackers' plans can change up until the day before. This was the longest I've heard of. Most hostels I've been to have a 24 hour, if any, cancellation policy. They said they were gonna charge me because i tried to cancel within 48 hours. So I decided to stay for just 1 night. I figured I already paid for it, so why not?

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It´s really clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. It only takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre by metro and it is easy to find.

Disliked: Everything was fine. You just have to remember (if you stay in a 6 bed dorm like I did), that people will be rolling in at all hours (as Berlin has a raging night life), and it might be a good idea to take ear plugs if you´re a light sleeper (although they´re available in reception if you shoul

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was definitely the best hostel I´ve ever been to. Staff is very kind and helpful and location is perfect for exploring the city. I especially liked breakfast which is for sure value for money and we also enjoyed having some drinks at the hostel bar. I would definitely recommend this hostel to other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing to say here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the best hostel I've ever stayed so far. the staff is awesome. everybody is really friendly and helpful. on the day of my check-in, they gave me a map of Berlin and told me where major tourist attractions, supermarkets, nice bars, good restaurants are. they also offer city cycling tour, bar crawling etc. I joined the bar crawling and met nice people. they have a bar and there you can meet other guests too. each person get her/his own bed and room was spacious. everything was clean. location isn't bad at all. if I go back to Berlin, I'd definitely stay at this hostel.

Disliked: wi-fi connection was weak and kept logging out. so I had to log in often. that was a little annoying. it can be a little noisy at night since they have a terrace at bar downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Hostel is very well located right next to the U1 and U7. Staff is very helpful, rooms spacious and very clean. The offered tours and the breakfast were amazing. Never had such breakfast in a Hostel. I can only recommend this hostel to everybody.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice big rooms in a lovely old but very well renovated building.

Disliked: The location was its only downfall.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there. Thank you for your comment.
I'm sorry if we missed it to give you a proper explananation about our location. Because our location is pretty good.
Walking distance to check point charlie. A very good food and drink mile a couple of minutes away. Three major subway lines reachable in a few minutes. Berlin is a huge city and we are located right on the border to the district Mitte/Middle. Sorry again if we did not guided you good enough through our big City! Best, Clara

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to stay in Berlin! Very close to the public transportation, staff is very helpful and always available. Many services offered at the hostel, such as laundry and bike tours of Berlin. The tour was perfect! The rooms are clean and spacious, there is a bar downstairs (happy hour is totally worth it) but the rooms are very quiet so you can get a good night of sleep. Would definitively go back there again!

Disliked: No kitchen facilities but it wasnt such a big deal

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location, faclities were awesome... secure...and >WiFi!!!!

Disliked: Although it was great location for a hostel, it could have been a little bit closer, and the breakfast was 5,90 each morning which could be better

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were huge and the bathrooms were clean. There is a bar in the reception area, so that is convenient and free computer usage. It is near 2 different metro stops, so we used that to get around. We didn't stay long enough, but it seems like they provide some pretty great outings for guests (concentration camp visits, bike tours, etc.) every week.

Disliked: Our snoring roommate ruined our experience. The hostel is located near many other hostels, so the streets are fairly loud at night.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed the staff, breakfast, and atmosphere of the hostel

Disliked: The showers

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability