HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
- DFB Football Cup in May 2017
- Fashion Week in July 2017
- Berlin Marathon in September 2017
- New Year's Eve
- Athletics Championship in August 2018 ( for 2017: 07th, 08th, 09th, 10th, 11th August)

To confirm your reservation for the mention dates above we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation. All bookings made are non-refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.95 Euro per person for the entire stay.
Bed linen 3.95 € for the entire stay
Breakfast 6,60 €
Towel 2,20

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 281-290 of 306 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good hostel. Staff excellent, close to u-bahn, fantastic breakfast buffet

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: NO BUNK BEDS! You get to sleep in your own bed and have plenty of space for your things. The hostel offers tours for a low price and I would recommend going on them. It was a good way for me to meet new people, since I am traveling alone.

Disliked: I checked out late (my fault), but once I did that and was trying to pack my things the staff was not helpful or friendly at all. I understand that it was my fault for checking out late, but they didn't have to be rude. I even offered to to pay for an extra night if it caused them any inconvenience. So just don't check out late and you'll love it there. Despite that little bump, I would stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, sorry if we did not offer you a proper service when this checking out late thingy happend. Must have been a stressed situation for the staff. Usually we are not peaky at all with the check out time. At one stage housekeeping has to wake up guests to get the chance to clean the rooms and put up new bed sheets. But usually we take it very easy with these things. So, I'm reall sorry if the staff had a bad day and you did not feel treated right.
We'll ake it up again! Warm regards from Berlin

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanest hostel I've ever seen. There are no bunk beds, all nice singles so you get a really comfortable night's sleep. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the showers were the best! They had great water pressure and temperature control yay! Just a really nice hostel where you felt taken care of.

Disliked: Breakfast was a reat buffet with heaps but it was still a really expensive option, it would be nice to have a cheaper option for those of us who just want cereal but don't want to pay the whole fee for just that. That's only a small thing though and didn't impact on my stay at all :)

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: nice hostel!

Disliked: expensive breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the bar was a great place to meet people. The rooms were really big and spacious. The hostel had lots of activities and never felt too big.

Disliked: Not too much!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free internet, great breakfast, the receptionist Christian was very helpful and friendly, the hostel has a lot of public transport near it.

Disliked: I paid for the hostels transport pass for one day (for 5.90 euro) and returned it the next morning when I checked out, I was charged twice for this because I did not return it before 8am however I was not informed I had to do this and was not happy at all.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just the best hostel I've ever been, besides it's one of the cheapest. Clean, good location and really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmospere is amazing. Insider tips from super-friendly staff. Greatest Hostel EVER! Try the bike tour; it is a really great way to get to know both the city and other people.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. I got a great bike from their daily rental at the last minute.

Disliked: Their 48 hour cancellation policy. Many backpackers' plans can change up until the day before. This was the longest I've heard of. Most hostels I've been to have a 24 hour, if any, cancellation policy. They said they were gonna charge me because i tried to cancel within 48 hours. So I decided to stay for just 1 night. I figured I already paid for it, so why not?

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It´s really clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. It only takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre by metro and it is easy to find.

Disliked: Everything was fine. You just have to remember (if you stay in a 6 bed dorm like I did), that people will be rolling in at all hours (as Berlin has a raging night life), and it might be a good idea to take ear plugs if you´re a light sleeper (although they´re available in reception if you shoul

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability