HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 85%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.82USD
  • Linen 4.63USD
  • Towel 2.40USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 85%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 271-43 of 43 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our room was really big and clean. We used the lockers in the rooms and found it really helpful being able to use a safe during the day. The staff were really helpful and friendly, very keen to help recommend places and how to get there. I thought the showers were really clean too.

Disliked: We didn't see a lift and online we did not see any mention of bedsheets but were charged 3euros each for this. It seemed quite far from most of the tourist attractions if you wanted to walk but there are u bahn stations very close. In fact throughout the night we heard the trains arriving and leaving but it wasn't that much of a disturbance. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There were so many great things about this hostel, first of all the wonderful character of the building, the cleanliness and homely feel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the organised pub crawl was particularly good as it was a great way to meet people. The all you can eat breakfast was well worth the money for the amount and variety of food you get, even for me as a vegetarian. Also in a great location as the area is full of cheap places to eat. The room itself was great as it was huge and had very comfy beds that weren't bunk beds!! Overall an amazing hostel that we'd love to go back to.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have self catering to keep costs down but was easy to eat out for cheap locally.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good hostel. Staff excellent, close to u-bahn, fantastic breakfast buffet

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: NO BUNK BEDS! You get to sleep in your own bed and have plenty of space for your things. The hostel offers tours for a low price and I would recommend going on them. It was a good way for me to meet new people, since I am traveling alone.

Disliked: I checked out late (my fault), but once I did that and was trying to pack my things the staff was not helpful or friendly at all. I understand that it was my fault for checking out late, but they didn't have to be rude. I even offered to to pay for an extra night if it caused them any inconvenience. So just don't check out late and you'll love it there. Despite that little bump, I would stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, sorry if we did not offer you a proper service when this checking out late thingy happend. Must have been a stressed situation for the staff. Usually we are not peaky at all with the check out time. At one stage housekeeping has to wake up guests to get the chance to clean the rooms and put up new bed sheets. But usually we take it very easy with these things. So, I'm reall sorry if the staff had a bad day and you did not feel treated right.
We'll ake it up again! Warm regards from Berlin

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanest hostel I've ever seen. There are no bunk beds, all nice singles so you get a really comfortable night's sleep. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the showers were the best! They had great water pressure and temperature control yay! Just a really nice hostel where you felt taken care of.

Disliked: Breakfast was a reat buffet with heaps but it was still a really expensive option, it would be nice to have a cheaper option for those of us who just want cereal but don't want to pay the whole fee for just that. That's only a small thing though and didn't impact on my stay at all :)

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: nice hostel!

Disliked: expensive breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the bar was a great place to meet people. The rooms were really big and spacious. The hostel had lots of activities and never felt too big.

Disliked: Not too much!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free internet, great breakfast, the receptionist Christian was very helpful and friendly, the hostel has a lot of public transport near it.

Disliked: I paid for the hostels transport pass for one day (for 5.90 euro) and returned it the next morning when I checked out, I was charged twice for this because I did not return it before 8am however I was not informed I had to do this and was not happy at all.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just the best hostel I've ever been, besides it's one of the cheapest. Clean, good location and really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmospere is amazing. Insider tips from super-friendly staff. Greatest Hostel EVER! Try the bike tour; it is a really great way to get to know both the city and other people.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability