HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
- DFB Football Cup in May 2017
- Fashion Week in July 2017
- Berlin Marathon in September 2017
- New Year's Eve
- Athletics Championship in August 2018 ( for 2017: 07th, 08th, 09th, 10th, 11th August)

To confirm your reservation for the mention dates above we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation. All bookings made are non-refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.95 Euro per person for the entire stay.
Bed linen 3.95 € for the entire stay
Breakfast 6,60 €
Towel 2,20

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 271-280 of 306 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent in all respects. The buffet breakfast was as good as some 5* hotels I've stayed in.I will return.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful!! A beautiful and clean building!!

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The single beds are really comfy and a HUGE improvement on bunk beds. The staff were so helpful, friendly and informed. The tours were really good, there are big lockers in the rooms and everywhere was really clean. An excellent hostel, I'll definitely go back there again.

Disliked: nothing - for longer stays a kitchen would be handy but food in Berlin seems much cheaper than a lot of places I've stayed and there are some really good, cheap street food places near the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Everthing, was very clean e cheapest.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staffLarge airy spacious bedrooms

Disliked: If I'm really digging... the stairs?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is an Excellent place!! really... is my first time at a Hostel.... and was great, staff very friendly, helpfull and with a customer service oriented. I really come again to the Grand Hostel Berlin..... Clean, safe and friendly...

Disliked: No comments....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great Atmosphere and really friendly staff! We were greeted with a complimentary cup of tea and shown a map of Berlin, told how to get to attractions and told of the hostels activities including bike tours and happy hour. Spacious rooms, felt more like a hotel, even had a chocolate on the pillow! Great buffet breakfast available for a small price. Close to Checkpoint Charlie etc. Very Comfortable and welcoming environment. Would highly recommend staying at this beautiful building

Disliked: No where dry to put clothes while showering but good hot water and pressure

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our room was really big and clean. We used the lockers in the rooms and found it really helpful being able to use a safe during the day. The staff were really helpful and friendly, very keen to help recommend places and how to get there. I thought the showers were really clean too.

Disliked: We didn't see a lift and online we did not see any mention of bedsheets but were charged 3euros each for this. It seemed quite far from most of the tourist attractions if you wanted to walk but there are u bahn stations very close. In fact throughout the night we heard the trains arriving and leaving but it wasn't that much of a disturbance. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There were so many great things about this hostel, first of all the wonderful character of the building, the cleanliness and homely feel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the organised pub crawl was particularly good as it was a great way to meet people. The all you can eat breakfast was well worth the money for the amount and variety of food you get, even for me as a vegetarian. Also in a great location as the area is full of cheap places to eat. The room itself was great as it was huge and had very comfy beds that weren't bunk beds!! Overall an amazing hostel that we'd love to go back to.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have self catering to keep costs down but was easy to eat out for cheap locally.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability