We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.7% Overall Rating

959 out of 974 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.85
  • Linen USD 4.25
  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
18.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.91 USD

Hostel 81.8% 54 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
22.04 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.79 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
23.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.76 USD

Hostel 80.2% 361 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.92 USD

Hostel 74.2% 977 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.7% 622 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

959 out of 974 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 799 of 950 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big with very comfortable beds. The toilets and showers are very clean. The bar downstairs serves great food too. With its good location to the trains, and rather centralized, I would highly recommend this hostel.If only the showers have locks, that would make everything perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheep, clean and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosemary Byfleet

10 May 2010 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: Best hotel I have ever stayed in. Brilliant. Friendly, clean, safe, lovely atmosphere and really easy to access the city centre ( I walked in). LOVED it.

Disliked: Rosemary left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure rooms, immacutely clean, friendly and knowledegable staff. would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polina Gantman

09 May 2010 Polina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything there. In comparison to other places, I guess, this is the best!!!!!

Disliked: Polina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louisa Karmouche

09 May 2010 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were SO helpful and informative about Berlin! Also the rooms (or at least the one i was in) dont have bunk beds! its a great Hostel and they're buffet breakfast is worth the price!

Disliked: Louisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ya-Ish MULLA

08 May 2010 Ya-Ish would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice !the location, the atmosphere

Disliked: Ya-Ish left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Andrew Valencerina

06 May 2010 Gary Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cleanest hostel that I ever stayed in. The staff was specially very helpful. The restrooms are very clean and is at par with hotel standards. The linen was very clean and very soft. The rooms are big with only 3 beds, in other hostels, they would try to fit 4 double decks (8 beds total) for this space.I could not say anything bad about this hostel. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Gary Andrew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Murphy

06 May 2010 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: This in not a backpackers... this is Flashpackers!Overall this Hostel is more like a Hotel than a Hostel. For starters, no bunk beds anywhere, all single beds. The Room size is highly spacious, with each room easily able to accommodate more beds in the room (ie could have easily fit 10 beds but only 5 in the room). Each room has high ceilings, with ornate ceilings & walls, in what appears to be an old hotel built in the late 1800's/ early 1900's (ie very victorian in appearance).The 5 bed room i stayed in had an ensuite, that too was spacious.The Hostel has a good bar/coffee shop, although no self catering facilities.Free wi-fi throughout, & free use of 3 terminals for those without laptops.Only moments away from the nearest metro station (same line as from the most direct connection to Schonefeld Airport..... Rudlow ) The Hostel is also only a 15 minute walk from Check-Point Charlie.A little hard to meet people, as no big common area, other than where the 3 computer terminals are located, but other than that a great Hostel that provides excellent value for money & well worth visiting

Disliked: Phillip left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, free wifi, free tours, hygeine

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In general very good, , only negative point was they didn't change sheets and towel (which you had to pay for everytime)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the nice building and the friendliest staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms here present and almost unique opportunity for a single traveler to stay in a hotel-like environment without paying a "single supplement". I loved the opportunity to soak in a hot BATH, in a spanking new clean tub. Excellent facility overall. Do note that the breakfast is NOT included in the price, but costs 5.50 Euros--it is an excellent buffet and well worth the extra cost. Also, if they expect to host more bicyclists they need to work out a better system to store bikes safely and securely. The bike racks inside the compound were not covered against rain so the reception was kind enough to let me put my bike in the basement, after I inquired somewhat insistently. However, then a staff member with key had to accompany me each time I took the bike in/out, an inconvenience for both of us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tudor Taylor

30 April 2010 Tudor would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything you want in Bern and the common room was a great place to meet people

Disliked: Tudor left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Glassman

29 April 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay here again. Clean, friendly, welcoming. good location...Nice light in the rooms...

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were really nice, and no bunk beds! Large luggage lockers in each room and free internet and luggage storage. A little out of the way, but worth the walk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KARINA MEDINA

24 April 2010 KARINA would recommend this property

Liked: This is the BEST hostel I had been. More than a hostel looks like a 3 start hotel. The staff is super friendly and soo helpful. The place is really clean. Breakfast is really good. I felt GREAT at this hostel, the staff even remembered my name! which made me feel at home. It's kinda close to the main tourist attractions, actually you can walk to the Jewish Museum; it's like 3 blocks aways from the hostel, and it's really easy to get to the "downtown".

Disliked: KARINA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: second time staying here.... wouldnt stay anywhere else in berlin!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: High standards for low prices. What else is there to say!.... also, i stayed in a big room with a VERY comfortable bed. Staff was friendly and the hostel looked very sleek and sexy. I'll bw back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepak Kumar Pradhan

21 April 2010 Deepak Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and cooperative staf.

Disliked: Deepak Kumar left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlyn Chambers

13 April 2010 Kaitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Grand Hostel Berlin! Best hostel I've ever stayed at! GREAT STAFF! I'd have to nit-pick to find things wrong with it. All in all, wonderful place! Clean and I had a wonderfully hot shower!

Disliked: Kaitlyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great, really a perfect pleace to stay in Berlin:-) Thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justyna Walkowska

11 April 2010 Justyna would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the best hostel I have stayed in, and I travel a lot.

Disliked: Justyna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010

Liked: This place is beautiful, would recommend this place to any traveler!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels