HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.8% Overall Rating

949 out of 963 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2014)

"Super Staff, tolle Zimmer. Alles sauber und ordentlich. Man wird herzlich begrüßt, kriegt Tipps rund um Berlin und fühlt sich gleich wie zu Hause."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.18
  • Linen USD 4.75
  • Towel USD 2.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
20.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
22.45 USD

Hostel 84.3% 47 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
15.24 USD

Hostel 85.7% 459 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
28.96 USD

Hostel 71.9% 269 reviews
Hotel-Transit
27.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.85 USD

Hostel 81.4% 318 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
16.62 USD

Hostel 79.0% 961 reviews
Potsdamer Hof Berlin am Potsdamer Platz
39.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

949 out of 963 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 790 of 939 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, free wifi, free tours, hygeine

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In general very good, , only negative point was they didn't change sheets and towel (which you had to pay for everytime)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the nice building and the friendliest staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms here present and almost unique opportunity for a single traveler to stay in a hotel-like environment without paying a "single supplement". I loved the opportunity to soak in a hot BATH, in a spanking new clean tub. Excellent facility overall. Do note that the breakfast is NOT included in the price, but costs 5.50 Euros--it is an excellent buffet and well worth the extra cost. Also, if they expect to host more bicyclists they need to work out a better system to store bikes safely and securely. The bike racks inside the compound were not covered against rain so the reception was kind enough to let me put my bike in the basement, after I inquired somewhat insistently. However, then a staff member with key had to accompany me each time I took the bike in/out, an inconvenience for both of us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tudor Taylor

30 April 2010 Tudor would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything you want in Bern and the common room was a great place to meet people

Disliked: Tudor left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Glassman

29 April 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay here again. Clean, friendly, welcoming. good location...Nice light in the rooms...

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were really nice, and no bunk beds! Large luggage lockers in each room and free internet and luggage storage. A little out of the way, but worth the walk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KARINA MEDINA

24 April 2010 KARINA would recommend this property

Liked: This is the BEST hostel I had been. More than a hostel looks like a 3 start hotel. The staff is super friendly and soo helpful. The place is really clean. Breakfast is really good. I felt GREAT at this hostel, the staff even remembered my name! which made me feel at home. It's kinda close to the main tourist attractions, actually you can walk to the Jewish Museum; it's like 3 blocks aways from the hostel, and it's really easy to get to the "downtown".

Disliked: KARINA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: second time staying here.... wouldnt stay anywhere else in berlin!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: High standards for low prices. What else is there to say!.... also, i stayed in a big room with a VERY comfortable bed. Staff was friendly and the hostel looked very sleek and sexy. I'll bw back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepak Kumar Pradhan

21 April 2010 Deepak Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and cooperative staf.

Disliked: Deepak Kumar left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlyn Chambers

13 April 2010 Kaitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Grand Hostel Berlin! Best hostel I've ever stayed at! GREAT STAFF! I'd have to nit-pick to find things wrong with it. All in all, wonderful place! Clean and I had a wonderfully hot shower!

Disliked: Kaitlyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great, really a perfect pleace to stay in Berlin:-) Thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justyna Walkowska

11 April 2010 Justyna would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the best hostel I have stayed in, and I travel a lot.

Disliked: Justyna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010

Liked: This place is beautiful, would recommend this place to any traveler!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy access to the metro and also within walking distance to a lot of attractions. The neighbourhood around it is really nice too, with lots of cute bakeries and restaurants. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and even took my luggage to my room when I had to switch for the last night. Def would recommend and would go again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel ever!!very clean and comfortable, kind staff, and good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, helpful, friendly staff and very clean! Would definitely go back! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: most amazing hostel we have ever stayed in!! the staff are really friendly and helpful, and the building is beautiful! would highly recommend this place for great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ameen Chilwan

07 April 2010 Ameen would recommend this property

Liked: The only thing I can say is that, it is the best hostel i have ever stayed in my life, just like a five-star hotel..

Disliked: Ameen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredibly clean and is more like a hotel than a hostel. However, for those on a budget, there is no kitchen or cutlery available and, being on the top floor, we had 6 flights of stairs to contend with. However, these were minor issues for us. One tip for the fellow tea drinkers, it's Assam/black tea that you want. However, if cooking for yourself is not an issue, I would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place was like a hotel, ideal for comfort,security and location isn't bad too. Apart from those things on your list it lacks organisation:as they gave me the wrong pin for my door and wrong room where someone else was sleeping so I came back in the night to find my stuff had been moved and given a new room at midnight, it's a good job I didn't unpack properly! I got told this was my new room and was given a free breakfast. Sorted. Not really as I ate my overpriced basic breakfast for free I was told I had to move again back to a different bed where I started, so I packed and unpacked again. The meet&greet was pointless as you just buy a drink and meet&greet the bartender that was it! The 3 flights of stairs doesn't seem like alot but they were long so more like 6 having had my things moved back down. Also the tour wasn't running at all, and there's one mirror in a room of four, even if there's all lads staying over I'm sure they'd like to see their faces in the morning without making a trip to the loo. For a hostel that has been running a year now it should be better organised, even though the staff are friendly the stuff mentioned would improve the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura smalley

06 April 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant - friendly and helpful, the hostel is exceedingly clean all the time (we had a double room with shared bathrooms), its very safe as you need a personalised pin code to get in, and its in a good location - close enough to walk to a few bars and cafes and just down the road from the train station so easy to get anywhere else, If i'm being really picky the only thing was there wasnt much night time entertainment - there is a bar but its very quiet, it would have been nice to have the chance to meet some other travellers staying there, but i suppose that can be a good thing for some people! All in all though we loved it and would definately recommend.

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Spector

05 April 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is beautiful and safe and cozy and wonderful. I didn't want to leave. Everyone was so nice and friendly it is a really wondeful place. Big lockers for your stuff wifi in the room chargers by your bed clean clean bathrooms delicious breakfast, good coffee, cheap but good beers, literally everything you could want.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels