HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.30USD
  • Linen 4.33USD
  • Towel 2.25USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 231-29 of 29 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was super clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything. The rooms were great, NO BUNK BEDS!!!!! it was good to have a bar where we were able to meet other travellers. The bar tour is so much fun and well worth it.

Disliked: The city tours weren't every day so i missed doing one, but the staff still explain where you can go to see all the sights.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Everything. Good bed (better then my own!), very, very friendly staff, everything was clean, good showers.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The organization of the hostel is pretty good, I feel very welcome and comfortable there!

Disliked: I think there's no kitchen?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Huge rooms, beautiful original features, lovely breakfast, friendly helpful staff, lots of coffee on arrival

Disliked: No privacy to get changed in the showers

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Lovely and helpful staff, cheap bar, good music, good atmosphere, comfy bed, warm (it was freezing when I was in Berlin), close to U-bahn but also walking distance to the city centre and the cool bars of Mehringdamm

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank You!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very chearfull team and great place near a subway station.Very nice breakfast

Disliked: a bit noisy and no privacy in the showers

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location to two diferent train lines, close to good cafes and food and it is walking distance to Potsdammer Platz

Disliked: nothing it really was perfect for our needs

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were SO spacious and clean. The place itself seemed like a fancy hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful the entire time. They were happy and wanted to answer any questions we had, and make sure we were comfortable. They have a bar that serves cheap beer and delicious food.

Disliked: Just the steps to walk up to our room, but only because I'm lazy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: No bunk beds!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thats the way we like it....

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: EVERYTHING. Grand Hostel Berlin is by far the nicest (and cheapest!) hostel I've stayed in! When I arrived, the receptionist was so welcoming. She made me a cup of tea, and sat down with me to help me get acquainted with the hostel and the city. The hostel is clean and spacious, and there are no bunk beds. There were also huge lockers w/ free padlocks, and ensuite bathrooms. There was a nice lounge with internet access, board games, and guide books available. The bar offered reasonably priced drinks.

Disliked: Nothing! The only thing I would add to the directions given from both airports. Upon arriving at the Mockernbruck U-bahn station, follow the signs to exit Tempelhofer Ufer. At the street level, turn right. Grand Hostel Berlin is on the right just before the first cross street (GroBbeerenstaBe).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability