We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.94
  • Linen USD 4.31
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.9% 14 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
13.95 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.92 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.05 USD

Hostel 69.5% 277 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.92 USD

Hostel 78.5% 366 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.75 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.42 USD

Hostel 85.0% 624 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacobo Aaron Merener

24 June 2010 Jacobo Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: I HAD A WONDERFUL STAY THERE!!! i WOULD COMOE BACK. PEOPLE WERE VERY WARM AND FRIENDLY.

Disliked: Jacobo Aaron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiza Queiroz

23 June 2010 Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really great hostel! I'd read the comments saying that it looked more like a hotel than a hostel, and wasn't sure, but it's absolutely true! It's really clean, modern and my room was huge! They have cupboards instead of lockers, and there is a restaurant in the hostel where you can eat pretty good typical food for 4 euros! The staff is really nice and friendly and helpful! I'd definitely recommend this hostel. The only problem was that the showers (there were 3 in the same room in my floor) are mixed! So it's a bit complicated, men and women sharing the same shower room. But other than that, great place!

Disliked: Luiza left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked the tours they offer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nathan turner

21 June 2010 nathan would recommend this property

Liked: superb staff who go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable.

Disliked: nathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was more like a hotel than a hostel! It was spotless, modern and the staff were friendly and so helpful! Location was perfect - either a 30 min walk to Check Point or 5 mins in the tube to everything else! I would recommend anyone to stay here - even people who have never stayed in hostels before! Best Hostel ive ever stayed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Printy

18 June 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This place was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. It's pretty new and very clean. Very safe and the most helpful kind staff ever. Def must stay here... it's pretty close to a metro stop so you can get here from the airports/bus/train stations and any historic site you want.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building, helpful & friendly staff. Good wi-fi & PC access, lounge & bar - all really nicely done. Bike hire too, although was expensive (15 Euros per day, more than the going rate for other hire companies).Location was ok, not fantastic though but in a quiet part of town and with a U-bahn station v close.I enjoyed my stay & would definitely consider it again/recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacobo Aaron Merener

14 June 2010 Jacobo Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the good services offered by the Hostel.

Disliked: Jacobo Aaron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Hunt

14 June 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here last year when they first opened and was pleased to see that not much had changed since then, if anything its gotten better - the free tours are a nice addition and they've improved the breakfast buffet. :) Great location, super clean and comfy rooms and friendly, helpful staff.. what's not to like? I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this one is definitely on my top 5 list.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Delaney

13 June 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely fantastic. The hostel was in a beautiful building and felt very organized, clean, and comfortable.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VIP room and shower

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Hamilton

08 June 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean everything, quiet, single beds!!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimmo Lehtonen

07 June 2010 Kimmo would recommend this property

Liked: The most cleanest and the most freindliest hostel i have ever visited.Warmly suggest to others.

Disliked: Kimmo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good services on offer. Rooms are nice: spacious with no bunk beds. Free wifi, and tasty breakfast (costs extra). Location could be better: even though it is close to the centre, you need two metro trains to get to the actual centre. Not a deal breaker as the trains are reliable and frequent, but there are hostels in Berlin closer to the centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Asher Boote

05 June 2010 Asher would recommend this property

Liked: Great Clean hostel, we stayed in a 4 bed dorm and had so much space to ourselves, iv seen smaller rooms used for 14 bed doors, staff were great and helpful, highly recommend this hostel

Disliked: Asher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean rooms, safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic time here! The place is absolutely beautiful... it was just as nice as a hotel; you wouldn't even think it was a hostel. My friend and I stayed in the twin ensuite and it was a very comfortable room with a very clean bathroom. The receptionist was a sweetheart.. she helped us plan out our sightseeing tours. The hostel also promote Free Tours around Berlin. There are two kinds: the historical tour and the Underground tour. Definitely recommend this hostel to EVERYONE! Enjoy!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really nice, it looks more like a hotel... it´s a great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haejee Kim

30 May 2010 Haejee would recommend this property

Liked: As a single female traveler, I had a wonderful time at the Grand Hostel in Berlin. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as soon as I arrived. All staff spoke English, so this was very helpful. The rooms were as depicted on the website, single beds, no bunks, and very clean. The bathrooms and showers were shared, and always clean. The free tours and meet and greets are also worth attending, especially if you want to meet new people. I highly recommend the Devil's Mountain Tour, for you won't get an experience like that elsewhere with any other tour :) I look forward to coming back to Berlin and staying at the Grand Hostel, and I will highly recommend this place to all of my friends passing through. Thank you for such an enjoyable and unforgettable time!

Disliked: Haejee left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adam Burgess

29 May 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and exceedingly helpful. They provide free tours to interesting places, through town and to the Devil's Mountain. The room I stayed in with really spacious and everything was very clean. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the room, it was very clean, spacious and nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Banister

24 May 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Big Thank you to the staff for helping me to find my way round Berlin, special mention to Christianos thanks.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, great staff, nice rooms. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martijn van der Steen

16 May 2010 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, they make you feel right at home and get you started to explore the city!

Disliked: Martijn left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WAS MOVED 3 TIMES IN 3 DAYS, SEEM TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THEIR BOOKING SYSTEM OR ARE DELIBERATELY OVERBOOKING. NO PLACE TO LOCK MY STUFF UP. FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT FREE TOURS AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR THE CITY. WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN AS IT IS VERY NICE I JUST HOPE THEY SORT OUT THE BOOKING SYSTEM.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels