HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.3% Overall Rating

947 out of 961 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

rabina ramsay thinks…

"Great private room with massive bed! Super friendly staff and cool communal areas."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.57
  • Linen USD 4.98
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
18.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 9 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
17.03 USD

Hostel 88.1% 20 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
55.29 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.1% 20 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
15.96 USD

Hostel 83.1% 447 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
19.46 USD

Hostel 75.3% 262 reviews
Hotel-Transit
29.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.06 USD

Hostel 81.3% 284 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
14.51 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

947 out of 961 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 788 of 937 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds which was great. Friendly n helpful staff

Disliked: Needs fans. Very hot. Area could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The grand hostel is very well named. Our 5 bed ensuite room was massive and very clean. The location is good, close to U bahn. Breakfast was amazing though a little pricey at over 5 euros. Free internet, really helpful staff at reception and free luggage room which was useful for us arriving at 6am on a night train!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It would be better if this hostel doesn't charge €3 for the blankets. The staff are really nice and always helpful to offer assistance, especially recommending places to go around. Also, the building is nice and beautiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, printed schedules for us for our travel the next morning and made sure someone was around the reception at 3a.m. when we needed to check out! Nice rooms and beds, cool reception area, great location right around the corner from the metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent and well run hostel with friendly and helpful staff. We had a clean and well presented room and breakfasts were excellent. It is ideally located for walks and tours from the Brandenberg Gate which can be reached either by foot or by bus, (or both), Nearby are shops and a few restaurants. It is well suited to people of all ages and families and it is quiet.

Disliked: Maybe a secure deposit could be considered.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, very nice facilities

Disliked: male/female room mixing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The decor was modern and attractive, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I just felt so welcomed that the next time I'm in Berlin, the Grand Hostel is definitely going to be my first choice. And of course I should mention that the shower room and toilets were absolutely spotlessly clean. The breakfast was wholesome ... what more can one say? The Grand Hostel is heaps better than some of the so-called hotels that I've stayed in in the past.

Disliked: The only negative point is that the courtyard acts like a deep amplifier. You can hear people talking loudly several storeys up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Wai Ho Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Eric Wai Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, you won't believe how great this place looks.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and the cleanliness.

Disliked: I would like they sell the water there for lesser price. I bought 1 litre for 2 euros and few hundreds meetres from the hostel was the supermarket where you can get 1,5 litre for 0,2 euros. But this is the only negative thing, otherwise the hostel was really really great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Moore

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

28 June 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: On (very late) arrival we were greeted by a lovely member of staff, free coffee and orange juice, a city map with reccommendations and what looked like the most sumptuous hostel you'll find anywhere. A brilliant start. The room was massive, but the owners haven't been greedy with it; in our room they'd placed 5 single beds (they've a policy against bunks!) where in most hostels 12 people would have been fitted. The security is pretty strong, with codes on every door and individual lockers in the rooms. You're also provided with a wardrobe and bedside cabinet. Everything was spotlessly clean and really pleasant to come back to after a day of being on your feet in the city. We'd worried about there being a lack of atmosphere, and while Grand Hostel isn't a party place, we met some fun people. Most of the clientele were slightly older groups, which I think pays testament to the quality of the place; it provides hotel service, with the price and social possibilities of a hostel. It's located in a leafy suburb near some good restaurants and an U-Barn station, and is within very easy walking access of the Jewish Museum. We really reccommend it.

Disliked: The buffet breakfast was very expensive (5.50), though other options are available, and there's a supermarket nearby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joanne coates

26 June 2010 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, beautiful rooms, perfect for a group stay or for a couple. One of the nicest hostels i've ever stayed in.

Disliked: joanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacobo Aaron Merener

24 June 2010 Jacobo Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: I HAD A WONDERFUL STAY THERE!!! i WOULD COMOE BACK. PEOPLE WERE VERY WARM AND FRIENDLY.

Disliked: Jacobo Aaron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiza Queiroz

23 June 2010 Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really great hostel! I'd read the comments saying that it looked more like a hotel than a hostel, and wasn't sure, but it's absolutely true! It's really clean, modern and my room was huge! They have cupboards instead of lockers, and there is a restaurant in the hostel where you can eat pretty good typical food for 4 euros! The staff is really nice and friendly and helpful! I'd definitely recommend this hostel. The only problem was that the showers (there were 3 in the same room in my floor) are mixed! So it's a bit complicated, men and women sharing the same shower room. But other than that, great place!

Disliked: Luiza left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked the tours they offer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nathan turner

21 June 2010 nathan would recommend this property

Liked: superb staff who go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable.

Disliked: nathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was more like a hotel than a hostel! It was spotless, modern and the staff were friendly and so helpful! Location was perfect - either a 30 min walk to Check Point or 5 mins in the tube to everything else! I would recommend anyone to stay here - even people who have never stayed in hostels before! Best Hostel ive ever stayed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Printy

18 June 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This place was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. It's pretty new and very clean. Very safe and the most helpful kind staff ever. Def must stay here... it's pretty close to a metro stop so you can get here from the airports/bus/train stations and any historic site you want.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building, helpful & friendly staff. Good wi-fi & PC access, lounge & bar - all really nicely done. Bike hire too, although was expensive (15 Euros per day, more than the going rate for other hire companies).Location was ok, not fantastic though but in a quiet part of town and with a U-bahn station v close.I enjoyed my stay & would definitely consider it again/recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacobo Aaron Merener

14 June 2010 Jacobo Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the good services offered by the Hostel.

Disliked: Jacobo Aaron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Hunt

14 June 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here last year when they first opened and was pleased to see that not much had changed since then, if anything its gotten better - the free tours are a nice addition and they've improved the breakfast buffet. :) Great location, super clean and comfy rooms and friendly, helpful staff.. what's not to like? I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this one is definitely on my top 5 list.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Delaney

13 June 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely fantastic. The hostel was in a beautiful building and felt very organized, clean, and comfortable.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VIP room and shower

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Hamilton

08 June 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean everything, quiet, single beds!!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimmo Lehtonen

07 June 2010 Kimmo would recommend this property

Liked: The most cleanest and the most freindliest hostel i have ever visited.Warmly suggest to others.

Disliked: Kimmo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good services on offer. Rooms are nice: spacious with no bunk beds. Free wifi, and tasty breakfast (costs extra). Location could be better: even though it is close to the centre, you need two metro trains to get to the actual centre. Not a deal breaker as the trains are reliable and frequent, but there are hostels in Berlin closer to the centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels