HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.28USD
  • Linen 4.31USD
  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 221-31 of 31 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place was clean and the staff friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at quite a few in my time. A) The staff was friendly. I arrived in the night and was greeted with a cup of coffee and the person at the front desk, Christian, sat me down and took the time to explain stuff to me as well as point out interesting places to visit, based on my goals for the trip. The bartender, Mark, was a blast to hang out with, especially during happy hour.B) The atmosphere was awesome - There is a bar and a happy hour and that really helps in getting to meet people, especially if you are a single traveller like I was. The other travellers I met were friendly too.C) It really is the CLEANEST hostel I have ever stayed in. The bathrooom was spotless. It is actually cleaner than many HOTELS I have ever stayed in as well. The beds are indeed separate beds so if you are a light sleeper, no having to deal to with the comings and goings into bed of a fellow roommate.D) The breakfast was very good - many different things - and it only cost a little over 6 Euros. They also have this deal where you can get an all-day metropass for cheaper than it costs if you went to buy it yourself.E) Value for money can't be beat in my mind. I mean I paid 10.50Eur per night for what I consider the best hostel ever!

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great building

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bathroom was immaculate, had lots of ledges for personal items and a number of hooks to hang items. There was also an actual shower curtain and bathtub!!!!! No short of miraculous for a hostel. The beds are super comfy ( not bunks) and "gave birth" to my best sleep over 9 weeks of Euro-travelling second place only to a king size bed in a marriott hotel in Istanbul. Staff was freindly and the pay breakfast option offered by hostel was ridiculous- in a good way. Christmas markets tour with Ben was lots of fun. Thanks Much Grand hostel Berlin. I will one day return hopefully in summer when I wont practically feeze my nuts off. REMEMBER WINTER CLOTHES WHEN TRAVELLING TO BERLIN IN WINTER!!!

Disliked: Wanted to visit it in the summer.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you. So we hope to see you next summer. Let the good times roll....

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Thank you, very much.... i loved this hostel

Disliked: Maybe the distance, but its not a problem

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendliest staff ever !! so professional,curtious & kind !!!The hostel is spotless,the bathrooms crystal clean showers hot beds sooooo comfortable.... 10 ++++

Disliked: The beer on tap is not cold enough.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you. We make sure to cool the beer down!!! Hopefully see you soon again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: close to public transports, excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and good atmosphere

Disliked: there's nothing to complain about!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you. That´s what we like to hear!!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Freat place and nice too it can be more like hotel than hostel and all the staff is so warm i really like

Disliked: its a little far but ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: shower and wc

Disliked: bar room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location, right in the heart of the city! Very easy to find right off the metro. Directions on the website were spot on. I enjoyed the friendly staff, they welcome you with coffee or water and sit you down to show you where to go in the city. They were very helpful. The rooms were the cleanest I have ever seen in a hostel. Even the shared bathrooms were clean, which is rare. The bar is also great before going out 2.00 beers and 1.50 jager shots!! Can't beat that. Overall the hostel is at a perfect location, very clean, and has an excellent friendly staff! I recommend to all travelers.

Disliked: The wifi sometimes cuts out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you . We enjoyed your stay. I am sorry if there were small problems with the WIFI connection but we will work on that. Hope to welcome you at the Grand Hostel another time.

Check Availability