HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
- DFB Football Cup in May 2017
- Fashion Week in July 2017
- Berlin Marathon in September 2017
- New Year's Eve
- Athletics Championship in August 2018 ( for 2017: 07th, 08th, 09th, 10th, 11th August)

To confirm your reservation for the mention dates above we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation. All bookings made are non-refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.95 Euro per person for the entire stay.
Bed linen 3.95 € for the entire stay
Breakfast 6,60 €
Towel 2,20

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 211-220 of 306 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is an old bishop's palace and is very beautiful. The staff are friendly, always there to help you - and go beyond what is needed to what is wanted! From the welcome cup of coffee to the potplants, lounge chair, desk and desk chair in the room (single) and even a lolly pop and bottled water, everything was very impressive! It is right near a U-Bahn and not too far from places of interest. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in, and is better than many cheap hotels.

Disliked: The shower was a bit wierd - it was only glass, with clothes kept outside, so if there were other people in the room it would be hard to have privacy. Thankfully both times I showered I was the only one in the room so no problem!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!!!!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Most helpful staff I've come across. Sit down with you upon arrival, with a city map, and explain where all areas of interest are located through out the city. Discount daily metro tickets available from reception.

Disliked: It's all very nice... but too nice! It felt like a hotel more than a hostel. If you were traveling alone it might be difficult to meet people. No kitchen facilities is annoying. The only breakfast option available is an expensive buffet (but nobody said anything when we ate our own cereal + yogurt, for a tip!)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for the review!!! We're always trying to get the perfect mix of comfort and friendly Hostel vibe offering tours, dinners and parties. Next time you are in Berlin we would love to invite you to some of our events, and hopefully we can get the mix just perfect! All the best on your travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: No bunk beds, wifi worked in the room and was free. The hostel is situated in a really nice building and has a lot of character. The staff (especially bar staff) were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bar ran out of chardonnay (may have been my fault for drinking too much). The breakfast was great but would have been nice to have the option to pay a cheaper price and just have a small breakfast instead of all you can eat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you. Hopefully we will welcome you soon again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - it definitely reached hotel standard - very nice and helpful staff ( plus a free welcome drink to greet you - sweet! )- comfortable single bed which allows you to sleep tight- excellent shower room with hair dryer, absolutely clean!- good location, take a 10 mins walk to have good food :)- free luggage storage

Disliked: - opps. i dislike this column because i really "LIKE" grand hostel berlin :P

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

yeaahhh. Thank you!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Awesome rooms, the best and most helpful staff i've ever met (thank you Jerome, he showed us everything there is to know about the city), and it's in such a great location. Great value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a historical buiding which was built in 1877. The rooms are very spacious

Disliked: the night we stayed the wifi was broken down, so we could not get any access to the Internet. But the guy at the reception was really helpful, he let me use the staff computer to check in online.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to get the highest quality!!!!
Next time you come the wifi will work!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: it was beautifully decorated and very clean

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review!!!!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and accommodating. Staff friendly and the welcoming glass of champagne certainly a treat! Transport connections all very close and plenty of good and cheap places to get breakfast, lunch and dinner all within walking distance.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit strange but may be the custom.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you and we wish you a high-flying New Year 2012.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. More like a hotel, the services provided are excellent and the staff are friendly, happy and helpful. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were comfortable (no bunks!!) and the all you can eat breakfast was a welcomed hangover cure. The hostel is well positioned for the underground and there are plenty of takeaways/restaurants nearby. I would recommend anyone to stay here and would probably go as far as saying its the best hostel I've come across yet.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Complimentary fizz on NYE was a nice touch, too.

Disliked: The expense - at 150 euros for NYE, the room was at least as expensive as a hotel and very expensive for Berlin.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability