HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.94USD
  • Linen 4.11USD
  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 211-30 of 30 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Awesome rooms, the best and most helpful staff i've ever met (thank you Jerome, he showed us everything there is to know about the city), and it's in such a great location. Great value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a historical buiding which was built in 1877. The rooms are very spacious

Disliked: the night we stayed the wifi was broken down, so we could not get any access to the Internet. But the guy at the reception was really helpful, he let me use the staff computer to check in online.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to get the highest quality!!!!
Next time you come the wifi will work!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: it was beautifully decorated and very clean

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review!!!!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and accommodating. Staff friendly and the welcoming glass of champagne certainly a treat! Transport connections all very close and plenty of good and cheap places to get breakfast, lunch and dinner all within walking distance.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit strange but may be the custom.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you and we wish you a high-flying New Year 2012.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. More like a hotel, the services provided are excellent and the staff are friendly, happy and helpful. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were comfortable (no bunks!!) and the all you can eat breakfast was a welcomed hangover cure. The hostel is well positioned for the underground and there are plenty of takeaways/restaurants nearby. I would recommend anyone to stay here and would probably go as far as saying its the best hostel I've come across yet.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Complimentary fizz on NYE was a nice touch, too.

Disliked: The expense - at 150 euros for NYE, the room was at least as expensive as a hotel and very expensive for Berlin.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the Hostel building is very nice, its a restored old Town house. The rooms are big, and the beds are comfy. The stuff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The only think that I didn't like was that there was no kitchen facilities not even a fridge to keep your drinks cold.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything was ok!Nice staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great staff, HUGE rooms, amazingly comfy beds and awesome location.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very welcoming when we got to the hostel, and sat us down and gave us all the info on Berlin. The breakfast was good value for money. Very clean & secure.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability