HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
- DFB Football Cup in May 2017
- Fashion Week in July 2017
- Berlin Marathon in September 2017
- New Year's Eve
- Athletics Championship in August 2018 ( for 2017: 07th, 08th, 09th, 10th, 11th August)

To confirm your reservation for the mention dates above we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation. All bookings made are non-refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.95 Euro per person for the entire stay.
Bed linen 3.95 € for the entire stay
Breakfast 6,60 €
Towel 2,20

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 201-210 of 306 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything; it was the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. There was a wonderful all you can eat breakfast with eggs and bacon; helpful staff; large, clean, and comfy rooms. This hostel is a hotel.


The property's response is

YEAHHHH!!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Possibly the most hotel like of hostels... So clean, so comfortable!!!Everything is great. Location to metro... Kebabs... Alls good.The staff are very knowledgable and super friendly.

Disliked: I would say it could be difficult for single travellers to meet others?! But only slightly... Still the best hostel I've stayed at.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much !!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Grand Hostal is warm, friendly and exceptional value for money. It was better than some 3 & 4* hotels I have stayed in, in other parts of Europe. I would highly recommend and will return again in other visits to Berlin in the future.

Disliked: Nothing particuarly, although the building does allow noise to travel quite easily, however the staff do deal with any issues very discreetly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the review!!!! Thats what we like to hear !!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Highly recommended, both location and staff. Very clean! Its hard to forgot one staff's name: 'Wu Feng'五峰 who can speak chinese well :) Thanks all !

Disliked: NO

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers !!!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Its commitment to good service

Disliked: showers were not hot enough and its popularity made it imposible to stay there for the duration of my trip

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. We are always working on the quality for each and every one of our guests and we're sorry that the showers were not hot enough. We will get on to this straight away and hopefully they will be super hot for your next visit! Safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Room was reallly nice, bright and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was handy for the centre of Berlin.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yeahhhh!!!!! Thank you !

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The Grand Hostel really is a Grand hostel way and by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! And I do believe its better than most hotels! As soon as I arrived I was filling out a form and was given a free beer to make form filling much more entertaining and once the forms were filled the dude at reception sat down with me with a map and in detail pointed out all the main attractions and which areas have what to offer aswell as MUSTAFAS!!!! The best Doner on the planet! And also the breakfast they put on was first class! something I would expect to see at a top notch restaurant! But if you are in Berlin STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! :)

Disliked: The bar crawl I found was horrible.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Next time you are here you must join in our bar tour that we run through the Hostel and not the big city pub crawls, we promise you'll love our underground one! We hope to see you again in Berlin!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Getting older, I haven't stayed in hostels in about 6 years, but when I saw the low prices for this one in Berlin, I took it. Beautiful hostel, probably the nicest I have stayed in. Very charming, well-planned and tidy. Everything was impeccably clean at all times, which is hard to do in a hostel where many people are using the same showers and bathrooms. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor things: internet didn't work at two of the three computers in the lounge. On my first night there, was woken up by a loud hostel residents in, I believe, the room above. This is not really the hostel's fault, though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers for the review! We're sorry about the computers and noise, all 3 of them are now working and we always try our best to keep the noise down! We look forward to seeing you nex time! Peace out

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. Very clean - almost borders on a hotel experience.

Disliked: I little removed from the centre of the city - but it is not really that far seeing it is still walking distance, and there is a train station about 100m away.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot!!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, very convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much!!!

Check Availability