HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.28USD
  • Linen 4.31USD
  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 201-31 of 31 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The Grand Hostel really is a Grand hostel way and by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! And I do believe its better than most hotels! As soon as I arrived I was filling out a form and was given a free beer to make form filling much more entertaining and once the forms were filled the dude at reception sat down with me with a map and in detail pointed out all the main attractions and which areas have what to offer aswell as MUSTAFAS!!!! The best Doner on the planet! And also the breakfast they put on was first class! something I would expect to see at a top notch restaurant! But if you are in Berlin STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! :)

Disliked: The bar crawl I found was horrible.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Next time you are here you must join in our bar tour that we run through the Hostel and not the big city pub crawls, we promise you'll love our underground one! We hope to see you again in Berlin!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Getting older, I haven't stayed in hostels in about 6 years, but when I saw the low prices for this one in Berlin, I took it. Beautiful hostel, probably the nicest I have stayed in. Very charming, well-planned and tidy. Everything was impeccably clean at all times, which is hard to do in a hostel where many people are using the same showers and bathrooms. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor things: internet didn't work at two of the three computers in the lounge. On my first night there, was woken up by a loud hostel residents in, I believe, the room above. This is not really the hostel's fault, though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers for the review! We're sorry about the computers and noise, all 3 of them are now working and we always try our best to keep the noise down! We look forward to seeing you nex time! Peace out

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. Very clean - almost borders on a hotel experience.

Disliked: I little removed from the centre of the city - but it is not really that far seeing it is still walking distance, and there is a train station about 100m away.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot!!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, very convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is an old bishop's palace and is very beautiful. The staff are friendly, always there to help you - and go beyond what is needed to what is wanted! From the welcome cup of coffee to the potplants, lounge chair, desk and desk chair in the room (single) and even a lolly pop and bottled water, everything was very impressive! It is right near a U-Bahn and not too far from places of interest. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in, and is better than many cheap hotels.

Disliked: The shower was a bit wierd - it was only glass, with clothes kept outside, so if there were other people in the room it would be hard to have privacy. Thankfully both times I showered I was the only one in the room so no problem!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!!!!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Most helpful staff I've come across. Sit down with you upon arrival, with a city map, and explain where all areas of interest are located through out the city. Discount daily metro tickets available from reception.

Disliked: It's all very nice... but too nice! It felt like a hotel more than a hostel. If you were traveling alone it might be difficult to meet people. No kitchen facilities is annoying. The only breakfast option available is an expensive buffet (but nobody said anything when we ate our own cereal + yogurt, for a tip!)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for the review!!! We're always trying to get the perfect mix of comfort and friendly Hostel vibe offering tours, dinners and parties. Next time you are in Berlin we would love to invite you to some of our events, and hopefully we can get the mix just perfect! All the best on your travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: No bunk beds, wifi worked in the room and was free. The hostel is situated in a really nice building and has a lot of character. The staff (especially bar staff) were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bar ran out of chardonnay (may have been my fault for drinking too much). The breakfast was great but would have been nice to have the option to pay a cheaper price and just have a small breakfast instead of all you can eat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you. Hopefully we will welcome you soon again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - it definitely reached hotel standard - very nice and helpful staff ( plus a free welcome drink to greet you - sweet! )- comfortable single bed which allows you to sleep tight- excellent shower room with hair dryer, absolutely clean!- good location, take a 10 mins walk to have good food :)- free luggage storage

Disliked: - opps. i dislike this column because i really "LIKE" grand hostel berlin :P

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

yeaahhh. Thank you!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Awesome rooms, the best and most helpful staff i've ever met (thank you Jerome, he showed us everything there is to know about the city), and it's in such a great location. Great value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a historical buiding which was built in 1877. The rooms are very spacious

Disliked: the night we stayed the wifi was broken down, so we could not get any access to the Internet. But the guy at the reception was really helpful, he let me use the staff computer to check in online.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to get the highest quality!!!!
Next time you come the wifi will work!!!

Check Availability