We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.98
  • Linen USD 4.34
  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
24.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.9% 14 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
13.01 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.20 USD

Hostel 69.5% 277 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.01 USD

Hostel 78.5% 366 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.83 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.52 USD

Hostel 85.0% 624 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jo francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 September 2013 jo would recommend this property

Liked: amazing building - a hostel in a palace-like place, you can even have afternoon tea in the library! Stayed in a great single room which felt luxurious for a hostel, bathrooms spotless.

Disliked: no self-catering kitchen, though this was clearly mentioned in the hostel description so you know what you're getting

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, very clean and modern!

Disliked: Having a room on the third floor meant 6 sets of stairs to climb!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel breakfast.. Friendly staff. No bunks :-)

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was extremely comfortable- high ceilings, big windows, comfortable non-bunk beds... The entire place was super clean, the staff was kind and the location is good.

Disliked: no kitchen...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael James-Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I've ever stayed in, The staff are extremely helpful, and all passionate, we had been in berlin previously, and knew our way around, but were offered a detailed explanation of where we were, and how to get around, plus some awesome tips of what to do, wish we were able to stay there longer.

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe a hotter shower water, but not too bad at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very tourist friendly....excellent service

Disliked: it is a bit far away and no elevators :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Rostgaard Andersen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Christian Rostgaard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Nice big domes. Good free internet all over the hostel.

Disliked: Christian Rostgaard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to the metro station. Our room was very clean. Staff was very helpful (all of them). The day we arrived we were welcomed with a coffee and someone told us everything we had to know about visiting Berlin for about 30 minutes. They offer laundry service for 5 euros and it was nice not to wait for our laundry. There's a nice atmosphere at the hotel's bar, it's a good place to meet people from everywhere. But rooms are very quiet so you can sleep very well.

Disliked: We would've like to have a kitchen. Showers have glass doors and there's 3 showers in the same bathroom so you don't have much privacy when you take your shower. Also, floors are always wet in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Relja Tancev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Relja would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean and well managed place.

Disliked: Hot water ran out in showers once.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

terry major

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 terry would recommend this property

Liked: Well informed helpful staff.Quiet.

Disliked: Doors close noisily

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

4929405781390027 Black

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 4929405781390027 would recommend this property

Liked: The private room is really nice!

Disliked: Not the best for socialising and not a very good location. Bathrooms could be improved

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the character of the place. They do your laundry for you for E5.50! Location was great, staff are friendly

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, close to the U-Bahn so easy enough to get into central Berlin, VERY clean bathrooms, no bunk beds, very friendly staff who give a lot of advice about what to do in Berlin

Disliked: Noisy in the rooms - you can here all the noise coming from the other rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nik Ahmad Rusydan Nik Hafizi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Nik Ahmad Rusydan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bed linen is not provided for free

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ignacio Skare

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Juan Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Wi-Fi signal everywhere, nice bar with drinks and coffes. You have to book the breakfast it's awesomee! the best one i ever had in a hostel

Disliked: maybe is not the best hostel to party and meet people, if you are travelling alone. The location is good but surroundings are really dark and scary at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Santana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: The place had a great atmosphere because of its arquitecture, and it was very confortable. One of the best places I've ever been at.

Disliked: Miguel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being given individual login codes was great for security and meant not having to call through intercom whenever you wanted to renter th hostel. Wifi was available throughout. The beds weren't bunks and were pretty comfy, there was a locker for your stuff (not big enough for suitcases). It was about a 30min walk to Potsdamer place, but is across the road from a metro station and is a few blocks away from lots of restaurants. It wasn't very social when I was there but is set up with a nice sitting room/bar so perhaps in a more busy season it would be. Breakfast is available from 9am two doors down (5.90 euros). Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The showers had no room to change, the location is a bit far if you wanted to be close to sights but if you don't mind walking then its not too bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great comfortable beds. They were not bunk beds like at most hostels, they were single beds with the most comfortable mattress I have slept on in a hostel. All the facilities were very clean. There was a bar downstairs, friendly atmosphere, travelers hanging out in the evenings. The hostel is not extremely central, but it is right next to the metro stop, and the distances are so large in Berlin that you'll probalby be taking the metro anyway, so it doesn't make a difference. Location in terms of proximity to metro stop is great.

Disliked: No kitchens for budget cooking/eating. One of the other people staying in my room had his laptop stolen from the room while I was there (he had left it in his suitcase which was not locked up). They do have closets which you can secure with a padlock so I would definitely advise bringing or renting one and making sure all of your belongings are locked up safely while you're out of the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: has a great common area and bar for meeting people, the staff are really nice and helpful, they showed me on a map places to go in berlin depending on what i was interested in doing and not every hostel does that, it was generally very clean, my bed was comfortable, breakfast was good

Disliked: i didn't like that they charged you extra for linen and didn't just include that in the price and charge you again if you have to change rooms, the hostel is not incredibly centrally located but is close to the u and s-bahns and is in a trendy area with lots of inexpensive restaurants and things to do at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianne Kaak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Brianne would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms with comfy beds for a low price. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always willing to chat.

Disliked: Brianne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and hepful staff, decent location (a minute's walk from the U-Bahn), cheap and cheerful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing facility and quality!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a great hostel! the staff was friendly and helpful, the room is clean and nice, the hostel resturant is good and the location is good.

Disliked: the only thing... no t.v, althogh it didnt bother us at all.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Sato

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. You get to sleep on a real bed, not those usual hostel bunk beds, where you feel the bed shake for every move your "bunk bed mate" does. Although there aren't many toilets and showers, I honestly never had to wait to use any of them, and they were always clean. Breakfast is not included, but for a fair price you get a very decent selection of food.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josef Bergmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Josef would recommend this property

Liked: The Grand Hostel is most definitely the best Hostel i've ever stayed. So friendly, clean and the staff is superb. Very closed to the main public transpo lines. The easter brunch in the restaurant was extremely yummy... like in a 4* hotel. I will definitely recommend this property to everyone I know.

Disliked: Josef left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels