HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
- DFB Football Cup in May 2017
- Fashion Week in July 2017
- Berlin Marathon in September 2017
- New Year's Eve
- Athletics Championship in August 2018 ( for 2017: 07th, 08th, 09th, 10th, 11th August)

To confirm your reservation for the mention dates above we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation. All bookings made are non-refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.95 Euro per person for the entire stay.
Bed linen 3.95 € for the entire stay
Breakfast 6,60 €
Towel 2,20

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 131-140 of 305 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place to stay. Subway nearby e some places of interest in a walking distance. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: There no lift in the hostel, but to me it was not a problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are not allowed to implement a lift, the building is so historic that it is under protection, but we have very friendly staff who are always happy to help :o) We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and so helpful. They sat with us when we arrived and showed us all the best places to go. The in house bar is perfect for meeting people and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you and Dankeschön Cara. It was great to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again. All the best for you and safe travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, next to subway and many place to eat nearby

Disliked: Maybe too big, didn't get that usual hostel atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel and for your feedback! Our bar and outside terrace is normally packed with nice people ready to socialize. Also our staff is always happy to chat-most days we can't get them to shut up ;o) We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful and clean hostel in a magnificent old building. The bathrooms are super clean. I even had a room with a balcony. I LOVED the bar downstairs. Everyone hung out there and met great folks, which was cool since I was traveling alone. The staff was friendly and great. BERLIN ROCKS! Take the tours and go out in Kreutzberg a lot. You won´t regret it!!

Disliked: Free breakfast would have been nice, but German bakeries are fantastic and fill the gap pretty well.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hostel and give us so a nice feedback :o) Berlin totally ROCKS!!!! Our Grandwich Bar has really good breakfast and is only five steps from the Hostel. Yummy sandwiches and traditional German food until 14:00 every day. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the big rooms, the cleaness, the staff, etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best for your travels :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: EVERYTHING! This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Amazing atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice feedback Caitlin :o) We are delighted that you had a great time in our Hostel and in Berlin. Hope to welcome you again here and wish you all the best. Safe travels your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean and modern showers + bathrooms, safe and secure, great atmosphere! :)

Disliked: No elevator I suppose, but there are only three floors so it was a minor discomfort.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Very comfortable (no bunk beds, just single beds) and super clean. Huge windows in room to let in natural light. Loved the property. Apparently it's an old historical monument!

Disliked: One bathroom per room of 6 made it a little difficult to coordinate. Toilets + shower are in the same bathroom. Also, difficult to meet other travellers. The common room area is more of a bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We have some toilets and showers on each floor-the 6 bed rooms have an ensuite bathroom but all shared bathrooms in the Hostel can be used. Normally our bar and outside terrace is full of people who like to chat...our staff is also always keen to share a story :o) We hope to see you again and wish you safe travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and Comfortable hostal. Small & Cozy common area / bar. Free wifi. 24 hours reception & service.No bunk-beds!! Single beds for everyone each with own bed-side ligth.Quiet and non-crowded environment. Very friendly and helpful staff. We checked in late at night and were offered hot & cold beverages of our choice. They helped us plan our trip for the day.I am glad we chose this hostel for our stay in Berlin.

Disliked: No complementry breakfast included !!Stairs !! .. You are screwed if you have room on the top floor.If you prefer a crowded hostal with a huge common area, This hostel might not be for you. We on the other-hand were glad to have a good-night sleep after lots of traveling.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank and Dankeschön for taking the time to review our Hostel. We do not include the breakfast as many people do not want to book it every day. Instead we offer a 10% discount in our Grandwich Bar which has delicious panini's and german food every day. We are not allowed to implement a lift (fire regulations) but we have ice cold drinks in the bar for everyone who survived the "bag up the stairs" Olympics :o) All the best & safe travels from the Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Where do I begin? The staff were the most helpful staff I've ever encountered while travelling, giving us advice on where to go, what to do, all that stuff etc, and were just generally absolutely lovely. The room we stayed in was brilliant, it was extremely spacious, had enough plug sockets etc, though it could get tiring climbing to the third floor (there is no lift because the building is protected). It felt safe, the price was VERY generous and the location was fantastic, literally opposite an U-Bahn station and just a few minutes walk from an area of Kreuzberg packed with restaurants and nightlife. The bar was also very good, always had people in so it never felt dead and was a good place to meet people. I would highly recommend this hostel to anybody.

Disliked: It could have done with perhaps a kitchen, but I'm really struggling to find anything that was significantly easy to dislike about this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice review Richard. It is sooooooo good to hear all these positive things about our Hostel :o) We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best. Your Grand Hostel Team

Check Availability