HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.8% Overall Rating

949 out of 963 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2014)

"Super Staff, tolle Zimmer. Alles sauber und ordentlich. Man wird herzlich begrüßt, kriegt Tipps rund um Berlin und fühlt sich gleich wie zu Hause."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.35
  • Linen USD 4.85
  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
21.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 11 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
18.39 USD

Hostel 83.4% 41 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
21.21 USD

Hostel 84.1% 454 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
27.99 USD

Hostel 72.3% 267 reviews
Hotel-Transit
28.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
14.14 USD

Hostel 82.2% 308 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
16.97 USD

Hostel 82.1% 958 reviews
Potsdamer Hof Berlin am Potsdamer Platz
40.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

949 out of 963 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 790 of 939 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big rooms with a lot of space, a wardrobe each. Secure doors with keypads, friendly staff and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The extra possibilities that I think other hostels usually don't have, like free quided tours or the bar that open qiute long etc.

Disliked: the doors are quite noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well managed, staff were unbelievably friendly and even fellow travellers were considerate and good company.

Disliked: No major problems, although perhaps the breakfast was a little overpriced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexey Sinkevich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Alexey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good. Stylish, big rooms, helpful staff,easy to get to airport. Great building and bar.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyhting

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and toilets, comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing much, except that the shower areas are really small and privacy seems to be an issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean caz it started on july 2009. quiet, no noisy people free tour can join helpful staff good location

Disliked: notihing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Carrasquero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely recommend this hotel. Is excellent!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohan Mannappan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Mohan would recommend this property

Liked: It had got very information to reach the Hostel. I met three of them in the Reception and everyone were very friendly, helpful. They were toooooooooooooooooooooooooo Good and helped me a lot. The rooms were far better than individual rooms. I enjoyed the stay completely. Regards, Mohan

Disliked: Excellent.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good wifi, my single room was very clean and comfy bed, good location to metro and all the sights

Disliked: the hot breakfast was a bit expensive for what you got for a hostel of this size, it was frustrating to have to travel to a distance to find a coin operated laundary....there should been some available for guests to use onsite communal bathrooms were not satisfactory.....one shower was no working and the mens room was sometimes out of toilet paper

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, warm and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. A nice relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: The showers were a bit annoying as you had to keep waving your hand in front of the sensor and there wasn't much privacy or changing space in the bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: lack of lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, and awesome free tours on offer.

Disliked: the floors were really squeaky

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisete Santos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Lisete would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are big and charming; the staff is really helpful and nice.

Disliked: There are no bathrooms in the rooms (although the shared ones are always clean)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Cooper

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 March 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, okay/good location, very luxurious comparing to the price!!

Disliked: nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dick Pettersson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2011 Dick would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels in berlin, without a doubt!

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly staff

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the rooms are big and comfortable, it is safe, there is a cool bar near the reception and it s not noisy, nd a computer lounge where u can meet people or just relax in the big sofa! there are cool free tours with Ben (the best guy from staff) and it s even cheap!!

Disliked: They could ve a kitchen for guess...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nader Diab

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Nader would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is amazing, it is safe, clean, amazing location, cheap, amazing food and breakfast buffet. I would definitely recommend it

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christos Vasileiadis

Alone

Events / festivals

03 March 2011 Christos would recommend this property

Liked: I am fully satisfied

Disliked: Almosts nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Jaron Legel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2011 Cornelis Jaron would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmosphere, very easy to talk also with other guests what I think is caused by the helpfullness and attention of the staff. The house self is very nice, in old style

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is v. clean, safe and does an excellent breakfast. The facilities are excellent.

Disliked: na

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. It is near the city centre and the museum Island and just a few stops away from the shopping district and kruzberg, where a lot of cheap and quality food is available. We booked a double en-suite room, and my friend and I think it looks more like a hotel room than a hostel one. The room is pretty big as well, which is beyond my expectation. Free-wifi available, which helps me to find restaurants with delicious cuisine.

Disliked: We don't have room keys, instead, we key in password to enter the hostel and the room. However, the keypad may not work perfectly all the time, and sometimes I have to key in the code a couples of times before getting into my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Demet Töre

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 February 2011 Demet would recommend this property

Liked: key system is very good, no keys! no worries about forgetting keys... also the cupboards that we use to store, has lock tools, is nice to have.

Disliked: nothing, we love it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sameer yarlagadda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 sameer would recommend this property

Liked: To be frank i paid peanuts for such an awesome place.... The best hostel I've stayed at, trust me I travel a lot.

Disliked: nothin


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels