We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.93
  • Linen USD 4.30
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
24.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
13.94 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.91 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.04 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
11.74 USD

Hostel 80.7% 364 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
3.52 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.42 USD

Hostel 84.7% 623 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chan Sze Wai Jacqueline

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Chan would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, spacious and nice beds. showers and other facilities are superb, all automatic!

Disliked: more like a hotel and not a hostel, quite difficult to meet people, the common lounge is there but people seem to focus on using the computer instead of interacting with each other.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cleanest hostel I've ever seen! Brilliant location, not in de Centre but just a 15 minute walk and you're in the middle of buzzing Berlin.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice historic building/villa. nice and comfortable beds, good showers,spacious rooms. good coffee!

Disliked: breakfast wasn't that great, but enough alternatives close by

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was superb, very efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable and the toilette always clean.

Disliked: The internet connection in the computer room is very slow. The keyboard is in German and I had problem to type the password to log-in to my web mail account.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDREW D'CRUZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, lovely beds and massive rooms.

Disliked: Location isn't the most central but it's a big city and it's easy to get on the trains

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything, this was the best hostel we stayed at while traveling through Europe for 17 days! Sadly we only stayed one night but the location was great because down the whole street there are many other hostels so there were a lot of people our age (early to mid 20's) out and we felt safe. The atmosphere was great, they have free wifi and a bar, they play music in the common area by the bar. The staff was so nice and very helpful. I loved the rooms are so modern and up to date...no bunkbeds, each bed (stayed in a 6 bed ensuite) had it's own stool, 2 outlets and a light over the bed, so people don't have to turn on the main light and wake up others. There was a bathroom in the room, which was the biggest we saw in Europe! We also liked the full length lockers as most places give you a tiny box and call it a locker. This hostel was very clean and very close to the metro station, there's also a supermarket a couple blocks away!

Disliked: The stairs, we had to walk up to the 3rd floor with our heavy bags, wish there was an elevator. Also, wish breakfast is free, but I'd rather save money on the room than to have the cost of breakfast added in (especially if I miss breakfast or end up not liking it).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was really impressed with the rooms - large, no bunk beds and wardrobe style lockers ... staff were really friendly and recommended great places to go. Would definitely stay there again ... enjoy Berlin, if you go - it's a great place to stay!

Disliked: All was good!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That the rooms were really big and clean

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are more like a hotel instead of a hostel, really beautiful place to stay, actually I mean to reserve two days but as the second day were fully booked so I can only stay one night. Try to make your reservation earlier if you can~ The other reason i will choose them again because they have lot of adapter to be borrow.

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Groves-Cini

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: warm, clean and friendly secure pin code for each door shared bathroom very clean, many showers and even hairdryers (towels available for a small fee) tours offered for walking tours as well as pub tours bike hire available staff very helpful and friendly - all spoke english well lovely bar/dining room facility

Disliked: nothing worth mentioning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, with large clean rooms and facilities. The bar was great and there were plenty of nights out and activities to get involved with. The location was also very good.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big rooms with a lot of space, a wardrobe each. Secure doors with keypads, friendly staff and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The extra possibilities that I think other hostels usually don't have, like free quided tours or the bar that open qiute long etc.

Disliked: the doors are quite noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well managed, staff were unbelievably friendly and even fellow travellers were considerate and good company.

Disliked: No major problems, although perhaps the breakfast was a little overpriced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexey Sinkevich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Alexey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good. Stylish, big rooms, helpful staff,easy to get to airport. Great building and bar.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyhting

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and toilets, comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing much, except that the shower areas are really small and privacy seems to be an issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean caz it started on july 2009. quiet, no noisy people free tour can join helpful staff good location

Disliked: notihing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Carrasquero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely recommend this hotel. Is excellent!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohan Mannappan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Mohan would recommend this property

Liked: It had got very information to reach the Hostel. I met three of them in the Reception and everyone were very friendly, helpful. They were toooooooooooooooooooooooooo Good and helped me a lot. The rooms were far better than individual rooms. I enjoyed the stay completely. Regards, Mohan

Disliked: Excellent.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good wifi, my single room was very clean and comfy bed, good location to metro and all the sights

Disliked: the hot breakfast was a bit expensive for what you got for a hostel of this size, it was frustrating to have to travel to a distance to find a coin operated laundary....there should been some available for guests to use onsite communal bathrooms were not satisfactory.....one shower was no working and the mens room was sometimes out of toilet paper

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, warm and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. A nice relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: The showers were a bit annoying as you had to keep waving your hand in front of the sensor and there wasn't much privacy or changing space in the bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: lack of lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, and awesome free tours on offer.

Disliked: the floors were really squeaky


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels