HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 96%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.66USD
  • Linen 4.54USD
  • Towel 2.36USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 96%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

Showing 131-41 of 41 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean and modern showers + bathrooms, safe and secure, great atmosphere! :)

Disliked: No elevator I suppose, but there are only three floors so it was a minor discomfort.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Very comfortable (no bunk beds, just single beds) and super clean. Huge windows in room to let in natural light. Loved the property. Apparently it's an old historical monument!

Disliked: One bathroom per room of 6 made it a little difficult to coordinate. Toilets + shower are in the same bathroom. Also, difficult to meet other travellers. The common room area is more of a bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We have some toilets and showers on each floor-the 6 bed rooms have an ensuite bathroom but all shared bathrooms in the Hostel can be used. Normally our bar and outside terrace is full of people who like to chat...our staff is also always keen to share a story :o) We hope to see you again and wish you safe travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and Comfortable hostal. Small & Cozy common area / bar. Free wifi. 24 hours reception & service.No bunk-beds!! Single beds for everyone each with own bed-side ligth.Quiet and non-crowded environment. Very friendly and helpful staff. We checked in late at night and were offered hot & cold beverages of our choice. They helped us plan our trip for the day.I am glad we chose this hostel for our stay in Berlin.

Disliked: No complementry breakfast included !!Stairs !! .. You are screwed if you have room on the top floor.If you prefer a crowded hostal with a huge common area, This hostel might not be for you. We on the other-hand were glad to have a good-night sleep after lots of traveling.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank and Dankeschön for taking the time to review our Hostel. We do not include the breakfast as many people do not want to book it every day. Instead we offer a 10% discount in our Grandwich Bar which has delicious panini's and german food every day. We are not allowed to implement a lift (fire regulations) but we have ice cold drinks in the bar for everyone who survived the "bag up the stairs" Olympics :o) All the best & safe travels from the Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Where do I begin? The staff were the most helpful staff I've ever encountered while travelling, giving us advice on where to go, what to do, all that stuff etc, and were just generally absolutely lovely. The room we stayed in was brilliant, it was extremely spacious, had enough plug sockets etc, though it could get tiring climbing to the third floor (there is no lift because the building is protected). It felt safe, the price was VERY generous and the location was fantastic, literally opposite an U-Bahn station and just a few minutes walk from an area of Kreuzberg packed with restaurants and nightlife. The bar was also very good, always had people in so it never felt dead and was a good place to meet people. I would highly recommend this hostel to anybody.

Disliked: It could have done with perhaps a kitchen, but I'm really struggling to find anything that was significantly easy to dislike about this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice review Richard. It is sooooooo good to hear all these positive things about our Hostel :o) We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best. Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Lovely building, great rooms and very clean bathrooms!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely review and the feedback. We are delighted that you had a good time here and we hope to welcome you soon again. All the best and safe travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a bit pricy, but it was more like staying in a hotel with friendly staff, rather than a hostel.

Disliked: It was hard to work out where to go by train to get to the hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your feedback. We might be a bit more expensive but we offer a lot of extras and huge rooms with no bunk beds. We hope to welcome you again in Berlin. All the best and safe travels :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Simplicity, Layout, Authenticity. It is my 2nd visit to this Hotel and I love it just as much as the city of Berlin!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much Andrew!!! We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Safe travels and all the best from your Grand Hostel Team :o)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Large rooms, location is good right next to the train station, bar was good

Disliked: No lift but wasn't really a major issue

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again in Berlin. Safe travels your Grand Hostel Team :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Awesome staff, awesome location, great facilities and the nicest and most comfortable hostel rooms I've every stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Awesome review!!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and leave such great feedback. Hope to see you again, we wish you safe travels and all the best :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: By far the most hospitable and welcoming staff we have come across on our travels. We arrived at the hostel much earlier than expected. The staff offered that we take a shower and to hold our luggage. Whilst we showered the staff organized our room, and were able to check in 3 hours early. Throughout our time at the grand hostel Berlin, the staff were more than happy to help us with directions. Every member we came across was equally friendly and happy to help us. We were sad to leave and excited to go back

Disliked: The building is very old and charming; the downside however being that there is no lift, and we were on the top floor. The staff members however helped us carry our baggage.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooo much for your nice review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Berlin and in our Hostel. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon again :o) All the best from your Grand Hostel Team

Check Availability