HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.1% Overall Rating

946 out of 960 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

Takashi Iwai thinks…

"I stayed in a 4-bed mixed room and it was so spacious. The shower room and the toilet were shared, so I did not have to wake up due to the noise of other peole taking a shower. The hostel itsel is…"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.58
  • Linen USD 4.98
  • Towel USD 2.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
18.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 9 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
17.04 USD

Hostel 91.7% 18 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
55.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.1% 20 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
20.33 USD

Hostel 83.1% 447 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.43 USD

Hostel 75.3% 262 reviews
Hotel-Transit
29.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.07 USD

Hostel 81.3% 284 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
18.88 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

946 out of 960 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 787 of 936 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexey Sinkevich

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Alexey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good. Stylish, big rooms, helpful staff,easy to get to airport. Great building and bar.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyhting

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and toilets, comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing much, except that the shower areas are really small and privacy seems to be an issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean caz it started on july 2009. quiet, no noisy people free tour can join helpful staff good location

Disliked: notihing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Carrasquero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely recommend this hotel. Is excellent!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohan Mannappan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Mohan would recommend this property

Liked: It had got very information to reach the Hostel. I met three of them in the Reception and everyone were very friendly, helpful. They were toooooooooooooooooooooooooo Good and helped me a lot. The rooms were far better than individual rooms. I enjoyed the stay completely. Regards, Mohan

Disliked: Excellent.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good wifi, my single room was very clean and comfy bed, good location to metro and all the sights

Disliked: the hot breakfast was a bit expensive for what you got for a hostel of this size, it was frustrating to have to travel to a distance to find a coin operated laundary....there should been some available for guests to use onsite communal bathrooms were not satisfactory.....one shower was no working and the mens room was sometimes out of toilet paper

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, warm and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. A nice relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: The showers were a bit annoying as you had to keep waving your hand in front of the sensor and there wasn't much privacy or changing space in the bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: lack of lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, and awesome free tours on offer.

Disliked: the floors were really squeaky

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisete Santos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Lisete would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are big and charming; the staff is really helpful and nice.

Disliked: There are no bathrooms in the rooms (although the shared ones are always clean)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Cooper

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 March 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, okay/good location, very luxurious comparing to the price!!

Disliked: nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dick Pettersson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2011 Dick would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels in berlin, without a doubt!

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly staff

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the rooms are big and comfortable, it is safe, there is a cool bar near the reception and it s not noisy, nd a computer lounge where u can meet people or just relax in the big sofa! there are cool free tours with Ben (the best guy from staff) and it s even cheap!!

Disliked: They could ve a kitchen for guess...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nader Diab

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Nader would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is amazing, it is safe, clean, amazing location, cheap, amazing food and breakfast buffet. I would definitely recommend it

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christos Vasileiadis

Alone

Events / festivals

03 March 2011 Christos would recommend this property

Liked: I am fully satisfied

Disliked: Almosts nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Jaron Legel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2011 Cornelis Jaron would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmosphere, very easy to talk also with other guests what I think is caused by the helpfullness and attention of the staff. The house self is very nice, in old style

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is v. clean, safe and does an excellent breakfast. The facilities are excellent.

Disliked: na

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. It is near the city centre and the museum Island and just a few stops away from the shopping district and kruzberg, where a lot of cheap and quality food is available. We booked a double en-suite room, and my friend and I think it looks more like a hotel room than a hostel one. The room is pretty big as well, which is beyond my expectation. Free-wifi available, which helps me to find restaurants with delicious cuisine.

Disliked: We don't have room keys, instead, we key in password to enter the hostel and the room. However, the keypad may not work perfectly all the time, and sometimes I have to key in the code a couples of times before getting into my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Demet Töre

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 February 2011 Demet would recommend this property

Liked: key system is very good, no keys! no worries about forgetting keys... also the cupboards that we use to store, has lock tools, is nice to have.

Disliked: nothing, we love it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sameer yarlagadda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 sameer would recommend this property

Liked: To be frank i paid peanuts for such an awesome place.... The best hostel I've stayed at, trust me I travel a lot.

Disliked: nothin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and hotel-like! The building was so beautiful. Bathrooms were very clean and even had blowdryers, a big plus for female travelers.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis filipi silviera Silveira

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Luis filipi silviera would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and big rooms.

Disliked: no

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cleanness, and price to stay

Disliked: The fee of bed sheet was 3 euro seperately.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels