We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.7% Overall Rating

959 out of 974 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.89
  • Linen USD 4.28
  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.39 USD

Hostel 81.8% 54 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.83 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.90 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
23.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.83 USD

Hostel 80.2% 361 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
19.82 USD

Hostel 74.2% 977 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
19.99 USD

Hostel 84.7% 622 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

959 out of 974 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 799 of 950 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious

Disliked: Location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were awesome and huge!!!!

Disliked: no elevator!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was really nice and the bathrooms were spotless. was in walking distance to all major sights.

Disliked: you had to pay for breakfast (5.90 euros). you had to pay for linen (3 euros) which i've never done before. our room wasn't swept properly as there were crumbs on the floor. the water in the shower wasn't a continuous flow it would switch off after 1 minute and you'd have to turn it on again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, no bunk beds, lockers in the room, breakfast buffet for reasonable price, tours

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very professional feel throughout the building and staff.

Disliked: The distance from the centre of town is quite far but still nothing to complain about fully.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and in a good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Klinger

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building and location by the river, great stuff with incredible memory for names - makes you feel very welcome :)

Disliked: no complaints at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, beautiful old building with tall ceilings, but also very modern. The staff were extremely helpful, sit you down upon arrival to show you a map of this huge city. Advice on where to eat, drink and party. Offers bike tours etc which were amazing!!! Cannot say enough good things about the staff!!! Beds were comfortable and room spacious in the 6 Bed/ensuite. Everything very clean and open!

Disliked: Not as much "party atmosphere" as we've seen other hostels but Berlin is a crazy city so you can go out and meet people on the metro on the way to a club.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extreme friendly welcome: the receptionist explained a lot about Berlin, how to get where, about tours offered by the hostel etc. We had a private double room with private bathroom: all nice and clean. I liked the bar where you can get a beer late evening. I didn´t take breafast as there´s a fab kebap place nearby but breakfast is a nice buffet and open quite long.

Disliked: Very noisy at night because of clapping doors. Bathroom was quite cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing, more like a hotel than a hostel but with hostel prices. It was clean. spacious and inviting. I feel like it has completely altered my standards of what a hostel should be. Exceptional.

Disliked: The privacy in the bathrooms would have been a problem but I never ran into anyone else in the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emily Bramma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful place to stay, clean, friendly and very good food even if we did have to pay for breakfast!!

Disliked: Our roommate snored!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Akilah Saeef

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Akilah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right across from the U bahn and is within walking distance from many places such as Checkpoint Charlie and Markets as well. I Even was able to walk to the center of Berlin... Sure it took a couple of hours but it was certainly nice to walk through the nieghborhoods and find my way to the city with the free map (provided to you by the hostel)

Disliked: Not much just the showers are glass so it's a bit see through... was a bit uncomfortable at times but in the end it was fine. Also besides the group tours there is really no way to meet other people. Thankfully for me I was in the lobby at the same time as another couple and we were able to go out for drinks the next day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Nice facilities. Very secure.

Disliked: 3€ bed linen charge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, good location, very clean and secure. Friendly staff and great day tour. Breakfast was very good value.

Disliked: Shower room is mixed and can be awkward as towel is outside the shower cubicle. Better is there was a separate male and female room. Quite expensive for a private room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, clean and safe.

Disliked: The showers had see through glass so anyone could walk into the shared bathroom and see you naked. Not a big deal but a bit uncimofrtsble for those who like privacy,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Deckey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms and spotless. Dorm is huge and well lit with windows opening out. Free wifi is great along with computers to use for free. Metro stop right next door is convenient. Breakfast is good but comes at a cost of 5.50€.

Disliked: Great place to stay no complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Jiang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, friendly staff, price for rooms

Disliked: no elevator

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, wifi in room

Disliked: Not a place to meet fellow travelers, no atmosphere it's basically just a hotel really... No breakfast is included and charged at an additional €5.50

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so knowledgeable and helpful when we were planning our days. they came up with many suggestions and were able to show us on the map where everything was. I also liked the cheap train passes. I loved the room with the reception in it. It was sunny and warm and a really nice place to sit and eat breakfast which was also good. Free internet access was great.

Disliked: I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ivanas Jariga

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 May 2011 Ivanas would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and nice staff. Breakfast wasn't included in the price but was cheap and quite good. Location is very good - 100m from the metro station. Clean rooms, showers, WC.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Norlander

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 April 2011 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Great standard, super clean, good communications, friendly staff. Go for the bar tour with Ben, thirsty and fun aussie!

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, and when we checked in, the man at the desk gave us a full run down on what there was to see and do in the city and explained us how to get the most done in the shortest amount of time and while spending the least amount of money on transport, which was invaluable, considering we were only able to stay for the day.

Disliked: I wish the bathrooms were ensuite, because the showers are a little awkward, (you have to change before you get in because the water is motion-sensor, and there's no privacy for that...) but I happened to be there when no one else was taking a shower, so I was okay for my part.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chan Sze Wai Jacqueline

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Chan would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, spacious and nice beds. showers and other facilities are superb, all automatic!

Disliked: more like a hotel and not a hostel, quite difficult to meet people, the common lounge is there but people seem to focus on using the computer instead of interacting with each other.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cleanest hostel I've ever seen! Brilliant location, not in de Centre but just a 15 minute walk and you're in the middle of buzzing Berlin.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice historic building/villa. nice and comfortable beds, good showers,spacious rooms. good coffee!

Disliked: breakfast wasn't that great, but enough alternatives close by


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels