HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.31USD
  • Linen 4.33USD
  • Towel 2.25USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 121-29 of 29 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful. Great location. Clean. Lots of services offered. Best of all, great friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: I hired a bike from them that was unisex and made for a much taller person, I think. The seat didn't lower and my feet hung 20cm off the ground. I was bruised in a sensitive place after my day of riding.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review & feedback. We are very sorry for the trouble with the bike you should have come back to the Hostel and we would have exchanged the bike for a better fitting one. We hope to welcome you again here and wish you all the best on your travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice building, more than just business nice staff, really helpful and patient, quiet, nice location, nice atmosphere, a lot of books

Disliked: Bathroom had a bit problem with water on the ground to drain off.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to welcome you soon again! Ps. We will look into the bathroom problem-cheers for letting us know!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staffs are quite helpful and the bar is pretty nice.

Disliked: I stayed there for almost a week, it seems that they don't really clean the floor in the room. (They cleaned very roughly, the same dirty things beside my bed was there since I checked in.) The door lock system they use didn't work well, I was locked outside the floor door for more than 5 times, once I tried the code for more than 30 times until someone came to use the door, it was really really annoying. (And this happened to ALL my roommate.) It was very noisy outside the windows of my room, we couldn't fall asleep easily. Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this hostel.


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize sincerely for any trouble caused to you. We are a bit shocked about your comments, our cleaning staff is normally very good and always receive the highest compliments. Very sorry for the trouble you had with the door codes-the door system is in place to stop thief's from coming into the Hostel rooms. If the code is not working you can always come down to reception and our lovely staff will help you then. Safe travels, the Grand Hostel Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: No bunkbeds. Right next to a U-Bahn station.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a good time here in Berlin and we hope to welcome you soon again. All the best :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area downstairs was really nice. And the beds were comfortable. Felt like I had a ton of space.

Disliked: The common showers were a little weirdly set up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel :o) Our shared showers are on each floor and we also have ensuite bathrooms in our 6 bed dorms and in some private rooms. We wish you all the best and safe travels. Hope to see you again in Berlin

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place to stay. Subway nearby e some places of interest in a walking distance. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: There no lift in the hostel, but to me it was not a problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are not allowed to implement a lift, the building is so historic that it is under protection, but we have very friendly staff who are always happy to help :o) We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and so helpful. They sat with us when we arrived and showed us all the best places to go. The in house bar is perfect for meeting people and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you and Dankeschön Cara. It was great to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again. All the best for you and safe travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, next to subway and many place to eat nearby

Disliked: Maybe too big, didn't get that usual hostel atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel and for your feedback! Our bar and outside terrace is normally packed with nice people ready to socialize. Also our staff is always happy to chat-most days we can't get them to shut up ;o) We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful and clean hostel in a magnificent old building. The bathrooms are super clean. I even had a room with a balcony. I LOVED the bar downstairs. Everyone hung out there and met great folks, which was cool since I was traveling alone. The staff was friendly and great. BERLIN ROCKS! Take the tours and go out in Kreutzberg a lot. You won´t regret it!!

Disliked: Free breakfast would have been nice, but German bakeries are fantastic and fill the gap pretty well.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hostel and give us so a nice feedback :o) Berlin totally ROCKS!!!! Our Grandwich Bar has really good breakfast and is only five steps from the Hostel. Yummy sandwiches and traditional German food until 14:00 every day. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the big rooms, the cleaness, the staff, etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best for your travels :o)

Check Availability