HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.98USD
  • Linen 4.13USD
  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 121-30 of 30 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendly staffs are helpful to provide recommendation on attractions and information of directions. They are just like friends sharing their personal experience about Berlin. The hostel is in a unique setting inside a heritage. It's small to make one feel like home.

Disliked: I stay on the ground floor where there's only one mixed shower room. The doors of the shower compartment are semi-transparent that one can see through the glass. There's embarrassing situation that guys can bump into the shower room while some ladies are taking shower. Or a lady came out from the shower compartment and found that a guy is naked......

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your time in our Hostel and in Berlin. The showers are mixed but we also have private rooms with ensuite bathrooms and our 6 bed dorms have bathrooms which you can use alone and lock the door. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building was nicely renovated

Disliked: The location wasn't ideal - transfers required to get into the city center

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. Berlin is a very big city and does not really have one city center-each district has it's own little center. Luckily the Ubahn network is so good that you can get from one site of the city to the other in minutes. Our Hostel is located in the trendy district of Kreuzberg with many bars and cafe's, we are also in walking distance to Check Point Charlie and Potsdamer Platz. We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best on your travels :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful. Great location. Clean. Lots of services offered. Best of all, great friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: I hired a bike from them that was unisex and made for a much taller person, I think. The seat didn't lower and my feet hung 20cm off the ground. I was bruised in a sensitive place after my day of riding.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review & feedback. We are very sorry for the trouble with the bike you should have come back to the Hostel and we would have exchanged the bike for a better fitting one. We hope to welcome you again here and wish you all the best on your travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice building, more than just business nice staff, really helpful and patient, quiet, nice location, nice atmosphere, a lot of books

Disliked: Bathroom had a bit problem with water on the ground to drain off.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to welcome you soon again! Ps. We will look into the bathroom problem-cheers for letting us know!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staffs are quite helpful and the bar is pretty nice.

Disliked: I stayed there for almost a week, it seems that they don't really clean the floor in the room. (They cleaned very roughly, the same dirty things beside my bed was there since I checked in.) The door lock system they use didn't work well, I was locked outside the floor door for more than 5 times, once I tried the code for more than 30 times until someone came to use the door, it was really really annoying. (And this happened to ALL my roommate.) It was very noisy outside the windows of my room, we couldn't fall asleep easily. Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this hostel.


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize sincerely for any trouble caused to you. We are a bit shocked about your comments, our cleaning staff is normally very good and always receive the highest compliments. Very sorry for the trouble you had with the door codes-the door system is in place to stop thief's from coming into the Hostel rooms. If the code is not working you can always come down to reception and our lovely staff will help you then. Safe travels, the Grand Hostel Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: No bunkbeds. Right next to a U-Bahn station.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a good time here in Berlin and we hope to welcome you soon again. All the best :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area downstairs was really nice. And the beds were comfortable. Felt like I had a ton of space.

Disliked: The common showers were a little weirdly set up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel :o) Our shared showers are on each floor and we also have ensuite bathrooms in our 6 bed dorms and in some private rooms. We wish you all the best and safe travels. Hope to see you again in Berlin

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place to stay. Subway nearby e some places of interest in a walking distance. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: There no lift in the hostel, but to me it was not a problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are not allowed to implement a lift, the building is so historic that it is under protection, but we have very friendly staff who are always happy to help :o) We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely and so helpful. They sat with us when we arrived and showed us all the best places to go. The in house bar is perfect for meeting people and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you and Dankeschön Cara. It was great to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again. All the best for you and safe travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, next to subway and many place to eat nearby

Disliked: Maybe too big, didn't get that usual hostel atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel and for your feedback! Our bar and outside terrace is normally packed with nice people ready to socialize. Also our staff is always happy to chat-most days we can't get them to shut up ;o) We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

Check Availability