We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.7% Overall Rating

959 out of 974 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.89
  • Linen USD 4.28
  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.39 USD

Hostel 81.8% 54 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.83 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
20.90 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
23.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
12.83 USD

Hostel 80.2% 361 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
19.82 USD

Hostel 74.2% 977 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
19.99 USD

Hostel 84.7% 622 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

959 out of 974 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 799 of 950 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in. Beautiful big clean rooms, fantastically helpful staff. Good location easy to get everywhere. Pub crawl was awesome, definitely stay again. Probably the cheapest beer in Berlin during happy hour!

Disliked: Nothing, loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernhard Leistner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: The atmospere is amazing. Insider tips from super-friendly staff. Greatest Hostel EVER! Try the bike tour; it is a really great way to get to know both the city and other people.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Genetti

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. I got a great bike from their daily rental at the last minute.

Disliked: Their 48 hour cancellation policy. Many backpackers' plans can change up until the day before. This was the longest I've heard of. Most hostels I've been to have a 24 hour, if any, cancellation policy. They said they were gonna charge me because i tried to cancel within 48 hours. So I decided to stay for just 1 night. I figured I already paid for it, so why not?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jairo David Torres Yepes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Jairo David would recommend this property

Liked: It's just the best hostel I've ever been, besides it's one of the cheapest. Clean, good location and really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was absolutley excellent. As soon we arrived we were given map and told where to find the supermarket, the U-bahn station etc. The hostel is located next to an U-bahn station and very close to the Jewish museum. The staff were very friendly and even offered us a free welcome drink. The interior was fantastic and really created an atmosphere of luxery. The room was wonderful with very comfy beds. EVerything was just very pleasant. Happy hour was also very good value.

Disliked: I really have nothing to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Marmion

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, very helpful staff, great bar for interaction with other guests. Best atmosphere of all the hostels on our trip.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Brandová

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: This was definitely the best hostel I´ve ever been to. Staff is very kind and helpful and location is perfect for exploring the city. I especially liked breakfast which is for sure value for money and we also enjoyed having some drinks at the hostel bar. I would definitely recommend this hostel to other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing to say here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, friendly staff, REALLY comfy beds and free internet.

Disliked: Could have mentioned to bring a padlock to be able to close the lockers in the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel I've ever stayed so far. the staff is awesome. everybody is really friendly and helpful. on the day of my check-in, they gave me a map of Berlin and told me where major tourist attractions, supermarkets, nice bars, good restaurants are. they also offer city cycling tour, bar crawling etc. I joined the bar crawling and met nice people. they have a bar and there you can meet other guests too. each person get her/his own bed and room was spacious. everything was clean. location isn't bad at all. if I go back to Berlin, I'd definitely stay at this hostel.

Disliked: wi-fi connection was weak and kept logging out. so I had to log in often. that was a little annoying. it can be a little noisy at night since they have a terrace at bar downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very well located right next to the U1 and U7. Staff is very helpful, rooms spacious and very clean. The offered tours and the breakfast were amazing. Never had such breakfast in a Hostel. I can only recommend this hostel to everybody.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Weckman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, faclities were awesome... secure...and >WiFi!!!!

Disliked: Although it was great location for a hostel, it could have been a little bit closer, and the breakfast was 5,90 each morning which could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artem Chinkarouk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Artem would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Berlin! Very close to the public transportation, staff is very helpful and always available. Many services offered at the hostel, such as laundry and bike tours of Berlin. The tour was perfect! The rooms are clean and spacious, there is a bar downstairs (happy hour is totally worth it) but the rooms are very quiet so you can get a good night of sleep. Would definitively go back there again!

Disliked: No kitchen facilities but it wasnt such a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Gutmann

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was one of the best I have stayed in. They provide free lockers, wifi and bedding. They have a fun bar downstairs and the staff are great. Really close to the metro station and in a safe area, close enough to the city. I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm, and everything was great.

Disliked: The only bad thing is that they don't have lifts- but they always offer to help you carry up your luggage!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Good location on the hostel. I strongly recommend Grand Hostel to other travellers.

Disliked: Not much to say here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Wilant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: The rooms were huge and the bathrooms were clean. There is a bar in the reception area, so that is convenient and free computer usage. It is near 2 different metro stops, so we used that to get around. We didn't stay long enough, but it seems like they provide some pretty great outings for guests (concentration camp visits, bike tours, etc.) every week.

Disliked: Our snoring roommate ruined our experience. The hostel is located near many other hostels, so the streets are fairly loud at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the staff, breakfast, and atmosphere of the hostel

Disliked: The showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean. Great breakfast. Really helpful staff. WiFi !

Disliked: The windows looked out on a courtyard, facing other windows - so you really had to close the curtains at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel-experience I ever had. The servicees they offer were extremely good. The hostel was very crowded but they had always an open ear for me. A must is a tour with Ben.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Meinhardt

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: incredible friendly staff. We felt so welcome @ Grand Hostel. The breakfast buffet is like in a 5 star-category Hotel. Scrambled Eggs, sausages, fresh fruits. Amazing!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, nice building, fine sleeping arrangements, excellent breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities on created a real communal atmosphere.

Disliked: Having to change rooms every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had to pay for breakfast but it was great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juha Untinen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to a metro station

Disliked: Wireless connection expired 12 hours before last check-out time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Coate

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 July 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, nice breakfast, free internet, clean and tidy hostel in general! Rooms were nice and big with lockers provided! Staff are very friendly and helpful! Bar is open all night! Washing facilities are provided!

Disliked: A few stairs but this is minimal!Also there were quite a few school kids staying there at the time, but in saying that it is a very good hostel!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels