HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.3% Overall Rating

947 out of 961 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

Takashi Iwai thinks…

"I stayed in a 4-bed mixed room and it was so spacious. The shower room and the toilet were shared, so I did not have to wake up due to the noise of other peole taking a shower. The hostel itsel is…"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.56
  • Linen USD 4.97
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 9 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
17.01 USD

Hostel 89.9% 19 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
55.22 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.1% 20 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
15.94 USD

Hostel 83.1% 447 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
19.91 USD

Hostel 75.3% 262 reviews
Hotel-Transit
28.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
13.05 USD

Hostel 81.3% 284 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
14.49 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

947 out of 961 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 787 of 936 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Gutmann

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was one of the best I have stayed in. They provide free lockers, wifi and bedding. They have a fun bar downstairs and the staff are great. Really close to the metro station and in a safe area, close enough to the city. I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm, and everything was great.

Disliked: The only bad thing is that they don't have lifts- but they always offer to help you carry up your luggage!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Good location on the hostel. I strongly recommend Grand Hostel to other travellers.

Disliked: Not much to say here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Wilant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: The rooms were huge and the bathrooms were clean. There is a bar in the reception area, so that is convenient and free computer usage. It is near 2 different metro stops, so we used that to get around. We didn't stay long enough, but it seems like they provide some pretty great outings for guests (concentration camp visits, bike tours, etc.) every week.

Disliked: Our snoring roommate ruined our experience. The hostel is located near many other hostels, so the streets are fairly loud at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the staff, breakfast, and atmosphere of the hostel

Disliked: The showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean. Great breakfast. Really helpful staff. WiFi !

Disliked: The windows looked out on a courtyard, facing other windows - so you really had to close the curtains at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel-experience I ever had. The servicees they offer were extremely good. The hostel was very crowded but they had always an open ear for me. A must is a tour with Ben.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Meinhardt

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: incredible friendly staff. We felt so welcome @ Grand Hostel. The breakfast buffet is like in a 5 star-category Hotel. Scrambled Eggs, sausages, fresh fruits. Amazing!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, nice building, fine sleeping arrangements, excellent breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities on created a real communal atmosphere.

Disliked: Having to change rooms every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had to pay for breakfast but it was great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juha Untinen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to a metro station

Disliked: Wireless connection expired 12 hours before last check-out time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Coate

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 July 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, nice breakfast, free internet, clean and tidy hostel in general! Rooms were nice and big with lockers provided! Staff are very friendly and helpful! Bar is open all night! Washing facilities are provided!

Disliked: A few stairs but this is minimal!Also there were quite a few school kids staying there at the time, but in saying that it is a very good hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious

Disliked: Location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were awesome and huge!!!!

Disliked: no elevator!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was really nice and the bathrooms were spotless. was in walking distance to all major sights.

Disliked: you had to pay for breakfast (5.90 euros). you had to pay for linen (3 euros) which i've never done before. our room wasn't swept properly as there were crumbs on the floor. the water in the shower wasn't a continuous flow it would switch off after 1 minute and you'd have to turn it on again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, no bunk beds, lockers in the room, breakfast buffet for reasonable price, tours

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very professional feel throughout the building and staff.

Disliked: The distance from the centre of town is quite far but still nothing to complain about fully.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and in a good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Klinger

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building and location by the river, great stuff with incredible memory for names - makes you feel very welcome :)

Disliked: no complaints at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, beautiful old building with tall ceilings, but also very modern. The staff were extremely helpful, sit you down upon arrival to show you a map of this huge city. Advice on where to eat, drink and party. Offers bike tours etc which were amazing!!! Cannot say enough good things about the staff!!! Beds were comfortable and room spacious in the 6 Bed/ensuite. Everything very clean and open!

Disliked: Not as much "party atmosphere" as we've seen other hostels but Berlin is a crazy city so you can go out and meet people on the metro on the way to a club.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extreme friendly welcome: the receptionist explained a lot about Berlin, how to get where, about tours offered by the hostel etc. We had a private double room with private bathroom: all nice and clean. I liked the bar where you can get a beer late evening. I didn´t take breafast as there´s a fab kebap place nearby but breakfast is a nice buffet and open quite long.

Disliked: Very noisy at night because of clapping doors. Bathroom was quite cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing, more like a hotel than a hostel but with hostel prices. It was clean. spacious and inviting. I feel like it has completely altered my standards of what a hostel should be. Exceptional.

Disliked: The privacy in the bathrooms would have been a problem but I never ran into anyone else in the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emily Bramma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful place to stay, clean, friendly and very good food even if we did have to pay for breakfast!!

Disliked: Our roommate snored!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Akilah Saeef

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Akilah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right across from the U bahn and is within walking distance from many places such as Checkpoint Charlie and Markets as well. I Even was able to walk to the center of Berlin... Sure it took a couple of hours but it was certainly nice to walk through the nieghborhoods and find my way to the city with the free map (provided to you by the hostel)

Disliked: Not much just the showers are glass so it's a bit see through... was a bit uncomfortable at times but in the end it was fine. Also besides the group tours there is really no way to meet other people. Thankfully for me I was in the lobby at the same time as another couple and we were able to go out for drinks the next day.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels