HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.94USD
  • Linen 4.11USD
  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 111-30 of 30 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staffgorgeous old house

Disliked: its really badly soundproofed and the showers have mouldy corners

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the noise and the showers. We will look into more soundproof, the builsing is historic and Berlin's wooden floors and stairs can be a bit nosy especially with many returning party people in the night. Regarding the showers we got our cleaners to clean the corners and they will keep a better eye on it. All the best on you travels and we hope to welcome you here again. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The building looks good. My room had high seeling. The smoke alarms were visible. It was posible to by cofee and food. It had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: a map that shows how to get ther from Möckenbrücke, the nearest U bahn.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are not quiet sure what you mean regarding the map....we do offer free Berlin maps at reception which have the Berlin streets on one side and the underground system on the other side. Each staff member is also happy to show you the way to the u-bahn-it is actually visible from the Hostel's entrance. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Fantastic helpful staff and a very comfortable stay all round.

Disliked: Bar was a little quieter than other hostels.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are a bit of a mixture....Hostel atmosphere with some Hotel features. Our bar is mostly filled on the weekend when we offer our bar tour or our movie night on a sunday. Otherwise you can relax there with a german beer, read some books or chat to other travellers :o) All the best on your travels and we hope to welcome you soon again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought this place was absolutely amazing. The staff is what makes this place. Jerome at the front desk answered every question we had. The owner was so hospitable when we were at the bar. But the standout for me is Morgan the bartender. He deserves at least an all expenses paid trip to Oktoberfest. He was so welcoming. Really felt like you were hanging with your friends here. The room was more than spacious. I will definitely make a return visit if I come to Berlin again.

Disliked: Nothing really. Lack of an elevator maybe would be my only criticism. But this should not stop you coming here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice feedback. A special thanks from Jerome & Morgan...we might send them both to Munich on our staff competition. Unfortunately we cannot implement a lift as the historic building is under protection. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you soon again. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything was excellent. Spotlessly clean, great location, super safe, lovely decor and mod cons and the friendliest, most helpful staff ever (and the barman is gorgeous, ladies!) Have recommended to everyone already and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike - but if I had to pick a minor thing; there are lots of stairs if you're on the top floor but it's good exercise!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback. Yes ladies, in our bar you will get a sweet drink and a sweet bartender :o) We have no elevator as the historic building is under protection and we would not want to destroy the lovely walls -but like you have said good exercise. All the best on your travels and we hope to welcome you soon again!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were exceptional

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooooooooooooo much!!! This is amazing feedback and we are so happy that you had a great time here. Hope to welcome you soon again. All the best on your travels :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was clean, comfy, simple but stylish, and very secure, good night's sleep...but the bar is very welcoming too! Super friendly and helpful staff, good location. Had a great stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooo much so nice to receive such a good feedback :o) We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels! Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was beautiful and located in a very convenient place for tourists.

Disliked: Nothing particular to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much and Dankeschön :o) We hope to see you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This is a really great hostel! Close to the subway station and walking distance to the restaurants in Kreuzberg. There are individual beds with hotel standard duvets and pillows and the best lockers I have encountered. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. And it's cheap! This really is one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing really. If anything it would have been nice to be on the next stop to not have to switch trains when going into the center but that was a very small problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review and feedback. We will speak to the Berlin transport minister and try to get a direct line to the center ;o) All the best to you and safe travels. Hope to welcome you again!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were really helpful with directions & the bar tour run by Ben was one fof the highlights of my trip. The building is beauiful and the rooms are massive with single beds and you also get a wardrobe each so lots of space.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are really happy that you had a good time here and we hope to welcome you again for a second round of our bar tour :o) All the best on your travels from your Grand Hostel Team

Check Availability