HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.4% Overall Rating

951 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location was good, rooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel. The 5.5euro travel pass you can buy for the day is a great way of getting round the city cheaply. You can have it until 6am the following morning."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.84
  • Linen USD 4.55
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.60 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
15.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
15.28 USD

Hostel 83.4% 49 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
17.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
11.95 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
15.94 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Potsdamer Hof Berlin am Potsdamer Platz
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

951 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 792 of 941 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, friendly staff, REALLY comfy beds and free internet.

Disliked: Could have mentioned to bring a padlock to be able to close the lockers in the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel I've ever stayed so far. the staff is awesome. everybody is really friendly and helpful. on the day of my check-in, they gave me a map of Berlin and told me where major tourist attractions, supermarkets, nice bars, good restaurants are. they also offer city cycling tour, bar crawling etc. I joined the bar crawling and met nice people. they have a bar and there you can meet other guests too. each person get her/his own bed and room was spacious. everything was clean. location isn't bad at all. if I go back to Berlin, I'd definitely stay at this hostel.

Disliked: wi-fi connection was weak and kept logging out. so I had to log in often. that was a little annoying. it can be a little noisy at night since they have a terrace at bar downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very well located right next to the U1 and U7. Staff is very helpful, rooms spacious and very clean. The offered tours and the breakfast were amazing. Never had such breakfast in a Hostel. I can only recommend this hostel to everybody.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Weckman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, faclities were awesome... secure...and >WiFi!!!!

Disliked: Although it was great location for a hostel, it could have been a little bit closer, and the breakfast was 5,90 each morning which could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artem Chinkarouk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Artem would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Berlin! Very close to the public transportation, staff is very helpful and always available. Many services offered at the hostel, such as laundry and bike tours of Berlin. The tour was perfect! The rooms are clean and spacious, there is a bar downstairs (happy hour is totally worth it) but the rooms are very quiet so you can get a good night of sleep. Would definitively go back there again!

Disliked: No kitchen facilities but it wasnt such a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Gutmann

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was one of the best I have stayed in. They provide free lockers, wifi and bedding. They have a fun bar downstairs and the staff are great. Really close to the metro station and in a safe area, close enough to the city. I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm, and everything was great.

Disliked: The only bad thing is that they don't have lifts- but they always offer to help you carry up your luggage!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Good location on the hostel. I strongly recommend Grand Hostel to other travellers.

Disliked: Not much to say here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Wilant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: The rooms were huge and the bathrooms were clean. There is a bar in the reception area, so that is convenient and free computer usage. It is near 2 different metro stops, so we used that to get around. We didn't stay long enough, but it seems like they provide some pretty great outings for guests (concentration camp visits, bike tours, etc.) every week.

Disliked: Our snoring roommate ruined our experience. The hostel is located near many other hostels, so the streets are fairly loud at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the staff, breakfast, and atmosphere of the hostel

Disliked: The showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean. Great breakfast. Really helpful staff. WiFi !

Disliked: The windows looked out on a courtyard, facing other windows - so you really had to close the curtains at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel-experience I ever had. The servicees they offer were extremely good. The hostel was very crowded but they had always an open ear for me. A must is a tour with Ben.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Meinhardt

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: incredible friendly staff. We felt so welcome @ Grand Hostel. The breakfast buffet is like in a 5 star-category Hotel. Scrambled Eggs, sausages, fresh fruits. Amazing!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, nice building, fine sleeping arrangements, excellent breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities on created a real communal atmosphere.

Disliked: Having to change rooms every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had to pay for breakfast but it was great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juha Untinen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to a metro station

Disliked: Wireless connection expired 12 hours before last check-out time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Coate

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 July 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, nice breakfast, free internet, clean and tidy hostel in general! Rooms were nice and big with lockers provided! Staff are very friendly and helpful! Bar is open all night! Washing facilities are provided!

Disliked: A few stairs but this is minimal!Also there were quite a few school kids staying there at the time, but in saying that it is a very good hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious

Disliked: Location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were awesome and huge!!!!

Disliked: no elevator!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was really nice and the bathrooms were spotless. was in walking distance to all major sights.

Disliked: you had to pay for breakfast (5.90 euros). you had to pay for linen (3 euros) which i've never done before. our room wasn't swept properly as there were crumbs on the floor. the water in the shower wasn't a continuous flow it would switch off after 1 minute and you'd have to turn it on again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, no bunk beds, lockers in the room, breakfast buffet for reasonable price, tours

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very professional feel throughout the building and staff.

Disliked: The distance from the centre of town is quite far but still nothing to complain about fully.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and in a good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Klinger

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building and location by the river, great stuff with incredible memory for names - makes you feel very welcome :)

Disliked: no complaints at all.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels