HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin

Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 85%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.77USD
  • Linen 4.60USD
  • Towel 2.39USD

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.
NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.
All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.20 €
towel 2.00 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 85%

Safety 91%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 111-56 of 56 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything was excellent. Spotlessly clean, great location, super safe, lovely decor and mod cons and the friendliest, most helpful staff ever (and the barman is gorgeous, ladies!) Have recommended to everyone already and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike - but if I had to pick a minor thing; there are lots of stairs if you're on the top floor but it's good exercise!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback. Yes ladies, in our bar you will get a sweet drink and a sweet bartender :o) We have no elevator as the historic building is under protection and we would not want to destroy the lovely walls -but like you have said good exercise. All the best on your travels and we hope to welcome you soon again!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were exceptional

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooooooooooooo much!!! This is amazing feedback and we are so happy that you had a great time here. Hope to welcome you soon again. All the best on your travels :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was clean, comfy, simple but stylish, and very secure, good night's sleep...but the bar is very welcoming too! Super friendly and helpful staff, good location. Had a great stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooo much so nice to receive such a good feedback :o) We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels! Your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was beautiful and located in a very convenient place for tourists.

Disliked: Nothing particular to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much and Dankeschön :o) We hope to see you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This is a really great hostel! Close to the subway station and walking distance to the restaurants in Kreuzberg. There are individual beds with hotel standard duvets and pillows and the best lockers I have encountered. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. And it's cheap! This really is one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing really. If anything it would have been nice to be on the next stop to not have to switch trains when going into the center but that was a very small problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review and feedback. We will speak to the Berlin transport minister and try to get a direct line to the center ;o) All the best to you and safe travels. Hope to welcome you again!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were really helpful with directions & the bar tour run by Ben was one fof the highlights of my trip. The building is beauiful and the rooms are massive with single beds and you also get a wardrobe each so lots of space.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are really happy that you had a good time here and we hope to welcome you again for a second round of our bar tour :o) All the best on your travels from your Grand Hostel Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendly staffs are helpful to provide recommendation on attractions and information of directions. They are just like friends sharing their personal experience about Berlin. The hostel is in a unique setting inside a heritage. It's small to make one feel like home.

Disliked: I stay on the ground floor where there's only one mixed shower room. The doors of the shower compartment are semi-transparent that one can see through the glass. There's embarrassing situation that guys can bump into the shower room while some ladies are taking shower. Or a lady came out from the shower compartment and found that a guy is naked......

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your time in our Hostel and in Berlin. The showers are mixed but we also have private rooms with ensuite bathrooms and our 6 bed dorms have bathrooms which you can use alone and lock the door. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building was nicely renovated

Disliked: The location wasn't ideal - transfers required to get into the city center

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. Berlin is a very big city and does not really have one city center-each district has it's own little center. Luckily the Ubahn network is so good that you can get from one site of the city to the other in minutes. Our Hostel is located in the trendy district of Kreuzberg with many bars and cafe's, we are also in walking distance to Check Point Charlie and Potsdamer Platz. We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best on your travels :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful. Great location. Clean. Lots of services offered. Best of all, great friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: I hired a bike from them that was unisex and made for a much taller person, I think. The seat didn't lower and my feet hung 20cm off the ground. I was bruised in a sensitive place after my day of riding.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review & feedback. We are very sorry for the trouble with the bike you should have come back to the Hostel and we would have exchanged the bike for a better fitting one. We hope to welcome you again here and wish you all the best on your travels :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice building, more than just business nice staff, really helpful and patient, quiet, nice location, nice atmosphere, a lot of books

Disliked: Bathroom had a bit problem with water on the ground to drain off.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to welcome you soon again! Ps. We will look into the bathroom problem-cheers for letting us know!

Check Availability