We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

91.4% Overall Rating

951 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location was good, rooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel. The 5.5euro travel pass you can buy for the day is a great way of getting round the city cheaply. You can have it until 6am the following morning."

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.84
  • Linen USD 4.55
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please Note!

During 30th and 31st of December all rates are non-refundable and the hostel requests pre-payment in advance. The minimum stay for this period is 3 nights.
To confirm your reservation for September, 27th and 28th we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.60 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

aletto Kreuzberg Hotel
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.4% 12 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 83.7% 51 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 464 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
13.16 USD

Hostel 72.6% 271 reviews
Hotel-Transit
26.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 105 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
10.63 USD

Hostel 79.5% 323 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.6% 616 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

951 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 792 of 941 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cinara vila

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 cinara would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful people working there. I feel I was home. They are kind and helpful. Absolutly nothing to complain. It was my best experience in hostels. I will recommend.

Disliked: Everything worked so well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mike cassino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 mike would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful!! A beautiful and clean building!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sung-Hsiu YU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Sung-Hsiu would recommend this property

Liked: service is very good

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, comfortable private room. Clean shared bathroom - always a shower free. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timmy Bui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Timmy would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever been to numerous hostels and this by far surpasses the rest. It's not exactly the best location, but it's so close to multiple stops you can get any where quickly and efficiently. Very clean good beds good drinks for a fair price and has a nice unique feel to it.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul golabowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent in all respects. The buffet breakfast was as good as some 5* hotels I've stayed in. I will return.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The single beds are really comfy and a HUGE improvement on bunk beds. The staff were so helpful, friendly and informed. The tours were really good, there are big lockers in the rooms and everywhere was really clean. An excellent hostel, I'll definitely go back there again.

Disliked: nothing - for longer stays a kitchen would be handy but food in Berlin seems much cheaper than a lot of places I've stayed and there are some really good, cheap street food places near the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Staff excellent, close to u-bahn, fantastic breakfast buffet

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel!

Disliked: expensive breakfast!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline McLaren

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff Large airy spacious bedrooms

Disliked: If I'm really digging... the stairs?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really big and clean. We used the lockers in the rooms and found it really helpful being able to use a safe during the day. The staff were really helpful and friendly, very keen to help recommend places and how to get there. I thought the showers were really clean too.

Disliked: We didn't see a lift and online we did not see any mention of bedsheets but were charged 3euros each for this. It seemed quite far from most of the tourist attractions if you wanted to walk but there are u bahn stations very close. In fact throughout the night we heard the trains arriving and leaving but it wasn't that much of a disturbance. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were so many great things about this hostel, first of all the wonderful character of the building, the cleanliness and homely feel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the organised pub crawl was particularly good as it was a great way to meet people. The all you can eat breakfast was well worth the money for the amount and variety of food you get, even for me as a vegetarian. Also in a great location as the area is full of cheap places to eat. The room itself was great as it was huge and had very comfy beds that weren't bunk beds!! Overall an amazing hostel that we'd love to go back to.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have self catering to keep costs down but was easy to eat out for cheap locally.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NO BUNK BEDS! You get to sleep in your own bed and have plenty of space for your things. The hostel offers tours for a low price and I would recommend going on them. It was a good way for me to meet new people, since I am traveling alone.

Disliked: I checked out late (my fault), but once I did that and was trying to pack my things the staff was not helpful or friendly at all. I understand that it was my fault for checking out late, but they didn't have to be rude. I even offered to to pay for an extra night if it caused them any inconvenience. So just don't check out late and you'll love it there. Despite that little bump, I would stay there again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, great breakfast, the receptionist Christian was very helpful and friendly, the hostel has a lot of public transport near it.

Disliked: I paid for the hostels transport pass for one day (for 5.90 euro) and returned it the next morning when I checked out, I was charged twice for this because I did not return it before 8am however I was not informed I had to do this and was not happy at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the bar was a great place to meet people. The rooms were really big and spacious. The hostel had lots of activities and never felt too big.

Disliked: Not too much!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kim Grady

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms in a lovely old but very well renovated building.

Disliked: The location was its only downfall.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Herrero Keen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: It´s really clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. It only takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre by metro and it is easy to find.

Disliked: Everything was fine. You just have to remember (if you stay in a 6 bed dorm like I did), that people will be rolling in at all hours (as Berlin has a raging night life), and it might be a good idea to take ear plugs if you´re a light sleeper (although they´re available in reception if you shoul

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chenoa Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Chenoa would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest hostel I've ever seen. There are no bunk beds, all nice singles so you get a really comfortable night's sleep. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the showers were the best! They had great water pressure and temperature control yay! Just a really nice hostel where you felt taken care of.

Disliked: Breakfast was a reat buffet with heaps but it was still a really expensive option, it would be nice to have a cheaper option for those of us who just want cereal but don't want to pay the whole fee for just that. That's only a small thing though and didn't impact on my stay at all :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in. Beautiful big clean rooms, fantastically helpful staff. Good location easy to get everywhere. Pub crawl was awesome, definitely stay again. Probably the cheapest beer in Berlin during happy hour!

Disliked: Nothing, loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernhard Leistner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: The atmospere is amazing. Insider tips from super-friendly staff. Greatest Hostel EVER! Try the bike tour; it is a really great way to get to know both the city and other people.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Genetti

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. I got a great bike from their daily rental at the last minute.

Disliked: Their 48 hour cancellation policy. Many backpackers' plans can change up until the day before. This was the longest I've heard of. Most hostels I've been to have a 24 hour, if any, cancellation policy. They said they were gonna charge me because i tried to cancel within 48 hours. So I decided to stay for just 1 night. I figured I already paid for it, so why not?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jairo David Torres Yepes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Jairo David would recommend this property

Liked: It's just the best hostel I've ever been, besides it's one of the cheapest. Clean, good location and really comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was absolutley excellent. As soon we arrived we were given map and told where to find the supermarket, the U-bahn station etc. The hostel is located next to an U-bahn station and very close to the Jewish museum. The staff were very friendly and even offered us a free welcome drink. The interior was fantastic and really created an atmosphere of luxery. The room was wonderful with very comfy beds. EVerything was just very pleasant. Happy hour was also very good value.

Disliked: I really have nothing to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Marmion

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, very helpful staff, great bar for interaction with other guests. Best atmosphere of all the hostels on our trip.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Brandová

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: This was definitely the best hostel I´ve ever been to. Staff is very kind and helpful and location is perfect for exploring the city. I especially liked breakfast which is for sure value for money and we also enjoyed having some drinks at the hostel bar. I would definitely recommend this hostel to other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing to say here.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels