HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.93USD
  • Linen 4.11USD
  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 101-30 of 30 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The charm of the old building and the overall cleanliness

Disliked: Probably because its an old building the room was a little cold and humid. Also the duvet and the pillows were a bit too, could I say puffy=big but you got used to the neck pain.And that is only a matter of what you prefer and what you are used to.But the bed was nice and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. Yes the winter is back in Berlin and our rooms might be a bit colder than usual. We will check the temperature in the rooms and make sure they are nice and warm for our guests. We hope to welcome you again here :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Welcoming, clean, location, people, everything...

Disliked: No breaffast included in the price (even without this place is value for money). On the other hand 20 metres next door there's a very good cafe!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We do not include the breakfast in the price as some people do not want to have a full breakfast every morning-maybe they go "early" to bed after a night out. For the ones which like a breakfast we offer yummy food and drinks in our Grandwich Bar. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very kind and the place is nice.Great place to stay

Disliked: Maybe in the future they can include a kitchen

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are not allowed to implement a kitchen but have our very own Grandwich Bar which sells yummy food and drinks. All the best on your travels and hopefully we can welcome you again

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean and lovely vibe. Felt secure and safe! Our room had comfortable beds and was very quiet. Probably one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback :o) We hope to welcome you here again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was absolutely grand I every way, better than a hotel. Immaculate rooms, bathrooms. Extremely well done up lounge, to sit n relax. Really helpful staff. Would always come here and stay..couldn't have been more perfect in any other way.

Disliked: Noting at all

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback we are very happy that you had a good time here :o) All the best on your travels and please visit us again

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff was really helping and cooperative. made me relaxed and guided me evrything.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooooooo much for your lovely feedback. We are very happy that you had a good time in our Hostel and we hope to welcome you soon again :o) All the best from your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is one of my favourite places that I have ever stayed. It is in a grand old building which has been beautifully redone. The location is excellent, close to restaurants and cafes and also within walking distance of many of the attractions. It is also only 100m from a metro station.I stayed in a double room with a private bathroom. The room was excellent. Keypad locks on the door. Dark and quiet for sleeping despite the bar just down the hall. The bathroom was perfect.There entry room, bar and salon were remarkable.Having said all that the best thing about Grand Hostel Berlin was the staff. They were excellent and went above and beyond. In particular the guy who works in the morning, nothing is too much for him.

Disliked: Nothing at all

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooooooooo much that is amazing feedback and put a BIG smile on our faces!!! We hope to welcome you soon again here and wish you all the best on your travels :o)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Really close to a subway station.

Disliked: The noise, as couple of times mention from other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to apologize sincerely if you were disturbed by any noise in our Hostel. We do have a 10pm night time rule but sometimes it is difficult to keep the noise down from returning guests in the night. We have a 24 hours reception and the night staff is always happy to help out. We wish you all the best on your travels your Grand Hostel Team :o)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Without a doubt, the best hostel I've ever been! Very helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms, good location,...

Disliked: The internet on the computers is quite slow.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our internet is high speed quality and the Wifi is for free in the whole building. We will have a look and check the computers. We hope to welcome you soon again your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Had a great saty here. Rooms are super clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback puts a big smile on our face :o)

Check Availability