HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.74USD
  • Linen 4.58USD
  • Towel 2.38USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

Showing 101-40 of 40 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was absolutely grand I every way, better than a hotel. Immaculate rooms, bathrooms. Extremely well done up lounge, to sit n relax. Really helpful staff. Would always come here and stay..couldn't have been more perfect in any other way.

Disliked: Noting at all

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback we are very happy that you had a good time here :o) All the best on your travels and please visit us again

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff was really helping and cooperative. made me relaxed and guided me evrything.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooooooo much for your lovely feedback. We are very happy that you had a good time in our Hostel and we hope to welcome you soon again :o) All the best from your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is one of my favourite places that I have ever stayed. It is in a grand old building which has been beautifully redone. The location is excellent, close to restaurants and cafes and also within walking distance of many of the attractions. It is also only 100m from a metro station.I stayed in a double room with a private bathroom. The room was excellent. Keypad locks on the door. Dark and quiet for sleeping despite the bar just down the hall. The bathroom was perfect.There entry room, bar and salon were remarkable.Having said all that the best thing about Grand Hostel Berlin was the staff. They were excellent and went above and beyond. In particular the guy who works in the morning, nothing is too much for him.

Disliked: Nothing at all

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooooooooo much that is amazing feedback and put a BIG smile on our faces!!! We hope to welcome you soon again here and wish you all the best on your travels :o)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Really close to a subway station.

Disliked: The noise, as couple of times mention from other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to apologize sincerely if you were disturbed by any noise in our Hostel. We do have a 10pm night time rule but sometimes it is difficult to keep the noise down from returning guests in the night. We have a 24 hours reception and the night staff is always happy to help out. We wish you all the best on your travels your Grand Hostel Team :o)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Without a doubt, the best hostel I've ever been! Very helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms, good location,...

Disliked: The internet on the computers is quite slow.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our internet is high speed quality and the Wifi is for free in the whole building. We will have a look and check the computers. We hope to welcome you soon again your Grand Hostel Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Had a great saty here. Rooms are super clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback puts a big smile on our face :o)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staffgorgeous old house

Disliked: its really badly soundproofed and the showers have mouldy corners

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the noise and the showers. We will look into more soundproof, the builsing is historic and Berlin's wooden floors and stairs can be a bit nosy especially with many returning party people in the night. Regarding the showers we got our cleaners to clean the corners and they will keep a better eye on it. All the best on you travels and we hope to welcome you here again. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The building looks good. My room had high seeling. The smoke alarms were visible. It was posible to by cofee and food. It had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: a map that shows how to get ther from Möckenbrücke, the nearest U bahn.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are not quiet sure what you mean regarding the map....we do offer free Berlin maps at reception which have the Berlin streets on one side and the underground system on the other side. Each staff member is also happy to show you the way to the u-bahn-it is actually visible from the Hostel's entrance. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again :o) Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Fantastic helpful staff and a very comfortable stay all round.

Disliked: Bar was a little quieter than other hostels.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are a bit of a mixture....Hostel atmosphere with some Hotel features. Our bar is mostly filled on the weekend when we offer our bar tour or our movie night on a sunday. Otherwise you can relax there with a german beer, read some books or chat to other travellers :o) All the best on your travels and we hope to welcome you soon again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought this place was absolutely amazing. The staff is what makes this place. Jerome at the front desk answered every question we had. The owner was so hospitable when we were at the bar. But the standout for me is Morgan the bartender. He deserves at least an all expenses paid trip to Oktoberfest. He was so welcoming. Really felt like you were hanging with your friends here. The room was more than spacious. I will definitely make a return visit if I come to Berlin again.

Disliked: Nothing really. Lack of an elevator maybe would be my only criticism. But this should not stop you coming here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice feedback. A special thanks from Jerome & Morgan...we might send them both to Munich on our staff competition. Unfortunately we cannot implement a lift as the historic building is under protection. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you soon again. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

Check Availability