We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany 10963

89.3% Overall Rating

961 out of 977 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"Really lovely staff, right next to a couple of U-bahn stations and in walking distance to quite a few of the sights.. if you don't mind walking!"

Read all Grand Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.97
  • Linen USD 4.33
  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

To confirm your reservation for September, 26th and 27th 2015 we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin MARATHON is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. NEW YEAR'S EVE - To confirm your reservation for December, 30th and 31st we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the New Years Eve is taking place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show. All bookings made are non-refundable. The full amount will be charged straight after the booking was made. Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay breakfast 6.20 € towel 2.00 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

acama Hotel + Hostel Kreuzberg
17.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 13 reviews
Happy Bed Hostel
14.02 USD

Hostel 82.4% 55 reviews
Three Little Pigs Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 80.6% 468 reviews
Metropol Hostel Berlin
21.16 USD

Hostel 70.1% 276 reviews
Hotel-Transit
24.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 106 reviews
CHECK IN HOSTEL
11.80 USD

Hostel 80.7% 364 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.80 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Berlin International Youth Hostel
13.49 USD

Hostel 84.7% 623 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

961 out of 977 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 802 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the 5 star of hostels. Very nice, clean, spacious dorm rooms. The common bathroom/showers were so clean I would consider showering without slippers on. The reception was amazing, they sit every new guest down with a map and give a run down of the city and answer any questions you could possibly have.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DANIEL RICARDO VELA BARON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 DANIEL RICARDO would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really huge and very nice. Beds are vry comfortable and there are also hangers in the lockers. The staff is really friendly and helpful.Wifi everywhere.

Disliked: Shower doors were see-through.Really uncomfortable to take a shower...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel,very clean, staff super friendly and helpful, free internet and computers, I would go again!

Disliked: Okay location.I was on top floor with a heavy suitcase and no help,and no lift!And the girls showers were very open

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm Atmosphere!And the Nice Bar as well !

Disliked: nothing at all....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am very pleased with everything. The staff was extremely helpful.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Dyson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for 4 nights while participating in the Berlin Marathon and also partying after. The hostel put on special events such as a pasta party and an earlier breakfast on the day of the race. Staff in p articular were amazing helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The bar wasn't too busy but I presume it was the time of year with the healthy runners staying! Managed to meet people easily there all the same - many thanks!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cíntia Paola Scopel

Alone

Shopping

28 September 2011 Cíntia Paola would recommend this property

Liked: Everthing, was very clean e cheapest.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HERMILO RUEDA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 HERMILO would recommend this property

Liked: Is an Excellent place!! really... is my first time at a Hostel.... and was great, staff very friendly, helpfull and with a customer service oriented. I really come again to the Grand Hostel Berlin..... Clean, safe and friendly...

Disliked: No comments....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and relaxed. Rooms had plenty of character and staff were really helpful both before and during my stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cinara vila

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 cinara would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful people working there. I feel I was home. They are kind and helpful. Absolutly nothing to complain. It was my best experience in hostels. I will recommend.

Disliked: Everything worked so well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mike cassino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 mike would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful!! A beautiful and clean building!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sung-Hsiu YU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Sung-Hsiu would recommend this property

Liked: service is very good

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, comfortable private room. Clean shared bathroom - always a shower free. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timmy Bui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Timmy would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever been to numerous hostels and this by far surpasses the rest. It's not exactly the best location, but it's so close to multiple stops you can get any where quickly and efficiently. Very clean good beds good drinks for a fair price and has a nice unique feel to it.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul golabowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent in all respects. The buffet breakfast was as good as some 5* hotels I've stayed in. I will return.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The single beds are really comfy and a HUGE improvement on bunk beds. The staff were so helpful, friendly and informed. The tours were really good, there are big lockers in the rooms and everywhere was really clean. An excellent hostel, I'll definitely go back there again.

Disliked: nothing - for longer stays a kitchen would be handy but food in Berlin seems much cheaper than a lot of places I've stayed and there are some really good, cheap street food places near the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Staff excellent, close to u-bahn, fantastic breakfast buffet

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel!

Disliked: expensive breakfast!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline McLaren

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff Large airy spacious bedrooms

Disliked: If I'm really digging... the stairs?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really big and clean. We used the lockers in the rooms and found it really helpful being able to use a safe during the day. The staff were really helpful and friendly, very keen to help recommend places and how to get there. I thought the showers were really clean too.

Disliked: We didn't see a lift and online we did not see any mention of bedsheets but were charged 3euros each for this. It seemed quite far from most of the tourist attractions if you wanted to walk but there are u bahn stations very close. In fact throughout the night we heard the trains arriving and leaving but it wasn't that much of a disturbance. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were so many great things about this hostel, first of all the wonderful character of the building, the cleanliness and homely feel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the organised pub crawl was particularly good as it was a great way to meet people. The all you can eat breakfast was well worth the money for the amount and variety of food you get, even for me as a vegetarian. Also in a great location as the area is full of cheap places to eat. The room itself was great as it was huge and had very comfy beds that weren't bunk beds!! Overall an amazing hostel that we'd love to go back to.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have self catering to keep costs down but was easy to eat out for cheap locally.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NO BUNK BEDS! You get to sleep in your own bed and have plenty of space for your things. The hostel offers tours for a low price and I would recommend going on them. It was a good way for me to meet new people, since I am traveling alone.

Disliked: I checked out late (my fault), but once I did that and was trying to pack my things the staff was not helpful or friendly at all. I understand that it was my fault for checking out late, but they didn't have to be rude. I even offered to to pay for an extra night if it caused them any inconvenience. So just don't check out late and you'll love it there. Despite that little bump, I would stay there again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, great breakfast, the receptionist Christian was very helpful and friendly, the hostel has a lot of public transport near it.

Disliked: I paid for the hostels transport pass for one day (for 5.90 euro) and returned it the next morning when I checked out, I was charged twice for this because I did not return it before 8am however I was not informed I had to do this and was not happy at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the bar was a great place to meet people. The rooms were really big and spacious. The hostel had lots of activities and never felt too big.

Disliked: Not too much!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels