HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.98USD
  • Linen 4.13USD
  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 85%

Safety 96%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 91-30 of 30 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lovely, beautiful hostel with excellent beds, excellent sheets. no bunks. friendly staff and guests.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were brilliant - in particular Christian & Ben - they were extremely helpful and friendly and made you feel at home. The decor was pretty cool although a little bit too grand in the bar area - you felt there was no real place to relax. It was very clean.

Disliked: Essentially this was a cross between a hotel & a hostel with the negatives of both and the benefits of neither. In a hotel you would at least get free coffee making facilities and your own bathroom and in a hostel you would not normally have to keep paying for everything as an extra.* The location wasn't great. It was at least a 30min walk to the Brandenburg gate.* nothing beyond the bed and the room was included. You needed to pay for everything! The linen, towels, to print boarding passes, any food and unless you brought your own tea or coffee you had to pay for that as well, laundry was over €5 per load.* our room was close to the bar & Reception so it was noisy from the bar at night and noisy from people checking in and out in the morning (from 6am onwards).* the showers were unisex but there was no where to change at all except in the main area where everyone could see - automatic showers meant you couldn't change in the cubicle.* the bar and restaurant were no cheaper than anywhere else in Berlin and you didn't get any type of discount for staying at the hostel* it left us with the feeling this was a place designed to extract money from your pockets


The property's response is

I'm very sorry that we could not meet your expectations!You are right.The room you stayed in is the closest to the common areas.I'm sure reception could help you when complained.By the way there is a private bathroom right in front of your room. Extra costs: We try to keep the cost for our guest as low as possible.So everybody can decide with which extras they want to accomplish themselfs.We think thats preety fair and very common in Germany.I still hope you enjoyed your party time in Berlin!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff, in particular christiano could not have been more helpful! upon arrival gave very good information and actually made the guests feel welcome. Not the standard here's your key and give me money! Very helpful with anything regarding berlin or travel and never felt like i was bothering them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to welcome you soon again :o)
All the best your Grand Hostel Team

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating


19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms had loads of character and for a hostel they are amazing. Location is good once you get to grips with using u bahn to places. The property is listed which means facilities like lifts and soundproofing must be hard to implement Im guessing.

Disliked: Due to the fact its big and old, its really echoey and loud. We stayed downstairs for 1 night next to common areas and i didn't get any sleep at all. We moved to top floor after that which was far better. Not sure if we were just unlucky but it seems to attract a young American clientele which seem to have one volume level of V loud, and insisted on holding drunken conversations on the landing just outside your door. It was a constant. The best rooms will be the most expensive ones away from the landing and stairs as if you get a giggle of young girls in heels returning from a night / morning out, you're definitely going to get woke up! The staff need to get a bit tougher on this i think.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very sorry for the trouble caused to you...our mission is that every guest gets a good night sleep in our Hostel and enjoys their stay. As you have mentioned our building is historic and the soundproof is very hard to implement. Never less our staff is 24 hours there to make sure that the noise is being kept down after 10pm. We will take your comments on board and will be a bit tougher. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean and tidy, cheap and central

Disliked: the chinese guy who woke at 6am and packed his bag for 3 hours

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was the most welcoming and informative. The hostel is a beautiful building that is lovingly maintained and updated. Our room was elegant - who expects that in a hostel? We were very impressed and would love to stay here again one day.

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities for guests. However, there is a sandwich shop next door that serves breakfast and lunch, and is associated with the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback :o) We are not allowed to have a guest kitchen but as you have mentioned our Grandwich Bar offers yummy sandwiches next door. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels.
Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hostel and wish you the very best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location, cleanliness and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing at all!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice feedback and review. We are delighted that you had a good time in our Hostel and in Berlin and hope to welcome you soon again. All the best from your Grand Hostel Team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Shared facilities rooms are a tad expensive

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are so great you feel like in a hotel. Great staff, always very helpfull.

Disliked: You cant use the computers for free.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review and great feedback. We have to pay the online provider and maintance fee for the computer terminals but our WIFI is free of charge in the whole building. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best :o)

Check Availability