HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.30USD
  • Linen 4.32USD
  • Towel 2.25USD

Important Information

Thank you for booking with us.
Not refundable bookings / cancellation is NOT possible for following events
DFB Cup in May
Berlin Marathon in Sepetember
New Year's Eve

To confirm your reservation for those events (dates change yearly) we require a prepayment of 100% of the booking amount at the time of reservation as the Berlin Marathon is taken place. Your credit card will be charged at the time of reservation, which is not refundable. A free of charge cancellation is not possible once the reservation is confirmed. Every cancellation will be charged with 100% of the reservation amount as No-Show.


Feel free to contact our 24h reception for any inquiries.
No bed linen required - we will arrange this for you - as well as no check-out procedures. For fresh and always clean bed sheets we charge once 3.85 Euro per person for the entire stay.

Please note that on January 1, 2014, an accommodation tax was introduced on private journeys in Berlin. This is 5% of the room rate and will be charged upon arrival on site.

Bed linen 3.85 € for the entire stay
breakfast 6.85 €
towel 2.20 €

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 91-29 of 29 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff, in particular christiano could not have been more helpful! upon arrival gave very good information and actually made the guests feel welcome. Not the standard here's your key and give me money! Very helpful with anything regarding berlin or travel and never felt like i was bothering them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to welcome you soon again :o)
All the best your Grand Hostel Team

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms had loads of character and for a hostel they are amazing. Location is good once you get to grips with using u bahn to places. The property is listed which means facilities like lifts and soundproofing must be hard to implement Im guessing.

Disliked: Due to the fact its big and old, its really echoey and loud. We stayed downstairs for 1 night next to common areas and i didn't get any sleep at all. We moved to top floor after that which was far better. Not sure if we were just unlucky but it seems to attract a young American clientele which seem to have one volume level of V loud, and insisted on holding drunken conversations on the landing just outside your door. It was a constant. The best rooms will be the most expensive ones away from the landing and stairs as if you get a giggle of young girls in heels returning from a night / morning out, you're definitely going to get woke up! The staff need to get a bit tougher on this i think.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very sorry for the trouble caused to you...our mission is that every guest gets a good night sleep in our Hostel and enjoys their stay. As you have mentioned our building is historic and the soundproof is very hard to implement. Never less our staff is 24 hours there to make sure that the noise is being kept down after 10pm. We will take your comments on board and will be a bit tougher. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean and tidy, cheap and central

Disliked: the chinese guy who woke at 6am and packed his bag for 3 hours

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was the most welcoming and informative. The hostel is a beautiful building that is lovingly maintained and updated. Our room was elegant - who expects that in a hostel? We were very impressed and would love to stay here again one day.

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities for guests. However, there is a sandwich shop next door that serves breakfast and lunch, and is associated with the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback :o) We are not allowed to have a guest kitchen but as you have mentioned our Grandwich Bar offers yummy sandwiches next door. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best on your travels.
Your Grand Hostel Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hostel and wish you the very best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location, cleanliness and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing at all!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice feedback and review. We are delighted that you had a good time in our Hostel and in Berlin and hope to welcome you soon again. All the best from your Grand Hostel Team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Shared facilities rooms are a tad expensive

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are so great you feel like in a hotel. Great staff, always very helpfull.

Disliked: You cant use the computers for free.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review and great feedback. We have to pay the online provider and maintance fee for the computer terminals but our WIFI is free of charge in the whole building. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The charm of the old building and the overall cleanliness

Disliked: Probably because its an old building the room was a little cold and humid. Also the duvet and the pillows were a bit too, could I say puffy=big but you got used to the neck pain.And that is only a matter of what you prefer and what you are used to.But the bed was nice and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. Yes the winter is back in Berlin and our rooms might be a bit colder than usual. We will check the temperature in the rooms and make sure they are nice and warm for our guests. We hope to welcome you again here :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Welcoming, clean, location, people, everything...

Disliked: No breaffast included in the price (even without this place is value for money). On the other hand 20 metres next door there's a very good cafe!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We do not include the breakfast in the price as some people do not want to have a full breakfast every morning-maybe they go "early" to bed after a night out. For the ones which like a breakfast we offer yummy food and drinks in our Grandwich Bar. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels.

Check Availability