We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of BackpackerBerlin

Hostel | Knorrpromenade 10, Berlin, Germany 10245

86.6% Overall Rating

239 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/11/2014)

Peter Burgin thinks…

"The price is great, really cheap. The staff are amazing! The location is perfect, 5 mins walk and your right in the busy part of the district where's there's bars and restaurants, plenty going on…"

Read all BackpackerBerlin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Schlafmeile Hostel
9.49 USD

Hostel 81.0% 497 reviews
All In Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 79.9% 196 reviews
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
9.87 USD

Hostel 71.4% 350 reviews
U inn Berlin
14.31 USD

Hostel 94.6% 263 reviews
Hotel-Pension INSOR
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 74 reviews
Pension Regenbogen
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 16 reviews
The Pirate Hostel
24.04 USD

Hostel 77.3% 25 reviews
Hotel Comenius
27.20 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

239 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BackpackerBerlin'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 229 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Burgin

Sam

Biznes / konferencja
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny
Praca/wolontariat

05 November 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The price is great, really cheap. The staff are amazing! The location is perfect, 5 mins walk and your right in the busy part of the district where's there's bars and restaurants, plenty going on till all hours of the night. Did I mention the staff were amazing? Cheers to David and Sophie for being really cool, really friendly and really helpfull.

Disliked: Nothing, alles gut!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique character and warm atmosphere

Disliked: Not particularly private.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The woman on the reception was exceptionally helpful, there was ample support for where to go, with a map on the wall, nice complimentary cereal for breakfast, and excellent location.

Disliked: WiFi costs 1€ a day, which is cheap but would be nicer if free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BaiZe White

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

15 July 2014 BaiZe would recommend this property

Liked: The closet sized personal lockers, the atmosphere, Miriam, the best hostel staff member on the planet, the location, the space. My favorite hostel I've stayed at yet.

Disliked: One of the bathrooms didn't have a sink, which seems a bit unsanitary.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Xin Ying Chen

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

11 July 2014 Xin Ying would recommend this property

Liked: affordable

Disliked: very noisy roommates

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When you first walk inside it looks like a cold old apartment block stairwell- because that's what it is!- but then we were greeted by the loveliest girl at reception and immediately felt warm and comfortable as soon as we walked through the hostel entrance. She helped with our bags and walked us up to our room. We basically had an apartment to ourselves and one other couple, sharing one huge clean bathroom! Also the laundry was only €2 per load and the receptionist offered to pop it into the dryer and into a bag for us after. So helpful! Oh and she also gave us a short lesson on basic German! A+++ :-)

Disliked: Not much really. The pillows could have been a bit comfier but that's being picky!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Brown

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

11 May 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location. Free breakfast, all the information you could need for your stay in Berlin.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at BackpackerBerlin was really homely, with a lot of space for hanging out. The staff was very friendly and always there to help you out. The locations was perfect and right next to a convenience store.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was kind of in a rough area and far from the city centre but luckily very close to a tram station so it was easy to get around!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest staff I've ever encountered in a hostel. Very atmospheric and homely hostel that makes you feel comfortable. Great value for money and conveniently located in a dynamic area.

Disliked: Though I didn't mind it at all, it's a bit messy (though not dirty) and chaotic (like living in a student house) which could turn off some people. Personally I thought it added to the overall cozy atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The backpackers was in a real Berlin neighbourhood and surrounding. Cute cafes and shops around and a street close with a selection of bars. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the area. We hired bikes from the hostel which were great also. The facilities were very clean and bathrooms were really good, always hot water and clean towels etc.

Disliked: The walls weren't very soundproof and as we were close to the entrance we could hear a bit of noise but it was pretty quiet most of the time.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: toilet is too small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, room was also nice and clean. Cheap places to eat nearby, but also kitchen inhouse.

Disliked: Key deposit.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of informative posters and pamphlets, free snacks, fast internet computers, near a large metro station, very cheap

Disliked: You have to pay for the wifi, but it's only 1 euro for 12 hours of actual usage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Monica Valtierra

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Zwiedzanie i kultura

24 December 2013 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is great, chill and helpful, breakfast is 24 hrs ;) and the facilities are clean and comfy.

Disliked: Breakfast is only cereal though and you have to walk a lot to get to the metro or S transport

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sithy hussain

Sam

Biznes / konferencja

28 November 2013 sithy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful and I liked everything. I felt like at home.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sébastien BEGOC

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Imprezy/zycie nocne

14 November 2013 Sébastien would recommend this property

Liked: Easy going. Perfect location. Clean and big rooms. Quiet. Warm !

Disliked: Sébastien left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cosy and homely! Amazingly nice staff and people.. just like a giant family. Free cereal and not far to Ostkreuz station.

Disliked: Only sugar cereal (I'm being picky)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephan Bartels

Sam

Biznes / konferencja

09 October 2013 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea & coffee all day as well as cereals. Good hot showers. Laid-back staff.

Disliked: you better bring earplugs or buy some there as nights tend to be long and if you are in a dorm, people come home in the mornings. But, hey this is not a business place :-) Annoying: Only 1 bed out of 6 had a plug to charge mobile devices.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, internet is super cheap (12 hours of usage for 1 euro) and there's a decent kitchen and common area. Breakfast is sugar cereal, but it's free, so no complaints there. In general, the staff was really awesome and helpful. It's not a bad location - a little far out, but a nice walk to the city center if you want to stretch your legs.

Disliked: Reception is supposed to be open at 8AM - one of the mornings I was there the staff member didn't show up until 10AM, meaning no one could use the computer, check out, or get breakfast. That was the only thing that really bothered me, though. I'd stay here again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bulingzi Su

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

22 August 2013 Bulingzi would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice room, towel include,

Disliked: location is not as close as thought to be, the upper bed too close to the lower bed, leave no space to sit

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great, clean, small and cosy hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You really feel like living in a Berlin flat, with other easy and friendly people next door. The atmosphere is friendly, not at all complicated and also Berlin Friedrichshain is a great area in Berlin with plenty of nice shops,restaurants and bars!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'
Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved BackpackerBerlin's quirky style. Our private room was simple, big, quiet and private, with a comfy bed, and not too hot despite it being 30 degrees outside. The bathrooms were clean, with good showers, and offered shower gels, soaps and shampoos. It was really nice of the hostel to give us towels as well. The breakfast corner was a winner for me and I liked the fact that the hostel had a small kitchen for guests' use which was always clean, tidy and well equipped. Also, it was good to have the use of 2 computers with free internet. The location was really good; close to the station with direct links into the centre of the city and near to some really nice, relaxed bars. I would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing - for a couple it was excellent. I'm not sure how a single traveller would feel though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, fairly nice staff, and the bed was comfortable, large locker was a lifesaver but had to bring own lock

Disliked: hard to get up in the morning as didn't want t disturb, toilets aren't remotely soundproof which is slightly unnerving, the other people didn't talk much, the bed was itchy, also charges 2 euros each day for linen which wasn't mentioned, and 10 euro key deposit which wasn't mentioned either, also one euro for wifi which is cheap but kept cutting out and had to wait 10 minutes every time i wanted to sign in.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels