HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel

Hostel | Skalitzer Strasse 104, Berlin, Germany 10997

80.5% Overall Rating

323 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Lucy Curl thinks…

"Beds are comfortable. Location is good, lots of nice cafés around. Decent kitchen facilities. Safe and secure."

Read all baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.96
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Attention:
1. We do not accept any group underage, that means if anyone is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.

2. we don't accept group bookings for more than 10 People, if you didn't book it through the Groups department. So if you are more then 10, please ring the Group Department to make sure we accept your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
15.18 USD

Hostel 73.8% 281 reviews
Comebackpackers
16.45 USD

Hostel 92.1% 228 reviews
A&O Berlin Mitte
16.66 USD

Hostel 70.1% 460 reviews
The Cat's Pajamas Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 92.3% 293 reviews
Jetpak Alternative
25.30 USD

Hostel 94.5% 52 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
37.95 USD

Hostel 77.7% 81 reviews
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
25.88 USD

Hostel 86.9% 419 reviews
Singer109 Apartment - Hostel
16.29 USD

Hostel 87.9% 350 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

323 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 243 of 267 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pro: Awesome hostel! Been there before and will def. go there again!

Disliked: Cons: If you are not into partying, do not stay in room nr. 1 as it is pretty hard to sleep before 5 a.m. in there (big parties in the lobby next door)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucy Curl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are comfortable. Location is good, lots of nice cafés around. Decent kitchen facilities. Safe and secure.

Disliked: Some staff were incredibly rude and extremely unprofessional. Wifi process and computers available were very average. Bathrooms were unclean, only a few toilets for the whole hostel. Many showers had no hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was fun and lots of people up for having a good time. Easy to find and good directions. Beds were comfy.

Disliked: The showers were terrible. Had to pull out a huge chunk of hair every time I used them. Some fo the members of staff were particularly hostile.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location in kreuzberg. The bar is good and very social

Disliked: The wifi is terrible. Not the cleanest hostel. Also one of the toilets overflowed into the hallway twice while I was there. Pretty gross

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emil Ivanov

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Emil would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpfull staff

Disliked: noisy beds

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome and can really help you figure out where great things are to do in the city. Also, some of the staff are just amazing people to sit and hang out with if you for some reason have nothing better to do. Great hostel to meet people and make good friends. Great location if you want to be in the dodgier part of Berlin and just walk around and meet people.

Disliked: The Wifi blows! I wish the check in time was a bit earlier, but whatever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: The new receptionist, Andrea was very friendly to us, trying to help us with everything and attending to our needs despite how busy it was in the full house. Location's great, only a short walk to the East Side Gallery and to the clubs and bars. The hostel's right in front of the U-Bahn station which is extremely convenient to get to anywhere.

Disliked: This is a party hostel. They leave the music pumping in the common area till 5am in the morning...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 February 2014

Liked: It had a 24 hour bar with cheap beer. The area around the hostel is pretty great with awesome bars and the subway right outside your door. The hostel also has free movies for rent, a pool table, and a fairly decent lounge area.

Disliked: The rooms were not clean, actually the whole place was filthy. I don't necessarily blame the staff for the cleanliness in the common areas as they did their job but moreso the kind of people that stay there. It was filled with just graduated high school students, party Aussies and people who generally just didn't care about those sorts of things, I am not really the cleanest person myself but this was probably the dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed at. The kitchen was disgusting as well and very poorly equipped. If you plan to cook, don't stay here, as even boiling water took ages on the ancient stove. The bathrooms were equipped well but again, the kind of people who stay there are the kind that would urinate all over the floor and not even try to clean it so it was well cleaned but not well maintained by the guests. As well, the internet connection was not the best as it didn't have the capacity for so many people, but that's not a huge problem unless you want to watch streaming movies or download stuff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2014

Liked: We had a good stay at the baxpax hostel. Its not fancy, but it is good value for money with a good atmosphere. it has two nice big common rooms, and in one room movies play all day.

Disliked: it was quite loud during the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, extremely helpful staff - I made an error in my booking at the staff member spent at least 45 mins making sure we had a place to stay.

Disliked: Smoking is permitted in the common room during certain hours.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

21 September 2013

Liked: location was nice.

Disliked: it was too noisy, there was very loud music at lounge area almost around the clock, sometimes difficult to sleep. Other gursts didn#t respect those want to go sleep earlier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Mazur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location when it comes to nightlife. Nice atmosphere-easy to meet people, and even sit with them all night.

Disliked: Far away to majority of monuments etc.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Laura Bates

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 September 2013

Liked: The only good thing about this hostel is the location. It is right next to Gorlitzer Bahnhof with plenty of cheap bars/restaurants around. The area is a bit alternative and has a very good atmosphere.

Disliked: Where to start.... I have stayed in the hostel a few times and despite the place lacking much character, come back here because ot the location. Every year I travel with a group of friends to Berlin festival and this hostel is perfectly located to get home at night after the festival club night at xberg. However, I will never stay here again and would rather stay in Odyssee (which is a lovely hostel, very friendly staff) a bit further away after the unpleasant experience I had on my recent stay. As me and my friends arrived at different times (due to living in different parts of the UK) we obviously all arrived and checked in separately. After the first night, I woke up to find a rude note on our dorm room door askig us to go to reception. The girl then said that one of our party had not paid which I thought was strange but went back and asked my group. Everyone had paid so I went back and told the girl and didnt hear anything again. Only did they bring this up again when we were checking out and the supposesd "manager" (very scruffy man, busy rolling cigarettes whilst talking to us) got extremely accusational and basically said we were lying and we had to pay an extra 50 euros or he would charge my card. This argument went on for a good hour (wasting our remaining time in berlin when we would rather be out enjoying the city) and only got resolved once we made him print out the times that each of us had paid to track down the missing payment. Funnily enough the payment they were missing from out party had been taken by the "manager" himself so only then did he realise he had massively messed up and misplaced the money. Even after realising he was wrong and we had actually paid he didnt apologise until I asked for one. Extemely unhappy with this and how they process payments. They do not issues receipts or anything to say that you have paid, so if the money had been paid to another staff member we would not have had a leg to stand on and the way the staff see it, you cant prove that you have so you are always wrong. The staff here are horrendous, a very miserable bunch and extremely unhelpful. Other than this we also booked a 10 bed dorm but when we arrived they only had a 9 bed available so 2 of our party had to share. Eventually they did offer to bring another bed in, quite where they were going to put it I have no idea as there was no space. The wifi is also terrible - you have to get a code everytime you want to use it. If you want wifi you are better off going across the road to Hannibals restaurant. There is also very few shouwers for the number of people in this hostal. There are only 3 female showers (1 of which was broken this time) plus 1 unisex shower, so you always have to queue. So in summary, if you want to be accused of being a lying foreigner and be treated poorly, make sure you book here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Wilson

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 August 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and mix of people, very easy to get to and in a good central location in the city. Valuables safe also made me feel more secure about my expensive stuff.

Disliked: Nothing apart from having to drag my 2 very suitcases up 2 flights of stairs to get to the reception

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

luis sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2013 luis would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and character is very good. big rooms. location is great if you look for going partyin and bars.

Disliked: its not really close to the touristic area. the wifi system is a bit annoying. the computers they offer work really bad. The men bathrooms were always REALLY smelly, seemed like they dont clean it ever.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very chilled out and friendly and introduces themselves to you. I went on my own and every night I went out with a different group of people.

Disliked: Nothing, I wouldn't want it to change at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice chilled out atmosphere. Staff were always willing to help when asked.

Disliked: You are supposedly not allowed to drink your own alcohol.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Donnelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Kitchen Bar Fussball Pool table DVD player

Disliked: > Push button showers that go off every 30 seconds > REALLY irritating internet - you have to get a new code printed out and use it basically every time you connect for no good reason - virtually unusable > Really smokey main room - you can smoke in reception, it's bizarre and gross!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Zhang

Alone

Events / festivals

06 January 2013 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, friendly roommates, cheap drinks

Disliked: Hostel was extremely loud. Music early in the morning and late at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giulia silvestri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, big dorms are really cheap and there's enough space for everyoone, toilets are clean and you can smoke in the lounge room from 8 pm.

Disliked: Some people has stolen some of my food from the fridge. But I guess there's really no way to stop that happening.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BEVERLEY CARR

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

05 December 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: wasnt shown where the bathroom was or kitchen and no cups in kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maksims Smirnovs

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Maksims would recommend this property

Liked: Frendly staff,atmosfare,clean beds

Disliked: Maksims left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, atmospheric reception room, relaxed, the themed rooms were a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great staff, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels