HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin Hostel

Skalitzer Str. 104, 10997 Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 78%

Location 87%

Safety 81%

Staff 77%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.21USD

Important Information

Attention:<br />
1. We do not accept any group underage, that means if anyone is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time. <br />
<br />
2. we don't accept group bookings for more than 10 People, if you didn't book it through the Groups department. So if you are more then 10, please ring the Group Department to make sure we accept your booking.<br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 78%

Location 87%

Safety 81%

Staff 77%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location, Kreuzberg is awesome. I liked the common area it easy to meet people there. The kitchen and the bathrooms are clean. The staff is great, they made me feel welcome. The hostel has a bar and the reception is open 24hs.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Honestly, not sure I liked anything... It was average and tolerable at best.

Disliked: Guy at the reception barely acknowledged me when I arrived. Forgot to notify me when the room was ready so I sat waiting for over an hour in the lobby, The place always smelled like cigarettes because people would smoke in the staircase. Nothing felt very clean. Only 2 electrical sockets in a room with 10 beds. Neighborhood was a little shady and people selling drugs at the exit of the metro. Nothing egregious but just not a nice place to stay. Would definitely not recommend!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Located in.the heart of Kruezberg, the world is your oyster! You can enjoy any good bar & club by taking the S Bahn which is right across the street or simply enjoy a local pub by walking down the street. The environment in the hostel is very nice. They have a few rooms you can relax & enjoy in. They have 24 hour reception with a bunch of good beer & coffee. The kitchen is very clean & has everything you need. There's a cute little patio terrace right off he kitchen. I honestly don't have many complaints at all. It was very clean everywhere & I made some new friends!

Disliked: The wifi is very bad inside the hostel, especially when there is a lot of guests staying.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is ideal for exploring the kreuzberg area, probably better positioned for nightime activities rather than day, as there are plenty of bars/clubs around.The hostel is quite secure with card access needed for rooms and even certain parts of the hostel.We stayed in the 16 bed dorm and there was plenty of space, lockers provided (need your own lock, or can pay).Common area a fair size with big TV, the bar has free pool and fuseball.

Disliked: Although ive listed location as a positive it is also a bit of a negative , it is about a 40min walk at least to the main tourist attraction s (Reichstag, the gate , museums). We prefer to walk so this wasn't great, but it is right next to a metro which would get you there in minutes so not all bad.One of the worst aspects of this hostel is the disturbing lack of sockets/plugs . in a 16 bed dorm there were 2 plugs. The rest of the hostel was not much better with plugs in awkward places and a rarity. I don't understand why they have not just bought some extension leads, it seems ridiculous.The internet is also absolutely atrocious. It comes on for 20 minutes or so at the speed of a dead cat and then shuts itself off, the staff have to reset it when someone asks. By far the worst internet I have ever experienced in a hostel.There are no organised activities , eg bar crawls or dinners, so the atmosphere was a bit fragmented.Severe lack of showers and toilets, 3 male showers for the whole hostel is pretty insane. Similar amount of toilets. Was not busy on our stay but still had to wait a while for showers, I would imagine in peak season it would be a pain in the arse.No alcohol is allowed to be brought in the hostel. The beer at the bar is cheap in terms of drinking out at a bar ,2.50€ 500ml 4.9%, but considering you can buy a can of beer with the same stats for 0.30€ at the shops it is not great value. Certainly not the first place I've seen with this setup, but nonetheless it isn't great if our trying to save. Seem quite stricked on this rule.The staff were all competent, although they were quite quiet.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: convient location, clean, staffs r very friendly, helpful. very considerate.

Disliked: up to now, nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Not enough air conditioning in summer

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: if you look for a place to meet people and to party, i think it is a good choice. Also the staff is friendly.The atmosphere is particular...but i guess, not everyone´s cup of tea.

Disliked: When I arrived, people were smoking in the common area/reception. I extremely disliked it.I´m pretty used that smoking is not allowed in public places in Germany, so I was a bit upset (I underline, that the reception is in the common area...i mean, you cant avoid the smoke when you check in and so on...)Also, I couldnt sleep till 4am or so, as the music in the reception was extremely loud. But the staff offered me ear plugs for free.There re lots of parties in Berlin, so when i come back to the hostel, i want to sleep....When I paid, I first paid the full price, though I had already paid 10% through hostelbookers....I let them notice, and the receptionist gave me the money back...

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Nice clean rooms, a cool common area, although very spacious and impersonal, provides a DVD player so everyone can continue ignoring each other in the open expanses. Also the kitchen was great and the balcony was an extra bonus (please note, both are closed after 10pm)

Disliked: A very awkward atmosphere that is very toxic for solo travelers. I am a very seasoned solo traveler but after 2 separate stays over a week, i would say the following... there is a very "us and you" atmosphere among what seems to be the permanent bar residents (friends of the staff and long stayers) Add to that the insta attitude of one of the hostel staff upon arrival, along the lines of "i am allowing you non tattooed mainstream so and so, because i am in a good mood today). This gave a very bad welcome after going through another main issue. This place is in a very bad part of Berlin, the train station Görlitzer BHF. I would recommend not travelling to this station at any time on your own, as it is a big pit of drug gangs who are ignored by police, i did not even dare go out on my own after nightfall (of which i was, due to the "us and you" friend group pushing out anyone who wants to make friends). Google the station and you will know what i mean. Also because of the area, the hostel turns into a fortress after 8pm, involving you needing to get through a main security gate, only to have to show your hostel ID at the security camera before entry to the place. Please keep this in mind, as this area made me feel threatened, someone who has now traveled almost 40 countries.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Functional, clean sheets, good location.

Disliked: Everyone is smoking in the lounge area /reception - as soon as you arrive for your checkin you have to inhale all of that smoke and your clothes smell. Stayed in the dorm close to the reception and the music was really loud.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Yana is amazing! Most of the staff are very welcoming. A great hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability