HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Intervarko

Guesthouse | Greifswalder Str. 225, Berlin, Germany 10405

68.6% Overall Rating

55 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2014)

"It's really close to the city center with a tram stop in front of the hostel just a few minutes to alexanderplatz. Walking there takes about 20 minutes. Possible to walk to some nice bars/restaurants in Friedrichshain.…"

Read all Intervarko reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.25

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note our special conditions for new years (30th of December 2013 to 1st of January 2014): We will charge the full amount of the booking from the guests credit card straight after the booking has been made. The booking is non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hotel Transit Loft
27.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 5 reviews
Alex Hotel
48.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 64 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
20.67 USD

Hostel 84.8% 589 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
19.29 USD

Hostel 88.8% 331 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
55.62 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
18.37 USD

Hostel 86.9% 267 reviews
Singer109 Apartment - Hostel
14.09 USD

Hostel 87.9% 349 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
18.87 USD

Hostel 92.2% 374 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

55 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Intervarko'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
65.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fairly helpful staff (those they don't always speak English).

Disliked: No kitchen - this was stated in the online info, but I somehow missed it when booking, so it's my own fault I was disappointed. They could at least have electric kettles in the rooms with sinks, though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to the city center with a tram stop in front of the hostel just a few minutes to alexanderplatz. Walking there takes about 20 minutes. Possible to walk to some nice bars/restaurants in Friedrichshain. Bakeries close for a nice breakfast. You could smoke in the corridors which makes it smell when you enter the hostel, but the rooms are smoke free and clean just as the bathrooms.

Disliked: You have to pay €10 extra when arriving after 18:00! Staff wasn't really freindly, think because a lack of sleep (seem woman whole weekend from morning till late). Smells like cigaretttes in the corridors.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering

20 October 2013

Liked: I has a good location near Prenzlauger Berg, and its fairly close to Alexander Platz

Disliked: The room smelt of old cigarette smoke. The receptiondesk close at 6pm and the staff goes home and leaves the hotel unattended for the night. This is very inconvenient when you are arriving in the evening (they wont accept arrivals after 11pm), and feels quite unsafe in relation to fire risk etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher davis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: This property is close to alexanderplatz and good for the money,,quiet,very good showers, more like a hotel.

Disliked: Internet not always that good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mateusz Kilinski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lydia Cairns

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 October 2011 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, close to tram, nice area

Disliked: No common area, kitchen etc. Staff not great with English speaking

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Agnieszka Halas

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2011 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: I didn't like the smell of the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms. Secure door locks. Easy access to Alexanderstrasse. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Robinson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the East centre/Alexandraplatz. The place was clean and we did meet some people. You can smoke in the corridors. Great takeaway next door with the funniest bloke selling donners! Showers were good.

Disliked: Not near the Western city centre. No common room/tv's in room. Too hot generally.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap room, good location and nice starf

Disliked: It might be very noisy if there is a lot of other guests

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was clean and it´s just about five minutes by tram to Alexanderplatz.

Disliked: It looked ugly from the outside and in the reception. There was only one bathroom in our floor. The floor and bathroom were cold and after two days our calefaction didn´t work anymore. Anyway, we received an electric calefaction instead. The staff wasn´t very friendly.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 February 2011

Liked: Absolutely nothing. Only perhaps the fact that we were alone.

Disliked: Location, staff, unfriendly, uncommunicability, lack of resources for travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

30 September 2010

Liked: Was quiet, close to tramline, secure, heating in room, warm doona.

Disliked: Traveling as a single person I would have liked to be a bit closer into the centre, had to walk a bit at night past building sites which tended to be dark and quiet.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was pleasant. Shared bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Breakfast was too expensive and not enough was on offer. Outside was not very welcoming. Sink in the bathroom would have been good. Quite a bit further out than you think.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new, very clean.

Disliked: no

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

18 July 2010

Liked: Tv in room

Disliked: Very bad shape

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that was cool. thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jarae Bennett

16 September 2009

Liked: There was plenty of showers and toilets at the hostel so you weren't having to wait till for someone, unlike some other hostels i've stayed at. We had a private room with a tv, i know your never in your room and you just need a place to sleep but it came in handy late at night when we were so tired from the days adventure, and yes some channels are in english. There are three different ppl that work on reception at different times and only one speaks english so that was an adventure in itself as i speak no english. The location is ok, its close to the main train station and public transport and Alexanderplatz. And we felt quite safe there and had no problems but the area is very dirty and smelly lots and lots of graffitti. The beds were ok tho and the place was pretty clean.

Disliked: Jarae left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 August 2009

Liked: Tv in the room...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Chris Miles

12 August 2009

Liked: the security. thats about it, its hard to find...its behind a huge green, spraypainted door in a courtyard.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Acheson

09 August 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: take away outside was very good

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nathan Bruton

31 July 2009 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Right near a club that runs till about 6am we found out we weren't likely to get much sleep in this hostel, add to that some loud people coming home at 5am... not the hostels fault. The place is in a weird area but not far from the centre of town, we walked to and from Berlin central, probs only took about 10-15mins.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very noisey and i got woke up both nights i stayed there at 3 a.m.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very nice although not very fluent in english. Walking in the hostel looks a bit scary from the outside. INside of the hostel is nice, clean, and quite empty. we owned the whole floor and didn't see anybody anywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels