HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Pfefferbett Hostel Berlin Hostel

Schoenhauser Allee 176, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 81%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 82%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 50.44CNY
  • Towel 15.06CNY

Important Information

Breakfast costs 6.70 EUR.
>A different cancellation policy applies during New Year’s Eve (29.12.2014 - 04.01.2015), Eastern (03. – 06.04.2015), Labour Day (30.04. – 03.05.2015), Ascension Day (14. – 17.05.2015), Whitsun (22. -25.05.2015), Feast of Corpus Christi (04. – 07.06.2015), Berlin Marathon (25. – 27.09.2015), German Unification Day (02. – 04.10.2015), Reformation Day (30.10. - 01.11.2015), New Year’s Eve (29.12.2015 – 03.01.2016).
During these periods, cost-free cancellation is possible up to 14 days before your scheduled arrival time. After that, the following cancellation charges apply: from the 13th day before arrival, 50% of the overnight accommodation rate; from the 7th day before arrival, 80% of the overnight accommodation rate; from the 1st day before arrival, 100% of the overnight accommodation rate.

COST ABSORPTION:
Reservations of any kind, which are made with the purpose of a cost absorption by second or third parties, can only be edited and completed by phone or email. Cost absorptions, which are submitted during check in or check out, will not be accepted.

Rent a bike (March – October)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 81%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 82%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Easy to charge your phone during the night, spacious rooms, several toilets, great location etc.

Disliked: Bad wi-fi, staff could have been friendlier.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, free snooker and outdoor area,

Disliked: Poor wifi and expensive breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Very good.

Disliked: Very good.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: good location, nice staff.

Disliked: Smelled weird in the room. Not very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location, very clean, very quiet at night and nice views from our room. Fairly good choice of breakfast, too.

Disliked: The staff were not great. I emailed in advance to ask for a twin room because this was not available when I booked and it said that you should email the hostel directly to ask for a twin room. I emailed in advance and got an email back to say that I could have a twin room, no problem, but when I got there there was no record of this, all twin rooms were booked and I had to have a double- not impressed. Very incompetent. There were lots of staff here- all very young ant a bit wet behind the ears and because they were always different you felt they couldn't care less about you. They were not very helpful when we asked about sightseeing and tours and just told you to use their computers to look things up. The hostel advertised a free tour, but no-one on reception knew how long it lasted or where it ended- I felt they didn't want to help us at all and just wanted to get rid of you. Finally, I queued for AGES on the last day to pick up my left luggage, and was told rather rudely that I had to ask the bar staff instead- there was no sign to say this and I wasted a lot of time needlessly. I was annoyed at having to wait for so long and got no apology from the girl on reception.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Alys,thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take the feedback of our guests very seriously. Only with your help we can improve our service. We talked to the responsable and they will pay more attention to inform the staff and to train them and to plan more staff in peak times to avoid long waiting time.
We are very sorry that you did not get the twin that you wanted. We would be happy if you give us another chance to prove that these are not our standards of quality.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and cool surroundings

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was interesting and had a nice vibe to it. The bar downstairs and its outdoor seating was a nice place to chill after a long day.

Disliked: This is a party hostel. I was housed on the first floor, directly above the bar - which plays music until 0130 every evening. My first night it was extremely loud and I complained twice about the noise. Later in the trip it wasn't as bad but I also used earplugs which blocked out everything but the bass. If I was going out clubbing it wouldn't have been much of an issue but I was sightseeing and it was annoying and led to an unpleasant stay.The hostel was poorly cleaned, in particular the one set of bathrooms which served the bar and the whole hostel. After a Friday night both were blocked and covered in urine, this wasn't cleaned up until 0900. The toilets were frequently dirty and blocked during my stay. The rooms weren't swept properly, under the beds was filthy, the showers were covered in mildew and needed a deep clean.The staff was sometimes nice and sometimes very bad, the electricity kept cutting out in our room (it was not working around 50% of the time), and one receptionist became very defensive when speaking to my girlfriend and failed to apologise at all.


The property's response is

Dear Ben, thank you for taking the time to write a feedback. We would like to make clear that we are not in a party hostel. Sometimes, during high season, it can happen that other guests like to stay awake during the night.
We always take the comments of our guests very seriously. We talked already to the responsables in order to draw their attention to the points you mentioned. We know about the condition of our bathrooms and at the end of the year we are planning a complete makeover.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Met some really cool people there. Clean.

Disliked: Room was very warm. Showers were bit small and the bathroom was quite hot

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is well located, the staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. They have lockers for each guest.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Beds were big and comfy, lockers in the room and nice / convenient location.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, so annoying. Showers got flooded and dirty. Doors were really loud.

Check Availability