We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Pfefferbett Hostel

Hostel | Am Pfefferberg, Hof 4, Haus 6, Christinenstraße 18-19, Berlin, Germany 10119

87.8% Overall Rating

375 out of 390 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

"Nice location, very clean, very quiet at night and nice views from our room. Fairly good choice of breakfast, too."

Read all Pfefferbett Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.67
  • Towel USD 2.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Breakfast costs 6.70 EUR. >A different cancellation policy applies during New Year’s Eve (29.12.2014 - 04.01.2015), Eastern (03. – 06.04.2015), Labour Day (30.04. – 03.05.2015), Ascension Day (14. – 17.05.2015), Whitsun (22. -25.05.2015), Feast of Corpus Christi (04. – 07.06.2015), Berlin Marathon (25. – 27.09.2015), German Unification Day (02. – 04.10.2015), Reformation Day (30.10. - 01.11.2015), New Year’s Eve (29.12.2015 – 03.01.2016). During these periods, cost-free cancellation is possible up to 14 days before your scheduled arrival time. After that, the following cancellation charges apply: from the 13th day before arrival, 50% of the overnight accommodation rate; from the 7th day before arrival, 80% of the overnight accommodation rate; from the 1st day before arrival, 100% of the overnight accommodation rate. COST ABSORPTION: Reservations of any kind, which are made with the purpose of a cost absorption by second or third parties, can only be edited and completed by phone or email. Cost absorptions, which are submitted during check in or check out, will not be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

EastSeven Berlin Hostel
24.72 USD

Hostel 97.0% 913 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
17.17 USD

Hostel 84.7% 273 reviews
Hostel Aloha
21.75 USD

Hostel 75.0% 754 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
22.90 USD

Hostel 92.7% 827 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
13.62 USD

Hostel 81.8% 1145 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
45.66 USD

Hotel 93.8% 6 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
20.44 USD

Hostel 83.5% 354 reviews
Circus Hostel
29.77 USD

Hostel 92.0% 182 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

375 out of 390 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pfefferbett Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 292 of 340 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, very clean, very quiet at night and nice views from our room. Fairly good choice of breakfast, too.

Disliked: The staff were not great. I emailed in advance to ask for a twin room because this was not available when I booked and it said that you should email the hostel directly to ask for a twin room. I emailed in advance and got an email back to say that I could have a twin room, no problem, but when I got there there was no record of this, all twin rooms were booked and I had to have a double- not impressed. Very incompetent. There were lots of staff here- all very young ant a bit wet behind the ears and because they were always different you felt they couldn't care less about you. They were not very helpful when we asked about sightseeing and tours and just told you to use their computers to look things up. The hostel advertised a free tour, but no-one on reception knew how long it lasted or where it ended- I felt they didn't want to help us at all and just wanted to get rid of you. Finally, I queued for AGES on the last day to pick up my left luggage, and was told rather rudely that I had to ask the bar staff instead- there was no sign to say this and I wasted a lot of time needlessly. I was annoyed at having to wait for so long and got no apology from the girl on reception.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cool surroundings

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ana D'Osvaldo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located, the staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. They have lockers for each guest.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ben Sparke

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2015

Liked: The hostel was interesting and had a nice vibe to it. The bar downstairs and its outdoor seating was a nice place to chill after a long day.

Disliked: This is a party hostel. I was housed on the first floor, directly above the bar - which plays music until 0130 every evening. My first night it was extremely loud and I complained twice about the noise. Later in the trip it wasn't as bad but I also used earplugs which blocked out everything but the bass. If I was going out clubbing it wouldn't have been much of an issue but I was sightseeing and it was annoying and led to an unpleasant stay. The hostel was poorly cleaned, in particular the one set of bathrooms which served the bar and the whole hostel. After a Friday night both were blocked and covered in urine, this wasn't cleaned up until 0900. The toilets were frequently dirty and blocked during my stay. The rooms weren't swept properly, under the beds was filthy, the showers were covered in mildew and needed a deep clean. The staff was sometimes nice and sometimes very bad, the electricity kept cutting out in our room (it was not working around 50% of the time), and one receptionist became very defensive when speaking to my girlfriend and failed to apologise at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015

Liked: Beds were big and comfy, lockers in the room and nice / convenient location.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, so annoying. Showers got flooded and dirty. Doors were really loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew de Lotbiniere-Harwood

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay. Kind friendly helpful staff. Clean bholding and surprisingly quiet. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location and a good place to stay.

Disliked: Felt a bit crowded, but I'm picky.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2015 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and tidy. The lockers were big enough to fit a decent amount of luggage. The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The food that you could order from the bar was fairly priced and tasted delicious. Very close to loads of cheap eats and supermarkets to get water for the days travels. Only a 20 minute walk from Berlin HBF if you can walk as quickly as us.

Disliked: The wifi could only be used downstairs in the common area and not in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matus Sensel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2014 Matus would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! The building itself is very interesting, the reconstrucion is very well done. The lobby is nice. But at the end of the day, everything is about the people. The staff was fine and professional, but could have been a little more cheerful and a little more proactive and a little more smiling.

Disliked: Matus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms and toilets Fun atmosphere Close proximity to metro station

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was pretty clean and has everything de needed.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar, the terrasse and garden, lots of space in rooms, lockers in the room, large showers, music in the lobby, and laundry facilities.

Disliked: Sort of unfriendly staff (just one girl). Expensive breakfast, location was meh

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sides

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. The hostel was in a lovely place with handy transport links.

Disliked: The wifi was a bit unreliable

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacob Stepaschko

Alone

City break

25 July 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really Nice. Very Close to metro, and walking distance to Alexanderplatz

Disliked: Wifi nor working in rooms, and not al all for the last 24 hours of my stay. Music in lobby was quite loud even during daytime so difficult to relax.Staff should know alternative transport to Schoenefeld (ie og to Schoenhauser Alle instead of Alexanderplatz)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pool table, nice garden, nice location, 24/7 bar and food was good. Staff was helpful also. Rooms were clean and spacious, with good beds.

Disliked: Rooms can get really warm in the summer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great soundproofing so REALLY quiet in the rooms even when the world cup final was going on downstairs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice common room, good facilities. Nice rooms with comfy beds

Disliked: Windows in rooms can't be open fully so rooms tend to become/stay very warm. Curtains do not really keep the room dark after the sun goes up, making sleeping in rather hard.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: not a great atmosphere, but there was a school trip staying at the time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 July 2014

Liked: Well-designed room with good bunk beds and electricity points by each bed. Location was good, very close to the u bahn. Clean with helpful staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was 6.50! So I went to Alexanderplatz for breakfast each morning. The wifi wasn't great. Also, there were no kitchen facilities in the hostel - would have been nice to have had a kettle at least. But the bar staff were happy to fill up bottles of water. Finally, I was travelling alone, and didn't find this hostel to be a great place for meeting people as everyone seemed to be in groups.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Free lockers, location was excellent, beer garden next door was great for the Germany World Cup game, free desktop computers, help getting to the bus - front desk gal gave me printed directions, close to a cool neighborhood. Overall great place.

Disliked: The giggling 17 year olds that checked into my dorm room at 1.30 AM booooooo. Poor wifi signal, didn't always work.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an absolute value for money choice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhi Hui Chin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Zhi Hui would recommend this property

Liked: A very good hostel, though it was overrun with schoolgroups during the easter holidays. The rooms were nice, though a bit small, and clean, with a high ceiling, and the hostel was conveniently near the U-Bahn, and the staff was willing to address the guest's queries. No complaints, except those below.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the wifi was only available in the lobby (and it was wonky at times) and not in the rooms. No kitchen and fridge was available for the use of the guest as well, although this is probably meant to nudge the guest to purchase food from the café-restaurant-bar at the ground floor, though it admittedly serves good food. Washing service (for a fee) was available, though oddly, only during working hours (~9h till ~17h).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Renshaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Location , value , facilities ,atmosphere , great security lockers and great beds!!

Disliked: Nothing !!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomasz Kowalski

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2014 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice design, perfect neighbourhood/surrounding, good transport links. Bunk beds are best I've ever seen. Perfectly clear bathrooms and rooms.

Disliked: Staff really should be more attentive to the customers. Kitchen or even a small kitchenette is a must in this sized hostel.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels