HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of A&O Berlin Friedrichshain Berlin Hostel

Niederlassung - Berlin Friedrichshain, Box hagener Str.73 - 10245 Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 64%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 71%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.38USD
  • Linen 3.59USD
  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3€, from July 2014 3.50 €
Breakfast: 6€, from July 2014 7€
2.95 € credit card fee for total amount under 200€
Late Check Out: 7.50€

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 64%

Location 81%

Safety 74%

Staff 71%

Value 69%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Bed quality

Disliked: No lift

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Clean, environment friendly, internet sometimes hangs, but generally OK, great location. Perfect for large groups and sole travellers.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Close to Ostkreuz station, easy to get to shoenenfield airport.y

Disliked: Avoid staying here. Long waits to speak to reception about anything, I waited half an hour just to check in. The whole place seems understaffed. The place feels a bit sterile. One power point only in 8 bed dorms. Light above beds didn't work. Only one washing machine so long waits again (7 euros). There is virtually nothing in the shared kitchen. Men's showers don't have cutians, and the room door opens directly into the corridor. Dorm doors dont close properly need to be slammed, sometimes they were just left open. I can say its the worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a place to put luggage, and there was a giant net in the stairwell to throw linens into.

Disliked: We paid $50 euro per night, and here's what we got: a dirty, stinking room, a mattress with a large blood stain, lockers in the room that don't lock, an extra charge for bedsheets (7 euros for us both) that wasn't mentioned online, an extra 5% tax that wasn't mentioned online, internet that doesn't work in the rooms (despite being advertised), only one electrical outlet in a room for eight people (meaning we couldn't charge our phones and laptops), and a long, slow line at reception that we had to wait in twice.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: In the shower there is no curtains and no hair dryer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Relaxing and good fun

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: -good location, cool area-just a few minutes walking from public transport -nice private bathroom

Disliked: -staff was polite but that's about it; not very welcoming, no information about the area-enormous hotel, it doesn't have personality

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location is good!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Place was cheap and ok. It is open 24 hours which is nice.

Disliked: Staffs are not so friendly. But i think everyone in Berlin is not friendly. It felt like it. Internet is really slow. For fast internet you have to pay.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It's not too far from an S-Bahn station which is great for getting into and out of the city. There's a supermarket literally next door so you can save money and cook for yourself. It was clean, and there was soap in the showers to use for free.

Disliked: As with a lot of hostels in Berlin, I found this hostel much too big, and it was hard to meet other like-minded travellers. If you want to actually meet new travellers, I would suggest a smaller hostel. Also, the wifi was really slow. And my keycard kept getting reset (I guess because I had it near my phone - still, other keycards don't have this problem).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability