HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of A&O Berlin Friedrichshain

Hostel | Boxhagener Straße 73, Berlin, Germany 10245

75.3% Overall Rating

288 out of 345 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

Shaun Busuttil thinks…

"I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It's not too far from an S-Bahn station which is great for getting into and out of the city. There's a supermarket literally next door so you can save money and…"

Read all A&O Berlin Friedrichshain reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.86
  • Linen USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3€, from July 2014 3.50 € Breakfast: 6€, from July 2014 7€ 2.95 € credit card fee for total amount under 200€ Late Check Out: 7.50€

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Schlafmeile Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 76.9% 490 reviews
U inn Berlin
20.13 USD

Hostel 93.4% 259 reviews
BackpackerBerlin
12.52 USD

Hostel 85.4% 250 reviews
Pension Regenbogen
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 16 reviews
Hotel-Pension INSOR
36.69 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 74 reviews
Hotel Pension Victoria
27.41 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
All In Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 79.9% 196 reviews
The Pirate Hostel
27.83 USD

Hostel 77.3% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

288 out of 345 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Berlin Friedrichshain'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 210 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shaun Busuttil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It's not too far from an S-Bahn station which is great for getting into and out of the city. There's a supermarket literally next door so you can save money and cook for yourself. It was clean, and there was soap in the showers to use for free.

Disliked: As with a lot of hostels in Berlin, I found this hostel much too big, and it was hard to meet other like-minded travellers. If you want to actually meet new travellers, I would suggest a smaller hostel. Also, the wifi was really slow. And my keycard kept getting reset (I guess because I had it near my phone - still, other keycards don't have this problem).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

David Cave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything

Disliked: Not a party hostel when there are children running around

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: The wifi worked. That is about it.

Disliked: The young owman at reception was rude and apathetic. It took forever to check in and out due to understaffing and odd check in times. Once checked in we found out there is no communal kitchen to use. One has to put a deposit on a seperate card to use the kitchen, which is tiny and had no storage. No toaster. Not even a set of two bowls to use. There was also no restroom on my floor. I had to go another floor just to piss in the middle of the night. This place was awful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place! We reserved the hostel because it was so cheap so I didn't expect anything really great but when we came to hostel I was surprised. Hostel was big and there was everything what a traveller can need. Staff was really friendly. Location isn't so great, you have to walk a bit for the nearest metro stop. But I liked that it wasn't in the center, every traveller in Berlin should see also that side of the city, not only great tourist places.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mischa Abram

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014

Liked: Honestly nothing

Disliked: We had random things stolen, like toothpaste and iPhone chargers. This place is only appropriate if you're a group of 40+ people, there are always different groups that are really load throughout the night, which makes sleeping really difficult. The paper curtains don't help either. The rooms are filthy with strains on everything from the bathrooms to the mattresses. The showers are communal and curtain free. And he general vibe is cold due to the hospital layout and feel of the place. Was without a doubt the worst place I have ever been.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really centrally located, rooms were comfortable and clean and a good size.

Disliked: Lacking in personality

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right next to Ostkreuz, near lots of good clubs. A cheap area with loads of cool bars and places to eat. The bar staff were really friendly and its small enough so that you can meet loads of other people. The pillows were huge and really comfy.

Disliked: The receptionist was kind of moody but that was it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael DeVivo

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The artwork in the rooms is truly unique and enjoyable. The bar atmosphere was nice. The kitchen option was good as well. Beds were comfy, but sheets were extra

Disliked: Shared bathrooms were somewhat dirty, no internet in the actual rooms, not many outlets, squeaky old beds, and not much space in the common room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: - University campus style layout - Spacious large rooms - Good, cheap location not far from tram stop

Disliked: Cons: - Lack of shower curtains. Bit weird. No? - Wifi limited to just the common room and reception area - Have to buy bedding.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, nice neighbourhood

Disliked: Variable prices every night are confusing, rooms were dirty (though I realise this is as much the fault of other residents as staff)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and cheap italian place next door with pizzas and pastas from 2.50 up to 3.50, and a cocktail place on other side with cocktails for 3.50 which can be for takeaway (given in plastic cup). Also Lidl very close.

Disliked: The individual showers have no doors, instead half of where a door would go is wall and half is an empty gap you have to squeeze in via, would not suit fat people. Showers could also do with a good attack of bleach/mould killer.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

shadiya chaib

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013

Liked: absolutely nothing

Disliked: Where do I start. Staff at the desk were very rude and unhelpful, one girl explained to me that I must pay for linen (something they should highlight) then let me leave without explaining where to get it or wether someone would put it in the dorm room. I had a suitcase and had to lug it on 5 floors to then discover we were on the same floor as the school groups. The hallway smelt so bad I cant even explain. Then, we get home at night and security had closed all our windows and only had small windows open at the top of the room, it was like being in a sauna, this was due to other immature guests throwing bottles out of the window. It was around 30 degrees that day so you could imagine how hot the room was in a 8 bed dorm. The showers offer absolutely no privacy, the doors are completely see through and there is no where to get dressed. The shower only turns on for 10 seconds at a time. You need to pay for the computers at the lobby, there was never anyone around and when they were they were rude and unhelpful. I would literally rather stay in a squat house if I ever go back to Berlin.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 January 2013

Liked: Nothing !

Disliked: The decoration in the room was horrible (with beatles painted on the wall) !! Also, that's supposed to be a youth hostel but the atmosphere was cold, people staying there were not friendly and the beatles on the room wall didn't help ! We felt oppressed in this hostel ... This is not a youth hostel but a real hotel where people can't meet and share a good experience !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nil

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very nice and welcoming staff, the cosy atmosphere, the cleaniness and facilities. Very good location: close to public transport and situated in a friendly and outgoing area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012

Liked: nice common area

Disliked: locked windows!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

orlando gonzalez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 orlando would recommend this property

Liked: It is ample, clean and has many facilities. Besides, it is located in a quarter with lots of bars and restaurants.

Disliked: All goo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Webb

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed in a twin bed private room with a private bathroom in May. It was a very bright and clean room with a really clean bathroom, towels, hairdryer, etc. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. It is about a 5 minute walk to Ostkreuz station so is in a great location to easily access the rest of the city. For the cost it is fantastic value for money.

Disliked: No bad comments!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011

Liked: -Good entertainment facilities -Formality

Disliked: -No sheets,towels -At least breakfast had to be included to the charge -Bathroom doors not available !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities on offer with nice garden and good bar.

Disliked: The dorm rooms weren't kept very clean.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011

Liked: Some of the staff were nice.

Disliked: This can be a very frustrating place to stay as everything costs extra and not many things work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms, bathroom, bar and common room

Disliked: kind of hard to find

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Steffen Spee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: The location was good, there were lots of bars, restaurants.

Disliked: It was to noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, quiet

Disliked: not may guests, little networking opp..

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Marina Lavastrou

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010

Liked: Just location

Disliked: Many things... I have to pay for many services that was unfair: LINNEN, TOWELS, WI-FI!!! (the worst!). The room on a 4th floor without elevator, just amazing. And of course, nobody helps you wiht your luggage. Other thing, just one plug to switch all your stuffs in a room per 6 persons!! A kind of camping...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels