HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of A&O Berlin Mitte

Hostel | Köpenicker Straße 127 - 129, Berlin, Germany 10179

71.8% Overall Rating

368 out of 454 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2014)

"Very basic hostel in a run down part of Berlin with few amenities - no laundry, small lounge, no self catering kitchen and a elevator that only only goes to the 7th floor (I was staying on the 8th) Building was…"

Read all A&O Berlin Mitte reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.40
  • Linen USD 4.03
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

CANCELLATION CONDITIONS - Until two days prior to arrival before 6 o'clock pm (local time at hotel/hostel) free of charge. In case of cancellation after this period a cancellation fee of 100% of the first night will be charged. In a case of non-arrival 100% of the first night will be charged. It's the same for short-term bookings, within two days before arrival. - Any discounts or special offers booked through online booking engines cannot be cancelled. For groups from 10 people we have special cancellation and payment conditions. Our reservation department will contact you!!! GROUP CANCELLATION CONDITIONS - 8 weeks prior to arrival date free of charge - from 55 days to 5 days prior to arrival date 50% of the agreed total price - from 4 to 2 days prior to arrival date 75% of the agreed total price - one day prior to arrival date 90% of the agreed total price We will debit 50% of the agreed total price 8 weeks or less than 8 weeks before arrival from your credit card. GUESTS UNDER THE AGE OF 18 From the age of 14 you can stay in our A&O's all by yourself. All you need is a signed declaration of consent from your parents and a copy of the personal identification from the parent who signed the form.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Singer109 Apartment - Hostel
17.30 USD

Hostel 90.5% 346 reviews
Violet am Alexanderplatz
21.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 80.9% 359 reviews
Comebackpackers
22.83 USD

Hostel 91.0% 223 reviews
36 Rooms Hostel Berlin Kreuzberg
16.11 USD

Hostel 73.9% 269 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
40.28 USD

Hostel 78.6% 80 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
29.54 USD

Hostel 78.3% 571 reviews
Pegasus Hostel Berlin
18.80 USD

Hostel 70.3% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

368 out of 454 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Berlin Mitte'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 270 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014

Liked: The bathroom in the bedroom is handy

Disliked: Everything!!! The staff were unfriendly and rude. Right from the first 5 minutes I walked into the door I was greeted very rudely by the staff and got into an argument to which he told me I need to be nicer to him, yet he was the one who had started the argument! There was a constant group of loud obnoxious teenagers or people in the front steps and in the entrance that were so loud and disruptive every night! They talked, screamed, sung and squealed until 2am every single night and on the last night it wasn't until I stormed down to reception and threatened to call the police did they do anything about it!! They have security staff on site but no where to be seen! It's worrying that a place needs security staff anyway! Even in the corridors people were banging doors and screaming and knocking of other people's doors and having fights and I had to tell them to shut up to which I got a smart ass comment. Sheets and bedding is extra charge!! Which is stupid because it's a necessity, like using the bathroom! No one should pay for that, especially when the price of the stay is so expensive already! There's no lockers in the rooms or from what I could see anywhere in the place so no where for your valuables. The hostel is an hour walk away from the main center of the city, I know I walked it multiple times!! There is no kitchen and the bar only reheats pizza and it's 30 minutes walk to anyway that caters for travelers for eating!! This is the worst place in Europe and a pathetic excuse for a business!! There's no help whatsoever from the staff with directions or general travel details and they are so reluctant to help and are so rude!!! Even marked the hostel wrong on the map!! The lift is so loud and you can hear it from the bedrooms and it's so slow to arrive. Takes forever and I always got stuck waiting in the entrance with all the ferals being drunk and disgusting. Smoking into the building, spitting everywhere and being so rude to anyone not party of their group. I genuinely felt intimidated and uncomfortable the entire time of my stay and didn't want to go use the facilities at all. I dreaded coming back to the hostel every day. They have one measly sign that says to be quiet and respect the other guests, but everyone did far from that!!! There's absolutely no respect for anyone else in this place unless you're getting pissed or smoking outside! If you've paid to stay here then you don't matter.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very basic hostel in a run down part of Berlin with few amenities - no laundry, small lounge, no self catering kitchen and a elevator that only only goes to the 7th floor (I was staying on the 8th) Building was uninteresting but rooms where large and warm and clean (when the cleaner came)

Disliked: 7 floor elevator in a 8 story building. Not disabled friendly.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: If you are interesting in partying a lot this Hostel would be a quite god place to stay. A lot of people lived there and it seemed to be easy to meet other people.

Disliked: We were getting already occupied beds at arrival and the whole dorm was full of things from other travelers included the beds we should have. It did not feel clean and it looked like someone had a big party the day before. We were getting new beds in a new dorm and that was better. Still they did not really believed that the other dorm was occupied when we told them in the reception. The price was to high i think. I don't use to care that much about the price but here it was to high and with no linens included for 22 euro per night, 25 with linenes is to much for this hostel. There is other better options that is more price worth in Berlin. I would not pay more then 15 euro for this hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere Great for lone traveller to meet other ppeople

Disliked: Rooms were very noisy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Carl Stavøstrand

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 August 2013

Liked: It was very central and quite clean

Disliked: The place was pretty noisy. On one side there was traffic so I asked to be moved to the other side. But the backyard was a party hub so this was not better. There were no rooms with air conditioning either, and with 38 degrees it was quite impossible to sleep. Also, there were no wifi in the rooms even though they promoted this. The system was down or something, but it didn't seem like they cared to fix it in the three days I was there. I am sure this is a good place to stay if you want to meet people and party, but as a hotel it does not impress. For just a little more money you can get so much better in Berlin, and so I moved to higher standards the last night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we had was excellent in relation quality price

Disliked: A lot of young people

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 5 minute walk from Ostbahnhof. Well facilitated. Clean bathroom. Comfy beds. All in all just great value for money!!

Disliked: Nothing bad to say, there's nothing amazing or incredible about this hostel, it's just good value for money!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew d'Amato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Conveniently located in one of Berlins Hippest neighborhoods. Not too far from city wide metro access.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms

Disliked: a bit far from metro stop

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really spacious room! very clean! had a tv in the room!

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: The room, though small, was very clean. We had a private bathroom, which was also clean.

Disliked: - Only the lobby has wifi, and it wasn't working for a lot of the time we were there. -The elevators were often not working (and we were on the 5th floor -Ridiculous amount of bugs all throughout the hostel -Rugs in the hallway smelled badly -Staff was not very welcoming or helpful

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, good location, nice rooms with private bathroom for good price

Disliked: no real cosy hostel feel in common room to get to meet other travellers. Also the lift takes forever...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rafael Corrales

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 May 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The single bedrooms, good location and working WiFi

Disliked: The only place for free WiFi was at the bar, and the bar closes at 1 am.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helle Kristensen

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Helle would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel in itself is great - loads of rooms gives you an opportunity to book late for many people and still have rooms next to each other, Group 4 rooms were a good size.

Disliked: Twin rooms were very very small and the bathrooms even smaller (no space to dry yourself up after shower). Location was not very good - we travelled with students (age 15-16), and did not know before hand that it is located next to the Köpi/køpi autonome house! As a teacher I felt a bit unsafe, with police vans around all the time.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Magdalena Maslerz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: The room looked totally different than on the photos, the internet was not available in the room (like it was written on the website) the staff was not welcoming

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefaan Cordier

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Stefaan would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi in the room. Friendly staff

Disliked: Sometimes noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Veronica Amestoy

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 January 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: It had this real sense for a hostel, with a bar full of people. The rooms where clean, and not too noise which is great when you need to sleep

Disliked: Didn't like the fact that you could smoke inside, but other than that was fine. The shower wasn't that clean compared to other well rater hostels

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A stay in the A&O Berlin Mitte is worth the money! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was small but cosy! All in all: very nice Hostel/Hotel for 25 € per night!

Disliked: The rooms were not very clean, but it was still ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve aitken

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 November 2012 steve would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, value for money, all made it ideal for a cheap city break. The rooms are clean, well designed and compact but have all the essesntials including a hairdryer and TV. The bed was very comfortable and the room far enough away from the communal lounge and bar that I never heard any noise. Good coffee from the cafe/bar too. All in all a great place if you are trying to have a cheap holiday but still want to relax at the end of the day and get a good nights sleep. Totally Recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Everton Fabri

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Everton would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, very clean, organized, good staff, good rooms.

Disliked: The location, it was a little far from the city center...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the price. Everything worked ok. Better hostel for large groups.

Disliked: It is a huge hostel, so the atmoshphere is bit bad. There were also a lots of school groups which made it feel like high school. The staff was bit unfriendly, but I quess it comes with the size of the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfasts. 5 minutes to U-Bahn station, pub and a shop.

Disliked: A bit too hot in the room during nights. Even with radiators off it was better to sleep by an open window - with cars passing by. Nothing preventing a good sleep but a bit unconvenient.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean shower / bathroom as part of the 4-bed room; great breakfeast selection for a hostel.

Disliked: Terribly squeky metal bunk beds; the slightest movements created lots of noise. No lockers in the room - I would prefer to have some kind of locker, even if it requires my own padlock.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing is the location of the hostel, because it is near Alexander platz, 15min by walk, and near Ostbanhof. I loved the friendly atmosphere there and kindness of the staff.

Disliked: I wish that there is free wifi in the room :)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carrie Kimeria

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: It was far from everything and felt too commercial. Our rooms felt like crappy budget hotel rooms only much smaller and cheaper.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels