We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

90.6% Overall Rating

837 out of 903 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

"It's a good hostel, the position is superb. Also nice breakfast, although not particularly fancy. But it is abundant and cheap."

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Groups consisting of more than 9 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through this website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit. Special Conditions for New Years bookings including 31st December: Minimum stay is 5 Nights and full payment is needed within 10 days after placing the booking. This payment is non refundable. No Check-In or Check-Out on 1st January. City Tax is not included in the prices.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
16.56 USD

Hostel 89.8% 281 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
16.78 USD

Hostel 85.4% 1213 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
19.02 USD

Hostel 88.5% 181 reviews
Circus Hostel
29.09 USD

Hostel 92.0% 182 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
16.78 USD

Hostel 81.5% 530 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.75 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
Citystay Mitte
15.97 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1224 reviews
Hostel Aloha
22.37 USD

Hostel 75.0% 754 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

837 out of 903 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 619 of 733 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good hostel, the position is superb. Also nice breakfast, although not particularly fancy. But it is abundant and cheap.

Disliked: Very crowded, also late at night there's was a fight between some drunk guest that woke us up and kept on going for a while without the staff intervening before half a hour or so. Rooms have no air con, so because it was hot we had to leave windows open to the yard, where in the morning people have breakfast, so we were woken up. Bring earplugs and that's a non issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing, they went above and beyond to help me out when I thought I'd lost my passport, so friendly and helpful. The general atmosphere of the hostel was very homely and chilled.

Disliked: The drinks at the bar were very expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 August 2015

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: There were a lot of house rules such as not being able to buy your own alcohol. As a traveller one tries to save every penny and so this was a bit of a hindrance. Furthermore the outside smoking area closed quite early which is understandable but it did change the night time vibe for the worse.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Padinjattummury Subin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Padinjattummury would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the heart of berlin. Good service and clean rooms and washrooms. Open throughout the day and night and hence no issues in the check in at any time.

Disliked: Padinjattummury left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Oakley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff. Nice bar and good atmosphere. I was travelling alone, but I found it easy to meet people here. The room was clean and the place felt secure.

Disliked: There weren't many showers, so there was often a wait in the mornings, but overall this was a minor complaint.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and atmosphere

Disliked: The door handle came off and the very squeaky beds!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Tvrdá

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 June 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great. For ten euros for night wr got a comfortable bed with clean sheets in the big dorm, but all the other travellers were very polite, none was even talking in the dorm, so I slept like a baby. The bathroom was clean and nice also with a hairdryer and a soap, tailet nice, kitchen and fridge available. Presonal nice and helpful. In the evening music on the bar. Lockers and internet for free. I enjoyed stay in HoG Hostel.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abigail Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2015 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: It was within walking distance from everything in the city.

Disliked: The staff ignored me when I first walked in or when I needed to ask for directions. There was no eye contact

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice bathroom.

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location for sightseeing, everything is in walking distance...their beds were so comfy:)

Disliked: clairaudient walls

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Carly Yong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: The computers/printer in common area is great! Also, having a keycard for room/hostel entry makes it feel much safer.

Disliked: The common area smelt too smoky. Also, they didn't offer all girls dorm rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Easy and simple rules + quick service (check in and out)

Disliked: Bit noisy for me (personal preferance). Showers strictly controlled with a time limit (understandable).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Cleasby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel near some centre attractions. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: The only thing is the wifi doesn't stretch to the rooms so you have to use the wifi downstairs - plus the wifi blocks whatsap call which is the way I was keeping in contact with my family!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Excellent friendly & helpful staff, secure buildings and lockers

Disliked: No Wifi In rooms, no place to do any cooking or socialise outside of the bar

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly helpful and nice staff. Easy and uncomplicated check-in and -out.

Disliked: Coffee ran out quite quickly on the second day. the coffee machine "didn't work" and the person was not able to organise an alternative coffee-maker. normally, i am not very keen to criticize small matters but as a student who paid 4 euro for breakfast, I think its not too much to ask ... to have coffee for breakfast since there are ways to have alternative coffee machines. the person, who was responsible on the day, did not seem to be interested to help. the toilets were very wet in the evening, but i guess this is beyond the control of the hostel since they cannot control what people are doing there all the time. some people may not be able to use the shower properly (water flows too fast).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Great lobby area with bar, fully equipped kitchen, spacious rooms, good showers.

Disliked: Misplaced one key card and was charged €5 which seems a bit steep considering other hostels we've been to take around €1-2 deposit. Photos showed colourfully decorated rooms however ours was just plain white.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Noboa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a big hostel with lots of people and a nice lobby area for meeting other travelers. They have cheap breakfast, good rooms and beds and it's clean.

Disliked: It's amazing that on year 2015 there are hostel where the WIFI is the worst crap in the universe. The internet here feels like a remote south american town. I can not believe that you can not connect in your room and that even in the lobby it's almost impossible to use the internet properly. Come on, you can't even use the internet to book or search flights, hostel, etc.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice rooms

Disliked: The hostel adds a 5% city tax, with no prior information

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Angot

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2015 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: All members of staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The location is great because is only about ten minutes walk away from all the major tourist spots. Nice and safe atmosphere, fantastic music playing in the speaker in the hall, from Faith No More to Russian Circles, would definetely recommend this hostel to anyone, one of the best I've stayed in my life and will definetely go back to stay there when in Berlin next time!

Disliked: Sergio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed but funky atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hen Yacobson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Hen would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap, the location was ok - it was close to some attractions and anyway there is a metro right outside of the hostel

Disliked: Hen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nargis Maiwand

Alone

Business / conference

24 February 2015 Nargis would recommend this property

Liked: The Location and the proper rooms! Very clean

Disliked: Nargis left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was comfortable, staff friendly, location is great

Disliked: No internet!!! Nobody was able to connect and they didn't seem to care much about it. All four days I was there, wifi never worked and one's got to pay to use desktop computers. Also, the drains in the bathrooms have a constant terrible smell that goes all over the hall area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stefanos gidaris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015 stefanos would recommend this property

Liked: location, very clean

Disliked: stefanos left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels