We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

90.6% Overall Rating

830 out of 894 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/06/2015)

Anna Tvrdá thinks…

"Great. For ten euros for night wr got a comfortable bed with clean sheets in the big dorm, but all the other travellers were very polite, none was even talking in the dorm, so I slept like a baby.…"

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Groups consisting of more than 9 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through this website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit. Special Conditions for New Years bookings including 31st December: Minimum stay is 5 Nights and full payment is needed within 10 days after placing the booking. This payment is non refundable. No Check-In or Check-Out on 1st January. City Tax is not included in the prices.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
24.99 USD

Hostel 90.9% 273 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
21.10 USD

Hostel 85.0% 1208 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
23.32 USD

Hostel 88.5% 178 reviews
Circus Hostel
28.88 USD

Hostel 93.0% 178 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
17.77 USD

Hostel 81.4% 529 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.66 USD

Hostel 74.2% 977 reviews
Citystay Mitte
18.13 USD

Hostel 86.1% 1216 reviews
Hostel Aloha
18.88 USD

Hostel 77.0% 750 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

830 out of 894 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 614 of 724 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lively and young

Disliked: Bed linens were changed if you didn't leave something of yours on your beds, this meant that someone might take your bed if you went out for the day

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Leipzig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011

Liked: Free luggage room after check-out. Bike rental available. stellar location: a minute walk to a nearby u-bahn station, and a five-minute walk to a nearby s-bahn station. museums in walking distance.

Disliked: no privacy while taking a shower: anybody could just walk into the door and you are just a shower curtain away. there is a series of large rooms full of beds just lying on the floor. so in order to exit the building, you pass through many rooms filled with beds and people sleeping in it--or, you are one of them while someone else passes you by. There are some lockers available in the rooms, but more often than not, the part where you place your lock is broke so there is no point of storing any valuables in the lockers. free wi-fi available only in the lobby. The bottom line: I have stayed in a better hostel before, and I wouldn't come back to this one.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Chapman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed the bar area, very lively and fun, breakfast was nice.

Disliked: Not very many showers on the floor, but wasnt really a problem because we never had to queue.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the common area was really nice and fun to meet people

Disliked: the bathrooms didn't have paper towels and they were not super great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Gilbert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and atmosphere. We really enjoyed ourselves even though we only stayed a couple of nights.

Disliked: At times the reception and bar seems understaffed with long wait times, also we couldn't access a locker in our room cos other people had used more than one.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Barnard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic bar and facilities. Tons of communal space to meet new people. Room was of hotel standard with a huge bathroom. Very comfortable stay!

Disliked: No kitchen available, slightly annoying. Plus hardly any activities are organised through the hostel, but the bar and communal space made up for this as it was so easy to meet new people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice bar and possibility to meet people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. no complaints loved it!

Disliked: nil

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got "free" breakfast... because they "messed up" our reservations... the breakfast was decent! We were able to print our bus tickets for free at the hostel... We liked the fact that the tour guide "picks you up" at the hostel!

Disliked: We were surprised to learn that our reservation had been "messed up" by a staff member and that he decided to split us up... there is only two of us and we had to sleep in different rooms, and different floors although the hostel clearly had enough beds/rooms to avoid this! The wi-fi only works downstairs, in the reception area... Music in the "bar"/reception area was way too loud to even listen to yourself think...! Staff was rude!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Showers had no locks on the doors

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and they had single beds, not bunker beds. The location was pretty central. Even though the toilet layout was a bit weird, it was spacious and clean.

Disliked: I suffered bedbug bites. Some of the staff were nice but others were just all right. It was kinda inconvenient that there was only wifi in the lobby. Sometimes the wifi was weak or nonexistent. No free breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WONG CHI NGIAP CYRIL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 WONG would recommend this property

Liked: Funny and friendly staffs, really nice place to meet all around ppl, 24/7 bar available, great facilities, 7 bathrooms in one level, clean and comfy. The staffs provide us some information regarding the famous area in the area as well as shown us where to get the best "Currywurst" aka German Sausage delicacies...

Disliked: Pretty much none but some area could be improve is providing more selection of drinks or some snack for the bar. Maybe free wifi around the rooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Swinney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: Free breakfast for stays longer than 4 nights, comfortable beds, warm showers, nice staff, the place looks cool, decent value for how cheap the cost is.

Disliked: The internet was CONSTANTLY messing up, and there was no way to get online when it was messed up. The Wifi was only in the main room, which also serves as a bar so it was LOUD and impossible to do anything online. The beds were not assigned so if you didn't leave stuff on your bed, someone would assume it was empty and take it. If you left stuff on your bed, strange people could take it. There was a couple in my room who completely switched my bed and hid my sheets, as well as throwing the sheets of one other person into another room. Overall good if you want a cheap place. They just annoyed me with the two things I like the most, which are security and Wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stine Staurset Langlo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Stine Staurset would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. Bar and common area was a plus. Quiet in the nights, but still a hostel where you can party downstairs in the bar. They also have tables outside wich was really great when the weather was nice. All in all it is a great hostel that I can really recommend :)

Disliked: There should be a fridge to keep some food and drink. Also two of the female staff was very, very unhelpful. One example, we asked one of them if she could recommend some areas to go shopping, and the answer was "ahhh, don't ask me these difficult questions!!" NOT good service. We also had more bad experiences with another female receptionist when we needed help. Have to point out that all the male staff we talked to were really helpful and nice.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: The location was great within walking distance to alot of the sights and the s bahn station was only around the corner if needed!

Disliked: The staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. In particular in storing medication that needed to be kept refrigerated. Staff member by name of christine was hopeless she was rude and constantly acted as if any question was to hard to answer. We had booked a 3 bedprivate to have own room which was then taken off us and she tried to make us pay extra to have a 2 bed private that we didn't request. You can't check in till 2 yet check out is at 12 wouldn't be an issue but considering u have to make ur own bed not sure why such a fuss was made. Especially when our room still had rubbish in it. On check out we asked if we could store our bags behind the desk Christine rolled her eyes and points to lockers and goes try and use them (on check in we were told by another staff member our bags wouldn't fit in the lockers) Wouldn't recommend to a friend the only good thing was the location and there was plenty of other hostels in the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rich Battersby

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and brilliant value for money. And they had jagermeister on draught!

Disliked: nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphère, the location, the bar in the hostel

Disliked: people were snoring, and the showers are commune

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and general atmosphere.

Disliked: Poor number/quality/location of lockers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ida Tucker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Ida would recommend this property

Liked: spacious, clean, nice common roomwith pool table

Disliked: showers were a bit strange,no lock onthe door,andit was a mixed dorm, i suppose it puts people of staying in the shower for hours on end.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast included!

Disliked: bring earplugs, thin walls..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernanda Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly. The hostel is well located. The breakfast is incredible. It was one of the best hostels I've been to. The price is really good.

Disliked: In the last day I was there, there was this guy from the staff who was really rude. But it was just this guy, because the rest of the staff is really nice. They give you a lot of good advices.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victor Guillon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The place is cool but in Berlin Mite which is not a very funny place of Berlin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikita Gaidouk

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2011 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: BEST Cheapest, Friendliest Hostel! in a Great Location and Breakfast for £3 The atmosphere is awesone and there are a lot of people to make friends with!

Disliked: Nothing really, unless you book the "Big Room" nothing wrong with it its just out of 20 people at least one of them is going to snore really loudly!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kathryn Allen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful, particularly when it looked like we were going to have trouble with getting our plane due to another volcano going off in Iceland. Location is also pretty good, handy to transport links.

Disliked: It is run down. Handing out sheets with holes in them is pretty ordinary and there was no way you could have just slept on the mattress. We were also woken up in the middle of the night by a group of guys who had been checked into and given a card key for our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provided a locker for a refundable deposit

Disliked: Nothing


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels