We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

84.3% Overall Rating

813 out of 877 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/03/2015)

Sergio Angot thinks…

"All members of staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The location is great because is only about ten minutes walk away from all the major tourist spots. Nice and safe atmosphere, fantastic music…"

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit. For New Year bookings 28th-December 2014 - 2nd January 2015; No check-out, no check in on January 1st Bookings need to be paid in full within 10 days after placing the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
16.44 USD

Hostel 92.5% 266 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
10.96 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1192 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
17.54 USD

Hostel 88.5% 175 reviews
Circus Hostel
24.11 USD

Hostel 93.6% 177 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
8.77 USD

Hostel 83.9% 523 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.81 USD

Hostel 76.3% 971 reviews
Citystay Mitte
15.65 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1209 reviews
Hostel Aloha
16.44 USD

Hostel 78.2% 743 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

813 out of 877 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 602 of 709 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Swinney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: Free breakfast for stays longer than 4 nights, comfortable beds, warm showers, nice staff, the place looks cool, decent value for how cheap the cost is.

Disliked: The internet was CONSTANTLY messing up, and there was no way to get online when it was messed up. The Wifi was only in the main room, which also serves as a bar so it was LOUD and impossible to do anything online. The beds were not assigned so if you didn't leave stuff on your bed, someone would assume it was empty and take it. If you left stuff on your bed, strange people could take it. There was a couple in my room who completely switched my bed and hid my sheets, as well as throwing the sheets of one other person into another room. Overall good if you want a cheap place. They just annoyed me with the two things I like the most, which are security and Wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stine Staurset Langlo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Stine Staurset would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. Bar and common area was a plus. Quiet in the nights, but still a hostel where you can party downstairs in the bar. They also have tables outside wich was really great when the weather was nice. All in all it is a great hostel that I can really recommend :)

Disliked: There should be a fridge to keep some food and drink. Also two of the female staff was very, very unhelpful. One example, we asked one of them if she could recommend some areas to go shopping, and the answer was "ahhh, don't ask me these difficult questions!!" NOT good service. We also had more bad experiences with another female receptionist when we needed help. Have to point out that all the male staff we talked to were really helpful and nice.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: The location was great within walking distance to alot of the sights and the s bahn station was only around the corner if needed!

Disliked: The staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. In particular in storing medication that needed to be kept refrigerated. Staff member by name of christine was hopeless she was rude and constantly acted as if any question was to hard to answer. We had booked a 3 bedprivate to have own room which was then taken off us and she tried to make us pay extra to have a 2 bed private that we didn't request. You can't check in till 2 yet check out is at 12 wouldn't be an issue but considering u have to make ur own bed not sure why such a fuss was made. Especially when our room still had rubbish in it. On check out we asked if we could store our bags behind the desk Christine rolled her eyes and points to lockers and goes try and use them (on check in we were told by another staff member our bags wouldn't fit in the lockers) Wouldn't recommend to a friend the only good thing was the location and there was plenty of other hostels in the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rich Battersby

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and brilliant value for money. And they had jagermeister on draught!

Disliked: nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphère, the location, the bar in the hostel

Disliked: people were snoring, and the showers are commune

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and general atmosphere.

Disliked: Poor number/quality/location of lockers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ida Tucker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Ida would recommend this property

Liked: spacious, clean, nice common roomwith pool table

Disliked: showers were a bit strange,no lock onthe door,andit was a mixed dorm, i suppose it puts people of staying in the shower for hours on end.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast included!

Disliked: bring earplugs, thin walls..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernanda Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly. The hostel is well located. The breakfast is incredible. It was one of the best hostels I've been to. The price is really good.

Disliked: In the last day I was there, there was this guy from the staff who was really rude. But it was just this guy, because the rest of the staff is really nice. They give you a lot of good advices.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victor Guillon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The place is cool but in Berlin Mite which is not a very funny place of Berlin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikita Gaidouk

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2011 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: BEST Cheapest, Friendliest Hostel! in a Great Location and Breakfast for £3 The atmosphere is awesone and there are a lot of people to make friends with!

Disliked: Nothing really, unless you book the "Big Room" nothing wrong with it its just out of 20 people at least one of them is going to snore really loudly!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kathryn Allen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful, particularly when it looked like we were going to have trouble with getting our plane due to another volcano going off in Iceland. Location is also pretty good, handy to transport links.

Disliked: It is run down. Handing out sheets with holes in them is pretty ordinary and there was no way you could have just slept on the mattress. We were also woken up in the middle of the night by a group of guys who had been checked into and given a card key for our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provided a locker for a refundable deposit

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

22 May 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good location. They offer a great breakfast, which is free if you stay 3 nights or more.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. Was not a big deal but would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlea Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast if you stay more than 3 nights, free wifi, clean rooms, very secure, lots of lockers available, really nice, friendly, helpful staff, free tea coffee and water 24 hours a day, 24 hour reception, walking tour departs from reception area. Had a great time!

Disliked: My keycard almost never worked and had to be reset at the front desk everytime I wanted in my room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klara Skrenkova

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Klara would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, i want say that the staff was extremely nice and friendly. the girl who was at the reception helped me with everything. I booked a dorm with 14 beds and i was kinda afraid how it will look like but it was okay. There was plenty of space and two showers which were really clean. There are also lockers next tu each bad and of you don't have your own lock you'll just give 10euro deposit. The towel is also free of charge which is awesome.

Disliked: the rooms where the showers are don't have locks.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa Turriani

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, as well as the bathrooms. Also, even if there were lots of people in the hostel and it was in a busy neighborhood, the rooms were very silent. The triple room that I shared with my friends was very big and the bathroom could have been a high level hotel one for size and finish. The location was great, just straight in the center of my favorite part of the city. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast was not included. They offered it for 3 euro 50 which could have been nice and cheap for the standard of the city. Unfortunately the breakfast they offered didn't have juices or eggs and already at nine half of the things were gone (no ham, no chocolate, almost no marmalade).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUI-TING CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 HUI-TING would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and staff~

Disliked: nil.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, great place to meet people

Disliked: the huge dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there are a big courtyard and lounge, where let people have fun. Staff is quite helpful and friendly. They use electronic lock for entrance and all room. The locker room is allow to use after check out without charge.

Disliked: Room is not sondproof at all. Unfortunately, when we stay there, there are a group of children have an excess of energy, in same corridor. We have to suffer their loud laughing, knocking, talking and even jumping whole night and can not sleep at all, it was awful experience!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a fun atmosphere and the breakfast was a great deal; having 24-hour reception was nice

Disliked: Sometimes the 24-hour bar made it a little hard to sleep

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close location from the train stop and just a quick s-bahn stop to the main square. Great place to meet people.

Disliked: The check in time was late.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Minier

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011

Liked: This was a really great hostel. The staff was so nice and always willing to point us in the right direction or tell us the fastest/cheapest way to get somewhere. There's someone at reception 24 hours a day and I spent some time playing games with the people who worked late at night. 24 hour hot chocolate, coffee, and tea didn't hurt either. The weekend pancakes were also awesome - totally something that I've been missing from the US. I was traveling with a group of 5, including me, and so there was a random 6th person in our room, each time an older guy. However, the staff was nice enough to offer them a different room to stay in after each stayed one night - very accommodating!

Disliked: The room we were in was right on Camden Place, so late into the night (~3 am) we would still hear people outside, usually drunk. It's nice that the hostel is so close to bars and clubs, but also annoying when you're exhausted and trying to sleep. The room was also pretty small, but so it goes in hostels.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels