HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

86.1% Overall Rating

763 out of 817 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Daniel Western thinks…

"The location is very convenient if you want to do some sightseeing in the centre of Berlin. Its also pretty cheap. Breakfast is good value for money."

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
24.87 USD

Hostel 89.4% 177 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
13.81 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1146 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
19.34 USD

Hostel 89.9% 149 reviews
Circus Hostel
26.25 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 84.7% 513 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
18.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews
Citystay Mitte
14.09 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1173 reviews
Hostel Aloha
11.05 USD

Hostel 87.2% 717 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

763 out of 817 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 566 of 649 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kathryn Allen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful, particularly when it looked like we were going to have trouble with getting our plane due to another volcano going off in Iceland. Location is also pretty good, handy to transport links.

Disliked: It is run down. Handing out sheets with holes in them is pretty ordinary and there was no way you could have just slept on the mattress. We were also woken up in the middle of the night by a group of guys who had been checked into and given a card key for our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provided a locker for a refundable deposit

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

22 May 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good location. They offer a great breakfast, which is free if you stay 3 nights or more.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. Was not a big deal but would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlea Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast if you stay more than 3 nights, free wifi, clean rooms, very secure, lots of lockers available, really nice, friendly, helpful staff, free tea coffee and water 24 hours a day, 24 hour reception, walking tour departs from reception area. Had a great time!

Disliked: My keycard almost never worked and had to be reset at the front desk everytime I wanted in my room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klara Skrenkova

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Klara would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, i want say that the staff was extremely nice and friendly. the girl who was at the reception helped me with everything. I booked a dorm with 14 beds and i was kinda afraid how it will look like but it was okay. There was plenty of space and two showers which were really clean. There are also lockers next tu each bad and of you don't have your own lock you'll just give 10euro deposit. The towel is also free of charge which is awesome.

Disliked: the rooms where the showers are don't have locks.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa Turriani

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, as well as the bathrooms. Also, even if there were lots of people in the hostel and it was in a busy neighborhood, the rooms were very silent. The triple room that I shared with my friends was very big and the bathroom could have been a high level hotel one for size and finish. The location was great, just straight in the center of my favorite part of the city. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast was not included. They offered it for 3 euro 50 which could have been nice and cheap for the standard of the city. Unfortunately the breakfast they offered didn't have juices or eggs and already at nine half of the things were gone (no ham, no chocolate, almost no marmalade).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUI-TING CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 HUI-TING would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and staff~

Disliked: nil.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, great place to meet people

Disliked: the huge dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there are a big courtyard and lounge, where let people have fun. Staff is quite helpful and friendly. They use electronic lock for entrance and all room. The locker room is allow to use after check out without charge.

Disliked: Room is not sondproof at all. Unfortunately, when we stay there, there are a group of children have an excess of energy, in same corridor. We have to suffer their loud laughing, knocking, talking and even jumping whole night and can not sleep at all, it was awful experience!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a fun atmosphere and the breakfast was a great deal; having 24-hour reception was nice

Disliked: Sometimes the 24-hour bar made it a little hard to sleep

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close location from the train stop and just a quick s-bahn stop to the main square. Great place to meet people.

Disliked: The check in time was late.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Minier

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011

Liked: This was a really great hostel. The staff was so nice and always willing to point us in the right direction or tell us the fastest/cheapest way to get somewhere. There's someone at reception 24 hours a day and I spent some time playing games with the people who worked late at night. 24 hour hot chocolate, coffee, and tea didn't hurt either. The weekend pancakes were also awesome - totally something that I've been missing from the US. I was traveling with a group of 5, including me, and so there was a random 6th person in our room, each time an older guy. However, the staff was nice enough to offer them a different room to stay in after each stayed one night - very accommodating!

Disliked: The room we were in was right on Camden Place, so late into the night (~3 am) we would still hear people outside, usually drunk. It's nice that the hostel is so close to bars and clubs, but also annoying when you're exhausted and trying to sleep. The room was also pretty small, but so it goes in hostels.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, atmosphere, big rooms, clean, some bunk/some single beds

Disliked: Beds are incredibly uncomfortable. The mattresses are flimsy and there is a big metal bar across the middle of the frame that jabs into your hips. But maybe they are not all like that?!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Aloni

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were particularly helpful and answered all questions we had and were very freindly. The atmosphere was good and we felt comfortable right away. Loved the room we stayed in, it felt more like a loft apartment with really modern facilities. The buffet breakfast was suprisingly good for a hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, breakfast well-served from 8-12, not a problem for late risers! Staff members are helpful to sort things out and offer directions!

Disliked: People are so loud in the lounge, and the hostel always plays loud music even around and after mid-night. We can only use wifi at the lounge, so must bear with the nuisance when we have to use the internet, would be a lot better if gentler music is played. Sometimes people shouted in the courtyard, and can be clearly heard even in my room on the second floor...would be nicer if staff can remind people to keep quiet after midnight in the garden...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Unruh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the theme was great and the atmosphere of the lounge area was awesome. It was a great place to sit down, have a drink, play some pool, chat with friends, and relax after a long day of sight seeing.

Disliked: People weren't as open and friendly as other places. Also there were a strange amount of elder people there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, comfortable, clean bathroom!! very efficient location.

Disliked: Well, a little bit noisy, dark light, huge room? :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, free internet access, close to all the attractions

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karina bond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 karina would recommend this property

Liked: this place was the best place i have stayed has a 24 bar. the rooms are so so so so nice in the 8 bed dorms. it had a lovely breakfast till12 . really good place recomended.

Disliked: shame it didnt have a micro or kitchen but could use the other hostel up the road with ur hostel card.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms

Disliked: Someone entered our room by mistake as the keys matched.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location, staff helpfulness, cards with offer for museums and other

Disliked: a bit cold at night, could have used an extra blanket

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common meeting place which is big enough and good to socialise. Beds were single and they provided bedsheets. Showers and toilets were rather clean too.

Disliked: No wifi connection from the rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful atmosphere.

Disliked: The behaviour of the most of employees.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels