HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

84.7% Overall Rating

788 out of 847 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"There is nothing not to like about this hostel. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean and it has a good location."

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
22.75 USD

Hostel 92.3% 214 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
14.72 USD

Hostel 86.7% 1165 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
20.74 USD

Hostel 89.9% 164 reviews
Circus Hostel
34.98 USD

Hostel 94.2% 169 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
17.40 USD

Hostel 84.3% 521 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
16.86 USD

Hostel 79.0% 961 reviews
Citystay Mitte
19.11 USD

Hostel 92.3% 1193 reviews
Hostel Aloha
20.07 USD

Hostel 86.2% 726 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

788 out of 847 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 584 of 679 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Barnard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic bar and facilities. Tons of communal space to meet new people. Room was of hotel standard with a huge bathroom. Very comfortable stay!

Disliked: No kitchen available, slightly annoying. Plus hardly any activities are organised through the hostel, but the bar and communal space made up for this as it was so easy to meet new people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice bar and possibility to meet people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. no complaints loved it!

Disliked: nil

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got "free" breakfast... because they "messed up" our reservations... the breakfast was decent! We were able to print our bus tickets for free at the hostel... We liked the fact that the tour guide "picks you up" at the hostel!

Disliked: We were surprised to learn that our reservation had been "messed up" by a staff member and that he decided to split us up... there is only two of us and we had to sleep in different rooms, and different floors although the hostel clearly had enough beds/rooms to avoid this! The wi-fi only works downstairs, in the reception area... Music in the "bar"/reception area was way too loud to even listen to yourself think...! Staff was rude!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Showers had no locks on the doors

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and they had single beds, not bunker beds. The location was pretty central. Even though the toilet layout was a bit weird, it was spacious and clean.

Disliked: I suffered bedbug bites. Some of the staff were nice but others were just all right. It was kinda inconvenient that there was only wifi in the lobby. Sometimes the wifi was weak or nonexistent. No free breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WONG CHI NGIAP CYRIL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 WONG would recommend this property

Liked: Funny and friendly staffs, really nice place to meet all around ppl, 24/7 bar available, great facilities, 7 bathrooms in one level, clean and comfy. The staffs provide us some information regarding the famous area in the area as well as shown us where to get the best "Currywurst" aka German Sausage delicacies...

Disliked: Pretty much none but some area could be improve is providing more selection of drinks or some snack for the bar. Maybe free wifi around the rooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Swinney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: Free breakfast for stays longer than 4 nights, comfortable beds, warm showers, nice staff, the place looks cool, decent value for how cheap the cost is.

Disliked: The internet was CONSTANTLY messing up, and there was no way to get online when it was messed up. The Wifi was only in the main room, which also serves as a bar so it was LOUD and impossible to do anything online. The beds were not assigned so if you didn't leave stuff on your bed, someone would assume it was empty and take it. If you left stuff on your bed, strange people could take it. There was a couple in my room who completely switched my bed and hid my sheets, as well as throwing the sheets of one other person into another room. Overall good if you want a cheap place. They just annoyed me with the two things I like the most, which are security and Wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stine Staurset Langlo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Stine Staurset would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. Bar and common area was a plus. Quiet in the nights, but still a hostel where you can party downstairs in the bar. They also have tables outside wich was really great when the weather was nice. All in all it is a great hostel that I can really recommend :)

Disliked: There should be a fridge to keep some food and drink. Also two of the female staff was very, very unhelpful. One example, we asked one of them if she could recommend some areas to go shopping, and the answer was "ahhh, don't ask me these difficult questions!!" NOT good service. We also had more bad experiences with another female receptionist when we needed help. Have to point out that all the male staff we talked to were really helpful and nice.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: The location was great within walking distance to alot of the sights and the s bahn station was only around the corner if needed!

Disliked: The staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. In particular in storing medication that needed to be kept refrigerated. Staff member by name of christine was hopeless she was rude and constantly acted as if any question was to hard to answer. We had booked a 3 bedprivate to have own room which was then taken off us and she tried to make us pay extra to have a 2 bed private that we didn't request. You can't check in till 2 yet check out is at 12 wouldn't be an issue but considering u have to make ur own bed not sure why such a fuss was made. Especially when our room still had rubbish in it. On check out we asked if we could store our bags behind the desk Christine rolled her eyes and points to lockers and goes try and use them (on check in we were told by another staff member our bags wouldn't fit in the lockers) Wouldn't recommend to a friend the only good thing was the location and there was plenty of other hostels in the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rich Battersby

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and brilliant value for money. And they had jagermeister on draught!

Disliked: nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphère, the location, the bar in the hostel

Disliked: people were snoring, and the showers are commune

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and general atmosphere.

Disliked: Poor number/quality/location of lockers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ida Tucker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Ida would recommend this property

Liked: spacious, clean, nice common roomwith pool table

Disliked: showers were a bit strange,no lock onthe door,andit was a mixed dorm, i suppose it puts people of staying in the shower for hours on end.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast included!

Disliked: bring earplugs, thin walls..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernanda Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly. The hostel is well located. The breakfast is incredible. It was one of the best hostels I've been to. The price is really good.

Disliked: In the last day I was there, there was this guy from the staff who was really rude. But it was just this guy, because the rest of the staff is really nice. They give you a lot of good advices.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victor Guillon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The place is cool but in Berlin Mite which is not a very funny place of Berlin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikita Gaidouk

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2011 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: BEST Cheapest, Friendliest Hostel! in a Great Location and Breakfast for £3 The atmosphere is awesone and there are a lot of people to make friends with!

Disliked: Nothing really, unless you book the "Big Room" nothing wrong with it its just out of 20 people at least one of them is going to snore really loudly!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kathryn Allen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful, particularly when it looked like we were going to have trouble with getting our plane due to another volcano going off in Iceland. Location is also pretty good, handy to transport links.

Disliked: It is run down. Handing out sheets with holes in them is pretty ordinary and there was no way you could have just slept on the mattress. We were also woken up in the middle of the night by a group of guys who had been checked into and given a card key for our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provided a locker for a refundable deposit

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

22 May 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good location. They offer a great breakfast, which is free if you stay 3 nights or more.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. Was not a big deal but would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlea Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast if you stay more than 3 nights, free wifi, clean rooms, very secure, lots of lockers available, really nice, friendly, helpful staff, free tea coffee and water 24 hours a day, 24 hour reception, walking tour departs from reception area. Had a great time!

Disliked: My keycard almost never worked and had to be reset at the front desk everytime I wanted in my room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klara Skrenkova

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Klara would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, i want say that the staff was extremely nice and friendly. the girl who was at the reception helped me with everything. I booked a dorm with 14 beds and i was kinda afraid how it will look like but it was okay. There was plenty of space and two showers which were really clean. There are also lockers next tu each bad and of you don't have your own lock you'll just give 10euro deposit. The towel is also free of charge which is awesome.

Disliked: the rooms where the showers are don't have locks.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa Turriani

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, as well as the bathrooms. Also, even if there were lots of people in the hostel and it was in a busy neighborhood, the rooms were very silent. The triple room that I shared with my friends was very big and the bathroom could have been a high level hotel one for size and finish. The location was great, just straight in the center of my favorite part of the city. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast was not included. They offered it for 3 euro 50 which could have been nice and cheap for the standard of the city. Unfortunately the breakfast they offered didn't have juices or eggs and already at nine half of the things were gone (no ham, no chocolate, almost no marmalade).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUI-TING CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 HUI-TING would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and staff~

Disliked: nil.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels