HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.30USD

Important Information

Groups consisting of more than 9 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through this website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.
-
Special Conditions for New Years bookings including 31st December:
Minimum stay is 5 Nights. No Check-In or Check-Out on 1st January. The full prepayment is required, your credit card will be charged immediately with the full amount. It is not refundable in case of cancellation or no show. If the full payment is not possible, the booking won't be complete and you might loose your beds.
-
City Tax is not included in the prices.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 90%

Showing 31-40 of 115 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place! Everything was top notch! I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend to other travelers! Bathroom was always clean. Room was big! it's always great when you can sit on your bed and your head not touch the roof/top bunk :) Staff were friendly and helpful. Really good value for money Breakfast was really decent!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location. clean and tidy . helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: The pillows were terrible

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Incredibly good value, great location just 5 mins walk away from one of the main Berlin stations with shops and only 15/20 mins walk to Brandenburg Gate. Free WiFi, was a free weekday breakfast promotion for November, free maps and free lockers in rooms (with €10 lock deposit). All in all a great place!

Disliked: Mattresses maybe a tad thin but decent sized beds nonetheless. Only complaint would be the no drinking in the rooms rule, but also understandable with neighbours located nearby, and bar downstairs was pretty good value and decent atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bar and pool table

Disliked: The pillows

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Fantastic location and good downstairs lounge area with a cheap bar. Hot showers, towels available, warm!

Disliked: Not enough toilets or showers!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, nice bed, lockers, computers (but in german) coffe and tea all the time

Disliked: No internet in the room!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Overall great! Stayed in the mega dorm, the bathroom and rooms were clean, mega dorm had its own kitchen and small common area which was nice. Rooms and lobby had lockers but you have to use a padlock, which is no problem since they let you borrow one by leaving a deposit. Close to the metro station and only a 15 minute walk to Brandenberg Tor. Chill atmosphere; if you wanted to socialize with people, you could at the bar; if you wanted to be a recluse, you could chill on your bed without too much problems with noise.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't really work in the room with the beds, but it did work in the common area of the mega dorm, so it wasn't too much of a hassle. Also, not a lot of outlets

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is located in Berlin central area and it is easy to find stores.

Disliked: They should have rooms expecialy for people planning to stay longer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a great location, the many staff were very friendly and truly tried to help me when I ran into a few issues with this hostel. It was always clean and there was free coffee and they had soy milk as well which is great. The rooms were very secure. Lockers in the rooms though it didnt fit my luggage, I took my luggage every day out of the room and in the lockers downstairs. Overall the hostel was great though it can be very loud at night.

Disliked: I stayed 5 nights and switched rooms 4 times. The first night I was exhausted from 15 hours travelling so asked to be upgraded for a private room for one night. It was pricey as it was a triple bed and last minute but they made the switch for me just fine. Next night I went back to the 6 bed mixed dorm I had originally booked. I was harassed in the middle of the night by the 3 men in the room and was very uncomfortable so the next night I switched to a single for 2 nights. The lady made a mistake and deleted at that point my 5th night reservation so I had no room for my last night. I waited one hour for them to figure it out but they couldn't so I came back 10 hours later. They sorted it out and booked me another room. Overall while there was many problems they were friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff, great location walking distance to museum island, the reichstag, etc I even walked to the TV tower in Alexander platz! Bathroom and showers were clean, and as a solo male traveller, it can be abit daunting at first to join a group but it's not really an issue. There are free walking tours too. Good hostel great location, and it's not a rowdy party hostel, more a fun environment if you wish.

Disliked: Stayed in the 41bed dorm, literally cannot get any sleep as the amount of people coming in and out and fidgeting opening and closing suitcases and zippers and plastic bags. Though people do try to be quiet it's just way too many people in a room. But that's the only issue.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability