HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin Hostel

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.52USD

Important Information

Groups consisting of more than 9 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through this website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.
-
Special Conditions for New Years bookings including 31st December:
Minimum stay is 5 Nights. No Check-In or Check-Out on 1st January. The full prepayment is required, your credit card will be charged immediately with the full amount. It is not refundable in case of cancellation or no show. If the full payment is not possible, the booking won't be complete and you might loose your beds.
-
City Tax is not included in the prices.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 91%

Showing 31-40 of 124 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is located in Berlin central area and it is easy to find stores.

Disliked: They should have rooms expecialy for people planning to stay longer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a great location, the many staff were very friendly and truly tried to help me when I ran into a few issues with this hostel. It was always clean and there was free coffee and they had soy milk as well which is great. The rooms were very secure. Lockers in the rooms though it didnt fit my luggage, I took my luggage every day out of the room and in the lockers downstairs. Overall the hostel was great though it can be very loud at night.

Disliked: I stayed 5 nights and switched rooms 4 times. The first night I was exhausted from 15 hours travelling so asked to be upgraded for a private room for one night. It was pricey as it was a triple bed and last minute but they made the switch for me just fine. Next night I went back to the 6 bed mixed dorm I had originally booked. I was harassed in the middle of the night by the 3 men in the room and was very uncomfortable so the next night I switched to a single for 2 nights. The lady made a mistake and deleted at that point my 5th night reservation so I had no room for my last night. I waited one hour for them to figure it out but they couldn't so I came back 10 hours later. They sorted it out and booked me another room. Overall while there was many problems they were friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff, great location walking distance to museum island, the reichstag, etc I even walked to the TV tower in Alexander platz! Bathroom and showers were clean, and as a solo male traveller, it can be abit daunting at first to join a group but it's not really an issue. There are free walking tours too. Good hostel great location, and it's not a rowdy party hostel, more a fun environment if you wish.

Disliked: Stayed in the 41bed dorm, literally cannot get any sleep as the amount of people coming in and out and fidgeting opening and closing suitcases and zippers and plastic bags. Though people do try to be quiet it's just way too many people in a room. But that's the only issue.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Sometimes too noise downstair at the bar.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Not too cramped. Outdoor area. Cheap beer. Safe and secure. Excellent location.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fun atmosphere

Disliked: Squeaky bank bad

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff and social atmosphere. Value was fantastic. Too many good things to say. Facilities were impressive.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing, they went above and beyond to help me out when I thought I'd lost my passport, so friendly and helpful. The general atmosphere of the hostel was very homely and chilled.

Disliked: The drinks at the bar were very expensive

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's a good hostel, the position is superb. Also nice breakfast, although not particularly fancy. But it is abundant and cheap.

Disliked: Very crowded, also late at night there's was a fight between some drunk guest that woke us up and kept on going for a while without the staff intervening before half a hour or so.Rooms have no air con, so because it was hot we had to leave windows open to the yard, where in the morning people have breakfast, so we were woken up. Bring earplugs and that's a non issue.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, helpful staff. Nice bar and good atmosphere. I was travelling alone, but I found it easy to meet people here. The room was clean and the place felt secure.

Disliked: There weren't many showers, so there was often a wait in the mornings, but overall this was a minor complaint.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability