HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

84.6% Overall Rating

802 out of 864 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2014)

Josnei Luis Olszewski Junior thinks…

"Good location, easy to find and in extreme good conditions. Would totally recommend!"

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit. For New Year bookings 28th-December 2014 - 2nd January 2015; No check-out, no check in on January 1st Bookings need to be paid in full within 10 days after placing the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
21.51 USD

Hostel 92.3% 232 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hostel 88.5% 1179 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
18.98 USD

Hostel 88.6% 170 reviews
Circus Hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 93.4% 174 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 84.3% 521 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
15.94 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
Citystay Mitte
18.06 USD

Hostel 87.5% 1204 reviews
Hostel Aloha
13.79 USD

Hostel 86.9% 730 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

802 out of 864 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 593 of 696 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the ACCOMMODATION AND SERVICE!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELIA LAGUIA CUARTERO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 ELIA would recommend this property

Liked: Localitation is the best! You can go on foot to the touristics places like Museum Island, Berlin dom, Branderburg tor, Parliament... atmosphere is really good and workers too. Price is really cheap.

Disliked: you don't have internet in the rooms and in the main hall sometimes wifi works bad... you don't have freedom for cooking your own meal, but you can order utensils for breakfast (but with cold milk :) )

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 6-bed rooms are usually not fully booked at night there are bathtubs

Disliked: a boomingly loud tourist group in the lobby

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie mills

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 katie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, lockers in the rooms, close to the s-Bahn station, bar area was nice, free wifi downstairs, clean linen and towels, free tea and coffee all day, breakfast available, showed a film one night, pool table. Nice atmosphere, lots of clean bathrooms. Staff were helpful, lots of vouchers for reduced entry to beeline museums.

Disliked: would have been better if there was a kitchen, and the wifi wasn't available in the rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Johannes Bergmark

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: Simple but the basic needs provided. Breakfast was extra but priceworthy.

Disliked: Sometimes noisy roommates and construction work early morning. But I suppose that's not the hostel to blame for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariana Kissa Soares dos Santos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Mariana Kissa would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything.. location, cleanliness, safety, atmosphere, breakfast (but it is 4 euro)

Disliked: no wifi in the bedrooms... reception a little bit slow and seems to be a bit disorganized.. no commun kitchen =s

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very big, a lot of space. Bathrooms are clean. You have free coffee all day which is very nice in winter. The staff is very friendly and the bar is cool.

Disliked: Everything was OK!.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very welcoming and nice. Very helpful and freindly. The loby is nicly set. The bathroom is pretty privet!

Disliked: Nothing really...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This hostel has a policy of charging you for the first night if you do not cancel within 24 hours. In accordance with this I emailed their head office at the backpackernetwork after their email server's junkmail filter kept rejecting my emails. Evidently the message wasn't passed on as I was charged anyway. I then called them and they were quite rude in response. I then sent them a facebook message (as their email address still didn't work) that they never checked (I even called to tell them about the message). When I went to the hostel to try and sort this out before I left Berlin I was told the manager was looking at it and they would let me know that day. It is now a week later with no response and I have to try to go through my bank to cancel the credit card charge. I cannot comment on the location, rooms, etc but I would advise people not to give this hostel your credit card details as in the event of any issues they have not been very organised or helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and breakfast, with a great theme and atmosphere in the lobby for hanging out and enjoying downtime in Berlin. Little out of the way to get to, but great location once you're there with lots of excellent food and touring opportunities nearby. Heated floors in the room.

Disliked: Room was plain, poorly lit, and very echoey with poor sound insulation, so could get very loud very quickly. Wifi only in the lobby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location,good price and open 24/24

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.. central located.. everything okay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everthing this was a great hostel!!

Disliked: nothing was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel. In a great location! It was clean and pleasant. Will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: I like everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast v good. Rooms and beds comfortable and spacious.

Disliked: No kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was chill and not stuffed with smoke, the staff was freindly and helpfull. All in all, a good place to stay. The fifty bed dorm is not actually bad at all. Its more like three little dorms.

Disliked: n/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012

Liked: Rooms are nice.

Disliked: It's an ok hostel, but the staff in the hostel is very unfriendly, to say the least. In fact I have never been treated worse than that in a hostel. The American guy at the reception seems to always be angry at you, talking in a very unpleasant way. The guy with the tatoos actually yelled at us, as if we were 6 year olds, when we accidentally opened a window in our room we shouldn't have. I am used to be treated with minimal respect and this certainly did not happen in this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and good value for the money. Only stayed one day but defiantly seems you could party if you want to but also sleep if you don't.

Disliked: Really big for my taste.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful or friendly. I was with my friends, but not staying as many nights so I had to book separately. They wouldn't put us in the same room, and when I arrived they wouldn't tell me which room my friends were in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel at a great location! Very easy to reach, a lot of main tourist attractions within walking distance (if you don't mind a bit of walking, even the main train station), great bar and common room, very clean and comfortable rooms,...

Disliked: There was no laundry machine and no kitchen (they don't claim that they have on their website or hostelbookers, so you can't really blame them, but you kind of expect that of such a big hostel). They gave us directions to a laundry facility 5 min away, but there was none on this street or any side street around; it took us very long to find one after asking a lot of people... We found it a bit strange that they don't know where you could wash your clothes if they don't have a washing machine... They acted as if we were the first people ever to ask this question.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the first we had ever stayed at and it was a great way to start our trip. Everything was very clean and we had lots of room. I was worried because we'd booked in the 50 bed dorm but the beds were spread out across several rooms so it wasn't crowded at all. Also, the showers were great. Good pressure and the bathrooms were almost never crowded.

Disliked: Bathroom doors don't lock. But this was never a problem as people understood a closed door to be a locked door.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Suzzanne Biro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Suzzanne would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the property was in walking distance of alot of the attractions and it was super easy to find! very close to public transportation. And the free coffee/tea all day was good too

Disliked: Sadly I found it to be very very very loud (7am a staff guy came into the dorm room to wheel out laundry carts, slamming the door both times), Finding a bed in the 50 dorm room was a game of "where's waldo"......at midnight trying to find a bed that hasn't been "claimed", this gave you a freedom to choose, but also very hard when all the beds appear taken, took over 30 mins to find a free bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jay Edwards

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to come and stay the night without hassle.

Disliked: Jay left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here before and Heart of Gold didn't disappoint a second time. Great staff and facilities, and a really central location.

Disliked: In the 50 bed room (which is by no means as noisy as you would think!) the showers have no locks.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels