HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

85.1% Overall Rating

786 out of 844 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"There is nothing not to like about this hostel. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean and it has a good location."

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
34.83 USD

Hostel 91.8% 203 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
14.74 USD

Hostel 87.2% 1162 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
24.12 USD

Hostel 90.6% 162 reviews
Circus Hostel
35.02 USD

Hostel 94.9% 165 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
18.76 USD

Hostel 84.8% 520 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
16.88 USD

Hostel 82.1% 958 reviews
Citystay Mitte
23.23 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1189 reviews
Hostel Aloha
14.60 USD

Hostel 86.2% 726 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

786 out of 844 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 583 of 676 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location,good price and open 24/24

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.. central located.. everything okay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everthing this was a great hostel!!

Disliked: nothing was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel. In a great location! It was clean and pleasant. Will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: I like everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast v good. Rooms and beds comfortable and spacious.

Disliked: No kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was chill and not stuffed with smoke, the staff was freindly and helpfull. All in all, a good place to stay. The fifty bed dorm is not actually bad at all. Its more like three little dorms.

Disliked: n/a

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012

Liked: Rooms are nice.

Disliked: It's an ok hostel, but the staff in the hostel is very unfriendly, to say the least. In fact I have never been treated worse than that in a hostel. The American guy at the reception seems to always be angry at you, talking in a very unpleasant way. The guy with the tatoos actually yelled at us, as if we were 6 year olds, when we accidentally opened a window in our room we shouldn't have. I am used to be treated with minimal respect and this certainly did not happen in this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and good value for the money. Only stayed one day but defiantly seems you could party if you want to but also sleep if you don't.

Disliked: Really big for my taste.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful or friendly. I was with my friends, but not staying as many nights so I had to book separately. They wouldn't put us in the same room, and when I arrived they wouldn't tell me which room my friends were in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel at a great location! Very easy to reach, a lot of main tourist attractions within walking distance (if you don't mind a bit of walking, even the main train station), great bar and common room, very clean and comfortable rooms,...

Disliked: There was no laundry machine and no kitchen (they don't claim that they have on their website or hostelbookers, so you can't really blame them, but you kind of expect that of such a big hostel). They gave us directions to a laundry facility 5 min away, but there was none on this street or any side street around; it took us very long to find one after asking a lot of people... We found it a bit strange that they don't know where you could wash your clothes if they don't have a washing machine... They acted as if we were the first people ever to ask this question.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the first we had ever stayed at and it was a great way to start our trip. Everything was very clean and we had lots of room. I was worried because we'd booked in the 50 bed dorm but the beds were spread out across several rooms so it wasn't crowded at all. Also, the showers were great. Good pressure and the bathrooms were almost never crowded.

Disliked: Bathroom doors don't lock. But this was never a problem as people understood a closed door to be a locked door.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Suzzanne Biro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Suzzanne would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the property was in walking distance of alot of the attractions and it was super easy to find! very close to public transportation. And the free coffee/tea all day was good too

Disliked: Sadly I found it to be very very very loud (7am a staff guy came into the dorm room to wheel out laundry carts, slamming the door both times), Finding a bed in the 50 dorm room was a game of "where's waldo"......at midnight trying to find a bed that hasn't been "claimed", this gave you a freedom to choose, but also very hard when all the beds appear taken, took over 30 mins to find a free bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jay Edwards

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to come and stay the night without hassle.

Disliked: Jay left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here before and Heart of Gold didn't disappoint a second time. Great staff and facilities, and a really central location.

Disliked: In the 50 bed room (which is by no means as noisy as you would think!) the showers have no locks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaden Scholes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2012 Jaden would recommend this property

Liked: it was very cool and looked very nice

Disliked: that the court yard is also connected to appartment biuldings and office biuldings so we get kicked out of the court yard

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephen Lerch

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything. If you want to meet people, then this is your place. There are great places to hang out, surf the net, get to know people etc. The rooms are clean, there is a pool table, foozball table, bar, good tunes and a decent breakfast for 4 euros.

Disliked: No laundry, I had to spend my whole morning at a laundromat. I never received a towel A couple of the staff members are downright rude and have a really bad attitude, particularly this guy named Jackobo. I asked politely if they could turn down the music so that I could make a very important business phone call on Skype (The strongest WiFi signal is right under a speaker), they did not want to turn down the music because it would, "wreck the ambiance". I finally got a guy to turn it down after asking twice. Jackbo flat out refused to lower the volume at first, he seemed to think that I should have to go to an internet cafe to make a Skype call. As I looked at the 4 other people Skyping I wondered why the hell I picked a hostel that advertises free internet if I didn't think that I could use it. I don't come on vacation to to be treated like a twelve year old, and to be demeaned by someone 10 years my junior.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kylie allen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 kylie would recommend this property

Liked: nice bathrooms. very clean. exellent location. wi fi is amazing.

Disliked: reception gets very bussy and you can stand there for a while while people are just walking around but wont serve u.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: die internationale Atmosphäre die super hervorragende Lage

Disliked: Zimmer ohne Handtuch und Dusche teilweise zu laut (morgens um halb 6 gröhlten die Leute immernoch vor dem Hostel)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decently located in between Oranienburg S and U Bahn stations. Huge rooms (the 50 bed dorm is spread out over three large rooms). Cheap.

Disliked: The rooms were huge and too well ventilated - meaning it got very cold at night (although in the summer this would be a plus). Bathrooms were weird - only a shower curtain to block your privacy. And since the showers were so close to the hallway, water often spilled out. And a big minus - my friend's camera got stolen out of his bag which he left on the bed for awhile. The staff even said that this was quite common. The lockers are there for a reason, BEWARE.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Baggott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place close to everything, good value for money.

Disliked: Some of the staff members were horrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Dickey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. 50 bed dorm is great. Very spacious and clean. Good staff and amazing free breakfast. Met a lot of good travelers at this hostel. Would definitely visit here again.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marisa Minogue

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2012 Marisa would recommend this property

Liked: Fun environment, good breakfast, not too expensive

Disliked: I didn't like that we had to pay for internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Pike

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Really please with location (less than 5 minute walk from Subway). Brilliant for tourist attractions, river spree, eateries etc. Well run, organised, even extension leads to charge phone/laptop (bring your adaptor!). Good breakfast which included cheese and 1 type of cold cut. Decent sized lockers in rooms to accommodate mid size suitcase/rucksack. Stayed in a 4 bed female dorm; individual reading light attached to the head of the bed so no need for bunker lighting if somebody needed to get to sleep earlier. Read by review on Trip Adviser.

Disliked: Nothing. Could be potentially noisy with slamming doors, large groups etc but my experience was of a good sleep ... but then I was very tired.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, however encountered a few issues with the pay phone

Disliked: The room had a funny odour, as did the whole corridor. Squeaky beds


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels