We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

83.2% Overall Rating

800 out of 862 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/09/2014)

Jan Neulinger thinks…

"Really nice hostel, great common room, rooms and beds were good. Really good deal for the little money. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to other travelers! The location is super centrally,…"

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
30.45 USD

Hostel 92.0% 230 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
12.69 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1175 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
22.83 USD

Hostel 88.7% 169 reviews
Circus Hostel
33.16 USD

Hostel 93.4% 174 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
16.49 USD

Hostel 84.3% 521 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
15.98 USD

Hostel 76.8% 963 reviews
Citystay Mitte
18.11 USD

Hostel 87.5% 1204 reviews
Hostel Aloha
15.10 USD

Hostel 86.1% 729 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

800 out of 862 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 592 of 694 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Sequeira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Besides the good location, it did have a very friendly atmosphere, everything was clean and the breakfast was also really nice and not expensive at all.

Disliked: Nothing to point out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was also very conveniently located to most of the famous sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony parry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: This is a party hostel almost every nite there is people drinkin inside or even outiside. Huge bathrooms and huge rooms, close 2 all the good site and just a short ride 2 berlin wall east.

Disliked: sorry 2 say but the worst internet EVER. could never pick it up unless there was no1 there and still bad. didnt have it but the breakfast look really cheap and nothin really special and for 4 euro as well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Schmitz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and convenient for me.

Disliked: They screwed up my reservation. I'd paid for a private room and they put me in a dorm. They said they didn't have any private rooms left. They refunded me the difference, but it was far from what I'd reserved. Also, their wifi wasn't usable. I'm not sure why they even offered it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful. Special thanks to the reception guy, who helped me when I lost my passport at the aeroport!

Disliked: There was silence between 22.00-06.00 but no one seemed to care about it. We woke up many times during the night because of people speaking loud and partying at the corridor. Maybe this hostel suits best for people who come to Berlin to party, not to run a marathon as we did...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and everything you need in a hostel for a very decent price

Disliked: Not a lot if bathroom facilities for such a large hostel and the wifi didint work a lot of the time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kassandra Slack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Kassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, had a sweet stay. Good for solo travellers, bar is good for meeting people, location is close to Ubahn, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Troy WHITMARSH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: The bar/breakfast area is pretty cool.

Disliked: The rooms were very noisy. The smoking area for the bar is the large courtyard in the middle of the building which means all the noise from people talking, singing and yelling whilst drinking echo's up to the rooms. Even though we were on the 4th floor it was really loud until past 3am. It was then really loud again in the morning from about 8 which made it hard to even sleep in. The rooms were very cold, there was a thermostat on the wall which did nothing. This is an even bigger problems because the blanket you are provided with is barely big enough to cover your whole body at one time and comes off whenever you move or roll over. I slept in layers of clothes. Overall thoroughly disappointed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: A super friendly place... The hostel is well set up with the pub/courtyard/hallway areas for hanging out, so that people don't make too much noise in the dorms at night time. I liked the atmosphere and decor. It seemed very new and clean.

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Stayed here before and would again. Really no complaints at all. Breakfast could be a bit cheaper (currently €4) but that's a optional extra anyway. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a top class hostel, would recommend staying there

Disliked: Only thing I'd point out that I would have liked to change, they have those annoying showers you have to keep pressing on that last only 10 seconds. And the wifi is restricted to just downstairs (probably purposely) and my devices always seemed to want to drop out of the connection.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Pask

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: The building is very nice, with all the rooms facing a courtyard, with large Windows in a modern building

Disliked: I felt sorry for the staff, as they sometimes seemed very busy serving at the bar, checking people in and answering questions all at the same time. So when the staff had time they were helpful, but not always. Also the noise from the courtyard travels to all the rooms. There is a sign up saying no noise after 10pm and the area was closed, but nobody seemed to enforce this

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the spacious and clean rooms. Bathrooms were really good quality and always maintained. Security for the rooms was good having the card system and the buzzer to get into the hostel. I liked that there was a lift in the building. Plenty of powerpoints and lamps for the beds. Really good location, an easy 5 minute walk to Friedrichstrabe and local train station.

Disliked: Rooms were not air conditioned. No wifi in the rooms(not really a major concern).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar is absolutely great - the hostel has a fab atmosphere, everyone interacts with each other and you make lots of friends! Decent location, good spacious bedrooms, bathroom was always clean.

Disliked: No kitchen!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Frank Zimmermann

Alone

City break

04 July 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great

Disliked: In the evening the smokers area is just outside the entrance hall, door open, the smokers stink up the whole seating area inside. Teenagers screaming all night, hard to get any sleep at all

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Harvinder Singh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013

Liked: clean room

Disliked: some staff are not friendly..services not good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, central, good facilities, good value

Disliked: nix

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Zhiting Wang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: convenient

Disliked: the rooms are smelly

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: not enough showers/toilets, not very clean, badly damaged lockers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Theo Kooiman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Theo would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the location and the beds

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, next to most attractions and the metro station. Common area is very large and has a good atmosphere.

Disliked: I booked the mega 20 bed room. There are far too many people in the room. I could not sleep well through the night.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sven siebert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: worst staff ever

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location!

Disliked: bathrooms are not the best you can imagine, but they're ok....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucio Aguirre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 March 2013 Lucio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, specially the funny guy in the reception, hes awesome! The breakfast is really really good, I had it every single day! Trams and subways right on the corner! Funniest shower ever, it's really strong so if you let the thing loose it will fly all over the place, loved it.

Disliked: Wifi only in the reception is ok but not my favorite, sometimes there are not enough electric plugs. The shower timer is really short!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the ACCOMMODATION AND SERVICE!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels