HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Hostel | Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany 10117

85.9% Overall Rating

786 out of 843 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"There is nothing not to like about this hostel. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean and it has a good location."

Read all Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that groups consisting of more than 10 people must book via the group bookings department. The hostel does not accept these bookings through the website and reserves the right to cancel them without refunding the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Generator Berlin Mitte
29.69 USD

Hostel 91.8% 203 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
14.85 USD

Hostel 87.9% 1160 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
21.60 USD

Hostel 90.6% 162 reviews
Circus Hostel
35.28 USD

Hostel 94.3% 164 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
21.60 USD

Hostel 84.9% 519 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
17.01 USD

Hostel 82.1% 958 reviews
Citystay Mitte
24.09 USD

Hostel 90.9% 1186 reviews
Hostel Aloha
14.71 USD

Hostel 86.3% 725 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

786 out of 843 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 583 of 675 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free coffee

Disliked: Internet is too slow...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, clean, very good location! Internet only até the reception, but it was ok! I really recommed!

Disliked: Lockers in the room didn't look very safe.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Octavio de Oliveira Santos Neto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Octavio would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, big bathroom, good shower, luggage room.

Disliked: Dirty bathroom, no towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of fun!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafal Staleski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Rafal would recommend this property

Liked: Location in city center, very good price, credit card payments, no unexpected/hidden costs, open 24h, helpful staff

Disliked: lack of kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had great stay in this hostel: clean, nice common room, easy going ppl, good location. I booked for one night and than extend to three!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kamers, badkamers en wc's waren schoon en nieuw. Locatie is perfect. Veilige buurt en veilig hostel. Ontbijt was prima, voor ons wat te duur in verhouding. Prijs/kwaliteit prima.

Disliked: Wij vonden het hostel erg groot, waardoor er weinig persoonlijk contact was met de mensen die er werken. Weinig contact met de andere hostel bezoekers, alleen contact met onze 'room-mates'. Wij waren blij dat we samen waren en niet alleen. Wij vonden het ontbijt wat duur, wij eten niet voor 4 euro weg in de ochtend, maar dat is persoonlijk

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar area downstairs with a pool table, comfy beds and great bathrooms with heated floors. The continuous free tea and coffee gave a good pick me up from the cold/hangover. Staff were quite helpful too.

Disliked: Wifi is terrible. I know there are many reviews saying the same thing - let me assure you that they are understated. If you are travelling and planning as you go this is not the hostel for you because you will barely be able to open hostelbookers itself etc. The hostel does not offer washing services - the nearest laundromat is a good 15 minutes away. There are no lockers in the 6 bed dorm - you can get one downstairs in the smoking room (which makes your bag reek of smoke). To be honest, the next time i come to berlin I will most likely look at staying in another hostel. That said, it was not the worst place to spend a few days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

benjamin scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 January 2014 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed here on and off throughout december. the staff are very helpful and easy going with a nice mix of nationalities all with different but good tastes in their choice of music they played in the bar/reception area.. the guys in the evening were happy to chat shit even though we may of been slightly drunk and best of all they changed my busking coins into notes... the free breakfast last month made this hostel great value. i've been in many hostels round the world and this is one of the best. ben the busker

Disliked: slow internet sometimes...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free tea and coffee. The staff were very friendly, and it was super-close to an S-Bahn stop. I'd stay here again :)

Disliked: The wifi was only available in the lobby, but not great there, and there was a weird smell in one of the bathrooms. Otherwise it was really nice!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sithy hussain

Alone

Business / conference

10 December 2013 sithy would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good and the people friendly, willing to help

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is very good. The beds are comfortable. Location is real good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Bolzan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: It was great staying at Heart of Gold Hostel. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice for 4 €, there were bikes available to rent. The location was perfect.

Disliked: Adriana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was nice and easy to find

Disliked: Should have possibilyti to get food there at laterchoures

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pontus Lord

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Pontus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Place! Close to city centre, clean and safe place with very friendly staff! Very good value for Money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Sequeira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Besides the good location, it did have a very friendly atmosphere, everything was clean and the breakfast was also really nice and not expensive at all.

Disliked: Nothing to point out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was also very conveniently located to most of the famous sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony parry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: This is a party hostel almost every nite there is people drinkin inside or even outiside. Huge bathrooms and huge rooms, close 2 all the good site and just a short ride 2 berlin wall east.

Disliked: sorry 2 say but the worst internet EVER. could never pick it up unless there was no1 there and still bad. didnt have it but the breakfast look really cheap and nothin really special and for 4 euro as well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Schmitz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and convenient for me.

Disliked: They screwed up my reservation. I'd paid for a private room and they put me in a dorm. They said they didn't have any private rooms left. They refunded me the difference, but it was far from what I'd reserved. Also, their wifi wasn't usable. I'm not sure why they even offered it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful. Special thanks to the reception guy, who helped me when I lost my passport at the aeroport!

Disliked: There was silence between 22.00-06.00 but no one seemed to care about it. We woke up many times during the night because of people speaking loud and partying at the corridor. Maybe this hostel suits best for people who come to Berlin to party, not to run a marathon as we did...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and everything you need in a hostel for a very decent price

Disliked: Not a lot if bathroom facilities for such a large hostel and the wifi didint work a lot of the time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kassandra Slack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Kassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, had a sweet stay. Good for solo travellers, bar is good for meeting people, location is close to Ubahn, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Troy WHITMARSH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: The bar/breakfast area is pretty cool.

Disliked: The rooms were very noisy. The smoking area for the bar is the large courtyard in the middle of the building which means all the noise from people talking, singing and yelling whilst drinking echo's up to the rooms. Even though we were on the 4th floor it was really loud until past 3am. It was then really loud again in the morning from about 8 which made it hard to even sleep in. The rooms were very cold, there was a thermostat on the wall which did nothing. This is an even bigger problems because the blanket you are provided with is barely big enough to cover your whole body at one time and comes off whenever you move or roll over. I slept in layers of clothes. Overall thoroughly disappointed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: A super friendly place... The hostel is well set up with the pub/courtyard/hallway areas for hanging out, so that people don't make too much noise in the dorms at night time. I liked the atmosphere and decor. It seemed very new and clean.

Disliked: n/a


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels