We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - Berlin

Hostel | Alte Schönhauserstr.2, Berlin, Germany 10119

95.2% Overall Rating

801 out of 820 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

Kate Cohen thinks…

"The room was a good size for four people and the beds were comfy. The location of the hostel is so central and easy to get around everywhere, and in a nice area. The staff were friendly and helpful…"

Read all Wombats City Hostel - Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Aloha
18.71 USD

Hostel 76.5% 747 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
10.90 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1128 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
16.18 USD

Hostel 90.7% 385 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
22.51 USD

Hostel 95.0% 904 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
41.14 USD

Hotel 92.9% 4 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
16.51 USD

Hostel 86.2% 270 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
17.34 USD

Hostel 83.2% 345 reviews
Circus Hostel
28.62 USD

Hostel 93.6% 177 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

801 out of 820 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - Berlin'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 650 of 691 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Houkjær

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, great staff and very modern facilities.

Disliked: Only a bit noisy on nights from other guests. But it is, afterall, a hostel so it was expected

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is in top and every thing was in order, - and a very nice and helpfull starff.

Disliked: I mis a toaster in the kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li-Chia Hung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Li-Chia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very friendly and helpful. everyone has his/her own big locker. you have your own light beside your bed. The room is quite big too. Living in this hostel is overall very comfortable.

Disliked: there is only one kitchen in the hostle (but quite a few people in the hostel, actually). The worst thing is that many people don't do the dishes after they use the kitchen equipment><" There is actually a dish-washer, but I don't know how often they clean those dishes (coz always see lots of dirty dishes in the dish-washer)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff/people, fantastic roof terrace!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful, they help me to change to a female dorm eventhrough I made the booking for mixed dorm by mistake.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Staats

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 April 2011 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: They were very helpful and the place was very clean.. If youare traveling to berlin i would highly recomend it..

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Tarpley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This place is excellent! Great staff :) Very clean and a great value.

Disliked: Location is on the outside of main activity - especially for nightlife.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean with good facilities and location.

Disliked: Was a bit of a party hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and nice.

Disliked: I had no idea that the rooms would be mixed with guys and girls. It was a shock and I was not completely comfortable with it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar with patio deck overlooking Berlin.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Eccles

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay here again. They give a voucher for a small free beer on check-in, they have a lovely bar on the top floor with an outside terrace. There are bar games to win shots or prizes and the bar staff help to make the atmosphere great.

Disliked: I think I can honestly say nothing to this question.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The pillows, no internet in rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked proximity to train station. Great lobby for mingling. Offers free walking tours. Only 6 beds in the room with shower & toilet in room. Will let you drop off luggage early or leave in luggage room for a late departure. Key Card system worked great. Breakfast worth the price, but also has cafes across the street. Within walking distance to sites, museums, clubs, shopping.

Disliked: I liked it all. No complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it that the staff were extremely helpful and answered everything question we had from the daylight savings hour to borrowing a hairdryer!

Disliked: only dislike was that the lifts and lobby area often stinks of sweaty travellers smell which is quite gross!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Davis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The safe's in the rooms, the en suite, the bar!

Disliked: The pillows!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good clean hostel. Comfy beds and really good location - 2 minutes from the u-bahn and a 5 minute walk to alexanderplatz. We had loads of windows in our room and great views of berlin. The staff were friendly and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: the wi-fi was only accessible in the lobby or bar

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the place. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Also, the guest kitchen is great!

Disliked: I wish the rooms had wifi access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cunha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really nice stay . Everything was perfect. Really nice bar, with cheap prices! Great Location and great lunch in the restaurant inside the hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WONG PUI LING

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 WONG would recommend this property

Liked: this is the best hostel i've ever stayed in.... seriously. I dropped my swatch watch in the kitchen and i actually got it back from the counter.. if it were anywhere in moscow or malaysia it'll be gone... people there're so friendly.. all thumbs up!!

Disliked: the wifi are only provided at the lobby... it'll be great if there is wifi in the room...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is possibly the best hostel I have ever stayed at. You don't really need a metro pass because you are within walking distance of most of the sights and some great bars. I liked that the hostels had mini lights and shelves over each one of the beds so you had a place to put your alarm clock or your phone for the night, and if you came in late you didn't have to disturb other people with the overhead light. The showers were hot, the rooms were clean, and the bar was great! Happy hour was particularly fun and they made some good cocktails. The kitchen was clean and nicely organized; it even had a dishwasher. Everyone I met who stayed at this hostel was super friendly, and it was very sociable without being extremely loud or obnoxious. A great deal for your money.

Disliked: I did not like that there was no free wifi in the rooms, only on the first floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes

Disliked: tes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Arnoldus

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and a good location. The beds were nice! Big windows in the dorms. The underground is very close, so a nice hostel to stay and discover Berlin.

Disliked: It's a very large hostel with a lot of people, so it's a little bit busy all the time. Also a bit noisy wIt's a very large hostel with a lot of people, so it's a little bit busy all the time. Also a bit noisy when you're in a room on the 6th floor (on the 7th floor is the bar)hen you're in a room on the 6th floor (on the 7th floor is the bar)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally the BEST hostel I've ever stayed in. Clean, well-organized, excellent facilities, great reception staff. I didn't love Berlin but this hostel made the trip a pleasant experience. I wish wombats was in Paris and Barcelona, where I tend to visit more often.

Disliked: The attached restaurant. Our waitress literally ignored us for ages, both when we were trying to order and trying to get our cheque so we could leave. The food was mediocre and lukewarm when it came out. A total waste of money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wombats had all the facilities you needed, kitchen, bar, clean, good showers, sheets, 24 hour reception etc

Disliked: however it is just a generic hostel, nothing really special and to remember for, but ok to stay in because it has all you need. It wasnt bad but it wasnt great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, knowledgable staff

Disliked: no wifi in rooms. everything else was really good!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels