HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - Berlin

Hostel | Alte Schönhauserstr.2, Berlin, Germany 10119

93.8% Overall Rating

789 out of 808 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

MEHMET SAIT TIRAMPAOGLU thinks…

"it is close to the very central place of Berlin called, Alexander Platz. The staff are very helpful.."

Read all Wombats City Hostel - Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.88

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Aloha
19.79 USD

Hostel 86.2% 726 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
14.38 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1086 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
22.01 USD

Hostel 92.2% 371 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
28.48 USD

Hostel 96.1% 883 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
42.72 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
19.79 USD

Hostel 86.9% 267 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
19.39 USD

Hostel 88.8% 331 reviews
Circus Hostel
34.49 USD

Hostel 94.2% 171 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

789 out of 808 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - Berlin'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 640 of 679 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Eccles

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay here again. They give a voucher for a small free beer on check-in, they have a lovely bar on the top floor with an outside terrace. There are bar games to win shots or prizes and the bar staff help to make the atmosphere great.

Disliked: I think I can honestly say nothing to this question.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The pillows, no internet in rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked proximity to train station. Great lobby for mingling. Offers free walking tours. Only 6 beds in the room with shower & toilet in room. Will let you drop off luggage early or leave in luggage room for a late departure. Key Card system worked great. Breakfast worth the price, but also has cafes across the street. Within walking distance to sites, museums, clubs, shopping.

Disliked: I liked it all. No complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it that the staff were extremely helpful and answered everything question we had from the daylight savings hour to borrowing a hairdryer!

Disliked: only dislike was that the lifts and lobby area often stinks of sweaty travellers smell which is quite gross!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Davis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The safe's in the rooms, the en suite, the bar!

Disliked: The pillows!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good clean hostel. Comfy beds and really good location - 2 minutes from the u-bahn and a 5 minute walk to alexanderplatz. We had loads of windows in our room and great views of berlin. The staff were friendly and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: the wi-fi was only accessible in the lobby or bar

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the place. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Also, the guest kitchen is great!

Disliked: I wish the rooms had wifi access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cunha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really nice stay . Everything was perfect. Really nice bar, with cheap prices! Great Location and great lunch in the restaurant inside the hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WONG PUI LING

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 WONG would recommend this property

Liked: this is the best hostel i've ever stayed in.... seriously. I dropped my swatch watch in the kitchen and i actually got it back from the counter.. if it were anywhere in moscow or malaysia it'll be gone... people there're so friendly.. all thumbs up!!

Disliked: the wifi are only provided at the lobby... it'll be great if there is wifi in the room...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is possibly the best hostel I have ever stayed at. You don't really need a metro pass because you are within walking distance of most of the sights and some great bars. I liked that the hostels had mini lights and shelves over each one of the beds so you had a place to put your alarm clock or your phone for the night, and if you came in late you didn't have to disturb other people with the overhead light. The showers were hot, the rooms were clean, and the bar was great! Happy hour was particularly fun and they made some good cocktails. The kitchen was clean and nicely organized; it even had a dishwasher. Everyone I met who stayed at this hostel was super friendly, and it was very sociable without being extremely loud or obnoxious. A great deal for your money.

Disliked: I did not like that there was no free wifi in the rooms, only on the first floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes

Disliked: tes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Arnoldus

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and a good location. The beds were nice! Big windows in the dorms. The underground is very close, so a nice hostel to stay and discover Berlin.

Disliked: It's a very large hostel with a lot of people, so it's a little bit busy all the time. Also a bit noisy wIt's a very large hostel with a lot of people, so it's a little bit busy all the time. Also a bit noisy when you're in a room on the 6th floor (on the 7th floor is the bar)hen you're in a room on the 6th floor (on the 7th floor is the bar)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally the BEST hostel I've ever stayed in. Clean, well-organized, excellent facilities, great reception staff. I didn't love Berlin but this hostel made the trip a pleasant experience. I wish wombats was in Paris and Barcelona, where I tend to visit more often.

Disliked: The attached restaurant. Our waitress literally ignored us for ages, both when we were trying to order and trying to get our cheque so we could leave. The food was mediocre and lukewarm when it came out. A total waste of money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wombats had all the facilities you needed, kitchen, bar, clean, good showers, sheets, 24 hour reception etc

Disliked: however it is just a generic hostel, nothing really special and to remember for, but ok to stay in because it has all you need. It wasnt bad but it wasnt great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, knowledgable staff

Disliked: no wifi in rooms. everything else was really good!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, safe, and well organized hostel. Additionally seriously nice and helpful staff!!

Disliked: no complains

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment in general and the friendliness of the staff in particular. It is situated in a perfect area in Berlin.

Disliked: it would be great if they accepted credit cards at the restaurant.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kylie fludder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 kylie would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to access from the train. Good quality free wifi. Very clean facilities.

Disliked: The common area wasn't very conducive to spending any long level of time in- so not great to relax in while waiting for transport or to meet others.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities. Good price and breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best! great atmosphere!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's great location and facilities, and staff are very friendly.

Disliked: It's a big place but no real lunge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to train station so easy to get everywhere, clean, modern, staff really helpful, powerpoint and light for every bed!

Disliked: mattresses were a little hard, but apparently they were brand new! still not a big deal...this hostel is fantastic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leona Nally

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Leona would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, en-suite in our room was brilliant and added a little bit of privacy. Great location, not far from Alexanderplatz. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippa Hague

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best Hostels for value for money you could ever stay in. Great location, staff very helpful, rooms very comfortable and very clean. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Disliked: No ice tea in the vending machines :)


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels