HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 94%

Location 92%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.94USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 94%

Location 92%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 71-64 of 64 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is clean and spacious in a 6 bed dorm. Security is good with big lockers in dorm, and key pass to walk through from level and rooms

Disliked: Wifi, you had to log in every time and it would drop out frequently. Breakfast was very average. Extreme basics and for 3.80 euro. Wasn't really worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I got to Berlin early morning and they have showers for people who arrive early! That was an amazing surprise. Rooms are very clean. The bar upstairs is a decent atmosphere. Rooms are also very spacious. Free wifi. Location was excellent- 5 minute walk from Alexanderplatz or you could take the Ubahn.

Disliked: There was 1 guy on the night shift who was very rude to me. Some girls came up to him to ask for directions to the club, while I had been standing in line for a while, and he ignored me to help them. When I confronted him about it, he wouldn't say a single thing about it, not even apologize. I told the front desk the next morning, and they gave me some free drinks vouchers, so there's that.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Lockers are a bit hard to understand.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I would not reccomend this hostel for solo backpackers looking to meet people. I wish that Hostelbookers had a "Meh" rating, because thats what I would give it. It's super clean, has a nice bar, but ultimately is filled with groups on spring break or stag do, and you feel lost in the cavernous, hotel style upper floors. Those who utilize the kitchen keep to themselves, no hostel-organized get togethers, etc. It feels like you are staying at the nicest cheap motel youve ever stayed at. If you want this, go there. If you are looking to recover and relax and not be bothered, go there. If you want to meet people and have fun in Berlin, look elsewhere

Disliked: See above

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: 3rd Wombats we've stayed in.Great hostel, clean, friendly staff, roomy dorm rooms.Nice bar and reception area.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The sense of community was awesome, and the staff were always extremely friendly and helpful. Great location, good breakfast for a cheap price, and a bar on the top level with a view of the city.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel located in a nice location. Friendly and helpful staffs. We got a room with nice private bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Excellent atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability