We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - Berlin

Hostel | Alte Schönhauserstr.2, Berlin, Germany 10119

93.9% Overall Rating

793 out of 812 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2014)

"Great location, close to public transport, walking distance to anything in East Berlin."

Read all Wombats City Hostel - Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Aloha
10.75 USD

Hostel 87.1% 731 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
11.26 USD

Hostel 85.8% 1100 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
15.94 USD

Hostel 91.1% 377 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
21.57 USD

Hostel 95.3% 892 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
37.80 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
14.55 USD

Hostel 86.9% 267 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
14.61 USD

Hostel 84.0% 340 reviews
Circus Hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 93.4% 174 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

793 out of 812 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - Berlin'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 643 of 683 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 September 2011

Liked: Location, but this was also a problem as it was so noisy.

Disliked: The location is good except it's on a really busy road which is constantly noisy. I didn't get a towel until later the following day after I arrived as they'd run out, which was really annoying but the staff didn't seem too bothered about it. There are loads of excellent hostels in Berlin and I've stayed in much better and wouldn't stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam O'Brien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great people everything was as I would like it

Disliked: Nothing, well if I was being picky maybe it would be good to have WiFi available in the rooms but that is just being overly picky :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chyi-yu Lin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Chyi-yu would recommend this property

Liked: very good experience. very clean and the staffs are nice and friendly

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ever been. Very good in every aspect, staff are very friendly and helpful and the pub at the hostel is great to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay

Disliked: a little noise in night, cause near street,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kotchapol Yoosooksawat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Kotchapol would recommend this property

Liked: Awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. I've never imagine the hostel this great!!!!!

Disliked: nope, everything is so great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel!!!

Disliked: The kitchen closes at 12AM, but they didn't allow me to go in at 11:30. And the Wi Fi isn't very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC HOSTEL! Really great. All services were really good. Staff were really nice and they have a cool cheap restaurant attached!

Disliked: They could include breafast, but no biggie.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Pousset

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and friendly, the dorms are relatively big and clean. It's a really cheap for the quality and the location! I also like the roof top and the bar on the very top of the hostel! I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: What could be a little problem is that the wifi is only available in the lobby, but that's not really important!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable rooms, good bar and facilities

Disliked: Could have been cheaper breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, good facilities.

Disliked: It is in the centre of town, but not in the centre of where you want to be. Only a short metro away though...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really amazing. I strongly recommend this hostel to people who wants to travel to Berlin. واقعا هاستل بی نظیری هست؛ به نظرم قیمتش هم در مقایسه با هاستلهای دیگر خیلی خیلی مناسب هست. هیچ نقصی نداره واقعا!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Pollak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: I was in and out for a quick stop in Berlin and the hostel staff was absolutely oustanding. They were very friendly, helpful and accomodating even when my train arrived late at night. I had a really comfortable and friendly room with roommates from around the globe who were trustworthy and kind. I received great local information about tours and transit from the staff and I loved the location.

Disliked: My roommates were really chilled out, but the elevator had a little bit too much beer on its breath from the upstairs bar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Lucinda Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 August 2011 Amy Lucinda would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, lovely dorm rooms and I loved the rooftop bar.

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great bar to meet people in if youre traveling by yourself, and the staff is super nice.

Disliked: could have been closer to the artsy part of town

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Keane

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean room and very clean bathroom (shared ensuite in 6 bed dorm). Clean linen. Great idea to have vending machine with holiday bathroom essentials.

Disliked: Wireless has problems with many apple products apparently, found out the way when I did find a connection (had to stand in corner of a stairwell or at the level 7 bar) I couldn't use Skype or a data messaging app - saw many others use wireless on their phones I guess mine just conflicted with everyone else's for whatever reason.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martino Zucca

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Martino would recommend this property

Liked: People bilding room pub

Disliked: the color of the armchairs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, facilities and room cleanliness. Free towels!

Disliked: Two of the staff on the night shift was very rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff, met lots of other travellers and it was clean.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit far from the main nightlife.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cox

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, bright and everyone is provided with there own locker that locks. The beds each have their own light and outlet so you don't have to worry about a place to charge your stuff. I have stayed at 3 different wombats and loved everyone of them. There is a great rooftop bar to hang out at but it's far enough awayfromthe rooms that you can go to bed and not have to worry about the music.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - immediately next to train, bus, shops and restaurants.

Disliked: Street noise and wifi didnt work generally...(for iphone) but has internet in reception area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle ONeill

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar was amazing, affordable drinks too so great to drink there. The rooms are clean and modern, very comfortable and spacious. Location is great, just near the Metro station, easy access to Airport and other attrations.

Disliked: Breakfast not included and the one offered at a fee is not very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giovanni Sferro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed only one night in a 4's room, that was fantastic, pretty much like munich's one i stayed just before this one. Everything was perfect, we have a big bathroom, the room was clean and the bar on the last floor was really cool, i gonna return here, i really like wombat's hostels.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Fleming

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Loud people.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels