HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - Berlin

Hostel | Alte Schönhauserstr.2, Berlin, Germany 10119

92.8% Overall Rating

779 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

Kate Stone thinks…

"Ex lent location! Close to transport and attractions. Very clean and had great faculties."

Read all Wombats City Hostel - Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Aloha
11.05 USD

Hostel 87.2% 717 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
10.91 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1047 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
13.68 USD

Hostel 89.8% 351 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
29.82 USD

Hostel 97.8% 859 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
41.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
22.10 USD

Hostel 86.7% 265 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
20.31 USD

Hostel 86.6% 320 reviews
Circus Hostel
26.25 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

779 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - Berlin'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 629 of 668 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff

Disliked: Too many Australians!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar and terrace. Beers for 1 Euro during happy hour.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Shapiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, location, windows that open in rooms, and entire facility.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and professionalism. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: there was no wifi in the bedroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How the rooms are seperated by thick enough walls, so as to not hear conversations from other neighbouring rooms.

Disliked: How the walls are too thin to cover the noise of rythmic squeaking, that lasted around 2 minutes (Room 303, you know who you are). Also, My room seemed to always come with the most incredible snoring male figures... I have never heard someone snore both inhaling and exhaling before, nor have I known of a full on argument, consisting of one male, asleep, berating a fast food chain as they charged him too much for an apparent chicken (Mc)nugget. I believe he also found an (I think) entire beard in his (Mc)strawberry (Mc)milkshake (no joke) . Maybe this is a positive for experience but a negative for sleep deprivation and the fact Freud is too dead to sort out this guys issues...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean room and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Noisy outside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, but this is Germany so that's a given. Free small beer when you arrive, at a pretty balling bar upstairs with a balcony.

Disliked: Real crowded, so even though the staff are quite friendly they are sometimes too occupied to really answer questions. It is tough to combine the money-making part of the mega-hostel and still keep a chill atmosphere. This hostel doesn't quite do that. You need to go to the Five Elements in Frankfurt to get that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

heather morrison

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2011 heather would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything, great location, friendly staff, great rooms with individual lockers, ensuite shower rooms, bedside lights and sockets, full length mirror, safe and secure, fab roof top bar with cheap food and drink and great happy hours and fantastic views. Free towels and linen

Disliked: Wi-fi was only available in reception and roof top bar. \It was quite warm when I was there so we opened the window which made it quite noisy as the hostel is on the corner of a busy street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Le

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, atmosphere, bar, cleanliness

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing. Very helpful and friendly. Great atmosphere. The bar was always pumping. Every room comes with an ensuite and was cleaned every day. Location was central and near the station. Close to bars, nightclubs were a short train or cab ride away, lots of places to eat and shop. Would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally everything. For me one of the (if not) best hostels in the Europe and I've been to many. It looks quite new, not more than few years old, got nice kitchen, great bar with beer cost at 1€ (small beer during happy hour from 10-11pm, but anyway), great loundry room, lift, daily accurate cleaning, great location close to Berlins finest museums, U-bahn station one block away, very chilling atmosphere and helping staff, got lockers inside your room, every bed got its own reading light with a socket for charging phone for instance and we also got a big window with a nice view in our room. The price is not very high. Would definetly recommend going here.

Disliked: Couldnt talk outside of hostel loudly becouse of the neighbours, receptionist invited us to hostels lounge tho. It didnt really bother my staying there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 September 2011

Liked: Location, but this was also a problem as it was so noisy.

Disliked: The location is good except it's on a really busy road which is constantly noisy. I didn't get a towel until later the following day after I arrived as they'd run out, which was really annoying but the staff didn't seem too bothered about it. There are loads of excellent hostels in Berlin and I've stayed in much better and wouldn't stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam O'Brien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great people everything was as I would like it

Disliked: Nothing, well if I was being picky maybe it would be good to have WiFi available in the rooms but that is just being overly picky :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chyi-yu Lin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Chyi-yu would recommend this property

Liked: very good experience. very clean and the staffs are nice and friendly

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ever been. Very good in every aspect, staff are very friendly and helpful and the pub at the hostel is great to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay

Disliked: a little noise in night, cause near street,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kotchapol Yoosooksawat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Kotchapol would recommend this property

Liked: Awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. I've never imagine the hostel this great!!!!!

Disliked: nope, everything is so great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel!!!

Disliked: The kitchen closes at 12AM, but they didn't allow me to go in at 11:30. And the Wi Fi isn't very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC HOSTEL! Really great. All services were really good. Staff were really nice and they have a cool cheap restaurant attached!

Disliked: They could include breafast, but no biggie.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Pousset

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and friendly, the dorms are relatively big and clean. It's a really cheap for the quality and the location! I also like the roof top and the bar on the very top of the hostel! I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: What could be a little problem is that the wifi is only available in the lobby, but that's not really important!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable rooms, good bar and facilities

Disliked: Could have been cheaper breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, good facilities.

Disliked: It is in the centre of town, but not in the centre of where you want to be. Only a short metro away though...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really amazing. I strongly recommend this hostel to people who wants to travel to Berlin. واقعا هاستل بی نظیری هست؛ به نظرم قیمتش هم در مقایسه با هاستلهای دیگر خیلی خیلی مناسب هست. هیچ نقصی نداره واقعا!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Pollak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: I was in and out for a quick stop in Berlin and the hostel staff was absolutely oustanding. They were very friendly, helpful and accomodating even when my train arrived late at night. I had a really comfortable and friendly room with roommates from around the globe who were trustworthy and kind. I received great local information about tours and transit from the staff and I loved the location.

Disliked: My roommates were really chilled out, but the elevator had a little bit too much beer on its breath from the upstairs bar.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels