HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - Berlin

Hostel | Alte Schönhauserstr.2, Berlin, Germany 10119

92.8% Overall Rating

779 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

Kate Stone thinks…

"Ex lent location! Close to transport and attractions. Very clean and had great faculties."

Read all Wombats City Hostel - Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Aloha
11.07 USD

Hostel 87.2% 717 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
10.93 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1046 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
13.69 USD

Hostel 89.8% 351 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
29.87 USD

Hostel 97.8% 859 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
41.33 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
MEININGER Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
22.13 USD

Hostel 86.7% 265 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
20.33 USD

Hostel 86.6% 320 reviews
Circus Hostel
26.28 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

779 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - Berlin'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 629 of 668 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan Tomlinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2012 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely comfortable pillows. People seem to be attached to their phones/laptops in the lobby/common area, but the bar is solid.

Disliked: Evan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect view of the gigantic tower, near metro station, very helpful staff

Disliked: It is meant mainly for the guests whose mother-tongue is english (the atmosphere in the bar on the top floor for example)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elle Seymour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere... sky bar amazing, great location and full of likeminded travellers

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Holman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012

Liked: Rooms were very clean. There was a rooftop bar. It was easy to take the metro from there.

Disliked: I booked 3 nights there. My first night there I went out with some people I met to a club called the Watergate, and I got back at a little after 7AM and promptly fell asleep. I was surprised at how late it got, but I figured I'd just sleep until 2 or 3 and all would be well. However, I got woken up 3 hours later at 10AM and told that I had to change rooms, because they were booked and had to move me for a reason I still don't understand*, but I would have to wait to go to my new room until 2PM. So needless to say, my entire day was shot. I get maybe another hour of sleep, and then at 2, I then have to wait a half hour in line to get my new room. They were really not apologetic at all. They just didn't really seem to care. There is literally 1 thing that a hostel is expected to do. And that's provide a bed to sleep in. And I was very unsatisfied with their ability to do that. It essentially cost me an entire day, because I had to make up my rest and was just generally exhausted my second night. So I really only got one full day there (my third day), and I was still feeling the exhaustion from my first night. *I know that the logistics would have worked out if I stayed in my room, because the other people in my room left that second day and I got moved into another room of the same size, that was also empty until people checked in. Essentially, I got moved from one empty room to another---identical---empty room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, dorms are large with not too many people jammed in, cool rooftop bar, with great happy hours! Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Another great Wombat's hostel. And it's got the best Wombar of them all - well when you've got one on top of the building looking at the Berlin skyline, you're pretty much unbeatable. Great service and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Having to check out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riki Cockerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Riki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing very helpful kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed the whole place was very clean and the beds were soo comfy

Disliked: The bar staff were a bit funny they would close up early and then when we are finishing our drinks and game of pool so we was out by two they would come and stand next to us at like ten to just so we would speed up and shout over the mic we are closed I thought that was a bit rude

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free drink voucher, laundry room available. Linked to restaurant next door which was decent, reasonably priced dinners. The breakfast there was really good for the price (EUR3.70).

Disliked: No hand wash or way to dry hands is provided in dorm bathrooms. No wifi in rooms (I don't accept reasons about keeping things social). Reception seemed a bit disorganised when I arrived, had to wait a while even though somebody was standing around; never got a map either. But at other times they were helpful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Benjamin Krawiec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was great at night, especially during happy hour. Location was great, in the heart of the Mitte district and close to the U-Bahn/S-Bahn stations. Free map was really good and detailed.

Disliked: Not the best value for money if I'm honest - got a lot better in Poland/Budapest for less money. Wifi was only downstairs and in the bar which was meant to be more social than having it in the rooms, however if you went downstairs to be social, everyone was on laptops and phones - not great for a lone traveler!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiago Martinelli Veiga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Foi o melhor hostel em que fiquei na minha viagem pela Europa. Excelente custo/benefício. Trata-se de um grande hostel, bem localizado (muito próximo a uma estação de metrô e da Alexander Platz onde se encontra uma grande estação de trem, metrô, bonde e ônibus, grandes lojas de departamento, fast-food e outras coisas), com ótimas camas equipadas com luz e tomada indvidual. O banheiro é grande, limpo e com ducha sempre quente e com grande volume de água. Os quartos são amplos, o espaço comum é agradável e é tudo muito seguro. Os quartos, bem como os lockers e os andares são acessados com o uso de um cartão. Há câmeras de segurança. A calefação é bastante eficiente por todo o hostel. Há um bar no último andar também bastante agradável e você ganha um drink grátis. O café da manhã é pago, mas é farto e servido em um ambiente bastante agradável que também serve lanches e janta, uma excelente janata aliás por algo em torno de 10 euros. Realmente recomendo o Wombats Berlim.

Disliked: O Wi-fi só se acessa no lobby e para acessar a rede pelos computadores do hostel é preciso pagar. Como o hostel é muito grande não há muitas atividades integradas com os hospedes, o único espaço de maior interação é o bar no topo do prédio, que, aliás, para isso é um ótimo lugar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Weitzenberg

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in this hostel 3 times now. I love it everytime. It is one of the cleanist hostels I have seen, in Europe. A definite bonus is the bathroom in your room. Its really nice and much cleaner to share a bathroom, just with your room and not the whole floor. Furthermore, the bar upstairs is great. You can go there to hang out and it is a great place to pre-game. It is guaranteed that you will meet people to hang out with. I highly reccommend Wombats, as you can clearly see.

Disliked: The breakfast is optional. It is cheap, but so is the food. I think it would be just as nice to have breakfast at a backeri.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Doran

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: What can I say? - a trip to Berlin is well worth it, especially if you're staying at Wombats City Hostel :) Lockers were a great size with a key card to secure them; the same key card for your room and corridor door; staff were friendly and helpful, internet stations were reasonable; beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, hot shower in rooms; a lift and sturdy bunk beds!! You definitely have to visit the Wombar if you stay here, as it's a great place to meet like-minded individuals/groups and is pretty cheap too. They kindly give you a free drink voucher when you check-in. Location is on the East side of Berlin which is where most of the action happens and the U-Bahn station is a few minutes walk from the hostel which is perfect for when you come back from nights out after 5/6am haha. Wombats also have a communal area for a bit of lounging-around and they have their own restuarant through a door which can be used by hostel residents or the public. I would totally recommend this hostel - 5 STAR!!

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern building and great bar facilities

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, very clean and secure. Roof top bar is a highlight with many travellers looking for a great time.

Disliked: Very early check-out time of 10am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, clean, lockers in rooms, good breakfast, even if it cost extra (all you can eat!!), the kitchen was a huge plus, great bar with an awesome view! Laundry was great too.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudia Neuheimer

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: ich mag, dass das wombat´s direkt in der nähe vom alexanderplatz situiert ist und man an der alten schönhauser allee super tolle kleine läden hat, wo man coole dinge kaufen kann :)

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2012

Liked: the locatşon

Disliked: staff are not friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and big rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, good location just a few steps from metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you need, staff was helpful, clean and great location. Wombats has been the best hostels of all the ones that I have stayed at.

Disliked: Not as well fitted out as some of the newer Wombats, and really, wifi available on all floors would be really useful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Benham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and great staff. I felt welcome the moment I walked in the door until the second I left. My room was clean and warm, the lockers were sturdy and the bar, kitchen and lobby were lovely. I thought that not having wifi in the rooms was a nice touch.

Disliked: Nothing :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Thorpe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Comfy beds with clean linen provided. Breakfast is offered at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Wifi would suffer poor connections at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAT LIANG TANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 JEAT LIANG would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, we actually book for a 12 person doom and we get a 6-sister and only me and my friend staying in it. nice skybar and everything. location wise, good, notbad at all

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Wester

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, easy to use, and had a nice bar upstairs.

Disliked: The room they put me in was directly below a foosball table. I could hear people playing for several hours each night. There was no wi-fi except for in the lobby and in the bar, and the bar didn't open till six. If you wanted to check your email, or chat with a friend, you had to sit in the lobby. For a place that is trying to host people that are traveling, it is not adequate to expect them to only be able to use the lobby of your hostel to communicate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pin chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 pin would recommend this property

Liked: location and clean rooms

Disliked: nothing


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels