We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel - Berlin

Hostel | Alte Schönhauserstr.2, Berlin, Germany 10119

95.0% Overall Rating

797 out of 816 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2015)

Valeria Luce thinks…

"It is clean. There is enough space. Free big lockers in the room with a comfortable system of locking through the entrance key card. There are lifts. Staff is helpful and kind, well informed, Grout…"

Read all Wombats City Hostel - Berlin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hostel Aloha
18.48 USD

Hostel 75.9% 746 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
8.59 USD

Hostel 92.2% 1121 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
13.70 USD

Hostel 89.5% 384 reviews
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
23.47 USD

Hostel 94.9% 900 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
37.92 USD

Hotel 92.9% 4 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz
13.59 USD

Hostel 86.2% 270 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
17.12 USD

Hostel 83.2% 345 reviews
Circus Hostel
23.92 USD

Hostel 93.6% 177 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

797 out of 816 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel - Berlin'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 647 of 687 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and reasonable facilities. Good lockers and lights and power points for each bed. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere. Very large and no organised activities which made it hard to meet other people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clément Raussin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Clément would recommend this property

Liked: Not expensive, very clean ! The bar with the view is very nice. It's one of my best hostel.

Disliked: The wine in the bar was disgusting, but it's a detail.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Could be better, specially the lounge area at the lobby. A little messy and noise, but is a nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing in particular; just average.

Disliked: the staffs vary from very friendly (the guy in the morning) to UNBELIEVABLY RUDE (THE GIRL AT NIGHT); she really needs to fix herself up. she talks as if u owe her big. shocking attitude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, near heaps of restaurants/cafes, boutiques and pubs/clubs. Also really clean, big rooms and the hostel has a great bar. Breakfast is good value too.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed in in Europe. Great location, kitchen is well set up, free WiFi, clean, good beds, storage in your room. Lots of different areas to meet people, the bar is a lot of fun. Stayed here for 4 nights, and it was the best stay of my trip.

Disliked: Nothing negative on my stay. Very popular, so if you want extra nights, book it fast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Ferre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Ambience, bar and terrace

Disliked: Nothing right now

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of room, clean, bar was also good.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Corry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, fantastic people, staff local knowledge was very good which is very helpful, so clean and secure and great location, highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Kirkpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: absolutly amazing hostel, great value for money, very clean secure and the roof top bar is fantastic, and dirt cheap, great way to meet people, would highly reccomend it!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

India Stephenson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 India would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really clean, staff very friendly, cheap bar

Disliked: Each room has one bathroom with a shower and toilet in - a bit annoying when you get up in the morning and 8 people need to shower/go to the toilet at once.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No wifi in rooms - just in bar/reception Also hostel could better consider the ages of people they put together - we were three young girls puts in a room with one very creepy old guy who talked to himself an made his bunk bed into a den ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and spacious rooms, good bar above.

Disliked: Not so friendly staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very safe and very helpful/friendly staff

Disliked: Larissa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Young

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Only place to stay in Berlin. Place has all you will need from a hostel, as well as a awesome rooftop bar that is packed with people each night. Great location and staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Leaving the hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern amenities. Big rooms with plenty of room to move! Wifi was quick and free and the breakfast was definitely value for monez all you can eat for 3 euros

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well organised, comfortable beds, and great bar to meet people and drink at before going out

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan Tomlinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2012 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely comfortable pillows. People seem to be attached to their phones/laptops in the lobby/common area, but the bar is solid.

Disliked: Evan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect view of the gigantic tower, near metro station, very helpful staff

Disliked: It is meant mainly for the guests whose mother-tongue is english (the atmosphere in the bar on the top floor for example)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elle Seymour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere... sky bar amazing, great location and full of likeminded travellers

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Holman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012

Liked: Rooms were very clean. There was a rooftop bar. It was easy to take the metro from there.

Disliked: I booked 3 nights there. My first night there I went out with some people I met to a club called the Watergate, and I got back at a little after 7AM and promptly fell asleep. I was surprised at how late it got, but I figured I'd just sleep until 2 or 3 and all would be well. However, I got woken up 3 hours later at 10AM and told that I had to change rooms, because they were booked and had to move me for a reason I still don't understand*, but I would have to wait to go to my new room until 2PM. So needless to say, my entire day was shot. I get maybe another hour of sleep, and then at 2, I then have to wait a half hour in line to get my new room. They were really not apologetic at all. They just didn't really seem to care. There is literally 1 thing that a hostel is expected to do. And that's provide a bed to sleep in. And I was very unsatisfied with their ability to do that. It essentially cost me an entire day, because I had to make up my rest and was just generally exhausted my second night. So I really only got one full day there (my third day), and I was still feeling the exhaustion from my first night. *I know that the logistics would have worked out if I stayed in my room, because the other people in my room left that second day and I got moved into another room of the same size, that was also empty until people checked in. Essentially, I got moved from one empty room to another---identical---empty room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, dorms are large with not too many people jammed in, cool rooftop bar, with great happy hours! Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Another great Wombat's hostel. And it's got the best Wombar of them all - well when you've got one on top of the building looking at the Berlin skyline, you're pretty much unbeatable. Great service and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Having to check out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riki Cockerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Riki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing very helpful kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed the whole place was very clean and the beds were soo comfy

Disliked: The bar staff were a bit funny they would close up early and then when we are finishing our drinks and game of pool so we was out by two they would come and stand next to us at like ten to just so we would speed up and shout over the mic we are closed I thought that was a bit rude


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels