HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel Berlin Berlin

Hostel

Alte Schoenhauser Strasse 2, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.41USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 95%

Showing 91-57 of 57 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing very helpful kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed the whole place was very clean and the beds were soo comfy

Disliked: The bar staff were a bit funny they would close up early and then when we are finishing our drinks and game of pool so we was out by two they would come and stand next to us at like ten to just so we would speed up and shout over the mic we are closed I thought that was a bit rude

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating


29 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free drink voucher, laundry room available. Linked to restaurant next door which was decent, reasonably priced dinners. The breakfast there was really good for the price (EUR3.70).

Disliked: No hand wash or way to dry hands is provided in dorm bathrooms. No wifi in rooms (I don't accept reasons about keeping things social). Reception seemed a bit disorganised when I arrived, had to wait a while even though somebody was standing around; never got a map either. But at other times they were helpful

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bar area was great at night, especially during happy hour. Location was great, in the heart of the Mitte district and close to the U-Bahn/S-Bahn stations. Free map was really good and detailed.

Disliked: Not the best value for money if I'm honest - got a lot better in Poland/Budapest for less money. Wifi was only downstairs and in the bar which was meant to be more social than having it in the rooms, however if you went downstairs to be social, everyone was on laptops and phones - not great for a lone traveler!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have stayed in this hostel 3 times now. I love it everytime. It is one of the cleanist hostels I have seen, in Europe. A definite bonus is the bathroom in your room. Its really nice and much cleaner to share a bathroom, just with your room and not the whole floor. Furthermore, the bar upstairs is great. You can go there to hang out and it is a great place to pre-game. It is guaranteed that you will meet people to hang out with. I highly reccommend Wombats, as you can clearly see.

Disliked: The breakfast is optional. It is cheap, but so is the food. I think it would be just as nice to have breakfast at a backeri.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What can I say? - a trip to Berlin is well worth it, especially if you're staying at Wombats City Hostel :)Lockers were a great size with a key card to secure them; the same key card for your room and corridor door; staff were friendly and helpful, internet stations were reasonable; beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, hot shower in rooms; a lift and sturdy bunk beds!! You definitely have to visit the Wombar if you stay here, as it's a great place to meet like-minded individuals/groups and is pretty cheap too. They kindly give you a free drink voucher when you check-in. Location is on the East side of Berlin which is where most of the action happens and the U-Bahn station is a few minutes walk from the hostel which is perfect for when you come back from nights out after 5/6am haha. Wombats also have a communal area for a bit of lounging-around and they have their own restuarant through a door which can be used by hostel residents or the public. I would totally recommend this hostel - 5 STAR!!

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very modern building and great bar facilities

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic hostel, very clean and secure. Roof top bar is a highlight with many travellers looking for a great time.

Disliked: Very early check-out time of 10am.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: ich mag, dass das wombat´s direkt in der nähe vom alexanderplatz situiert ist und man an der alten schönhauser allee super tolle kleine läden hat, wo man coole dinge kaufen kann :)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: :)

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the locatşon

Disliked: staff are not friendly

Check Availability