We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz

Hostel | Schönhauserallee 19, Berlin, Germany 10435

86.9% Overall Rating

252 out of 267 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2013)

"very good location, just few steps from Alexanderplatz, metro station front of the hotel, clean room, good breakfast. I can highly recommend!"

Read all MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE!
Special cancellation & payment conditions:

CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

EastSeven Berlin Hostel
21.57 USD

Hostel 96.1% 890 reviews
Pfefferbett Hostel
12.62 USD

Hostel 91.1% 377 reviews
Wombats City Hostel - Berlin
12.65 USD

Hostel 93.9% 812 reviews
Hostel Aloha
10.75 USD

Hostel 86.9% 730 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Berlin
9.99 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1096 reviews
PangeaPeople Hostel & Hotel
14.61 USD

Hostel 84.9% 337 reviews
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
40.96 USD

Hotel 90.5% 3 reviews
ONE80 Hostel - Alexanderplatz
19.61 USD

Hostel 88.6% 592 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

252 out of 267 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 164 of 201 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shan Shan CHU

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Shan Shan would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and good location

Disliked: Shan Shan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, just few steps from Alexanderplatz, metro station front of the hotel, clean room, good breakfast. I can highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: It is place in very cute part of the city, close to Alexanderplatz and not too far by foot from main city street.

Disliked: I disliked the room. I don't want to sleep in 4 bed doorm for a price of private room. I want to be in private room if I pay for it, not in dorm with two dismantled beds. The price is also too high. For 25€ per capita on weekdays and cca 45€ on weekend it offers much to few. Not to mention that we didn't have breakfast included in price (90€ for dorm-like room for two persons). For 90€ we could easily sleep in 4 star hotel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and close to center with helpful staff

Disliked: No window for bathroom!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karel Vitek

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Karel would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, safe, nice view

Disliked: Maybe a little bit expensive, for this money I woul expect a breakfast.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and security are taken seriously here, which is appreciated. Great wifi signal throughout the entire property. Generous breakfast in the morning and overall pleasant, non-party atmosphere when you're looking for a more chilled experience in Berlin. Good for low-key travelers who need a break from the party hostels, families and romantic couples on a budget.

Disliked: The property makes a lionshare of its money from under-18 city-break school groups from the suburbs, so if you're over 19 years old there's not much socializing with people your age, very kiddie/camp feel sometimes, lots of big groups of middle school and high school kids come through the Meininger system, so you feel like a camp counselor around them. All Meiningers tend to have that city-camp/YHA for high school kids vibe. The decor has a corporate/McDonalds clinical feel to it, not much warmth, but still a very clean, decent property for a few nights if you want clean, honest budget hosteling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hallett

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome... location is prime, across the road from an underground station, next to shops and easy to find. One to two stops on the underground from nightlife spots, day markets and three stops to the city center and main train station. Super helpful staff and knowledgeable staff!! clean and tidy rooms, good showers too!! Loved it and would stay again!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people staying there, the stuff, the room. It was quite, peaceful, clean. It was worth every penny.

Disliked: In one room I didn't have a free locker

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: good location, good and clean condition

Disliked: size of room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well equipped rooms. Nice location right in the middle of prenzlauer berg. Subway around the corner.

Disliked: Some of my belongings went missing during my stay, taken either from the (secure) locker room or our own room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private double room w/bathroom was modern and clean, multlingual tv channels, fantastic view, great reception staff and amazing value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and great location. This part of Berlin is just amazing.

Disliked: It was quite noise during the nigts because of the traffic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YUWEI LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 YUWEI would recommend this property

Liked: It's good to stay here! the staff is very nice!!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Abraham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, modern atmosphere.

Disliked: Wlan in the rooms is very expensive. The room could be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. Basic but clearn. Quiet in the room, despite the presence of young people.

Disliked: Breakfast is not really good. Sometimes full of school kids (thus quite noisy).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities

Disliked: Bathroom in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Solis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: we got discounts for everything which was nice! clean super clean rooms, wonderful staff, good breakfast :)

Disliked: Kitchen could be a lot better, definitely needs an improvement

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff,...

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, close to train station

Disliked: wifi is not free in bedrooms but is free in common area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Free wi-fi in the rooms would be useful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gary knock

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 gary would recommend this property

Liked: extreamely clean and right next to the underground train

Disliked: not being able to check in until 1pm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Coyne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Good Kitchen, Games room, Wi Fi in lobby is free.

Disliked: Had to pay for Wi Fi in rooms or on a computer. You have to make your own bed. There were small holes in our sheets. We had to change rooms and check out at 10 the first night we stayed even tho we booked just one room. You pay for towels also.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilla Johnsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

04 July 2011 Camilla would recommend this property

Liked: Small dorms with bathroom included made almost feel like a hotel. The location was superb for exploring PrenzlauerBerg, but also the rest of the city. Not to must party.

Disliked: Nothing really, tge ambience was a bit cold though. But it was still a really nice place to stay.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels