HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Berlin Alexanderplatz Berlin

Hostel

Schönhauser Allee 19, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 78%

Location 87%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.25USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE! <br />
Special cancellation & payment conditions: <br />
<br />
CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. <br />
<br />
CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. <br />
<br />
BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE <br />
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival: <br />
<br />
a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. <br />
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. <br />
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. <br />
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full. <br />
<br />
Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival. <br />
<br />
2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies. <br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 78%

Location 87%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and atmosphere.

Disliked: N/A.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello J.,
Thank you for sending us your feedback! Great, that yo enjoyed staying here and we hope to know you as our guest again.
We wish you all the best!
Your MEININGER reception

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: simple, friendly and clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your very kind feedback. We are happy about every satisfied guest. Only yor positve feedback shows us that we are doing a good job. So thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Your MEININGER team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very clean and good location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback!
We are happy to know that you liked to stay at MEININGER!

Hope to welcome you again!

Your MEININGER reception

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very good location, just few steps from Alexanderplatz, metro station front of the hotel, clean room, good breakfast. I can highly recommend!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is place in very cute part of the city, close to Alexanderplatz and not too far by foot from main city street.

Disliked: I disliked the room. I don't want to sleep in 4 bed doorm for a price of private room. I want to be in private room if I pay for it, not in dorm with two dismantled beds. The price is also too high. For 25€ per capita on weekdays and cca 45€ on weekend it offers much to few. Not to mention that we didn't have breakfast included in price (90€ for dorm-like room for two persons). For 90€ we could easily sleep in 4 star hotel.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Warm and close to center with helpful staff

Disliked: No window for bathroom!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Modern, safe, nice view

Disliked: Maybe a little bit expensive, for this money I woul expect a breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place is awesome... location is prime, across the road from an underground station, next to shops and easy to find. One to two stops on the underground from nightlife spots, day markets and three stops to the city center and main train station. Super helpful staff and knowledgeable staff!! clean and tidy rooms, good showers too!! Loved it and would stay again!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The people staying there, the stuff, the room. It was quite, peaceful, clean. It was worth every penny.

Disliked: In one room I didn't have a free locker

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanliness and security are taken seriously here, which is appreciated. Great wifi signal throughout the entire property. Generous breakfast in the morning and overall pleasant, non-party atmosphere when you're looking for a more chilled experience in Berlin. Good for low-key travelers who need a break from the party hostels, families and romantic couples on a budget.

Disliked: The property makes a lionshare of its money from under-18 city-break school groups from the suburbs, so if you're over 19 years old there's not much socializing with people your age, very kiddie/camp feel sometimes, lots of big groups of middle school and high school kids come through the Meininger system, so you feel like a camp counselor around them. All Meiningers tend to have that city-camp/YHA for high school kids vibe. The decor has a corporate/McDonalds clinical feel to it, not much warmth, but still a very clean, decent property for a few nights if you want clean, honest budget hosteling.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability