HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of SleepCheapHostel

Hostel | Spandauer Damm 101, Berlin, Germany 14059

70.5% Overall Rating

287 out of 347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2013)

Sheri Freestone thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. You can buy beer from a cooler there (but you can't drink in the rooms). There is a courtyard in the back that's good for hanging out. There is also a café right…"

Read all SleepCheapHostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.21
  • Linen USD 3.45
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Apartcity Hotel
164.27 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Aparotel
31.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 60.0% 3 reviews
Hostel Die Etage
13.80 USD

Hostel 84.0% 198 reviews
Dessi-Berlin
23.47 USD

Apartment 90.6% 7 reviews
Smart Stay Berlin City
14.49 USD

Hostel 89.6% 20 reviews
Charlottenburg 2009
22.09 USD

Apartment 91.4% 12 reviews
Quentin Berlin
33.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Apartment Ani-Berlin
23.47 USD

Apartment 80.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

287 out of 347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SleepCheapHostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 217 of 267 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds as opposed to bunk beds - very comfortable.

Disliked: No lockers to secure belongings and front door open all night allowing access to anyone. Also bedding surcharge not clearly advertised on hostelbookers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

LUYAO WANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 LUYAO would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the ZOB bus station

Disliked: It will be closed at 11pm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benedict Boateng Antuamwine

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2013 Benedict Boateng would recommend this property

Liked: Big and spacious room with a table, chairs and a mirrow. That is commendable

Disliked: Kitchen needs to be stocked with cuttlery sets and should be cleaned regularly. Trash bins were full to the brim

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Lucey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and Clean

Disliked: Marian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Sheri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. You can buy beer from a cooler there (but you can't drink in the rooms). There is a courtyard in the back that's good for hanging out. There is also a café right next door that has really good food and it's cheap. The showers are individual showers, with your own room to get undressed in, and then a separate shower with proper door, and hooks to hang up your stuff. The rooms had plenty of outlets, and the beds weren't too bad. The wifi was also free. The hostel was also located really close to the S-Bahn, so it was easy to travel and connect to anywhere you wanted to go.

Disliked: There's no lift/elevator, but I'm not really sure I should complain since almost nowhere has a lift. However, we were on the 4th floor (5th floor American), and there was a kitchen, but it was in a separate building, also on the 4th (5th) floor, so you had to walk all the way the hostels stairs and then all the way back up to the kitchen. I also don't think the wifi worked in the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erik Márföldi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Good position for me, near to Tegel Airport, also to Waldbuhne and city center. Very cheap.

Disliked: Wifi works only in reception room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Theo Leggett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: It's cheap

Disliked: I was on the fourth floor. They have these one inch foam mattresses that make you really hot, but the windows open onto a four lane motorway. Also there was an alcoholic crazy woman in the bunkbed above me who decided to be have an argument around 3am most nights with the imaginary spiders in her head. Also the staff are UNBELIEVABLY rude. So rude in fact that despite travelling the WORLD for over a year, this is the first review I've EVER written for a hostel. They honestly are that bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

bryan Gray

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 bryan would recommend this property

Liked: showers! the fact there was a kitchen although not nice and in need of renovating badly!!

Disliked: all of the above and the fact no-one seems to do anything about snoring bed fellows!!! please some-one somewhere do something sooooooon!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, located close to ZOB.

Disliked: Quite thin matres

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bad treatment, it is dirty and noisy. Very far away from the city center

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eun Hae Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013

Liked: just one staff was kind

Disliked: i didn't dislike the property but didn't like it at the same time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joao Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: All the staffs there are very helpful and friendly

Disliked: .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: The hostel was quite clean (no bed bugs that I could find...) and very charming. I appreciated that our room had a little kitchen area, and the 10 people were actually divided between two connected rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although it was a little out of the way, it was nice and close to the train stop.

Disliked: The sign outside the hostel advertises 10E per night, I ended up paying 19 (including sheets). To make guests feel more safe, it'd be nice to have a light in the courtyard connecting the buildings and a second key that opens the gate to the street. Anyone could wander around the halls! The internet didn't work in the bedrooms and the rooms had no locker or table space.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012

Liked: price

Disliked: avoid the rooms on the main road. its very noisy. no lockers in the rooms. the hostel is non smoking, but unfortunately people dont obey the rules.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Norte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: close to S-bahn stop, good rates

Disliked: staff somehow messed up our booking, and we came back to our dorm to see that our beds had been stripped down, our stuff was missing, and other people's luggage on our beds. We managed to work it out with the new guests and find where our stuff went, but it was an unpleasant shock.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fayder Florez

Alone

City break

18 September 2012 Fayder would recommend this property

Liked: service

Disliked: no breakfast!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rogelio Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012

Liked: Beds are comfortable. Rooms have enough space. Bathrooms are cleaned every morning, at least during our stay. They do not include breakfast, but the nextdoor place offer good breakfast at a reasonable price..

Disliked: The location is far away (more than you can desire) from the main locations in Berlin, considering your a tourist. You don´t have attention at reception at night. WiFi signal isn´t strong enough in some rooms, so you have to move to common areas.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katarzyna Czerwinska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to S-bahn station. Cheap.

Disliked: They don't say that you have to pay 2,5 euro for the linens.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: It's in the middle of nowhere. The guy at the front desk who is in charge is a real jerk. The hostel is a real rathole. There are A LOT of hostels in Berlin so stay somewhere else. This a hostel that charges for "sheets"....I was asked if I brought sheets. No, and I also didn't bring my own toilet bowl, pal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alberto Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: The good location and access to public transportation, and their helpful staff.

Disliked: That I had to pay for the sheets € 2.5 .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darius Dirvanauskas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Darius would recommend this property

Liked: I liked because room was nice and clean. We have own bathroom and toilet. And what was very nice because we had own kitchen, were was microwave and fridge so ir was cool

Disliked: There was no Wifi only one computer in reception

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, free wifi, close to public transport,

Disliked: the bathroom was dirty, extra money for sheets

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2012

Liked: not a lot. what didnt i like is a better question. facilties were good. rooms clean and dining area average.

Disliked: i arrived to the hostel.there was no real genuine warm welcome, no interest in who i was, what i was doing. "just here's the key, there is your bed, gimme the money, thanks attitude". they made me pay for linen(it is not described as obligatory purchase on hostelbookers) i assumed one could use there sleeping bag). it made the stay more expensive. the bathroom smelled. check out was 12, i checked out at 2 and the owner wanted me to pay 10euros for checking out late(a full nights fee). most hostels dont do this. in a nut shell the people running this hostel put money before the guest comfort. it makes the atmosphere cold and stale.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012

Liked: It is close to the ZOB and that is the only good thing about it.

Disliked: It looks pretty nice when booking, as it is very cheap and looks like it is in a good location, until you get to your room. The rooms are not bad, but by being so cheap, there are almost no backpackers in the place, just workers. I was put in a room with four of them and they definitely didn't look friendly. The hostel also provide no lockers, so I was just affraid that I couldn't leave my stuff in the room. I asked to change rooms and in the new room one of the "guests" starts a fight with another one at 2am. Both were workers, they were not there for travel or anything like that. It was ok to stay only one night, as I was taking the bus in the morning, but I wouldn't leave my stuff there and there is not a chance I'd stay for longer.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elitsa Hadzhiivanova

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2012 Elitsa would recommend this property

Liked: Good room for a small price.

Disliked: Privacy was limited. The cleaners would come at different times during the afternoon. Your room can be unlocked from the outside even if you lock it on the inside.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels