HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of SleepCheapHostel

Hostel | Spandauer Damm 101, Berlin, Germany 14059

73.6% Overall Rating

305 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Alejandra Cristina Lopez Fuentes thinks…

"It's excellent value for the money. There's a 2.5€ extra fee for bed linen but it's ok since it's charged just one time no matter how many days will you stay. Hostel has no breakfast included but has…"

Read all SleepCheapHostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.04
  • Linen USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Apartcity Hotel
159.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Die Etage
13.43 USD

Hostel 85.7% 205 reviews
Dessi-Berlin
24.17 USD

Apartment 90.6% 7 reviews
Smart Stay Berlin City
16.92 USD

Hostel 86.4% 30 reviews
Charlottenburg 2009
22.82 USD

Apartment 91.4% 12 reviews
Quentin Berlin
32.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.8% 8 reviews
Apartment Ani-Berlin
25.51 USD

Apartment 80.7% 4 reviews
Villy-Berlin
24.17 USD

Apartment 87.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

305 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SleepCheapHostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 227 of 285 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Cristina Lopez Fuentes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Alejandra Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: It's excellent value for the money. There's a 2.5€ extra fee for bed linen but it's ok since it's charged just one time no matter how many days will you stay. Hostel has no breakfast included but has a nice cafeteria where you can get a nice breakfast for 4.5€ I stay in a mixed bedroom for 10 people and it was nice, beds are not super comfy but are ok. Shared bathroom was clean, always hot water. Not all the staff speak English but they're friendly and communication ran smooth. There are no lockers to store valuable things but I didn't loose anything. Location is also ok, near Charlottenburg castle (can go walking) and a few minutes to downtown by metro.

Disliked: Well, it's a 4 (or 5?) floor building and doesn't have elevator which can be awful for some people. For me it was no a problem at all. Wifi is free but it works just in the lobby, and it closes at midnight.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Angelin Kheng Hoay Tay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014 Angelin Kheng Hoay would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very strategic. Only few minutes walk to the S train. So its easy to get around Berlin.

Disliked: We got the room at the 4th floor and the kitchen is in the other building, 4th floor too. So we didn't even bother to check that out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

moshe shindler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 moshe would recommend this property

Liked: so nice peple...the chiper hostel that i faind in berlin and itz like apartement so you hav kind of privety oso in the dormes

Disliked: abit far from the senter ct

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: Unfortunately was the room facing the mainstreet eventhoug we booked garden view. Therefore it was very noisy and not so easy to sleep...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolett Balazs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Nikolett would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access, clean bathroom and rooms

Disliked: There is no locker in the room, only upstairs but you need your own padlock. However the reception staff was kind to let me leave my bag in their office without any problems.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vitalii Babura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Vitalii would recommend this property

Liked: 1 S bahn stop from international bus terminal and just 5 to Zoologischer garten, spacious dorm room and supermarket around the corner. Easy to find.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to bus station.

Disliked: no internet connection in some floors

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sebastian Stegart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very spacious room with table and chairs. Comfortable beds. Clean bathroom. Only 15 minutes walk to ZOB and 1 minute from S-bahn (but far away from city centre). One girl from a staff was Polish so that was nice to us.

Disliked: We were accommodated on the 4th floor and kitchen was also on the 4th floor but in a separate building! So you had to walk all way down, thru backyard and climb to the 4th floor (5th floor for Americans). No lockers in rooms and WiFi signal on our floor was too weak to connect in to. Extra charge for sheets (but it was written in a section 'purchasable extras' on website, furthermore recepcionist ask us do we need them so actually this is fairly).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Velásquez

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: It normal I mean for the price it was very good

Disliked: It was very old

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds as opposed to bunk beds - very comfortable.

Disliked: No lockers to secure belongings and front door open all night allowing access to anyone. Also bedding surcharge not clearly advertised on hostelbookers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

LUYAO WANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 LUYAO would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the ZOB bus station

Disliked: It will be closed at 11pm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benedict Boateng Antuamwine

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2013 Benedict Boateng would recommend this property

Liked: Big and spacious room with a table, chairs and a mirrow. That is commendable

Disliked: Kitchen needs to be stocked with cuttlery sets and should be cleaned regularly. Trash bins were full to the brim

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Lucey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and Clean

Disliked: Marian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Sheri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. You can buy beer from a cooler there (but you can't drink in the rooms). There is a courtyard in the back that's good for hanging out. There is also a café right next door that has really good food and it's cheap. The showers are individual showers, with your own room to get undressed in, and then a separate shower with proper door, and hooks to hang up your stuff. The rooms had plenty of outlets, and the beds weren't too bad. The wifi was also free. The hostel was also located really close to the S-Bahn, so it was easy to travel and connect to anywhere you wanted to go.

Disliked: There's no lift/elevator, but I'm not really sure I should complain since almost nowhere has a lift. However, we were on the 4th floor (5th floor American), and there was a kitchen, but it was in a separate building, also on the 4th (5th) floor, so you had to walk all the way the hostels stairs and then all the way back up to the kitchen. I also don't think the wifi worked in the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erik Márföldi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Good position for me, near to Tegel Airport, also to Waldbuhne and city center. Very cheap.

Disliked: Wifi works only in reception room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Theo Leggett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: It's cheap

Disliked: I was on the fourth floor. They have these one inch foam mattresses that make you really hot, but the windows open onto a four lane motorway. Also there was an alcoholic crazy woman in the bunkbed above me who decided to be have an argument around 3am most nights with the imaginary spiders in her head. Also the staff are UNBELIEVABLY rude. So rude in fact that despite travelling the WORLD for over a year, this is the first review I've EVER written for a hostel. They honestly are that bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

bryan Gray

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 bryan would recommend this property

Liked: showers! the fact there was a kitchen although not nice and in need of renovating badly!!

Disliked: all of the above and the fact no-one seems to do anything about snoring bed fellows!!! please some-one somewhere do something sooooooon!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, located close to ZOB.

Disliked: Quite thin matres

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bad treatment, it is dirty and noisy. Very far away from the city center

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eun Hae Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013

Liked: just one staff was kind

Disliked: i didn't dislike the property but didn't like it at the same time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joao Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: All the staffs there are very helpful and friendly

Disliked: .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: The hostel was quite clean (no bed bugs that I could find...) and very charming. I appreciated that our room had a little kitchen area, and the 10 people were actually divided between two connected rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although it was a little out of the way, it was nice and close to the train stop.

Disliked: The sign outside the hostel advertises 10E per night, I ended up paying 19 (including sheets). To make guests feel more safe, it'd be nice to have a light in the courtyard connecting the buildings and a second key that opens the gate to the street. Anyone could wander around the halls! The internet didn't work in the bedrooms and the rooms had no locker or table space.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 November 2012

Liked: price

Disliked: avoid the rooms on the main road. its very noisy. no lockers in the rooms. the hostel is non smoking, but unfortunately people dont obey the rules.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Norte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: close to S-bahn stop, good rates

Disliked: staff somehow messed up our booking, and we came back to our dorm to see that our beds had been stripped down, our stuff was missing, and other people's luggage on our beds. We managed to work it out with the new guests and find where our stuff went, but it was an unpleasant shock.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels