HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel

Hostel | Ziegelstraße 28, Berlin, Germany 10117

87.8% Overall Rating

1097 out of 1166 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"There was a lovely outside area to chill out, the bar was good and you could get a really cheap lunch! The rooms were clean and spacious and the location was great for the city centre and the train station :) The free…"

Read all Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.64
  • Linen USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 1.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.
Attention:
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
12.63 USD

Hostel 84.1% 848 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
22.60 USD

Hostel 93.5% 217 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
20.61 USD

Hostel 89.5% 165 reviews
Circus Hostel
34.76 USD

Hostel 94.2% 169 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
16.75 USD

Hostel 79.0% 961 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
17.28 USD

Hostel 84.3% 521 reviews
Citystay Mitte
18.99 USD

Hostel 92.7% 1194 reviews
Hostel Aloha
19.94 USD

Hostel 86.2% 726 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

1097 out of 1166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 798 of 884 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with a good atmosphere for the youth.

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lovely outside area to chill out, the bar was good and you could get a really cheap lunch! The rooms were clean and spacious and the location was great for the city centre and the train station :) The free walking tour from outside is well worth doing too!

Disliked: Nothing! Perhaps the late check in time, and It would have been nice to have a free breakfast but now I'm just being cheeky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of the staff, the atmosphere within the hostel with the different people staying here and the location was very good with lots of sights around with bars and restaurants to enjoy :)

Disliked: nothing it was great!!!!!!!! :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful rooftop bar, everything was clean, location was perfect

Disliked: the fact that the hostel is so big makes it harder to meet people than in smaller hostels

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How social it was, the location and the bar.

Disliked: The first room we were assigned was described as a 5 bed dorm but instead had 6 beds crammed into a small space with no air-con or windows to ventilate the room. It was also annoying being informed that we had to check out and back in again half way through our stay because the hostel required that we change rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness

Disliked: Staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and well decorated, with a nice bar and other common areas.

Disliked: No kitchens available, limiting food options.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere with friendly people in a great locations

Disliked: The smell of the corridor and the beds creeked very much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was everything I could hope for. The staff was very helpful, the room was very nice and it was in a great location.

Disliked: The wifi in the common areas wasn't great but it worked well in the room so that made up for it. This didn't apply to me however, a lot of the guests had to switch rooms, a few more than once (they do have lockers to make the transition more smooth though).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap

Disliked: A little noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chee Khan Wong

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Chee Khan would recommend this property

Liked: Basically I like everything about this hostel, strategic location, Example: 10mins walks to Museum Island and 15mins to Berlin Cathedral, Tram, Subway and Train Station are nearby (10mins walks), surrounded by shops and various type cuisine of restaurants (Traditional German Restaurant nearby as well). The room and toilet are clean and tidy, definitely ideal choice for Group Traveller about 5 - 8 people , Wifi is provided for every room.

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful and clearly quite capable in multiple languages. The room was clean and the lockers were well-sized. I am always pleased when the private batthroom and shower are two separate rooms.

Disliked: The set-up of the room meant that two of the beds were right up next to each other and entirely stopped traffic. To get your suitcases to the lockers you had to lift your bags over one of those beds. Made for a dangerous trip to the bathroom in the dark. Also...if it had not been my partner in the bed right up next to my face, I would have been a little uncomfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and close to the city transport stations.

Disliked: The man of the staff, with whom I spoke, was quite ignorant. The customers are obliged to pay a city tax of 5% of the total amount. Business travelers are exempt from city tax but need to provide an evidence. As I asked what kind of evidence he needs or should I fill out some kind of document, he told me, that he doesn't know, has no experience and has no time to ask about it. So I just had to pay the city tax also. They also didn't give me any information about the facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tsz Shing Tsoi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2014 Tsz Shing would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and chill. Lots of young travelers. Fun atmosphere.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Brook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice size room. Great location and felt very safe

Disliked: Wifi connection a little weak at certain times

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Caulfield

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: There is no question the location is the main selling point of this hostel. It is a 5 min walk from Friedrichstrase station where you get anyway in Berlin from, 15 min walk to Reichstag and 20 min to Alexander Platz. You can hire a bike from the hostel and do all of the above in half the time as I did. It is a very clean, friendly and efficient place. Food is very good. I had a veggie burger one night and it was excellent and for breakfast I had scrambled egg which was lovely and was cheaper than the standard breakfast. Nice bar serves drinks, watch football and chat to people. I have read other reviews saying it lacks atmosphere, in other words you don't have backpackers bouncing up and down on tables drunk. But if you want to meet and talk to people then there is opportunity in a relaxed atmosphere in the bar or the outside area. I spoke to plenty of people. It has a good secure luggage holding facility for late flights. There is an organic shop around the corner called Bio Shop that is really good and reasonably cheap. But the main thing of the hostel is the location, it is the best as a base for touring.

Disliked: I booked an extra night but I had to move room. That is the not the issue as I accept that was my problem but the second room was definitlely smaller than the first room, felt quite small. Still good clean room though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sim Shin Ying

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Sim would recommend this property

Liked: Walkable distance to the train station. Has a bar/restaurant where you can chill. Facilities are clean

Disliked: The 40-beds dorm has very dim lighting. In a way, I think it is good as this will not disturb the other people who mnight be resting in the dorm, but on the other hand, it could be a little difficult to find our way around the room. Nonetheless, the dorm is spacious and really comfortable to stay in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and atmosphere of hostel

Disliked: no self catering options

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. we had a very pleasant stay there. beautifull spacious room, very clen, great staff members, facilities, pool table, fotball table etc.

Disliked: very squeeky beds......that was the only unpleasant thing in there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and clean.

Disliked: It didn't have much character.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosmopolitan atmosphere in conjunction with a free drink on arrival!

Disliked: Prices.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar and common areas

Disliked: Thin curtains in the bedroom letting the light in after a big night!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Almost everything, the Baxpax Downtown Hostel is the worst hostel I have ever been too, a few of the reasons: -There is no a single picture of the dorm I stayed in, the k- studio, they not mention either that it is on the basement, below a terrace where there is a lot of noise at night; being on a basement, the room has no windows, so you have to rely on a low quality light fixture to see, mine was broken hostel staff didnt care, i had to use my phone too see at all hours. - Because of an error from the staff I had to change beds 3 times during the same day. - the smell in the room was terrible, like smelly feet, maybe because it is on dark basement without any flux of fresh air. - No air conditioner in the whole hostel, from the lobby to rooms, I went there in early August, the city was incredibly hot and so was hostel. - No kitchen - Only two showers. - Not much social opportunities to interact with other travelers. - I "lost " 2 shirts, a towel, a lotion and a brand new contact lens solution. - You cant use the usb ports from the computers, so you cant download/upload any of your pictures. - Overall it was a terrible experience, there are much nicer hostels nearby for the same cost. I will never stay in this hostel again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brett Mourer

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2013 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: They arranged for a free walking tour.

Disliked: Brett left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels