We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel

Hostel | Ziegelstraße 28, Berlin, Germany 10117

87.0% Overall Rating

1113 out of 1185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/12/2014)

"Super location! Easy to get to a lot of sights by walking. Very clean and nice atmosphere."

Read all Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.22
  • Linen USD 3.16
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.
Attention:
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
12.02 USD

Hostel 82.9% 865 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
12.65 USD

Hostel 93.1% 248 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
13.92 USD

Hostel 88.1% 174 reviews
Circus Hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 93.5% 175 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
15.94 USD

Hostel 74.2% 969 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 83.9% 523 reviews
Citystay Mitte
11.61 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1205 reviews
Hostel Aloha
10.37 USD

Hostel 85.5% 732 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

1113 out of 1185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 810 of 903 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gabriel Vasconcelos de Sousa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: x

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: Wi-fi is only available at the ground floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super location! Easy to get to a lot of sights by walking. Very clean and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff unfriendly and fought infront of us behind the desk. Very unprofessional!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Figueredo Rocha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Very organized, bar inside, good breakfast, etc.

Disliked: The staff is not very nice, but they are OK

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 October 2014

Liked: Our shower room and toilet were separate rooms, which is nice. And the food at the lounge area was very good and cheap. The food also came very quickly, which took us all by surprise.

Disliked: Berlin is one of the best cities in the world for great hostels, but this hostel slightly disappointed me. The staff were very slow and my friends did not like the attitude of the staff. The facilities were fine, but it was just the poor service we didn't like. With so many other fantastic options in Berlin, I will look elsewhere next time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and sleeping areas were quiet

Disliked: nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and really good vibe, cool roof terrace and garden with good music means you can meet people really easily and don't necessarily have to go out if you want a chilled evening. Nice spacious rooms and big lockers. And clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Makoku

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and in the city centre

Disliked: Internet too slow and I do not like the system used to access internet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Khatia De Vidts

Alone

City break

05 September 2014

Liked: the location

Disliked: the way they treat the cheap visitors by putting them in the cheap room, knowing the situating of the bedbugs and not disinfecting the room properly. Only washing the sheets is not enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hadi Rashidi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: 1. They charge you for the bed sheets 2. The internet is really funky. If you are in the basement then you need to come to the ground floor to get connected. 3. The dorms are in basement, kind of ugly!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Reynolds

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere and a really relaxed, cool vibe. We met a lot of nice people there. The hostel itself is very impressive, lots of areas to sit and relax, including a bar, which can get quite lively in the evening and a rooftop terrace. We were upgraded from the 30 bed dorm to a five bed which was amazing! Everything was very well kept and clean. I did get stuck in the lift at one point but I was rescued pretty quickly! The location is excellent, close to the sights and with lots of nice bars and restaurants around.

Disliked: For the most part the staff are friendly and helpful. But I did often find myself standing waiting to be served (often for a good minute or two) whilst they finished their conversation. But once their attention was on you, they were great. This is a silly one, but a full length mirror in the rooms would be great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, easy to meet people. Good location. Good lockers.

Disliked: Staff were not friendly or helpful, and were very disorganized. No kitchen available.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with a good atmosphere for the youth.

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lovely outside area to chill out, the bar was good and you could get a really cheap lunch! The rooms were clean and spacious and the location was great for the city centre and the train station :) The free walking tour from outside is well worth doing too!

Disliked: Nothing! Perhaps the late check in time, and It would have been nice to have a free breakfast but now I'm just being cheeky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of the staff, the atmosphere within the hostel with the different people staying here and the location was very good with lots of sights around with bars and restaurants to enjoy :)

Disliked: nothing it was great!!!!!!!! :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful rooftop bar, everything was clean, location was perfect

Disliked: the fact that the hostel is so big makes it harder to meet people than in smaller hostels

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How social it was, the location and the bar.

Disliked: The first room we were assigned was described as a 5 bed dorm but instead had 6 beds crammed into a small space with no air-con or windows to ventilate the room. It was also annoying being informed that we had to check out and back in again half way through our stay because the hostel required that we change rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness

Disliked: Staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and well decorated, with a nice bar and other common areas.

Disliked: No kitchens available, limiting food options.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere with friendly people in a great locations

Disliked: The smell of the corridor and the beds creeked very much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was everything I could hope for. The staff was very helpful, the room was very nice and it was in a great location.

Disliked: The wifi in the common areas wasn't great but it worked well in the room so that made up for it. This didn't apply to me however, a lot of the guests had to switch rooms, a few more than once (they do have lockers to make the transition more smooth though).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap

Disliked: A little noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chee Khan Wong

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Chee Khan would recommend this property

Liked: Basically I like everything about this hostel, strategic location, Example: 10mins walks to Museum Island and 15mins to Berlin Cathedral, Tram, Subway and Train Station are nearby (10mins walks), surrounded by shops and various type cuisine of restaurants (Traditional German Restaurant nearby as well). The room and toilet are clean and tidy, definitely ideal choice for Group Traveller about 5 - 8 people , Wifi is provided for every room.

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful and clearly quite capable in multiple languages. The room was clean and the lockers were well-sized. I am always pleased when the private batthroom and shower are two separate rooms.

Disliked: The set-up of the room meant that two of the beds were right up next to each other and entirely stopped traffic. To get your suitcases to the lockers you had to lift your bags over one of those beds. Made for a dangerous trip to the bathroom in the dark. Also...if it had not been my partner in the bed right up next to my face, I would have been a little uncomfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and close to the city transport stations.

Disliked: The man of the staff, with whom I spoke, was quite ignorant. The customers are obliged to pay a city tax of 5% of the total amount. Business travelers are exempt from city tax but need to provide an evidence. As I asked what kind of evidence he needs or should I fill out some kind of document, he told me, that he doesn't know, has no experience and has no time to ask about it. So I just had to pay the city tax also. They also didn't give me any information about the facilities.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels