We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel

Hostel | Ziegelstraße 28, Berlin, Germany 10117

85.4% Overall Rating

1138 out of 1213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

Roan Ballantine thinks…

"Clean, lots of young travelers, almost all travelers spoke english, good music, good beer."

Read all Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.31
  • Linen USD 2.81
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.
Attention:
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
10.96 USD

Hostel 90.2% 902 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
16.64 USD

Hostel 89.8% 281 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
11.80 USD

Hostel 88.5% 181 reviews
Circus Hostel
29.23 USD

Hostel 92.0% 182 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
11.80 USD

Hostel 75.9% 979 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
16.86 USD

Hostel 81.5% 530 reviews
Citystay Mitte
16.05 USD

Hostel 84.5% 1223 reviews
Hostel Aloha
21.36 USD

Hostel 75.0% 754 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

1138 out of 1213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 828 of 931 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2015

Liked: Facilities are nice and clean. Good price too

Disliked: It wasn't a good place to meet other travelers. It's a large hostel and most people travel in groups. They don't run any nightly events that I could see.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool, modern hostel, lots of facilities and places to comfortably lounge.

Disliked: -No parking even though they claim to have parking. Remove "car parking" from your hostel description. -The cafe gets a smoky smell from all the smokers in the smoking room. -Female staff can be a bit snobbish. -Most expensive hostel I've ever stayed in. -My 3-bed dorm had an empty beer bottle and other stuff next to my bed when I checked in. Plus, there were female underclothes hanging on parts of the room from the time I checked in until the time I checked out a few days later, even though there were no women staying in the room. How long had those clothes been there? Are they still there? Despite these dislikes, the hostel is good enough that I would recommend it. Great location.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roan Ballantine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2015 Roan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of young travelers, almost all travelers spoke english, good music, good beer.

Disliked: Breakfast was overpriced for yogurt and cereal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior was quite cool

Disliked: The place was nice, room was okay.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location near Friedrichstrasse. Clean.

Disliked: It is a very big hostel, and the staff treat you like a number rather than a valued guest. A couple of the staff were nice, but most were indifferent or just rude. The wifi was very patchy and inconsistent. The place generally lacks atmosphere and was overrun by males in the 20-25 age group during my stay - a bit of a sausage fest.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

noelle ozog

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015

Liked: Patio was nice, when open

Disliked: Lots of large groups, not a lot of people to talk to for a solo travelor

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incomparable prices to other plces in downtown Berlin

Disliked: The customer service is too formalized and kind of nervous. And also I got to know about this special Berlin accomodation fee of 6 € or so only upon arrival

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, staff were very helpful and had the best time!!!!

Disliked: Lindsey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mete Ozkurt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015 Mete would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and good location.

Disliked: Mete left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matison Jensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2015 Matison would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Atmosphere, lots to do in the area!

Disliked: I was charged 10 dollars more than the price hostel bookers have to me because of city tax and charging 2.50 for bed sheets....bedsheets? Shouldn't that be included in the price? The wifi wasn't great but worked well enough for me.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and young atmosphere Good rooms and toilets Location

Disliked: Internet was not that good I was not well attended at the hostel`s bar

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lot of character for being a large hostel chain. Lots of area to hang out in and close to most attractions. We were able to walk everywhere.

Disliked: Disliked that we paid €6 for breakfast when all we got was some bread, yogurt and fruit. Bed sheets were very thin and small. Otherwise I very much enjoyed this hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Conor Youell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: None

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carlos Nunez Aliste

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 April 2015 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The gooseneck nightlight in between your locker and the bed in the dorm so you don't have to wake everyone up.

Disliked: The stale cold air in the dorm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Alcalde

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 José would recommend this property

Liked: Was everything ok, the only problem was the internet, it wasn't so good

Disliked: The wifi connection

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paula Nicioli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is quite amusing - the bar, the lounge... Had a great time here!

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and nice place, relaxed environment

Disliked: The staff varied greatly, some really nice people and some more hesitant people. The room was supposed to be a private room for two and for the price we ended up getting a 5 person room with bunks and no real amenities. Again, this would be fine in the dorns where you stay for 10 euros but for 38 euro per person per night you would expect better conditions.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gabriel Vasconcelos de Sousa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: x

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: Wi-fi is only available at the ground floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super location! Easy to get to a lot of sights by walking. Very clean and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff unfriendly and fought infront of us behind the desk. Very unprofessional!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Figueredo Rocha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Very organized, bar inside, good breakfast, etc.

Disliked: The staff is not very nice, but they are OK

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 October 2014

Liked: Our shower room and toilet were separate rooms, which is nice. And the food at the lounge area was very good and cheap. The food also came very quickly, which took us all by surprise.

Disliked: Berlin is one of the best cities in the world for great hostels, but this hostel slightly disappointed me. The staff were very slow and my friends did not like the attitude of the staff. The facilities were fine, but it was just the poor service we didn't like. With so many other fantastic options in Berlin, I will look elsewhere next time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and sleeping areas were quiet

Disliked: nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and really good vibe, cool roof terrace and garden with good music means you can meet people really easily and don't necessarily have to go out if you want a chilled evening. Nice spacious rooms and big lockers. And clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels