HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel/Hotel Berlin Hostel

Ziegelstr. 28, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.50EUR
  • Linen 2.50EUR
  • Towel 1.00EUR

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.<br />
Attention:<br />
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time. <br />
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.<br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the living room which was meeing point

Disliked: that some thiefs got in and stole many stuff

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, near to friedrichstrasse

Disliked: Be prepared for hidden costs: city tax (cca 1€/night) and bed linen (2,5€ for staying). Towel for 2€.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Exactly what I am looking for in a hostel - friendly staff, great room (I stayed in the 30 dorm, loads of space and very clean), bar and chill out area is awesome and good value for money. Close to everything you need.quite a few negative comments on here made me apprehensive but it is a hostel and you get what you pay for, this place is great and I would highly recommend it for quality on a budget :)

Disliked: In the evening it would be nice if there was a part of communal/non-dorm area that was a bit better lit for reading/working.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Central location, large dorm option. Has potential to be a great hostel.

Disliked: No communal kitchen, absolutely no atmosphere, never has more than 10-15 people in the bar. Burger from the bar was by far the worst burger I have ever had. More of a budget hotel with a identity problem trying to be a hostel. Majority of customers are groups of 12-16 year old European school kids.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice common areas

Disliked: No kitchenK-studio (around 30 beds) in the basement is a dungeon. No natural light and no overhead light just lamps attached to the beds. It is the cheapest option though. Expect to keep your voice to whisper at all times and not hang out in the room during the day.The hostel double blocked my bed which one guy was furious about and made sure to let me know he better not find me there the next night. I was however able to transfer to an upstairs 3 person room which was spacious and had natural light, wooo. Had they not had space I guess I would have been sleeping at the bar.I paid for a breakfast but had a big night and was too hungover the next day to eat so I later asked to have it transfered to the next day but the guy at reception said that's not possible their pen and paper system was not flexible enough for this! Unbelievable.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cheap brownies and muffins!

Disliked: It was a 40-bed dorm instead of 30-bed dorm as announced. The dorm was in the basement and there was no light and blue-tainted windows which kind of gave it a creepy atmosphere and made it difficult to meet people.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had a great atmosphere, the decor and facilities were good, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, the free wifi was good, the food was cheap and it was just a short walk to the Reichstag/Brandenburg Gate area, or the Hackescher Mart in the other direction.

Disliked: It's such a tiny thing which is indicative of how good the place was - having to get a new wifi code every morning was a little inconvenient

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Facilities are nice and clean. Good price too

Disliked: It wasn't a good place to meet other travelers. It's a large hostel and most people travel in groups. They don't run any nightly events that I could see.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, lots of young travelers, almost all travelers spoke english, good music, good beer.

Disliked: Breakfast was overpriced for yogurt and cereal.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The interior was quite cool

Disliked: The place was nice, room was okay.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability