HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel

Hostel | Ziegelstraße 28, Berlin, Germany 10117

83.2% Overall Rating

1077 out of 1146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Sim Shin Ying thinks…

"Walkable distance to the train station. Has a bar/restaurant where you can chill. Facilities are clean"

Read all Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.98
  • Linen USD 3.45
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.
Attention:
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
13.47 USD

Hostel 86.1% 817 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
24.87 USD

Hostel 89.4% 177 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
19.34 USD

Hostel 89.9% 149 reviews
Circus Hostel
26.25 USD

Hostel 95.3% 159 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
18.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 948 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 84.7% 513 reviews
Citystay Mitte
14.09 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1173 reviews
Hostel Aloha
11.05 USD

Hostel 87.2% 717 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

1077 out of 1146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 782 of 865 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn Pilchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2011 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean and very modern.

Disliked: There wasn't much character to the hostel. Plus, the other guests just kept to themselves. If you're looking for a hostel where you can meet people, BaxPax isn't really the place for you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and the location and facilities were great!

Disliked: The pub can get a little bit too loud sometimes and the wifi only works in certain area. Also, the room was right in front of a busy street so I couldn't sleep very well because it got really loud at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm is big, but quiet. I slept in the last dorm and there were almost no girls so I had the bathroom for myself ;) It's pretty clean. The average age is around 23 so I felt a bit old (27). It's not really a party hostel. People have a drink with each other at the bar and that's it. I wouldn't recommend it when you're travelling alone...

Disliked: It's not a cosy hostel, the staff could be more friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Parr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: stayed in the 30 bed monster dorm, it was actually really comfortable and each person had their own locker which was really nice great bar / restaurant good food and prices. awesome roof top patio!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. All the staff were super friendly. The community is great. EVERYTHING!

Disliked: nothing really. One minor thing would be that the shower faucet automatically turns off every 20-30 seconds, so you would have to press it quite frequently. But, that's really not a big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria peel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: pretty much everything. It was more like a hotel than a hostel. Best hostel I've stayed in. Go here for sure.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest hostels i've stayed at. There is a great bar/lounge area where you easily get in contact with other people, and the atmosphere is så nice and cosy. You can order food there as well and it's pretty good, and cheap! The staff is nice, and will help you with anything. And the hostel lies right in the "Mitte" so you can walk to a lot of things that you have to see when you are in Berlin. I can realle recomment this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, amazing cheap breakfast, excellent rooms, friendly staff. The place is more like a resort than a hostel. It has got to be by far the best place I've stayed at. The price is not that expensive for what we got out of it.

Disliked: Nothing at all! I'll definitely be coming back :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Menezes

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything that I expected. The location was really good close to train and tram stops. The staff was really helpful and even speak some Portuguese (which is impressive). I would come back.

Disliked: I made a reservation in a 4 bedroom room and and up in a 5 bedroom. They told me they did not have any more 4 bedrooms available, which,in truth, is unacceptable because i had the reservation confirmed. However, they did charge me the 5 bedroom rate, which was cheaper, and gave one free breakfast to compensate their huge mistake..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rasmus Petersen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: good beds, nice bar and hang out place

Disliked: nothing else than we were told we couldnt use the view point/relax place on the roof

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff there 24h / day, basically everything you could want was available either free or just for a deposit, so locks, towels, power adapters, etc. Great location--easy to walk to a bunch of places and just a couple minutes from a main U-Bahn + S-Bahn station. Overall a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing major. The breakfast buffet wasn't quite what I would hope for the price, but that's a pretty small complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Hervieux-Savard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Metro and the sight seeing. It's cheap and the staff are really cool. It was the best hostel of my trip in Europe. Clean Clean Clean !

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Megen Ickler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Megen would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Staff misguided us multiple times, serves an older audience sometimes

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location. i was in the huge dorm which actually wasn't that bad if you are just there to sleep. free wifi was nice, the food at the bar was cheap and good. offer info and pick up for a free walking tour, which lets you meet some other people at the hostel.

Disliked: difficult to meet people if you are alone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the K studio- reminded me of a mental institute.... No real lighting so very hard to see when you need to pack/unpack. Other than that, for a 30 bed dorm it wasnt tooo bad!! I also left my bag with passport,bank card,camera etc in a taxi and the staff were extremely helpful-calling taxi companies and giving me directions to the nearest police station.

Disliked: The lack of lighting in the K studio No free internet Expensive breakfast- we went else where to eat.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rohit Goyal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Rohit would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Ambience

Disliked: Check in Time is very late....i had to wait around 6 hrs for my room to get ready.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed at despite a few small annoyances. Great atmosphere, very clean, helpful staff, excellent location etc.

Disliked: Breakfast costs 5 euros and wifi did not work in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashley Green

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The back patio is awesome, the bean bag chairs are the perfect place to curl up and read a book and take a little afternoon cat nap. The bar and restaurant area are seriously good, food is good and the drink specials everyday are amazing. The room was nice and big and the bathroom was always very clean.

Disliked: The rooftop terrace and the outdoor patio closed at 10 pm, but they do have close neighbors so I can understand why.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ben Marshall

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice rooms, clean, friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff, proximity to train station

Disliked: Not enough lockers in room for all guests

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: The explanation as to this hostel by one of the staffs was not enough at all. I had to ask them later.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location and I met fantastic people there.

Disliked: The 30 bed dormitory felt and looked like an absolute prison. That just ain't right.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Eames

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: bar was a great place to meet people

Disliked: room was a bit dark


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels