HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel/Hotel Berlin Hostel

Ziegelstr. 28, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.96USD
  • Linen 3.06USD
  • Towel 1.22USD

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.<br />
Attention:<br />
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time. <br />
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.<br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

Showing 51-60 of 72 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice size room. Great location and felt very safe

Disliked: Wifi connection a little weak at certain times

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is no question the location is the main selling point of this hostel. It is a 5 min walk from Friedrichstrase station where you get anyway in Berlin from, 15 min walk to Reichstag and 20 min to Alexander Platz. You can hire a bike from the hostel and do all of the above in half the time as I did. It is a very clean, friendly and efficient place. Food is very good. I had a veggie burger one night and it was excellent and for breakfast I had scrambled egg which was lovely and was cheaper than the standard breakfast. Nice bar serves drinks, watch football and chat to people. I have read other reviews saying it lacks atmosphere, in other words you don't have backpackers bouncing up and down on tables drunk. But if you want to meet and talk to people then there is opportunity in a relaxed atmosphere in the bar or the outside area. I spoke to plenty of people. It has a good secure luggage holding facility for late flights. There is an organic shop around the corner called Bio Shop that is really good and reasonably cheap. But the main thing of the hostel is the location, it is the best as a base for touring.

Disliked: I booked an extra night but I had to move room. That is the not the issue as I accept that was my problem but the second room was definitlely smaller than the first room, felt quite small. Still good clean room though.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Walkable distance to the train station. Has a bar/restaurant where you can chill. Facilities are clean

Disliked: The 40-beds dorm has very dim lighting. In a way, I think it is good as this will not disturb the other people who mnight be resting in the dorm, but on the other hand, it could be a little difficult to find our way around the room. Nonetheless, the dorm is spacious and really comfortable to stay in.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and cheap

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: location and atmosphere of hostel

Disliked: no self catering options

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: everything. we had a very pleasant stay there. beautifull spacious room, very clen, great staff members, facilities, pool table, fotball table etc.

Disliked: very squeeky beds......that was the only unpleasant thing in there.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was safe and clean.

Disliked: It didn't have much character.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Rooftop bar and common areas

Disliked: Thin curtains in the bedroom letting the light in after a big night!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cosmopolitan atmosphere in conjunction with a free drink on arrival!

Disliked: Prices.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Almost everything, the Baxpax Downtown Hostel is the worst hostel I have ever been too, a few of the reasons:-There is no a single picture of the dorm I stayed in, the k- studio, they not mention either that it is on the basement, below a terrace where there is a lot of noise at night; being on a basement, the room has no windows, so you have to rely on a low quality light fixture to see, mine was broken hostel staff didnt care, i had to use my phone too see at all hours. - Because of an error from the staff I had to change beds 3 times during the same day.- the smell in the room was terrible, like smelly feet, maybe because it is on dark basement without any flux of fresh air.- No air conditioner in the whole hostel, from the lobby to rooms, I went there in early August, the city was incredibly hot and so was hostel. - No kitchen- Only two showers.- Not much social opportunities to interact with other travelers.- I "lost " 2 shirts, a towel, a lotion and a brand new contact lens solution.- You cant use the usb ports from the computers, so you cant download/upload any of your pictures.-Overall it was a terrible experience, there are much nicer hostels nearby for the same cost. I will never stay in this hostel again.

Check Availability