We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel

Hostel | Ziegelstraße 28, Berlin, Germany 10117

88.1% Overall Rating

1119 out of 1191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2015)

"The gooseneck nightlight in between your locker and the bed in the dorm so you don't have to wake everyone up."

Read all Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.27
  • Linen USD 2.80
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.
Attention:
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
10.63 USD

Hostel 81.8% 873 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
17.90 USD

Hostel 93.5% 257 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
15.10 USD

Hostel 88.5% 175 reviews
Circus Hostel
24.15 USD

Hostel 93.5% 175 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
14.09 USD

Hostel 74.7% 970 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
11.19 USD

Hostel 83.9% 523 reviews
Citystay Mitte
13.69 USD

Hostel 84.7% 1207 reviews
Hostel Aloha
11.19 USD

Hostel 84.2% 739 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

1119 out of 1191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 814 of 909 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: ...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for a great price! The staff were very helpful in recommending some great restaurants and bars. The hostel is walking distance from many places, plus very close to an S-bahn stop. We didn't try the breakfast offered at the hostel, but there's a cafe just around the corner called CoComo where we had the best waffles ever!

Disliked: Sharing one bathroom between 8 people was a little tricky. It would have been nice to have an extra shower and toilet stall. 6 lockers in an 8 person room seemed a little odd.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012

Liked: Good location near a big train station, so even on Sunday you can still get whatever you need. Bar was nice. Rooms are spacious and shower/toilet is attached. This is good as you don't have to go wandering in the halls looking for a toilet, but annoying when 8 people want to shower, brush their teeth etc at the same time.

Disliked: 2.50 euros EACH NIGHT for linen, so they're actually lying about the nightly cost The linen charge doesn't include a towel, which costs extra. Breakfast isn't included and at 5 euros it's definitely not worth it - a much better option is to go to the train station and get a pastry from one of the many bakeries. It's about a third of the price and way more delicious. I was travelling with friends but staying different dates, so we booked separately. I emailed reception to ask if we could be put in the same room and they responded with a yes. When I arrived, they said there wasn't space in their room and if I had wanted to be with them I should have booked together, which is understandable if they hadn't already said yes. It was really inconsiderate and I didn't get to see my friends as much as I wanted to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Grajales Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Atmosphere! plenty of backpackers and very helpfull staff.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value, close to city center, spacious and comfortable rooms, nice bar/restaurant/lounge

Disliked: Very little! Laundry was slightly expensive, and our room had only 6 lockers for 8 beds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A*** location, easy access to all areas of Berlin and you feel right in the thick of it whilst it is on a quieter side street

Disliked: I was a little worried that the front doors never seem to be shut - most other hostels you need your key card after a certain time to gain access to the hostel but that didnt seem to be the arrangement here and therefore didnt seem as secure - saying that we had no problems. Also really annoying that you have to pay extra for bedding, but you have no option to not use there bedding, seems a bit of a scam to appear to have cheaper rates than they really have.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rebekah Phillips

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, nice staff.

Disliked: Buffet Breakfast was expensive u thought for what it was. But then again I wasn't that hungry so I feel I didn't get my money's worth. Didn't seem to be any events or activities so hard to socialize semi...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Nice bar. Clean. Helpful staff. Good all round hostel.

Disliked: The duvets on the beds were perhaps a little small. The timer on the shower was a bit short. Little things. No big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Yun

Alone

City break

14 February 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free wifi, reasonable price

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holli Howard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Holli would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing!!!!! Especially the front desk!!!

Disliked: Holli left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and professional. Easy to get to.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice and clean spacious rooms, YUM food downstairs, really helpful staff. Definitely reccommend!

Disliked: Breakfast not included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay and the food at the restaurant was wontherfull

Disliked: The brakfast was a bit expensive!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Praveen Kumar Pennadam Amarnath

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Praveen Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Close to s bahn station.. pretty close to main sights.. .

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenda Guillén Mora

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 December 2011 Glenda would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location!!! Very friendly staff!!!

Disliked: Glenda left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Willmore

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: great vibe with really good tunes - all the time they were blazing out awesome tunes, i was using shazam left right and centre to pick up those songs!

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The position was really perfect! Near to railway station, the underground, and the center of the city as well (10-15 minutes by walk)!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was just fine!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, save, great location. Thanks!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Huge 40 bed dorm is pretty cool.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chang Yu Lin

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 November 2011 Chang Yu would recommend this property

Liked: It's good

Disliked: Chang Yu left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness,warm staff,hostel style...

Disliked: Actually nothing.It would be great if there is kitchen for public.You should pay extra fee for your sheets and your are not allowed to use yours.So extra fee become mandatory(2.5euros)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect. also the staff is very friendly. we stayed in private double room and the room was very nice.

Disliked: the matraces in the beds were already too used

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, within walking distance of various tourist sights. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. I would definitely recommend this hostel and when I return to Berlin will stay there again.

Disliked: The only issue I had was that we requested a wake up call and although we had a private room and a telephone inside the staff forgot twice! But I forgive them, great experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bike rental service and the diner.

Disliked: The poor quality of beds.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels