We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel

Hostel | Ziegelstraße 28, Berlin, Germany 10117

88.5% Overall Rating

1107 out of 1179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/10/2014)

"Our shower room and toilet were separate rooms, which is nice. And the food at the lounge area was very good and cheap. The food also came very quickly, which took us all by surprise."

Read all Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.22
  • Linen USD 3.16
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please be advised that bookings of more than 10 people will need to be re-confirmed by Baxpax Downtown management.
Attention:
1. we do not accept any group underage, that means if any one is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.
2. we don't accept group bookings of over 10 People online. Should you wish to book for 10 people or more please contact the Group Department of the booking agent.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
12.02 USD

Hostel 84.6% 864 reviews
Generator Berlin Mitte
17.71 USD

Hostel 92.9% 234 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
16.45 USD

Hostel 88.6% 170 reviews
Circus Hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 93.4% 174 reviews
Cityhostel Berlin
13.28 USD

Hostel 75.7% 964 reviews
baxpax Mitte Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 84.1% 522 reviews
Citystay Mitte
11.61 USD

Hostel 87.5% 1204 reviews
Hostel Aloha
10.75 USD

Hostel 87.1% 731 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

1107 out of 1179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 807 of 897 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Allas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, per all german backpackers. shower and size of room were great.

Disliked: a little expensive, however justifiable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms where clean and well set up. There was a lovely bar and outdoor area which was nice to lounge around in. The staff where all really friendly and helpful with everything I asked them about!

Disliked: The stupid shower where you have to press the button every 10 seconds to get it to keep going! I'm not sure how to hostel is benefiting by having new logins for the internet everyday. There were a lot of really big groups.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy beds, spacious rooms. Liked that there was a pool table and table football. Location alright, close to a couple of tube stations.

Disliked: Staff were a bit disinterested at times. Breakfast was quite expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the roof top terrace. Also the fact you can have private bathrooms.

Disliked: no kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sion Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Sion would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to 2 s-bahn stops and ideal for walking around a lot of tourist sights. Nice outdoor area to relax in. Cheap bike hire. Good pub crawl

Disliked: Impersonal, too big so not easy to interact with other guests, a few 'event nights' would be good in the bar and a dvd/chill out room is always a bonus...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Wilson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is one of the best I have stayed in, facilities are excellent, staff really helpful and the hostel is spotlessly clean!

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sofia Pujia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012

Liked: The bar and patio is nice

Disliked: The staff was really bad, In my room a gils was stolen and they hardly care about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Parrilli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in in europe with excellent location.

Disliked: The shower is in the room but the toilet is down the hall, a bit inconvienent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Other traveller comments mentioned were enough to book a spot here. And after coming back being there, I will give a big thumbs up. Everything was so good - cool lounge, small resto but a good one. friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Mangan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The set up of the hostel was fantastic. Originally I had reservations about booking the 30 person dorm however I found it to be extremely comfortable and secure. Everyone is extremely respectful towards the other travellers. As well as that the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the stay. Location wise it's is perfect leaving you within walking distance of all the main sites in Berlin. It is also quite easy to find on first arrival.

Disliked: Nothing in particular. Overall I was delighted with my stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good bar, good breakfast for a fair price and a really cool roof terrace. Plus it was very quite once in your room which is better than other places I have stayed.

Disliked: It was very hot in the rooms and the bar but then again it was very hot all over Berlin.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, very central and right next to the station. Lively atmosphere in the bar and good communal spaces.

Disliked: We stayed in the 30 room dorm, although we thought it was great, people should be prepared for the fact that it is in the basement and it is very dark as it has minimal lighting. That being said as all we were doing was sleeping there we thought that it was good value for money and that the dark wasn't actually a problem as the bathrooms were well lit.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and had a cool feel to it. The location was also prime.

Disliked: There was not kitchen to make meals.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very valuable and clean, not far from the train stasion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff

Disliked: No kitchen and breakfast was a little pricey

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great defently I will come back when arrived to Berlin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saara Takkinen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Saara would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cafe/bar were great!!

Disliked: Saara left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: ...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for a great price! The staff were very helpful in recommending some great restaurants and bars. The hostel is walking distance from many places, plus very close to an S-bahn stop. We didn't try the breakfast offered at the hostel, but there's a cafe just around the corner called CoComo where we had the best waffles ever!

Disliked: Sharing one bathroom between 8 people was a little tricky. It would have been nice to have an extra shower and toilet stall. 6 lockers in an 8 person room seemed a little odd.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012

Liked: Good location near a big train station, so even on Sunday you can still get whatever you need. Bar was nice. Rooms are spacious and shower/toilet is attached. This is good as you don't have to go wandering in the halls looking for a toilet, but annoying when 8 people want to shower, brush their teeth etc at the same time.

Disliked: 2.50 euros EACH NIGHT for linen, so they're actually lying about the nightly cost The linen charge doesn't include a towel, which costs extra. Breakfast isn't included and at 5 euros it's definitely not worth it - a much better option is to go to the train station and get a pastry from one of the many bakeries. It's about a third of the price and way more delicious. I was travelling with friends but staying different dates, so we booked separately. I emailed reception to ask if we could be put in the same room and they responded with a yes. When I arrived, they said there wasn't space in their room and if I had wanted to be with them I should have booked together, which is understandable if they hadn't already said yes. It was really inconsiderate and I didn't get to see my friends as much as I wanted to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Grajales Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Atmosphere! plenty of backpackers and very helpfull staff.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value, close to city center, spacious and comfortable rooms, nice bar/restaurant/lounge

Disliked: Very little! Laundry was slightly expensive, and our room had only 6 lockers for 8 beds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A*** location, easy access to all areas of Berlin and you feel right in the thick of it whilst it is on a quieter side street

Disliked: I was a little worried that the front doors never seem to be shut - most other hostels you need your key card after a certain time to gain access to the hostel but that didnt seem to be the arrangement here and therefore didnt seem as secure - saying that we had no problems. Also really annoying that you have to pay extra for bedding, but you have no option to not use there bedding, seems a bit of a scam to appear to have cheaper rates than they really have.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rebekah Phillips

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, nice staff.

Disliked: Buffet Breakfast was expensive u thought for what it was. But then again I wasn't that hungry so I feel I didn't get my money's worth. Didn't seem to be any events or activities so hard to socialize semi...


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels