HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunflower Hostel Berlin

Hostel

Helsingforser Str. 17, 10243 Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 80%

Staff 75%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.55USD

Important Information

We can't accept groups bigger than 8 people.

PLEASE NOTE THE CANCELLATION POLICY FOR NEW YEARS (28.12 - 4.1)
Bookings for the period over New Year's Eve will be charged the total balance due after the reservation is placed at a minimum stay of 4 nights. Only valid and covered cc-details entitle to have a secured reservation. Cancellations announced more than 4 weeks before arrival are free of charge. Cancellations announced less than 4 weeks are charged with 25% of the total balance due; less than 3 weeks w/ 50%, and cancellations notified less than 2 weeks are charged w/ the total balance due (100%). In case of cancellations, the according cancellations will be refunded onto the according credit cards.

Please note on top of the hostel charges, an additional 5% 'City Tax“ for private indicated stays is payable on arrival. Business purposes, that are City-tax-free, need to be proved upon check-in

New Year’s Eve Special Cancellation Conditions
Bookings for the period over New Year's Eve will be charged the total balance due after the reservation is placed. Only valid and covered credit card details entitle to have a secured reservation.
Cancellations up to 14 days before arrival are free of charge, thereafter we will charge a cancellation fee equal to the price of the first night. If canceled or modified 2 days before arrival or later, the cancellation fee is 100% of the amount due for the reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 80%

Staff 75%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 23 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Staff is pretty friendly and helpful, breakfast is cheap and looks good

Disliked: Room was too old, no hot water, no other food than breakfast

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and friendliness of most staff. The majority of staff were polite, friendly and up for laugh! The location is ideal especially if you enjoy the clubs. The hostel is cheap and cheerful. You need to explore betlin so most of your day should be spent out and about but the hostel is great to come to and have a beer which is very good price!

Disliked: The shared showers aren't the best but they do the job! I recommend the evening when they are empty cubicles! Just one member of staff let the team down with his attitude but i wont let that put me off! I'll be back!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the decoration of room is so pretty and the hostel is clean enough

Disliked: The staff are a bit not friendly as I paid 100euro and shd give me 88euro back but they only gave me 38euro. though It is also my false as i didnt check it before going to my room, they also hv responsibility to ensure their guest have right change. After this, I sent email to them but no reply.It is the second time I stayed here but really really disappointed this time.Also, last time i stayed one night only and I am allowed to used the kitchen but this time not allow, so weird!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Close to places of my interest

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff is very friendly and hepls you everytime. I stayed in a 6-bed-room which was quite big and the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms are clean, also the bedclothes that you receive at the reception. The reception is occupied 24/7! The hostel is close to a supermarket which closes at midnight and to the station Warschauer Straße which is really good connected.

Disliked: Really nothing, espacially regarding the price.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: The parking rules in Berlin and the green card system that was not informed about in advance and was too late to fix when we did hear about it

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: best hostel I've been to for the value! (compared to others in Paris and Marseille) Tons of atmosphere, art everywhere as soon as you walk into the lobby. The walls are bright and very 'welcome to Berlin.' I arrived on the night of the World Cup Argentina-Netherlands match (rip netherlands) and a ton of people were sitting in the lobby drinking (high quality, very cheap) German beer and yelling. Hell of a welcome to the country. The staff helped me very sweetly and the room was clean, very comfortable, nice. You should stay here! They also offer a free 'alternative' art walk/tour which is nice if you don't know anything about Berlin.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It was cheap and the location was ideal, breakfast was okay and kitchen was good.

Disliked: The staff were really helpful but there were a couple that let the team down. No wifi access in rooms.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to public transportation, friendly staff, clean area, interesting neighborhood, and close to shops.

Disliked: No kitchen or food on offer after breakfast, but knew that coming in.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very friendly, both the staff and other travellers, perfect location, quite and like 20 meters from transportation and warschauerstrasser (full of cafe-bar-clubs). totally recomend it to anyone.

Disliked: nothing.. Everithyng was perfect..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability